Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Deco Hotel Montana 4 stars

Adligenswilerstrasse 22, 6002 Luzern, Switzerland

#23 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right now they are renovating parts of the floors, was noisy at times in the afternoon

    Fantastic view over the city, very friendly customer service, the room are very clean and the design very interesting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    I realized that it's expensive because it's in Switzerland, not because of great amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the room was not comfortable (and not as advertised in pictures). The bathroom had a nice tub, but you couldn't take a shower there, which was awkward.

    Lake view was great (though to be fair you get the same view from just walking along the water). Also, the bar is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Above and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above and beyond! An excellent stay. A welcoming staff! Made my wife’s bday extra special. Would recommend to anyone-gorgeous rooms, up on a hill for outstanding views and thoughtful warm people!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    Lucerne is beautiful, although our stay was hampered by poor weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did expect a robe along with the slippers. The second day I received a robe upon my request,however I should not have had to ask for it. .perhaps housekeeping needs to be briefed on what is expected.

    The location, the view of the lake , free bus pass,Fernicular. The bar, lounge inviting. Rooms we’re sparsely furnished..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing night in Lucerne with wild 3 year old, totally excited about his stay as much us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    When we arrived to our room the extra bed we requested through booking.com was there in the room setup. In addition because we had given an age range there was a kid pack with alligator soap, lion themed wash cloth, and rubber ducky. The bath was spacious with the tub located center and a magnificent view of the mountains. The room was a welcomed luxury for our extended trip and worth the value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds are barely suitable for a regular sized adult. Sleep was rather torturous to barely be able to move without being over the edge. Price a bit high, but similar to equivalent quality hotels in Lucerne.

    Beautiful location, decor and facilities. Very nice, helpful staff. Great bar/jazz club. Worth extra money for lake view rooms. Air conditioned rooms great choice for people who are always warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location and public areas make Montana a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows

    Public rooms are comfortable and Louis Bar club sandwiches excellent. The furnicular is wonderful, as the hotel is close to pubic transport. Staff are friendly and helpful, responding to email requests within an hour. Fruit, plates and knives provided on each floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Boris, great guy of knowledge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being on the 2nd floor with lake view, you are right above the outside Beach Bar where the smoking wafts up into your room :( and also guests can see into your room from the bar so if taking a shower you cannot than stand at the basin without being seen! now you could draw the curtain, but with the views you buy into why should you, its the same with the bedroom, come on Montana sort out some sort of screening we pay enough!!

    Boris, great guy of knowledge. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful stay at the Art Deco Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One staff member was a little surly with us but apart from that staff were good. The communal areas can feel a little warm and stuffy but thankfully we were in an air conditioned room! They could make it clearer that the CHF 20 charge for a Swiss plug adapter is refundable. But just minor niggles for what is a superb hotel!

    The views from the hotel over the lake are stunning! Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful although always really busy so sometimes service can feel slow! The decor of the communal areas and rooms is immaculate and we loved the Art Deco touches everywhere. Definitely one of the best hotels in Lucerne!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only two things we did not like very much: - The space of the room. It was extremely small and the curtains had some holes, something does not make you fill you are in a hotel of this category. - Food selection for breakfast. Although good quality, the variety of food is not too broad and nothing worth to highlight. Average food in fact. This was unexpected for us given the great food we had one night before for dinner.

    The personnel was extremely nice and helpful, from the guy in the reception to the people working in the bar and restaurant. The guy in the front desk helped us organizing our trip to Pilatus, he even handed us some maps and routes. We also got a ticket to ride the buses in the city center during our stay for free. The bar atmosphere and decoration is amazing, you have to get at least a drink there. The bar tender was very friendly and professional at making the cocktails we ordered, it was obvious he knew his job perfectly. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious, the service was great. A good selection of food, wines and desserts, everything was delicious and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Views!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better outdoor public areas, e.g. A little cafe instead of crowded beach club or grand dining.

    You take the hotel's funicular up from the lake!!!!! So cool, and loved our balcony facing lake and mountains but away from town. Could watch the view forever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Don't stay anywhere else in Luzern! I wish we'd stayed here longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning. However, the hotel supply fans so no complaints from me.

    The staff, the cable car, the view, the location was all amazing. Absolutely nothing that I can fault.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Quality, in a lovely lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the 'hilll view' are overlooking a street that gets very noisy at times. You need the windows open if it's warm so there's no avoiding this. Extras like chocolates at turn down, or biscuits each day aren't provided, which I thought surprising for a hotel of this quality and price.

    The view from the terrace, restaurant or beach club is amazing. The bars have a great atmosphere. The staff are really good here, really helpful. Drinks and food all excellent, though expensive the same as the rest of Switzerland! We used the free tickets for 'Seebad' and laid in the sun, dipped toes in the lake, so ask for a ticket on reception on a hot day. The location a short walk from the busiest centre of Lucerne along the lake edge is brilliant, and I'm glad I chose this rather than the very centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    The hotel faces the lake and gives a panoramic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were really not worthy of the price. There were even three big holes in the curtain! Totally different from the photos I saw when I made the booking. Really wonder why it's so highly rated.

    The hotel faces the lake and gives a panoramic view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we only spent two nights there.

    Everything aspect of breakfast was perfect, location, food, service and ambiance matched the lakeside views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    View is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are used to non-smoking establishments, including the lounge area. The music, beverages, and staff in the lounge were excellent, but our the smoke had us leaving early.

    Unbelievable View-- we could see the lake and the mountains. Just breathtaking. The patio was a great place to relax at the end of the day. Of course the room was nothing but luxury!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.4
    VERY BAD EXPERIENCE AS WE WERE SHOCKED TO SEE AN ONGOING RENOVATION WORKS WITHOUT US BEING INFORMED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM LOCATION AS THIS ROOM WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE A HILL SIDE VIEW , BUT INSTEAD THE WIDOW WAS COVERED WITH SCAFFOLDING WHICH MADE THE ROOM TO BE VERY DULL . WE ASKED TO HAVE THE ROOM CHANGED BUT REFUSED TO DO SO UNLESS WE PAID AN EXCESS AMOUNT OF APPROX. 35% OF THE ORIGINAL ROOM RATE . ALSO , THE ROOM WAS TOO NOISY AS DRILLING WAS GOING ON ON THE HIGHER FLOORS DUE TO THE RENOVATION WORKS .

    LOCATION AND THE ROOM

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    5.0
    远不如期待
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 3 rooms with same price, but the size of the rooms are so different. One room is extreamly small (especially the bathroom) whilst another is very big with very nice bathroom.

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    This is a very grand hotel that has a lovely restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was very basically decorated. On the whole I think they could really take a lot more advantage of their 'Art Deco' title and have it a central feature to their design and their facilities. I think there are some missed opportunities in this regard. It would be great to have the ambience of the Art Deco period as a real point of difference for this hotel.

    This is a very grand hotel that has a lovely restaurant, great views and friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Mixed. Historic property, loud parties, and cigarette smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Montana seems to be a "party" hotel for young people. The weekend I was there, young people were drinking and screaming on the balaconies for hours. It was impossible to be outside without the constant din of 20-something girls screaming, "wooooooooooooo!" "Wooooooooooooo!" "Wooooooooooooooooooooo!" at the top of their lungs. The rooms are not soundproof, so everything the other guests do will be an audible part of your stay. It felt like Spring Break at Datona Beach ... The hotel allows smoking in their famous bar, which is pretty ... retro. You can smell smoke all throughout the main public spaces. Their famous restaurant was completely booked on the weekend I was there, and closes early, so, if you want to eat there, plan ahead (and deal with the smell of cigarettes), or go to town for meals. All in all, it is one of the most beautiful, sophisticated properties I could imagine, which was impossible to enjoy because it is a venue for loud, crass parties.

    The view is unparalleled.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    great location, rather small room for the price and smell of meat in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for the price, it smelled like meat/steak in our room in the evening on the 5th floor!), on sunday you can only have breakfast till 10.30, breakfast could be a bit better for the price (fresh pressed juice, a better cheese selection) compared to other hotels of the same price category

    Location, friendly staff, chocolate for my husbands birthday, stunning view, nice bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is finished really beautiful inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake or City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't really anywhere casual to eat and relax with a baby.

    The hotel is finished really beautiful inside. The room was spotless and they left really nice touches for our little baby boy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Excellent value! Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Spacious bathroom. Super comfortable bed with down pillows and blankets!!! Desk, very good lighting, wood floors! High ceilings. Great location walking distance to the center of the old town and bridge. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    The location and lake view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is rather small, and breakfast not included in the room rate. And the bed and quilt were kind of small.

    The location and lake view was amazing. The hotel staffs were very sweet to write us a card and prepared free Champagne and chocolate! I'm touched by the words they wrote. It also has a tiny balcony to see the city or lake view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    Definitely!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Location , views from our room and the service was excellent. Breakfast was ok can do more variety of fresh fruits and other Swiss bakery items. Dinner at the restaurant was amazing .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.7
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very expensive and not air-conditioned. Hotel should follow other Swiss hotels where one gets a bus pass if you stay 2 or more nights.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    First class location. And restaurant ..,but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, and a fan that was next to useless. Cmon guys even if you put in a mobile a/c unit, it would help.

    Fantastic location, first class restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Top hotel with fab staff! Well done !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it, really.

    The staff is sooo helpful, especially Boris, the view is to die for, the location is great, the funicular train is fun, the quality of food at the restaurant is top, the coffee is not too strong, not too weak and not aromatic, the citrus minty water at reception is a welcome treat at the end of each day, the decor is hip, and the chocolate I received as a gift at the end of our stay was just the perfect touch! Thank you Montana, you rock!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    $400.00 per night for a room-- no ac-- can't open windows because of mosquitoes. B"beach Bar" really-- $31.00 Club sandwich- $25.00 chef per night for car parking-- beware this place is overrated..

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The excellent location, service and food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The view and the quite atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave

    The view and the quite atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers too hot for room temperature, bathrobes missing, prices of food do not match the quality

    Decor, staff, view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful bar and restaurant with scenery view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful bar and restaurant with scenery view ! Spacious and clean room. Nice bathroom as well and nice touch with its window :) !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're pressured several times to upgrade our room.

    Had an amazing view. Staff were helpful. We got a late checkout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bands (Drums) from the bar can be held from your room until 23:30, I was on the 4th room too.

    Great views across the lake. Good bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Would have preferred to stay at this property for our entire vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is exceptional!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was too hot without A/C so I upgraded my room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot without A/C so I upgraded my room to higher category which has A/C but the A/C was not working proparly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    No
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lake or City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is tif

    No

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Awesome view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no aircon which is surprising!

    Very nice view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing property with awesome views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property with awesome views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was really excellent. Yes it is quite pricey but the quality shone out

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Awesome view, very small balcony but cute, breakfast, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view, very small balcony but cute, breakfast, quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    nice view on the lake and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain, expect that it is a bit expensive

    nice view on the lake and mountains. good breakfast. comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    the best hotel in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really loved the Hotel. The room is very confortable, incredible view and the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel ever
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake or City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having to leave so soon.

    Outstanding staff, view, food, service...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    gut und zweckmässig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    good friendly welcome! very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    The view of our room 509 is excellent Could not ask for more Bang n olufsen tv is great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The vieuw was austanding food very good one of the best hotel i was

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Great style, views and vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake or City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a weiner

    Location and view- great old school Luzerne vibe

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Have stayed before,well worth paying for lakeview room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors can slam noisily at night.

    Balcony view, breakfast room stunning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.8
    Great boutique hotel with lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hill Side View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. No pool or gym on site.

    Beautiful view and location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    It's a beautiful hotel set in a great location - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - they got everything right.

    It's a beautiful hotel set in a great location - the staff are excellent.We stay in many hotels that allow dogs but you are always wary that they are more often tolerated than welcomed.This hotel IS genuinely dog friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    the funicular system is quite weird- I was hit by the fast...
    • Couple

    the funicular system is quite weird- I was hit by the fast closing funicular door onto my elbow - quite hurt I was offered a cooling spray by the reception staff - BUT only to use while in the reception area :( arriving at around 11pm they did not have a service to help us with our luggage - pretty weird for the hotel being voted top 10 city hotel in the world...

    the funicular system is quite weird- I was hit by the fast closing funicular door onto my elbow - quite hurt I was offered a cooling spray by tge receptio

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and staff could not have made us feel more welcome. The ersonalised welcome note and chocolates in the room which was a nice touch. Food and service in restaurant was supberb

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is getting a little oldish... Art Deco all you want, it is not really what I call Art Deco !

    Location, location, location. When you drive into Lucern and find the Montana, you think that you are away from everything, while in fact, you are very, very close to all the major attractions of Lucerne. Their private elevator takes you in the center of town in one minute.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.7
    The style of the hotel was very cool and the room service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was hot in the room. Americans like the room to be cooler at night. We couldn't sleep with the windows open because of the location; it was too loud outside in the city. They did bring us a fan, but the air conditioner did not work as it said it would (the nob said it would get down to 14 degrees Celsius but it never got below 20 or 21 degrees Celsius despite is turning the nob all the way to the left. Also, the room had an unpleasant smell, like body odor. We discovered it was the kind of paint on the walls so it wasn't unclean but the smell was still unpleasant. We had some lavender with us and used that as well as leaving the windows open during the day to help and it pretty much went away by night time each night, but if we forgot to do this the smell would come back quickly.

    The style of the hotel was very cool and the room service food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    clean, large room and open bathroom, dont expect to take a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff needs to learn a bit about friendliness, and breakfast was not healthy whatsoever, no fruit and no salad , at all at breakfast

    clean, large room and open bathroom, dont expect to take a steam shower, nice view at breakfast, piano bar and cigar bar,

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.3
    Art Deco Montana has mixed emotions for myself & our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Art Deco Montana has mixed emotions for myself & our friends. Very majestic hotel with breathtaking views. Some rooms were very lovely, some not so lovely. When travelling with others & you both pay the same rate, book at the same time & date, 8 months ahead of time with booking.com, you would hope & expect to pay the same on checking out. Thankyou to the Manager Fritz for listening to our concerns & for kindly upgrading our room for 1 night which was greatly appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.5
    I liked the behaviour of the staff at reception and the man...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    at the dinner table we were not very comfortable because of the indifferent attitude of the staff

    I liked the behaviour of the staff at reception and the man at the conceirge

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel doesn't have air conditioned rooms and it was very hot inside the room even if it was cold outside. Traveling in summer to this hotel will be a very bad experience

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No A/C, but we slept with the doors open and couldn't hear noise from the outdoor bar downstairs.

    The view! Amazing view over the lake! We also liked the funicular up to the hotel so we didn't have to climb a hill. We were able to easily walk from the train station and then back into town to see the famous bridge and go to dinner. The staff was very courteous, let us stow our luggage since we arrived before check-in. They gave us a great recommendation for lunch. Fun beach club bar for getting a drink in the evening, but not very noisy and allowed us to sleep with the doors open. Lovely hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    The decor of the hotel was super stylish - like being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Having no air conditioning in the rooms is not tolerable in the very hot summer nights. This greatly reduced the desirability and the overall score of the hotel, unfortunately.

    The decor of the hotel was super stylish - like being transported to another era. The funicular was very unique and convenient. Overall, the room was very cozy, and staying on top of a hill was very comfortable. The Scala restaurant dining experience was also very satisfying and the vista was incomparable.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    Fab views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed that during our 3 night stay, there was no live music. We'd read that this is a top venue for gigs.

    Fab views. Attentive & courteous staff. Loved the funicular. Amazing Art Deco design & interior furnishings. Beach Club on 1st floor. Breakfast & outlook, unspeakably beautiful way to start the day!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    We absolutely loved this Hotel and the staff were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked everything!

    We absolutely loved this Hotel and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The decor and views of the lake were beautiful and the rooms were clean and of a good size. They couldn't help us enough and also ensured that we were in adjacent rooms. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    the staff, the funicular, the breakfast, the 'snack'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you can't have a bad time there unless you have a personality disorder!

    the staff, the funicular, the breakfast, the 'snack' porch with binoculars

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.1
    The view of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a king size bed but I found a twin bed added together to make it king size bed !!! When booking dinner table in the restaurant I found it in a very bad location and they were not cooperative. I decided to go to another restaurant for this reason. The staff never smile !!!!

    The view of the lake

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.2
    The view was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expected to be met prior to seating for breakfast but no problem, we would just find a table and waited for the waiter to find us then. Would have like a gym on site.

    The view was outstanding. The reception staff very friendly, professional and interested in detail. THANK YOU>

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    We loved the balcony overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While the pillows and bedding were amazingly soft, the mattress itself was a bit hard for our taste. Would also be nice if they had an actual king sized bed instead of two twins pushed together

    We loved the balcony overlooking the lake. Extra touches such as helpfulness of staff, maid service, and the size of the rooms all added to our comfort.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    Great views fine bar scene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personnel no longer as welcoming as per past. We've been coming for years and when space a laudable we were moved to better accommodation. Though a holiday weekend (1 may) there was space available and ghetto proposed an upgrade for 200CHF per night! Yikes! Restaurant mired in gault Millau 1970's mega ingredient nouvelle, and vastly overpriced! ( I am a restaurant writer, so very critical. ) Our room was pretty humble for the price. Excellent brunch but it was 75 CH F p.p We love(d) this place over (the years!) might have to say au revoir!

    Great views fine bar scene...

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    8.3
    my favorite feature of the hotel is the lift that connects...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat outdated decor. This is probably my only qualm, and since we didn't spend too much time in the hotel itself this isn't too much of a concern

    my favorite feature of the hotel is the lift that connects the hotel to a spot very close to the lakeside main walkway. Good location, very quick wifi, clean

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Incredible view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive.

    Incredible view.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    We loved everything about this hotel and could not fault a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We loved everything about this hotel and could not fault a thing We will definitely be staying here next time

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    10
    Good Room, good reception, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Room, good reception, excellent food.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: