Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Sauvage Grindelwald This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tuftbach 4, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#35 of 40 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 858 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People make the best and the worst of places. Thank you - hotel manager Mohan for your incredible help & hospitality. His kindness & helpfulness helped us have a great stay while we were in Grindelwald. The hotel is also great, incredible view (although if I'm being honest, I think it will be better during spring and summer), good breakfast with very large rooms. We were travelling as 4 - splitted into 2 rooms - but we actually dined in one of the rooms because it was very comfy and had a proper dinner table.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    Generally speaking, it’s comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally speaking, it’s comfortable and clean. The house is big enough for the family with children. The staff is nice and warm. The location is a little bit far away from railway station and there is no restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is exactly as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is exactly as advertised. It is a good 700 metre walk from the station and it is mostly uphill so with luggage it will be difficult for some. The staff are very helpful and will collect or drop you off at the station. We found the walk was good after a meal. The premises are basically three star but the breakfast is good, plenty of it and the views of the alps in particular the Eiger mountain from the room balcony are breathtaking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    This hotel was sooo clean and wonderful. View to Eiger Mount was just breathtaking. Don’t hesitate!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was bad. Breakfast was just fine.

    The staff was very nice. Especially the owner! He did pick us up at the station and dropped us back. Omg he even approved our request to postpone our check-in date due to our sudden plan change. So we did check in next day. Some people say the hotel is far from the station etc. But I think this is more fun, you can walk to the center or station while taking pics and feeling the wonderful view of the village. It was the best hotel decision ever for us. So do not hesitate!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great view. Private parking. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really old. Parking is a bit extreme.

    Old but clean hotel. Amazing view from the room. Nice breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Private parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views from our room, room connected to each other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful views from our room, room connected to each other from the balcony. Its conveniet for group or family travel together. We took the pick up and drop off from the hotel. We decided to take a walk from hotel to centre about 10 - 5 minutes and took bus no 122 coming back to hotel. Overall experience was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.3
    We are happy we stayed here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast selection got old quickly. With a gluten intolerance, I was pretty much restricted to cold cuts, cheese, and yogurt.

    The view from the room was unbelievable. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Easy access to public transport. They even picked us up and dropped us off at the train station on check-in/out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.6
    Location was extremely great , I love it the balcony and its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some small issues like shower should be improve or a bit interior renovation made it 100%

    Location was extremely great , I love it the balcony and its view is still comes to my mind each time I closed it , the hotel seems to be a bit old but to me it’s retro and in harmony with outside , staff were kind and helpful , breakfast was enough and All together I like it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    2.9
    Marginal hotel,not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is not as advertised, more than 1 mile to city center, not in walking distance. Room - soap dispenser broken, reported did not fix, some electrical outlets did not work cold & hot water reversed on shower & sink faucet. Not up to standard facility.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.9
    OMG!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OMG!!!! The view was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff even suggested some attractions for us to check out. We went on the cable car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    Room with huge balcony and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be a little bit better. more diversity. No plates, or cutleries, even though there is a microwave and a small fridge.

    There is a huge balcony with view. It is perfect to enjoy the sun and the mountains there. The area is really quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    The views from the hotels are superb and compensate for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is quite a long walk from the town centre and the courtesy bus stops at 1800. Generally the hotel could do with some redecorating and refurbishment.

    The views from the hotels are superb and compensate for the dated decor. The buffet breakfast is pretty good and the staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is quite unclean. A spider is found on the ceiling of the room.

    The hotel is easily accessible. It takes us 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.9
    It would be great if there were slippers as there is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be great if there were slippers as there is a balcony with cold floor. Or at least if this was mentioned on booking, it would help to get prepared.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.2
    The balcony is directly facing to Eiger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A kitchen staff did not look friendly and pulled a long face when looking at us. If it was not him, I would had rated the staff a five star.

    The balcony is directly facing to Eiger. Wonderful scenic view of the mountain and the village located far from the downhill. The staff at the reception area were nice and helpful. The room was clean and nicely set that fit 4 of us and still had a plenty of place. Microwave provided. Sheltered parking area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location! 10 min walk to the railway station. Our room was on the 5th floor, towards the mountain. Stunningview from the spacious balcony! Helpful staff. Picked us from and drove us to the railway station, which couldn't be more convenient! Good breakfast. Strongly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location! 10 min walk to the railway station. Our room was on the 5th floor, towards the mountain. Stunningview from the spacious balcony! Helpful staff. Picked us from and drove us to the railway station, which couldn't be more convenient! Good breakfast. Strongly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.6
    Such a lovely holidays home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far away from the main station. But there is a free bus and a free pick up :)

    It was more likely home then a hotel. Excellent place for a family for their holidays

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.3
    the staff is kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff is kind. you can get a pick-up or drop-off service. Also you'll get the public bus voucher from the hotel which valid on the day and next day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.6
    The view and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to walk in the heat up a hill to get there for about 20 mins with our suitcases. Only when we got there did we find out we could have been picked up.

    The view and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.3
    The room we stayed was spacious for a small family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking toward to hotel from Grindelwald station is a bit challenging for family with kids.

    The room we stayed was spacious for a small family. We had everything we needed. The view was fabulous. The staff was very helpful and kind. One minute to the bus stop which runs every 1 hour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    The view is amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really ! Everything was good

    The view is amazing !! And room size is much bigger than I expected !! I and my family really enjoyed staying ! Next time will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Nice, clean, roomy with a large balcony and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was bright and clean with a great balcony (with a table and chairs) and view of the alps and valley below! Nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. We took the bus to get there but found out they will pick you up from train/bus station! They also dropped us at the train with our luggage! So convenient! Breakfast was good and many choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    One of the best places you can stay. The view from our room was breathtaking, fabulous. Staff was very friendly, breakfast view was hard to beat. Great place to stay if you are visiting Grinelwald or Luaterbrunnen. Too bad we couldn`t spend more time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have had more variety. Not much in the way of fruit and no options for a fresh omelette etc.

    Super helpful staff. Lovely corner room with a stunning view of the Eiger from the large balcony - we chilled out one evening just watching the sunset - amazing!. Car Parking was well managed. Hotel is only a short walk to the town centre and main lift stations for summer activities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.4
    The room is spacious but not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no air conditioning and we couldn’t open the window at night because there are a lot of wired insects, so it was very hot during night.

    The room is spacious but not very clean. The view was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    Great location and views, pathetic management of the day to day operations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in - We called beforehand and let them know that we will be checking in around 9 pm. When we reached hotel there was no one on the reception desk, after buzzing the bell couple of times, someone helped us check in and tell us where to park. Room - room appeared clean but desperately needs renovation. There is no air conditioner in room 275 (On the website they say all rooms have airconditioning!) The carpet, furniture everything looks so worn out (On the website they call it art deco furnishing). There was mould in the bathroom ceiling partially because the exhaust only made noise and did nothing to remove humid air. There were very basic toiletteries. The room looked like someone absent mindidly left few things here and there. For e.g. There was tea and kettle and one teaspoon in the room but no cups or milk, there was one, maybe forgotten, wine glass in the cupboard and no hand towels in the bathroom. Breakfast - The breakfast again looked like half hazard attempt at assembling things together. There were bowls of cucumbers, olives and tomatoes, next to cereal and yoghurt, cheese, bread(almost stale), coffee/tea and boiled eggs. The cutlery needs good washing and polishing. Check out - not much interaction, i handed back the keys and he said everything is paid so all done, no receipt was given, no "thank you for staying with us". We had trouble getting our car out of the parking lot as there were so many big vans parked erratically. Be careful if you park here. In conclusion, i want to blame whoever is managing this place. So much can be improved if only someone acted like they care. This can be such a beautiful property with a little bit of TLC. I am not sure how they justify the 3 stars or the price of the room. The service was worst than a 1 star. Simple things like, when we decided to sit outside on the terrace for breakfast, no one bothered to even make the table. Do not be fooled by the fancy pictures on their website.

    Location is really good, big terrace outside the room to enjoy the beautiful views. We asked for a fan as it was a very hot evening and they got us a big one which really helped as it was impossible to keep the windows open because of swarm of mosquitoes outside. The few staff members we met (hard to tell, as no one wears uniform or badge here) were polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit run down/dated but clean.

    Big room with nice extras, like hot pot, refrigerator and balcony. Triple room had a nice partition for 3d bed —actually created a little room. Excellent view from room. Very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was a basic but filling buffet. Nice parking garage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like about this prpoperty

    Great room, very large, very comfy beds, our view from our private courtyard was magnificent, I cannot say enough good things about this, it was just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.5
    Awesome staff his name was ambu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning could have been better

    Awesome location.room with a view and balcony.good breakfast.staff even gave us our luggage on station when we returned from Jungfraujoch.great service saved us lot of time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit far from the train station. However the host do provide free bus ticket for us to travel within Grindelwald! And free shuttle car service is provided for pick up to hotel and from hotel back to train station.

    They having a great mountain view directly from our room ( we booked the room with mountain view).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, cheerful, decor very dated! But lovely views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The balcony gate between us and neighbour very flimsy and didn’t feel very private as it kept swinging open and the neighbours kept coming into our area!!!

    The views were lovely ! shame no flowers on balcony as those that were there were dead and only one pot !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.8
    This is a reasonably priced property but the owners need spend some money on modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very tired and in need of some major modernisation. Very dated interior, curtains inadequate and quite a few broken fixtures and fittings.

    The property was easy to find and the staff helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    3.8
    View outside the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping was very skimpy, didn’t do a proper check before handing the room over- unknown used towels left in the cabinet. Facilities very run down too- eg. the door in the balcony fell off????????? Staff were not very welcoming- pretty irritated that we “weren’t at the pickup location” even though it was the train that arrived a little late. Location was not the best either. Quite a far walk from the train station/where the shops and restaurants are located at.

    View outside the window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    4.2
    stunning views only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was not daily cleaned, The hotel is under solid Indian management sometimes staff was struggling to understand English or German,

    Stunning views from the Hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    3.3
    rooms are big enough the sight fro the teraace are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rooms are big enough the sight fro the teraace are spectacular. other then that the beds were uncomfortable.. amenities are basic and under. even the toilet paper is skimpy. there is a microwave but not even a spoon or a cup. . breakfast is basic. .but enough. brewd coffee like we havnt seen for a long time. a hook in the bathroom would have been very helpful. we stayed 2 nights. the room was not cleaned in between. . far from the center of things. if you can stay else where.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Views, Beatiful town, Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit dated, some things had wear but there wasn't a lot to complain about. it was about a 15 minute walk from the town/station.

    Superb views from all the rooms, the room whilst dated was excellently equipped and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was well prepared and nice and the staff even dropped us off at the station when we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    Stunning view of the valley and you can relax in the balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast spread was not as expected.

    Stunning view of the valley and you can relax in the balcony whole day looking at the Alps. Staffs were helpful in check in and providing info about nearby places to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little basic, Hotel is located a little way out of town where you find restaurants, shops and the station, the walk back is uphill

    Good sized room, great views, quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Worth to staying and would love to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the lamps over two beds were not working and breakfast option was quite limited.

    Staff was always so helpful. They were so communicative and responsible for taking care of guests. They picked my family up at Grindelwald station and gave us a ride to go to a supermarket by car. Room was spacious and clean and had a great view of Eiger. The view was stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.8
    The view of mount Eiger is one of the most beautiful thing I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a little far from the station so if there’s no transport then you’d have to walk 15 mins in a chilled weather!

    The view of mount Eiger is one of the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in specific.....

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. View from our 4th floor room was splendid. Breakfast was abundant, but continental only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Very peaceful hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think this may not the mistake of this hostel but the booking.com website. Cos when I find the way to this hostel, booking.com shows the wrong way that made me waste a lot of time, especially in a snowing night. That was really cold.And I did not get any genius Gift.

    The view outside the window is really beautiful. And the location is not so far from the train station, 15 mins walk. It’s a good time to look around and feel very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    4.6
    - breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - breakfast.. pathetic.. not many options for veg. - first allotted room was cold as room heaters were not ON..they should have adjusted this before..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.3
    Way to expensive for the quality of the room and the minimal breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was minimal choice and bad coffee. No fresh fruit except apples. End of bed was broken. Toilet stopped flushing. Bathroom was very old and dirty.

    The view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel! Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed’s cover sheet is not soft enough. Little bit far from town but acceptable in this price.

    Big room with dining area & big balcony. Free carpark & buffet breakfast. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.3
    quite ok for 2 nights, but not for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was way too much heated up, so we couldnt sleep properly because of this heat. the staff doesnt understand proper german.

    rooms with a lot of space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    Nothing fancy, but convenient for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly over-heated and the decor is old-fashioned (1980's style).

    Nothing fancy, but very comfortable. It was no problem that we arrived late. There was the promised free parking (not always the case!). Location is great with a nice view from the breakfast room. Breakfast buffet was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was fantastic with an exceptional view! The pillows are soft, the hotel is immaculate and the staff couldn’t be more friendly! The bus stop is a 4 minute walk from the hotel and takes ten minutes to bodmi and less than 5 to Grindelwald. Perfect family location. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay for a visit in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast gave as a good boost for the busy day we had. The staff was top notch, helped us with everything, even let us keep the car in their parking after we checked out. Beautiful view from the rooms. No problems with the internet. There is bus few meters away from the property, and it's free

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    10
    we were happy with the stay, the facilities and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room service came late in the day - we were sometimes back from our day out. there was no option to have coffee in the room - only tea sachets were provided. a small container of milk in the fridge would be appreciated.

    great price for the buffet breakfast. short walk into town. friendly and obliging staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    The hotel offered pickup and drop from the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offered pickup and drop from the railway station. The staff was very friendly. They gave a pass for the local transport. Rooms were with stellar view! Didn't want to leave! Super comfy rooms and super spacious bathrooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    8.3
    The view from our room was amazing - overlooking the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture is dated but well maintained.

    The view from our room was amazing - overlooking the whole Grindelwald valley and the mountains. Room and balcony very spacious. Breakfast was nice. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    The room is huge and clean, with good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is huge and clean, with good view. There was a little dining area and microwave. The accommodation personbel is very helpful. They made the arrangement to drive us to the station as it was raining when we were going to leave the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.5
    Great views over Grindelwald and mountains for a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a bit dated. Bathrooms are decent but the toilet bowl cleaner had dirty soiled water in it which was rather unpleasant. The room was extremely warm at night with no control to reduce the heating.

    Fantastic location with beautiful views of the mountains and towns! Absolutely stunning view. Was one of the cheapest accomodations I could find in Grindelwald and only a short 10 min walk to the centre. Ample parking. Breakfast was good with good staff to take care of you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    The room is comfortable, nice and clean and has small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is comfortable, nice and clean and has small kitchen (microwave oven, fridge, no dishes). Most of the balconies have a beautiful view to the valley and the surrounding mountains. The breakfast is basic, still nicely served. Hotel is just few steps from the bus stop connecting to the train station and other buses/trains. In addition, on arrival/departure there is a possibility of free shuttle drive. The hotel staff pays lots of attention to make stay of each guest comfortable. Great place for a perfect holiday in Grindelwald!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    Awesome and would recommend to anyone travelling to Grindelwald!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In room dining and a phone in the room to be able to call the reception.

    We were picked up from the station by a kind man named Anbu, he helped us with an early check in and also gave us a room with the best view on the 5th floor. We were also dropped off to the train station on the day of our departure. Lovely hotel and lovely people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    8.8
    cheap and friendly hotel with magnificent view from room windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not quite a walking distance from the center or the train station. must use a car if u stay here

    magnificent view from room windows, the staff is proffessional even though they dont around much. room is quite spacious and the price is very competitive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Grindelwald!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect!

    We had a wonderful time. Ambu (hope I’m writing his name correctly), the person at the reception, is the best, he was always helpful and smiley. He also offered to take us to the train station at 5am the day we were leaving although it was snowing and he had to wake up before us to clean the road. He is a great human being and our stay wouldn’t been as perfect without his presence. The view from our room... speechless. The hotel also offers discounts for different activities and a free card to use the bus. Call them before arriving and they will also pick you up at the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    Reception is very friendly n he drove us from station and to station which is highly appreciated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my fault that I didn’t ask for a receipt after paying city tax n the reception wanted to charge me again. I insisted I paid n he let it go and he wasn’t grouchy about it and still drove us to the train station upon checkout. It would be good to issue receipt without having to ask for it.

    Heating is very good. I do not feel cold in the bathroom where floor is also heated. It’s very important for tourists who are not used to the harsh winter condition. Balcony has lovely view of the mountains. Bfast was good and we enjoyed the freshly made croissants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    If you want to see the most beautiful landscape in the Alps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to see the most beautiful landscape in the Alps I would recommend this hotel because not far from the downtown area, has been covered by the newly covered shopping malls and hotels to cover the window view. A visitor to visit the city three times a year, the former 2 times, real opinion.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and economical mountain view hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toiletries. They could provide good quality toiletries.

    Excellent view from balcony. Cozy and comfortable room. Adequate breakfast. very nice and helpful staff and even they drop you and pick up you from town center. I rate this as the best hotel to stay in Grindelwald.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.6
    Good clean place to lay your head, you won't go hungry, every room has a view! I'd go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no problem

    I am so sorry I did not get the name of the gentleman who greeted us when we checked in. He had all of our paperwork ready, and explained everything to a T. He was so gracious and showed us where to park, where to go for breakfast in the morning, and in general, was just a delightful human being. I had to come back down some half hour after check in because our German plugs didn't work with the Switzerland plugs. With a smile he graciously offered me an extension plug, free of charge. In the morning at check out he was very attentive in asking how things were. The room was exceptionally clean, the view, impeccable. The Hotel offers a complimentary breakfast -- and that get's into personal preference. The food was fresh. The area clean. Again, Staff attentive to requests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money. Dint expect such a great view from room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting was sufficient but for me seemed a bit less in room. Breakfast was good but more variety is required to match the property value.

    Staff helpful and friendly. Room and balcony had amazing views!!! Balcony, room and bathroom was really spacious and big enough to match property value. good parking space, nearby -1km away pizzeria was also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed with area (0.5km) around hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the hotel was far too high for such tight parking spaces and the breakfast choices was only a few choices of meat & cheese, yogurt, bread (tad stale), and packaged jam.

    The staff, a lone person, was very friendly and helpful with figuring when to spend a family adventure the next day. Hirschen restaurant was 2.5km away and had excellent food! The view was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    7.9
    Good family room and superb view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good size family room with superb view across to the Eiger. Nice continental breakfast. Clean and in a quiet location 5-10 minutes walk from the Main Street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Put some grab bars in the shower/tub and maybe something on the floor to make it less slippery.

    Staff incredible. Krishna the owner came looking for us at the train station because it was getting late and we hadn't shown up. That was a blessing because it was pouring rain, it was dark, and we would have had no idea where to go and there no cabs. He then offered to let us eat with his staff (it was 9 pm) and when we declined drove us back into town to go to a restaurant. The hotel was full for the next night so in the morning he gave us a lift to our next hotel. The other staff could not have been friendlier. The room was large with a large patio. Only caution: no grab bars in the shower and it was very slippery so be careful. Also one bedside light did not work. Other than that, no complaints and overall a really happy experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful view outside from the room and the balcony, quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very good (small selection of mostly cheap food, not very fresh either). Bathroom could use a reconstruction (broken tiles, leaking shower).

    Beautiful view outside from the room and the balcony, quite a lot of space inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    The view was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view was incredible! The balcony alone is worth booking this hotel. This was our favorite hotel of the trip. I told them it was my birthday and they brought us champagne to the room. Super staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    The best view of the mountains and a brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - none

    - Brilliant location with spectacular views - Top draw breakfast. Good soft croissants. Nice coffee - Wonderful owners. Very kind and helpful. We travelled with a toddler and the owners did everything to make the stay very comfortable. - very good free internet connection. As good as you can get in any top hotels around the world - well priced. Will come back again. Just hope that there will be free rooms in the future. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Great view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great view from the balcony. Friendly staff. Very commodating. Large and comfortable room with fridge and microwave. Recommend without reservation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    The best memory through my journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, literally. Really it is.

    Perfect. We arrived there really late but they picked me up at the station! They greeted us with open arms, tried to help us a lot. Their service was really nice. The view is really fantastic, room condition is really clean and cozy, price is reasonable in Switzerland. Hotel is a little bit far, but it's nothing compare to pros. I strongly recommend stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.1
    From the balcony there was an amazing view of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast available, as they were undergoing construction work.

    From the balcony there was an amazing view of the mountains. Remarkably large rooms. Microwave available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.1
    Spacious room, budget amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a bit of a walk from town, though there is a bus and that wasn't a surprise. There were some strange things, like a large double closet but it was locked so we couldn't use it, we put things on top and realized after they were covered in dust, most strangely we were given only hand towels in the bathroom no full sized towels. Wifi was spotty. No breakfast.

    Our room was large, great view, huge balcony, the bathtub stopper actually worked so my children could take a bath, the duvet and pillows were high quality- real feathers!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.5
    Great place overall and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom: No proper shower facilities and in need of improvement - old No breakfast facilities so meant we had to eat out / get bits in.

    Room was great for a family. Location great and quiet. Views spectacular. Owner very helpful whenever we asked for something. Easy free parking a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75