Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel America 3 stars

Piazza Grande, 6601 Locarno, Switzerland

#33 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once we found the hotel we realised what a good location it was set amongst the bustling market. We managed to find a 15 minute parking spot and walked back to the busy square to find the hotel. We were then instructed of where to park in the public car park however we got a reduction as staying at the hotel. It was still 19 chf and you can only pay in cash. The market cleared away around 5pm then the plaza was quiet apart from dining, we ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel it was all very nice, we didn't take breakfast here, think you had to pre book

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    This summer Ticino is celebrating the opening of the new St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room distinctly small - & too hot (but then it was a heat-wave); bottled water supplied only on first day On our first night the Piazza Grande was taken over by a huge music event. We had left our things in the hotel & gone out, & when we came back found the Piazza barred at all points to everybody without events tickets. It was VERY difficult to get through to anybody with authority to let us in, though eventually our hotel key was accepted as proof that we might come through. It must be said that we were not bothered at night by the event's noise (an advantage deriving from the hotel's being set back from, & without view of, the Piazza); we did, however, hear people coming back late to other rooms after the event. The next evening the Piazza was taken up by a rally of electric etc. cars, but they weren't noisy. Compared to our 2 other Swiss hotels, fairly expensive (tho. perhaps Locarno prices are higher)

    This summer Ticino is celebrating the opening of the new St. Gotthard tunnel by giving all hotel visitors free transport on its public transport & reductions on eg. the steamer & entry to the lovely Isole di Brissago gardens. The hotel has what seemed to be popular & well-patronised restaurant seating actually on the Piazza Grande. The hotel is close to the station, the steamer embarkation point (& promenade along the Lake), and to the Rue de la Paix bus stop for services to Ascona (which has a better & cooler lake front than Locarno)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Superior Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't have a lobby. Even though it has a lot of "character," I wish I had paid more attention to the booking because it was not the type of hotel for my in-laws who prefer a more "typical" hotel experience. The Wi-fi wasn't working, the cable didn't work and they had a hard time comunicating with the staff at "Hotel America" who ironically, don't speak a lot of English.

    The hotel is an easy walk from the train station and on the central Piazza. The bedrooms are big and the bed very comfortable. Loved sitting out on the grand piazza in their large outdoor cafe!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Superior Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel because of the picture i.e. the terrace opening on to the square. Actually the hotel is up a side street and you won't be having your breakfast there etc. It's almost as if this is a separate restaurant even if it belongs to the hotel, I think.

    The staff were really excellent. Went out of their way to be extra helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel altogether, but a little expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bottle of water in the room would have been nice as Locarno is very hot... We had to pay 8.- for a liter of water at the hotel's restaurant.The room was very small.

    Location close to the Piazza Grande. Very clean and friendly. No noise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    I loved being in the center of locarno and having 2 rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were there in the summer ;the family is located on the top floor ..great to have a fan.it was hot..but i like it hot

    I loved being in the center of locarno and having 2 rooms with our kids...that family room is great for a family of 4..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    4.6
    Not Worth for CHF 404/night, you can better just outside the Piazza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator to 4th Floor, only up to 3rd Floor. Wifi does not work in room. You complain, then it works on the front Desk, and when you go in the room, NOTHING...kind of a scam.. We went during the Locarno Film Festival, so we were kind of had no access to the Piazza. The Hotel should inform that...or provide passes for the quests. We were kind of locked in and just use the back road. Why pay CHF 404/night for that....crap.. Hotel staff is too busy to run the restaurant down stairs...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    sunny and relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable bed, very good breakfast, very central location, close to the bus stop to go to the valle maggia

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Ideally located & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small & strangely decorated

    The bed was very comfortable & the shower was powerful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Room very small but clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locationenjoyed it

    Room very small but clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.8
    great location just on piazza grande
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room very small

    great location just on piazza grande

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    7.1
    It was difficult to locate the hotel on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to locate the hotel on arrival

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.2
    A quiet hideaway yet perfectly located.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Wonderful staff - so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very simple, rooms are tiny but clean. It was very hot with no A/C.

    Staff is lovely! Old hotel but clean. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    8.8
    Right in the center of Locarno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are high above location in older building, charming but not easy to access with older people.

    Right in the center of Locarno. The parking needs to be explained, it is a short walk from the hotel right through piazza grande. Restaurant is good and serves ticenese and other Swiss specialties as well as classic trattoria fare.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    The location was near the shops and a walking distance to...
    • Solo traveller

    The location was near the shops and a walking distance to the train station. The whole staff were very pleasant and went even an extra mile for my comfort.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    Very nice Location, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Now view from the room.

    Very nice Location, very friendly. great breakfast buffet. Small but very nice and clean romm.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.6
    - Photos don't describe the reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Photos don't describe the reality. (old furnished hotel) - Room was very small

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Close to train station, lakefront and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad experience but the purple and silver bathroon was pretty far out.

    Close to train station, lakefront and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    Location and Locarno itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and Locarno itself.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    6.7
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't leave car out front too long or you will get a ticket.

    Great stay. Good breakfast. Good staff and location

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    7.5
    Had a block out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a block out. The hotel doesn't have a generator.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: