Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antares 4 stars

Schluhmattstr. 101, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#194 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 224 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, very welcoming staff, great spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and gave us some very useful advice about the local area and mountain guides. The location was ideal, being just a few meters away from the main ski lift: so once you've arrived you can relax. It was only a short walk to restaurants. We used the spa multiple times which we often had all to ourselves and was an added luxury to the stay. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed having a balcony to sit out on too. The bathrooms have been recently renovated and were luxurious with a multi-jet shower! I was surprised that this 4 star hotel was one of the cheaper hotels offered. We were sad to leave and hope to return again soon!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The location is excellent, the team and the welcome is even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, the team and the welcome is even better! The rooms and cozy and the SPA is just what you need after a day of hiking! We enjoyed our stay at Antares very much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with a view at Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe they can be more ECO friendly in some small things, like one huge bottle with shower gel instead of multiple small packages, same with Nutella at the breakfast. Lot of small packages instead of single jar etc. Other than that, everything was great!

    Staff was exceptionally polite and friendly, really welcoming. Room was spacious and we were lucky to get one with the view at Matterhorn. SPA was very nice addition included in price. After lot of hiking it was really nice to sit in sauna/jacuzzi :) Breakfast was tasty, lot of variety in food. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great with view of Matterhorn. Clean facilities. Easy access to all amenities including cable car and train station. Breakfast was nice. Nice to be able to use Spa after a days Hiking or climbing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful view of the Matterhorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very nice but the bathroom fixtures, especially in the shower, need updating.

    The location is spectacular. There is a good variety of breakfast items. The view of the Matterhorn was spectacular from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    It is very close to the main ski lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn’t clean (found bugs all over the room); we checked the price of the taxi with the staff who told us was a certain price - it ended up being almost double, bed was very uncomfortable, no water bottles in the rooms

    It is very close to the main ski lift

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Location location with exceptional dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head could have been installed higher, more towel hanging racks/ points would have been helpful. Manually have to lock the room door, automatic locking would have been better.

    Location of the property to the ski lift was brilliant. Food in the restaurant for dinner was of exceptional quality - highly recommend paying for the 5 course dinner package (best value for quality food in Zermatt)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff with great location relative to Furi cable car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Shower temperature was difficult to regulate and temperature kept fluctuating. -Breakfast expensive for what it was. -15 mins walk from town centre and train station.

    +Very friendly and helpful staff. +Very close to the Ski Lift (Furi), c. 1 min walk. +Good view of the Matterhorn on the day it was not hidden by clouds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Awkward at Antares.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff was below average. the host at check in was good although seemed like the ONLY person working. He was also the bartender. Would not offer a recommendation for dinner because it was a busy night. What??? Host the next day couldn't be bothered by any questions or recommendations. Checkout was clinical and host could not be bothered. At over 200 CH a night, there are better options closer to the main street. We will not return.

    Location close to the chair lift. Comfort of the room, excellent towels, cleanliness. Zermatt is a fairy tale and room had a view of the Matterhorn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners of this hotel are amazing. We were made to feel so welcome at all times. It’s a very comfortable hotel in amazing location. Owners pit on Matterhorn videofor us one night which was great to see with the view out the window.. really loved everything. Thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Convenient location Welcoming, helpful and friendly staff (reception/restaurant/room service) Good breakfasts Good SPA facilities Clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Best location to get to mountains and lifts in Zermatt :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was our bed :-( We had two single beds put next to each other to be a queen bed,but the gap in the middle was too deep and not comfortable. I wish they had Queen bed for couples.

    Location, location, Location! Perfect spot with amazing view of Matterhorn. We were just steps away from the ski lift so it made it super easy for us to go to mountains and ski .Staff were super friendly and Helpful and lots of sunny blue birds to ski. Loved it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had 4 out of 6 dinners in the nearby restaurant Klein Mattehorn (because they were doing repairs in the kitchen) - they tried but unfortunately their cooking level is much lower than at Antares - it was just average while dinners at Antares were really ***** level. The lighting in the room was weak. The rooms were quite small.

    Excellent dinners - while they were at Antares - definitely worth the money. Super-friendly staff Nice little wellness area. Super-great views at the Matterhorn from the room (if you have a room with Matterhorn view of course :D ) Pretty nice breakfast although I've seen better in 4* hotels. Excellent location around 100m from the main skilift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel Antares was a great hotel to spend a few days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing I could criticise the hotel about. Some people might find the distance from the train station a little bit of a problem but the hotel does supply a small electric car transfer for a small charge.

    The Hotel Antares was a great hotel to spend a few days skiing. Greeted very warmly in English on arrival and staff couldn’t do enough to help us. We were snowed in on our last day and the hotel staff kept us informed re trains etc. All access into and out of Zermatt was cut off with heavy snow and fear of avalanches. Breakfast was delicious and the spa area was a great way to relax after a day on the slopes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    A very beautiful view (un-blocked) from the room overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner sets was average. I should have excluded on my booking.

    A very beautiful view (un-blocked) from the room overlooking the matterhorn. Strategic location, just 50meters walk from the cable car to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise. All staff were very warm, friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice traditional hotel and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff were extremely friendly. Our luggage was late and they were very helpful in trying to sort the issue and make our stay more comfortable. Went above and beyond expectations!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect ski location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The truth is that hotel could use some small renovations to stay unquestionable 4 star place.

    Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. They really made an effort to ensure the best conditions adapted to our needs. We were there only for one night and our main goal was to ski. Earlier check in or possibly to take a shower after checkout made it all very good experience. Its location is definitely one of the best in Zermatt and the majestic view on the Matterhorn is worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Old style Swiss run Hotel with Fantastic location for Matterhorn Glacier skiing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was not working on our floor, even though they had the providers in the week before. As a result my son spent a fortune on mobile data to talk to his friend back home. Somewhat cheekily they charged us for the Train Station transfer (even though it was the hotel Car) which I never encountered before in Zermatt.

    The Location is fantastic - about 80m from both a large ski hire shop -Dorsaz Sport (book online for a 10% discount) and the high capacity Zermatt-Furi-Furg-Trockner Steg Gondola. We have stayed all over Zermatt over the years but this was the quickest most trouble free way to get up the mountain. By changing at Furi one could also be up the Gornergrat mountain (Riffleberg) much quicker than taking the Gornergrat train. We worried about being far away from the main street, but it was only a 11min (800m) stroll in the evening to the Church at the top of the Main Street. We stayed half board at the Antares. Good breakfast buffet (cold with only eggs cooked on request) and good coffee. 5 course dinner had just the right amount of food, though 2 of the courses were small (salad bar and amuse bouche). As others have said, somewhat staid decor in Bedrooms BUT the bathrooms were very nice, obviously upgraded not too long ago - all marble/polished stone with twin sinks, bath with stand up shower and plenty of hot water. Balcony in our superior room had a magnificent Matterhorn view and was large enough to seat 4-6 people. Afternoon tea and cakes were generous but had a specific typical Swiss "custardy" style which might not be to everyone taste. Staff had character and personality and were obviously working hard - this is a tightly run owner managed place. Overall very good value and we would go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Dated, but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small a room. Dated Thin towels

    We stayed for one night to have two days ski in this excellent ski location. The best thing about this hotel is the 50 m distance to the Matterhorn Express ski cable lift and its quite good kitchen. You can ski back almost to the hotel. Its location is not more than 800 meters from the center of the village. Most of the rooms have a beatiful view on the Matterhorn. But the hotel has an outdated outlook. Our room was tiny, with a refurbished small bathroom with shower. It is supposed to be a four starr hotel, all amenities were present, but the towels were very thin. If only the carpeting would have been renewed. In the present state it gave the small room a poor impression. However, at 4:00 p.m. free of charge coffee, tea and juice is being served accompanied by attractive and ample cakes. The wellness center has various jacuzzi baths and sauna. Breakfast and especillay dinner are very good. The restaurant leaves a cozy impression. The wine list is interesting and wines are attractivey priced. Half board seems a good deal. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Seen the positive points, especially its close location to the cable car, we will come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything !

    The location was excellent. Right beside the gondola and only a 10 minute walk to the downtown square. The staff were very friendly and really made us feel at home. The afternoon cakes after skiing were a great touch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The posistion of this hotel which is perhaps 50 mtrs from a main lift is fantastic !! . We also used Dorsaz ski shop which meant we had ski storage at the ski lift .... No where else is quite as conveniant in zermatt as this !!! . All the staff were very friendly and helpfull . Will defo book again in the near future .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel in Zermatt
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big deal, but I wished the spa was open earlier in the day.

    Lovely little hotel in Zermatt. The staff here is wonderful, warm, and friendly. It as a lovely place to spend Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    Good location, quiet, very close to the cable car to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture and equipment in the hotel is very old; it is lacking a wide array of things usual for a 4 star hotel (e.g. no kettle, mugs, spoons in the room).

    Good location, quiet, very close to the cable car to Matterhorn.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good experience, I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a ski accident and they took good care of me and they even offered me a bigger room without any charge to make me feel more comfortable. Wonderful people, great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location, right next to the gondola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much noise insulation between rooms/ floors

    Great location, right next to the gondola. Room was small but comfortable. Sauna was definitely a plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    - the hotel is situated just close to the ski lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - our room was too small - the spa was relaxing and good but be prepared that german Swiss are naked

    - the hotel is situated just close to the ski lift

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful friendly staff! They even gave us a room upgrade. The view of the Matterhorn was nothing short of spectacular! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent View and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge did not work and was not corrected during stay

    Excellent View and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Old fashioned but confortble hotel. Very convenient location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of free shuttle to the train station: what they change is ridiculous....

    It´s super close to the ski lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for only a mediocre hotel. Owner tried to rip me off which has left a bad taste

    Only the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water to drink

    Every thing is ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff, very good food and excellent location for lift and nice walk into the village centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diner in the Restaurant & Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, nice owner and staff. Very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom could be improved. Decoration need to be updated.

    Very friendly staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Beautiful view, beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.5
    The food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection

    Friendly staf Perfect location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Liked the stay ... mostly the location close to lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    rooms could be a little bigger

    The croissants were fine and they made schrambled eggs and omelet ,-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Location room and staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.9
    Friendly reception staff, good value, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight far from the main belt

    Friendly reception staff, good value, clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    enjoy two nice days here and I will stay here next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    the excellent service and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, very friendly staff and excellent food especially dinner. We will stay at Antares every time we visit Zermatt:))

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    3.8
    Situated too far from station (20 min walk). Room rate not up to its value at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 007 very poor, lighting dim, no icebox, next to kitchen very noisy up to 11pm. No kettle to boil some hot water for drinking.

    nice decoration

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Very friendly the owner .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly the owner ...she upgraded our room to the top floor with an expectacular view to the Matterhorn

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.9
    Location is good, near gandola
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good, near gandola

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was little noisy,quilt could have been bigger for double bed

    Exceptional staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Superb !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Ambience and view of Matterhorn mountain. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    The hostess was very friendly and let us stay an extra day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostess was very friendly and let us stay an extra day even the hotel was formally closed. Furthermore we were upgraded to a more expensive room with a stunning view on the Matterhorn without extra costs.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant staff is excellent and food very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe a little face lift to the property

    Restaurant staff is excellent and food very tasty. Location of the hotel is very good. We have been coming in here since 20 years. The owner Monica is attentive and kind and loves taking care of guests personally 💝

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    9.2
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa facilities were not quite as warm as they could be (e.g., hot tubs, sauna, steam room).

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's a perfect location for skiing. Great views of the Matterhorn if you get the right room.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is fantastic with just a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor is a little tired but this this is reflected in the good value for money.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic with just a very short walk to the gondola and easy asses to the main town. The staff were lovely and very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.9
    Situation of property , view and facility to join ski area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a traditional older structure on the way to current expectations of clientele . It is clearly going there but needs to define which exact type of clientele they want to serve.

    Situation of property , view and facility to join ski area and town center

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.6
    This is a beautiful classic style hotel located at the upper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a beautiful classic style hotel located at the upper end of the Zermatt village. It has not been renovated recently (part of its charm), and is very well maintained and cleanly kept. Our balcony had an amazing view of the Matterhorn. Immediate access to trails and lifts for hikers and skiers.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.6
    My friend and I came from Saudi Arabia to ski as we like to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pillow is very thin and no extra pillowes were available.

    My friend and I came from Saudi Arabia to ski as we like to try different ski resort world wide. I've neve stayed in a hotel closer to the lift than this one.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    9.2
    Close to the cable car;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing actually

    Close to the cable car; you almost can role from your bed to the cable car going to Trockener Steg. Very very friendly staff taking into account your wishes. We wanted to check in early and make use of a afternoon skiing. We got the key of the room; check in could be done later at our own convenience. That is thinking along! Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.1
    The ambience is very relaxing and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When people smoke on the balconies (which is permitted) it filters into your room somehow even with the windows closed tight.

    The ambience is very relaxing and quiet. The staff are extremely helpful and they do everything to make you welcome and at home.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    9.6
    Loved this first visit to Zermatt, staying at the Antares...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved this first visit to Zermatt, staying at the Antares Hotel during a sunny and snowy weekend. The Antares location is extremely convenient to the lifts and nearby rental shop. Friendly and helpful reception. Rooms, breakfast, spa were what I'd expect from a hotel at this level--the room's view of the Matterhorn was outstanding! Would visit again.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.2
    This was my 5th stay in the Antares and once again it was an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was my 5th stay in the Antares and once again it was an excellent choice. All the staff, led by the charismatic Monika, are excellent and very helpful - keen to make your stay as easy as possible. The food is excellent - the Half-Board option with gourmet 5 course dinner is of a very high standard. The breakfasts are all you could want. The location of the hotel next to the Trockener Steg chairlift is ideal.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.1
    Close to lifts & walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small rooms although we had superior. More soundproofing needed, although people were not noisy in themselves, every old key or wardrobe door (coat hangers) could be heard. No choice of food, thus some courses if fish was not to our taste as only white fish is liked. A la carte would have been preferred or at least a choice of the main meall or soup course. Quite long waits between courses considering it was a set menu. Breakfast was not the best we have had in Zermatt: it was adequate but needed bacon/ tomatoes/ toast with their offer of an egg. A cover twixt bottom sheet & mattress would have been nice as whatever the mattress material/covering was made of, it made the bed extremely hot particularly with a duvet holding in that heat. The writer had to sleep on the top with the towelling gown on, to keep cool. We turned the rads off upon arrival as the room. was very hot; but that is normal we have learned over many years of ski travel. None of the above spoiled our enjoyment of our stay & these points are only meant to assist the management as after 6 Christmases to Zermatt the position/location was the best ever. We were automatically upgraded to 1/2 board from our booking of B&B, which at another time would have been very good, but this made for difficulties we found later as 48 hours notice (or at times less) was needed to cancel dinner, as we had friends to meet on several occasions & their plans were not written in stone. Thus a'la carte would have suited our needs of flexibility if it had been available.

    Close to lifts & walks. Friendly obliging staff. Collection via the hotel shuttle. Complimentary afternoon cakes & beverage. Good hot water supply. Room made up by the time we returned from breakfast, which is rare we find in most hotels. Nice sunny balcony 403, to catch the lovely Matterhorne view & blue winter sky. Lovely dining room -traditional Swiss wood to give atmosphere, thus not too contemporary as some are. The sweet waitresses (who were very new) learned to make tea, English style, & also quickly learned that cold milk instead of hot was needed for the tea. Very charming.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly great staff and owner rooms great very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We lacked for nothing

    Very friendly great staff and owner rooms great very clean roomy breakfast sufficient wellness centre wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    VERY close to the Ski Lift (Furi).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ski Room was very small and very crowded.

    VERY close to the Ski Lift (Furi). Perhaps 50m walk. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.3
    The position next to the Furi express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furnishing needs some updating

    The position next to the Furi express. Homemade jams at breakfast. Extremely kind personnel.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two single mattrasses in double room (instead of a big one).

    Service!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.3
    Very good range of breakfast food served in lovely dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good range of breakfast food served in lovely dining room with view of Matterhorn.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location Very good value for Money

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Bathroom shower too low
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom shower too low No wifi on 5th floor

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.2
    Location, food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, food and staff

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.1
    Cosy mountain style atmosphere, family personal touch, fair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms old fashion could need remodeling soon

    Cosy mountain style atmosphere, family personal touch, fair price in general.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    Awesome place, friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Awesome place, friendly staff, great location

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    9.2
    It is very close to the lift and not far from the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is very close to the lift and not far from the local market and restaurants..

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: