Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador Luzern 3 stars

Zürichstrasse 3, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#46 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 986 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    good hotel for travellers in Luzern :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not about the hotel but about Luzern. For me it is too noisy and there are many lovely little towns around the Lake of Luzern. So if I visit this area next time, I will stay in those towns instead of Luzern.

    The hotel is nice! Although it is more like a budget hotel, everything inside the room is comfortable. What's more, the bathroom is really spacious and the water flow is strong enough! (which I really care about) Location is also suitable for travellers, everything is within the walking distance and the restaurant next to the hotel is really good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Good Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, except the slight noisy fan.

    Good location, walking distance to the old city, shopping and major attractions. Bus stop just outside the hotel. Super mart just next door. Very good breakfast, good choice of cheese and good coffee. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Staff location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room. All we had was a lousy fan and the weather was very hot. There was no air and the room felt like a cell

    Staff location and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful experience: we have to visit Luzern in wintertime though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, to whom it may concern, rooms might have A/C: no drama anyway even though a small desk fan is supplied(we didn't stay in direct sunlight but might be an issue, anyways).

    Very good location at a walking distance to everything you need, from the Lake to "must to see" areas. A standard international breakfast is served: no big surprises. We arrived in Luzern by car so they handled our short stay in a parking lot beside: it wasn't for free but we appreciated the time and consideration spent (a small discount is applied to hotel customers).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The luggage room wasn't locked and the staff said that they were not liable if something got stolen from our luggage's.

    The room was very spacious. Well done!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    In its current condition I would describe this hotel as a budget option requiring investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures do not match the reality of the hotel giving it a far more modern and luxurious appearance. The rooms need significant modernisation. Our room had a bathroom door that could not close which had clearly been the case for some time with the offending strip re-glued whenever it came loose which is what the staff did when it was brought to their attention.There was mould on the bathroom ceiling, bathroom fittings and around the window frames where paint was coming away. There was also a broken fan. The location is very noisy and the windows do not keep the noise out from the room.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast of a good standard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioner, but the provided fan helped a lot in this strangely hot european summer.

    In general, very friendly staff, especially the afternoon receptionists and the maids' supervisor. Clean, very well located hotel, in the heart of Lucerne. Very good room, breakfast and wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heatwave in Luzern but no AC.

    Staff went above and beyond when I left an article of clothing in the closet. They mailed it to the next location! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disadvantage was that there was no air conditioner in our room. I assume it was usually not necessary, but in such an abnormal summer that would be nice to have. Fortunately it was not so hot during the night when we kept the window open.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is also very clean, modern, and convenient to use. We received city card before our arrival which allowed us to use the public transportation there for free, and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, making the transportation very convenient. This hotel supplies good coffee, tea, and lemon water in the canteen all day long till 10 pm. The breakfast was also decent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Centrally located for city walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very HOT. A small desk fan was provived but it was not enough. Opening the window let in smoke and a lot of noise from the enclosed courtyard. Not recommendd i summer.

    Central locatio but difficult to find. Substantial breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice for breakfast (particularly fruit) with extra cost for fried, scrambled eggs and omelettes

    Excellent location and very helpful and friendly staff at reception, especially Yana

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Our room was comfortable, spacious & quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot (got all the afternoon sun). Bed had a plastic backed underlay making it hotter still. Room Perfect for cooler weather not hot summer! No air con.

    Our room was comfortable, spacious & quiet. Great fresh bathroom. Towels changed daily. Breakfast choices ok. Great wifi. Easy walk from station. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in a magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was some sugar/tea/coffee in the room it would make our stay easier with the baby. [We only needed sugar for his baby tea as i left it at home] but we survived :)

    We stayed 2 nights, and on both morning Samra at breakfast was very helpful! She not only spoke English very well but, she had a good understanding of what customer service means and looks like in practice. Well done! Also, the location of the hotel is very good, everything is in walking distance and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. We were very pleased with our stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok hotel, but don't stay here during hot summers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable Warning: Air-conditioning is not present!!! Don't stay here during hot summer as the room barely cools down. We had the big window open all night long but it didn't help much. There is a fan in the room but that of course makes a lot of noise and with the window open all the street light comes in. So eventually we ended up trying to sleep with ear buds and an eye mask. We maybe slept for 3 hours max...

    Bit confusing but this hotel and Hotel de la paix are the same hotel. We booked ambassador but got a room in de la paix. Very nice location right at the start of the old part of town Staff very friendly Welcome drink included in good restaurant Lapin Good breakfast Parking can be done easily at the Cityparking lot nearby for 23CHF/day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Location , bus stop and supermarket right outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent Location , bus stop and supermarket right outside. Walking distance to all the local tourist attractions,Very helpful and friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small rooms and no AC - in the summer was so hot. The city was cooking in the 90’s F & it would be nice to get some cool air and relax.

    Great location, close to everything. Breakfast is good and WiFi works well. Walking distance to train station and the Chapel bridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    OK place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle, coffee tea facilities, triple room, sofa cum bed is uncomfortable . Breakfast , u had to pay extra for omelette or scrambled eggs, only boiled egg was available part of the spread. Not all triple rooms are same as shown in pic. We got one big one , one small.

    Location is good, not very far from station. Next to coop store, big rooms, bus stop just outside hotel. Very convenient location. Close to most attractions. Minibar available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff needs to learn how to smile to the guests. The breakfast is ok but needs to be improved. There were yogurt, jam and breads on the table without any protection. Which was totally anti hygienic (we have seen guests touching breads with their hands to make them the slices and another one coughing on the yogurt directly). The rooms are without air conditioning (in 2018???), our room was boiling.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Stuffy, stifling and sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning at property. Rooms were very warm at night. Fans provided were not sufficient to provide cooling. Could not open windows to cool room because of significant street noise and nearby construction with jackhammer starting at 6am. Three nights with little sleep. Ruined visit to Lucerne. Staff response was basically that we should have confirmed that hotel had ac when we made the booking. Strictly true but not helpful. Advice to other travelers - no ac at this hotel so do not stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice position, but hot in Summer
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, only a noisey fan in the room. Tiles above the shower end of the bath had black mould, never a good sign.

    Nice but be warned no air conditioning, so rooms are very hot in the Summer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stuffy room. It was quite hot but our window opened onto an internal courtyard so no cool air. The weather was very warm and the fan did not cool the room sufficiently.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, good breakfast. very clean rooms, bathroom. Front desk very helpful. Luzern is very expensive in everything but it is so beautiful, worth the visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location, spacious rooms, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attitude of reception staff at the time of check-in.

    Location Good location. A 10-15 minute walk from the central train station and 5-7 minute walk from the Lake & Schwannenplatz shopping area and tourist attraction areas. While arriving the bus stop is 100 mt from the hotel across the road and while departing the bus stop is at the hotel entrance. It has a mall next door with a departmental store and a subway and has a number of eating joints nearby. Room The rooms are pretty big and clean. Even a triple room has lots of space, despite the additional bed. There is no air conditioning in the rooms but keeping the windows open cools it down. TV shows some English channels else hotel wifi is with good enough speed to watch online. Breakfast Very good breakfast with good spread – cold cuts, boiled eggs, bread, fruit, cereal, juices, the normal fair. Breakfast starts at 7 am, so keep this in mind in case you are planning to catch an early train. Service Decent, but attitude of reception staff could be better. Reached the hotel at approx noon. Due to the heavy tourist season, they could not offer early check in and asked us to return at 14.00, which is perfectly understandable. Had lunch and returned at 13.40 but was still made to wait for 20 minutes prior to check in. On entering the room, it did not feel like it had been made up in the last 20 minutes. Made me wonder why I was made to wait !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Served our purpose of a waystop between Pairs and Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC which made the room fairly warm about 1400-1600 (we asked for and received a fan which helped).

    Location is great, staff was excellent - we felt they were really concerned about our comfort, breakfast is great and if you want a really special dinner try the restaurant connected with the hotel (Lapin), beds were comfy, place was clean, you get a free bus pass for local transportation which was nice, quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    hotel rate include resort fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was hot. there isn't airconditioner. the employee wasn't friendly.here is resort fee for one day 4CHF and cities tax for one day 4CHF. hotel fee was expensive,

    the breakfast was relatively good. accessibility was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    location was central so we could sighsee on foot to may attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is in a different location so you need to carry your baggage a long way and pricy for one night.

    great location. welcome drink was a good start to a tiring day as we checked in late evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Central and handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking area close to breakfast room and being non smokers found the smell coming inside was off putting while eating breakfast.

    Close to train station and close to town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great spot, will definitely return on future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location! Close to lake and train station. Urban mall next door with ATM, bakery and grocery store. Wonderful breakfast selection and environment. Reception staff best we've encountered on our trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    I would like to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was extremely fine and the room was peaceful.

    The bed was very comfy, it is in the heart of the city and close to the attractions. They give free transportation ticket which is valid for whole duration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Would not like to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms. Quite small for family of 3. Also, very highly priced. I booked basis the review on booking.com, however, the experience was not that great. Also, I really doubt the ratings and reviews shared on Booking.com!!!

    Location. It is very close to Lucerne Railway Station and some high street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything works but parking issue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on motorcycle expecting to access secure garage parking nearby. It seems none of the parking garages allow motorcycles. If you are travelling by bike - expect to park on the street in an authorised space - not many of those in the city for bikes!

    Great location. Lovely staff - nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Had a room towards the back (Innenhof) and so it was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room towards the back (Innenhof) and so it was very quiet. Nice size room, comfortable bed, ill stay there again! All you need for breakfast, very dissent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Thumbs up for Ambassador
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street.

    Large room size. Big bathroom by European standards. Window opened for air. Special request of separated beds was honored. Free espresso machine all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant city with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Directions - signage is poor since hotel entrance is set back off main street. All that needs to be added is that it is next to Hotel de la paix just before shopping mall. (Look up for the blue Ambassador sign)

    5 minute walk to center of Luzerne through shop/restaurant lined backstreets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A really good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel close to main rail station. City bus pick-up at front door of the hotel. Staff were excellent and room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all good.

    Very clean and spacious room. We got an upgraded for free. Very friendly and attentive receptionist. Excellent location. We were given welcome drinks on the restaurant and a traveller card for all local buses. Easy to get the Mount Pilatus taking the bus in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    nice central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no kettle in the room but this seems to be the same for all swiss hotels. Parking is expensive at CHF25 per night.

    welcome drinks and fruits. staff are helpful with travel tips

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room with wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited as of options If you have a car . There is no onsite parking and you will pay much in neighborhood parkhaus

    Spacious room with wonderful view Perfect location Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the rear side of the hotel with a view facing the old city wall and towers. Quiet on that side, but didn't see the lake and mountains.

    The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city. Food and shopping is just around the corner on either side. The lake and many attractions are minutes away on foot. I was pleasantly surprised with the value for the deal we got: the room was quiet, clean and practical and even had a balcony. I really liked that they sent me a personalized Lucerne tourist pass via email just before my stay. It includes free public transport and WiFi within the city. I have travelled around Europe often in the past months and the Hotel Ambassador sticks out for providing all the amenities at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Exercent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was a big too flat.

    The room is big, lot of space for luggages. Very clean room. Toilette also very nice, big and clean. Breakfast was fine. Selection of breads. Boiled eggs. Ham and salami. Cheese, butter, yam. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate. We got welcome drinks at the restaurant beside the hotel which is very good. Staff was nice. The hotel just closed to the Lion monument. From the train station only 2 stop by bus. To go to train station the bus stop is just right in the front of the hotel or only about 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    I loved staying in this hotel with my newly married wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of really.

    The coffee machine and the coffee produced from it were extremely extraordinary.All the persons in the hotel were excellent in behavior. I really recommend staying in this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Good for seeing tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access is a little hard to find. Parking is at the nearby shopping centre although at a discount rate

    very close to lots of the tourist attractions around the old city. Room was good size. Included breakfast was basic but tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Great location. Just 3 stops from the central station (12 min walk) The staff was just wonderful. They were so helpful and answered all our queries. They also have us a free public transport pass for the amount of days we were staying there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellent budget friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are too flat for my comfort. But they did make up for it by offering another set of pillows.

    The hotel was conveniently located in the heart of the city. It is easily reachable by walking (15minutes) or by bus (3mins) from the train station. It is also about 10 minute walk to the Lion monument. The staff were friendly and accommodating, allowing us to leave our luggages before check in time so we can explore the picturesque city. The breakfast was also a big bonus considering the hotel was reasonably priced. The room is spacious enough for two people, and it was very well cleaned.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location but hotel should lock up luggage for better security
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We left our luggage with the hotel but this was at an unlocked area and they even have signs stating that they are not liable if it was lost. The friendly receptionist did assure us that luggages have never been lost before but it would have been better if they would lock the luggage. The thought that it easily could be gone was sitting at the back of my mind while we left it with them. Luckily it was still there when we went back to collect our luggage - we just left with it as there was no one at the reception! Imagine if we were not the owners of the luggage..!

    Loved the super convenient and central location. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and we could walk to a few attractions - Lion's monument and Glacier Garden. Did not get a chance to check out Panorama which was right across from the hotel. Staff were very helpful and the room was very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.8
    Very unpleasant stay with loud internal remodel and very poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was ambiguous online and appeared to be free off site. The biggest complaint is the hotel had began a major renovation while we were there to include removing toilets sinks etc. All hallways were difficult to navigate and still all started at 7:00 AM. Extremely loud. Elevators were tied up and saw one elderly man wait for a long time to try and get his suitcase up to 5th floor. One very bad pillow per bed and shower slow to drain.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were comfortable and the room clean. A really good tea & coffee machine which is available from lunchtime until 9.30pm (They say 10.00 but the machine is closed for cleaning sometime after 9.30. Breakfast was also very good held in a quiet dining room. Great position especially for shopping. Easy walking distance to the lake and old city centre. Bus stops right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Perfect location for the Swiss City Marathon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely cosy room with good breakfast options, their restaurant Lapin downstairs was amazing!! The location of this hotel was perfect and accessible from the train station and old town. We stayed there for the Swiss City marathon, it was perfect location, a stone throw from the bus stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel ans staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is too limited. The hotel is far from the train station, but reachable by buses for 5 mins.

    The staff is very friendly. There was a travel information assistance,which was really helpful, when I stayed. Everything was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator can’t operate you must bring the luggage to your room in 3-5 floor. Heater not working. But my stay while Autuum, it’s not cold too much (10-15 degree Celsius).

    Location is in centrum you can walk to any landmark and old town only 10 minutes from here and near supermarket (Coop and Denner) in Lowen building. You can park car in Lowen building for special rate 25 CHF/24 hours. Room is comfortable and sleep well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, the Wifi speed in this hotel is slow. Once my father was watching a video, I was unable to connect the Lufthansa official website. Besides, I had very unpleasant experience with the staff in Ambassador Luzern. I hope they can pay more attention to the training of receptionists.

    The breakfast deserves a score of 8 and the room is bigger than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room size and the bed was even smaller. Tiny bathroom where the water didnt drain properly. Next to nil choices in breakfast, almsot no room service options, while price is very steep. Wouldnt recommend staying here

    Staff were helpful and quite courteous. The balcony with the room offered good views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Good reasonable choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none really mattered

    Location is close to old town, walking distance to most attractions, but need to take a bus to the rail station if you have luggage. Good breakfast. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed Lucerne which is a historic place on the shores of Lake Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft which made sleep difficult.

    Room was a good size and the facilities good. A nice breakfast is provided in good surroundings. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    The staff is really reallly friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really reallly friendly and helpful! My husband had to leave earlier than the breakfast time so they packed him some snacks for on the go!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Close and convenient to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need air-con in guest room. Too noisy at street side to sleep with windows opened, and too hot in room facing to other side by afternoon strong sun even a fan was provided.

    Nicely renovated, public covered car parking at next door is discounted, guest room is huge enough, friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    As in the name- an excellent ambassador for Lucern!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The location was very central. 10-15 minute walk from train station and right next to old town with all the shops, restaurants, and places of interest (Panorama, bridges, Lion). Room was spacious and clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was very helpful. Provided complimentary umbrellas which enabled us to tour around without getting soaked. Allowed us to check in early which helped maximize our time in Lucern (1 night). Sister hotel to the De La Paix. Would recommend it. Price consistent with Switzerland standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Just the best - coffee available anytime, lovely breakfast, delightful staff, good room, bathroom. Bit of a problem with shower splashing on bathroom floor but couldn't be helped. Good security. Top location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Location was nice and staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very poor and food is not fresh. The bathroom is very badly ventilated so all the steam enters into the room and it becomes super heat and unpleasant. When we entered in the room air was very heavy like the windows weren't open for days. For 180€ per night it doesn't worth.

    Location was nice and staff were helpful. The hotel is clean and calm in general.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The room they gave us (for 3 adults) was big enough but was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room they gave us (for 3 adults) was big enough but was on the top floor and was not designed for warm days. Since we needed the key to use the lift and they gave us only one key, it was a lot of coordination. Breakfast was good, but the staff at breakfast was rude at times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Expensive for what you get, but that's just Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was quite warm during our stay. We knew there wasn't an air conditioner, so we were mentally prepared. There was already a fan located in the room, which was nice, because I was expecting to have to go buy one. However, due to the noisiness of the street below, we didn't want to have the window open at night, which meant the room stayed quite warm. If this hotel had an air conditioner, it would have been the perfect stay. Also, the bathroom could use a vent, as it would get very steamy after showers and would stay warm for quite awhile. As it was, though, it was still nice, and we had a great time.

    The size of the room was great. Breakfast was adequate. The bathrooms were nice, with a double sink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not happy, especially when having breakfast, an indian lady politely asked the member of staff for some milk as it had run out, and the staff member did not even look at her or acknowledge - just brought out the milk - very rude, and was abrubtly rushing around with a sour face. No air conditioning in room and unable to open the window - very stuffy no air circulating!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    The lady staff in the afternoon till 11 pm was so very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were treated badly by the morning staff (young, fat woman) of the hotel the next day after we checked in. We complained the hotel had no air conditioner and the rooms hot, and we wanted to check out. While Booking.com approved our request to check out without any penalty charge, she lied and told us Booking.com required a one night penalty charge if we move out. We were forced to stay and endure two more sleepless nights because the rooms my couple friends and I (with my wife) were staying were hot. We couldn't open the window because of the noise coming from the street. A small electric fan the hotel provided didn't help and instead just made noise all night.

    The lady staff in the afternoon till 11 pm was so very nice and helped us as much as she could.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Very good hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have AC but the fan provided made it cool and Wifi was not up to the mark.

    Although its a 3 star but liked the hotel & the stay very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean room with table fan, refrigerator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air Conditioner

    Clean room with table fan, refrigerator.. Approx 15 min walk from the Lucerne station or get on Bus no 1 & get down at Lion Monument stop.. Lion monument just 2 min away.. Bus stop just outside the Hotel entrance.. Direct bus to the Mt Pilatus stop.. Helpful staff..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Centally located, unassuming little gem serving a bountiful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was very hot and there is no airconditioning, so rooms are quite stuffy, but a pedestal fan in the room helped. Rooms at front of hotel overlooking busy Zurichstrasse can be very noisy if you leave window open, which during hot days, one needs to.

    Located at Lowenplatz bus stop, easy access to lots of attractions. Shopping centre next door with a variety of shops, including bakery, supermarket, pharmacy. I found this place last minute when my husband was rushed to hospital in Lucerne. I initially thought I would be there a few days, but ended up having to extend my stay several times. The staff were very helpful, kind and caring. Whenever I needed to move rooms because of rooms being prebooked, they took care of moving luggage for me. A very good breakfast buffet included in the room price. Variety of cereal, breads, croissants, cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, fruits, yoghurt, nuts and seeds. Tea and coffee always available, along with fast, free wifi. Good enough to stream Netflix without missing a beat. Outdoor courtyard which is a pleasant little haven. Wifi works out there too. A drying rack in the bathroom enables you to save on laundry costs. Bed is comfortable and bedside lighting enables you to read in bed. Window opens wide to let in some fresh air. Each floor has a bookcase where guests are invited to swap books. A nice touch. An umbrella available to borrow if needed. All in all, a very pleasant hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    Definitely not recommendable for travelers at summer season.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner despite relatively high price. The room was located on top of the building: very hot!!! Definitely not recommendable for travelers at summer season.

    The location is very good: it locates in the city and close to the station and lake. Free parking at nearest department store was possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Good place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need tinted window glasses . The opposite building peoplw can watch inside

    Breakfast was nice . Pls get a few more fans to be kept on standby for summer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price a little bit high

    Excellent location : next to lowen plaza, there are restaurant , coop and many shops, 3mins bus away from luzern station! Large and clean room, i think they have different size of same room type and arrange to you randomly, base on your luck ; Breadfast is ok: only cereal , bread and egg; hv different juice and coffee machine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Very comfort place to travel in Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a better climate control in the room. The water was merging in the bathroom too slow. It was a little bit loud in the room due to the window location just above the restaurant tables. The boss should inform the staff about PayPal bookings.

    The staff is very informative. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Simple, convenient, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really hot, especially in the morning with the sun coming in. It was 30C in Lucerne the day we arrived

    Simple, convenient, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is fine, but nothing to write home about. Staff is friendly and helpful, but they forgot to tell us all the parking options (parking around here is super-expensive). On one night it was quite hot and we wished we'd had AC.

    Position is very good--extremely close to certain attractions (like the Lion Monument, for example) and easy walking distance to the others (Covered Bridge, Rathaus, etc.). The hotel also provides a free public transport card so you can reach other destinations by bus. Rooms are modern, clean, functional and well-appointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Be wary of booking the lowest priced room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small with NO air conditioning. There was a small fan but only one window for ventilation. We also had to lug our bags from the parking garage (cost CHF25 per night!) to the hotel and then to our room. We never did see a porter.

    The staff was very nice. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was good but a hot breakfast is additional. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Great deal but really hot in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was definitely too hot. Air condition in the room would be a must. Last weekend was really hot in Switzerland

    Breakfast was really good. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Hotel's location is really perfect, close to the main buildings of the city and the lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Lucern was beautiful. The hotel was ok. But not worth the amount of money I had to spend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very hot at night. I had to open the window. It felt like I was sleeping on the street with all the traffic nose. Really horrible. The room had a fan which was totally useless without the window being opened. I reported this to the girl at the counter. She inform me that they are not allowed to add air condition to the rooms. It would have been nice to know that the room did not have air condition. The staff was very nice. I know that they have no control over the hotel not having AC.

    How close the hotel was to shopping and the train station. Both within walking distance. The location was excellent. So many places were within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: