Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel an der Aare Swiss Quality 3 stars

Oberer Winkel 2, 4500 Solothurn, Switzerland

#7 of 13 hotels in Solothurn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just that we were told breakfast was at 6.30am - turned out it was 7.30 am on Sat and we had got up early to catch a train..

    Location, sound proof windows & Free beer fridge!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening restaurant although over the road has a nice little italian place even and the location has several good bars and restaurants very close by. Parking is a Public car park near by but not a huge issue. Having stayed here more than once I know the routine!

    Great location and staff. Nice clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old, hence the ensuite was retrofitted into the room, in general it was a good job, perfect for us (a couple) but some may struggle with lack of privacy/seperation between bathroom & bedroom! No parking available at the hotel, so we parked at train station (10 CHF/day) & walked 5-10 mins to hotel.

    Friendly staff, spotless rooms & facilities, great location, well stocked fridge with beers & soft drinks, coffee & fresh fruit available 24/7, free of charge! All rooms have river views, lovely place! 150m from old town, yet convenient tho train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    [Room on the river side] There is "something" outside causing a terrible noise for 1 minute every hour or so, during all the nigth.

    Room on the river side, beautiful view. Good quality bed and matress. As clean as it can.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    a wonderful hotel located directly on the river. Formerly a convent it was beautifully changed into a hotel which makes it a wonderful setting. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious with everything one needs. Coffee ans tea as well as fresh fruits were available free of charge and the breakfast was small but wonderful, made from locally sourced ingredients. The homemade Birchermüsli was superb. I had a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was amazing! over the bridge you have a energetic nightlife and the start of a beautiful city. 10 minute walking distance to the Saturday market!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wooden room floor makes noise indeed, but I was told by friends thats the Swiss building style and then I like it again.

    Good Breakfast, Smoking room too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a boutique double room for me and my wife when we got to the hotel we were told it was for one person!!!why list the room as a double when it's for one person!!i had to pay an extra £117 for my wife. This wrong information and I want a refund please.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For vegetarians there could have been more options apart from bread/pastries. Fresh cut fruit, some hot options for choice maybe e.g. pancakes, scrambled eggs. Boiled egg was the only option and i had to order that and wait for it to be cooked. My room looked onto the Aare which was lovely, but we were next to a railway bridge so trains rattled past every 20 in or so which was incredibly loud. I didn't take note what time the last train went past.

    room decor was very nice. Great shower. Fruit baskets were always well stocked with fresh fruit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nice nd very accomodating, complimentary fruits and drinks, old town location, charming old building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor in my room was a bit creaky.

    Loving the beer fridge and coffee machine in the hallway - stroke of genius.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hitel parking, however we parked at train station, which was convenient & reasonable (10 Chf/day)

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Parking facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location right near the river. short walk from the train station. Rooms are spacious, clean and with all the facilitates you would expect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    long staircase to have to carry up luggage.

    nice breakfast. plenty of space in room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small rooms and the bathcube in the middle of the room

    I liked the location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator. 19 steep steps to 1st floor, another 18 even steeper to 2nd. Floors terribly noisy. Passing train noise unbearable with window open. Bathroom tiny with zero privacy.

    Bed was excellent. Location is very good with nice views of river and old town. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If anything, the staff were a little bit tight lipped :-)

    Very nice boutique hotel in a ancient old town hospital featuring a great location, comfortable rooms and generous service (i.e. minibar inclusive).

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wooden Floor gives noise when we pass over it. Room 204 No lift for luggage Breakfast time till only 9

    Location, Staff, Clean, Personal, near to train station and old town, view

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Make sure you get a room on the 2nd floor, as you WILL hear your upstairs neighbors walking if you're in first -- it's an old building with old wood floors.

    Very nice, old building with history, excellent location, located directly by the river.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and duvet were very comfortable. The view of the river was superb.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi password

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extra charge for child due to booking.com not passing on all Information entered with booking

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: