Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 4 stars

Pilatusstrasse 29, 6002 Luzern, Switzerland

#32 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1343 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was very small and tight, and lacked some of the basic amenities I would normally expect such as a tea kettle or coffee.

    Great rooftop bar and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seats in the lobby are too low, brighten the lobby. When I try to exchange some S’pore money to Swiss franc at hotel the counter, if it cannot be done don’t brush off with your hands with your back facing me that is rude ! A man in a nice coats did that, on the morning of 15 June 18. What a shame after a 6 nice stay in your hotel Astoria.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and very modern. The staff too is very helpful. The hotel has many restaurants nearby and the train station is around 5 mins away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we did not like, but our towels were changed every day, despite our expressing a willingness to keep them by hanging them up (as requested) in the bathroom.Why bother to ask if no one takes any notice!

    Nice to get English TV reception programmes!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are two bars at the top of the building and open until 3.30 a.m. Please avoid this hotel if you cannot fall asleep easily.

    Good breakfast and very nice service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is soo convinient..10 mnt walk from the train station..hotel staff was friendly and the room was comfy..the cappucino machine in the room was a great bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect I don’t need to complain about the hotel.

    I simply loved the hotel. It was just Value for money I paid for my 3nights 4 days Stay. The location of the Hotel is jus perfect, jus a 5 mins walk down from Luzern Stn, though u don’t need to take a bus to reach d stn however if u still need it’s jus outside d hotel. The staff of the Hotel were also very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent not over the top but had a decent spread for d Value. Thanku Astoria Thanku Booking.com

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit pricey at CHF35/night. I know it’s Switzerland and everything’s expensive, but perhaps in-house guests should get at least discounted passes.

    Great breakfast selection. The location is very near the train station and other tourist attractions. The bed is very comfortable, the toiletries smell great, and the free in-room Nespresso is a godsend. The staff were all very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was rude with us they made stupid senario that the elevator not working and our room in sixth floor , she asked us to wait or to go by stairs , and i knew that the room wasn’t prepared after half an hour they said u can go now we the problem solved, and I didn’t see any maintenance appear their .

    None

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 separate mattrassess on kingsize bed

    Central location, good breakfast, 3 restaurants on the premise, friendly staff. However please make sure to book parking spot in advance, in case you are coming by car, as the surrounding parkings are quite expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurants that are part of the property are very expensive (I guess like everything in Switzerland). We went to the Thai Garden restaurant, good food, but definitely overpriced. They charge like Michelin star restaurants, while in fact it is just a good Thai restaurant, nothing more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus of the hotel is the very small parking; it needs a preliminary reservation, but it's one of the very few hotels with parking in Lucerne.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was filling, I was hoping for more local pastries and hot meats from the area.

    The staff was extremely helpful in answering questions!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was terrible so we had to open the window and endure an entire night of loud raucous drunken noise until 6am. I know the Swiss don't like a draught but that was terrible; we were sweating ON TOP of the bed!

    Very nice room, comfortable bed, great shower, nice choice for breakfast (including vegan option), good tv options, wonderfully well soundproofed give that there is a club on the roof, fantastic location for a city break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast might have been better

    It was quite good, the room was light and clean, sometimes a bit hot. The breakfast was big and tasty. There was a coffee machine in the room, but no kettle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not soundproofing as advertised. Noises from the disco which is next to the hotel were problematic at Saturday's night.

    Location of the hotel, breakfest - very delicious and good range of products

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar in the rooms. You want water at night you need to go to the main floor to a vending machine and put money to get a bottle of water.... If the machine is working.... Not to be expected on a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Twin beds! There were no choice of queen or double bed. Very uncomfortable for couples traveling together. 2. The choice for breakfast buffet is very limited!

    1. Really liked an onsite rooftop bar - Penthouse. 2. Staff and service were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great thank you.

    Excellent location and only a short walk to the train station and tourist office. staff spoke English, which we appreciated. Excellent breakfast and numerous eateries located close by. Would recommend the free walking tour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's very difficult to know where the entrance to the hotel is! - very badly signed. Also maintenance of room not good - I left a blown lightbulb out by a lamp for the maid to replace - it was just ignored

    The location and parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't appreciate the smell of restaurant's food during day and night, till IN THE ROOM (the restaurant LA CUCINA is IN THE HOTEL and my room was on 3rd floor)!!!

    Loved the room for breakfast LATINO, very good food too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Not easy access with luggage to the front desk (escalator is very small to carry big luggage and elevator is not taking direct to the front desk) - breakfast was very minimal and some of the staffs were rude - didn't have a travel concierge ( despite of in such an international tourist hub) - bed was very bad - not soft at all. - blankets appears very old inside the cover (I presume they wash the cover only daily, not the blanket)

    - Location was good - just 3 minutes walk from the train station - front desk staffs were very pleasant and helpful to guide for travel plans (despite they didn't have a travel desk)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is little bit uncomfortble to me

    Great location/ large bathroom/ free bottle of water and an apple in the room/ friendly staff/ love their breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Location is about 5-7 min walking from main train station. A lot of good quality of restaurants and cafes. About 10-15 min walkin to Historic Center. They give you a voucher tohave breakfast at one of the restaurants in the hotel. It is a breakfast buffet with hot and cold meals, cheese, scramble eggs, sausage, ham, salami, fruit, cereal, bread etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from the rooms next door. The superior double upgrade is not really worth it. The elevator is super loud so make sure your room is far away from it.

    The breakfast was good. The fact that there are a few great restaurants as part of the property. The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the English TV Channels were working. And the room was a little cold ( so was all of Luzern) but the front desk stafff gave me a space heater with a big smile!

    Nice rooms’! The hotels offers many restaurants with the lovely Penthouse!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service staff who attended our room is very poor in English speaking.

    The room is spacious. Location is very convenient. Although the checked in time is 3.00pm , we arrived there by 11.30AM. They allowed us to check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twin beds that moved apart. The AC turned off in the building, so you had to have the window open onto a noisy road. I didn't like the restaurants that are part of the hotel. 4 restaurants, and when asked, the first concierge said they closed at midnight, another said she didn't know. When asked about coffee shops we were pointed in completely the opposite direction to where breakfast and coffee could be bought. There are 3 parts or the hotel, and each have their own lifts and stairs, and it is not obvious how to get around.

    The location was good. It was less than 10 minute walk from the station. It was a short walk to the Old Town and all the coffee shops, bars and restaurants there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very stylish at the best possible location in Lucerne. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. Large bed, extended breakfast time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are supposed to be soundproof and i expected to have a full (body) length mirror in the room; Keycard did not work sometimes!

    Breakfast was great, staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just so-so. The cheaper rooms look into an inner courtyard that is the break area for staff. A little bit of a maze to get to different areas. The associated restaurants at the bottom of the hotel were outrageously priced.

    The staff was very helpful. The room was big, clean, and stylish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view. In 4* hotel there should be at least bathrobe and slippers.

    Convenient location, just 5 min walk till railway station. Great breakfast with good choise! Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Design Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For such a large room, the wardrobe space was very small. Also, better privacy could have been provided as there was no door to the bathroom. We asked for a quiet room but were placed right opposite a nightclub which kept us awake till the small hours for two nights in a row. If noise was going to be a problem, I think we should have been notified of this before we arrived so that we could have had some say in the matter.

    The room was a good size and very clean with a comfortable bed and good lighting. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit hard to find the breakfast room but a staff member very happily walked me there.

    Location straight up the main road from station. Reception area was open and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms were modern. Good shower. Breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace bar and lounge area is really a plus...great view of Lucern and nice drinks. Breakfast was also good quality and friendly staff... and the design of the rooms is quite original also, with the signature of Herzog arquitecte..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is sometime noisy from the street and the guests in the other rooms. Many tourist groups will also stay in this hotel. The pillow is too soft for me. It's better to have one more pillow in the room.

    The location is great. Almost all the places in Luzern can be reached on foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is crowded and can be noisy people coming back late to rooms or leaving early.

    Coffee is really good at breakfast. Staff is friendly, helpful, room is clean. Very good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What wasn't to like ? Our last day the weather was rainy...

    breakfast buffet was delicious and ample with prompt coffee service. The street-level Mekong restaurant seems very popular (not just hotel guests). We shared the appetizer sampler. This hotel is walking distance to everything in the center of Lucerne - only 10 minutes walk to the Lion monument

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for the overall quality but this may be common to Swiss accomodation. Rooms quite small and beds could be more comfortable.

    The hotel was helpful in accomodating changes to our booking to include an extra guest at short notice. Great location - easy walk from train station and handy to the 'things to do' in Luzern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom smelled strongly of sewage. Request to change rooms declined. Staff made multiple attempts to plunge and then spray deodorizer/drain "freshener" down basin sink and shower drain, but smell persisted our entire 4-night stay. They blamed ongoing street/sewage repairs--ancient pipes, etc--and gave us a plug-in room deodorizer...masked the foul odor with perfumy smell--not much improvement. On our 4th/last night, they finally offered to change rooms (at that point, what for? 1st night, that would have been great!) No storage (no dresser, no drawers in nightstands), had to live out of our suitcases. Mirrored surfaces (desk lamp base, shelf beneath TV) conspicuously deep in dust--were only dusted once during our 4-night stay.

    Location was perfect -- easy/short walks to train station, ferry stations, covered bridges, Old Town Luzern was just across any of four bridges. Breakfast restaurant was superb--excellent spread & variety, friendly and courteous service. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar was very very noisy. There was nowhere to get a quiet drink or snack

    Cleanliness. Checkout time was 12:00 and room maids cleaned when we asked

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was not ready by 3:00 pm and we had to wait for an hour some light pulp was not working in the room ants in the room the safe malfunctioned and you would expect to find some sort of hanger in the bathroom or in the room but here weren't any

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff. Very nice breakfast. Location perfect for sightseeing. Z Room modern but lacks door to toilet/bathroom. Would be excellent for single traveler. View was of buildings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Central location near main station, lake transport and the old city. Beautiful surroundings with mountain and lake scenery. Comfortable, modern rooms. Large breakfast restaurant with ample food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self Parking Underground is very expensive. Room flooring Parquet is extremely dirty (Although it is not visible).

    New property - Nice & Modern Decoration - Excellent Breakfast varieties - Property with Air Conditioning - Easy check in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy at night due to a club right underneath

    Modern rooms with nice panoramic windows all over, however it's in the center of the city so you don't get any particular nice view though

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not really fully adjustable and set at a colder temperature than we prefer

    The first course soups my wife and I had were superb. We would like to have the names of the courses for future reference

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking entrance was tight not good for big cars but we fitted out Mercedes S500 in just.

    The staff were very friendly and easy to deal with. The rooms were new and clean. The location is close to town. Breakfast was easy and the food was excellent. The roof top bar was perfect and the atmosphere was alive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was across from the elevator so there was noise from people coming in and out.

    Breakfast was great. Near the Rosengart Picasso collection. Close to the train station, and many sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel! The staff was amazing and the bed was so comfortable. They even provided us with a complimentary 24-hour bus pass! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was super friendly and very helpful. Room service was very efficient. Location was short walking distance from all my appointments. Rate was reasonable for all the above.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff not particularly helpful about hotel facilities. Didn't tell us the roof bar was closed for a private booking. No information on hotel restaurants.

    Good breakfast. Clean and Modern rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using the uk plug adapters was s nightmare only one adapter could be used in the deluxe room... had to by a 2 pin plug but found it to be the whole of Switzerland to have the same kind of plugs.. this was only downer

    Hotel was brilliant.. staff were friendly and accommodating... had to make changes to my booking a few times but this was not a problem.. night club access to the penthouse club was amazing .... as we saw others queuing outside...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff in the restaurant (Breakfast) were bit unfriendly parking is not very convenient and there is charge for it. the parking is inside the building so it should be free with accommodation

    location was great very close to station and the old town was like 10-15 minutes walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was comfortable, though it was a shame there was only one thin pillow, it had thick curtains, very efficient air conditioning and it was quiet. The bathroom was very good with a very large shower. The breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of space in the underground car park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they charge a premium for a design room. It's not worth it. The rooms are very small and the only thing different in the design room is the rain shower. It's not worth the upgrade. I realized that I paid the highest rate possible. Not good.

    Breakfast is great and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Perfect. Good location to all transport and sightseeing spots, modern design with comfortable bed, large and clean washroom. Breakfast was good with wide selection. Definitely will come back to stay =).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Good location about 5 minutes walk away from the lake and train station. Parking is on the road with a parking permit that you buy from the hotel. Very modern facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly bare bones. The blanket was not large enough for two people to sleep comfortably, there was no conditioner, and only one soap.

    The staff was incredibly helpful, the breakfast was very good, the location was a quick walk to the train, old town, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was set on cool. We were a bit cold, but could not adjust the temperature. There was no fan in the bathroom. It felt moist and dump after shower.

    The room was very clean, modern design and function-able

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plugs next to bed to charge phone with alarm over night. Grouting in bathroom could have been cleaner. They could offer separate shampoo, conditioner and shower gel rather than just one bottle.

    Staff excellent, breakfast good, free wifi good, location great for us. Nice room and I was upgraded. Cosy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive hotel for what it is. Car parking in the hotel 35 Euro. Associated restaurants in the hotel extortionate prices, for average food.

    Nothing! The staff who were quite young thought they were superior beings.dont

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially there was an unpleasant odour in the room due to probably drains having run dry which disappeared after proper usage of bathroom facilities.

    Very friendly local staff that were helpful, professional AND cordial as well as personal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a 10 minute walk from Lucerne train station. The Penthouse club a few floors up was amazing with great drinks and great vibe. The breakfast was extensive and so delicious, all different kinds of coffee, croissants, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, cold meats etc and fruit salads. Not to mention, the lovely waitress who was so kind and lovely in helping us with out breakfast. Really lovely clean rooms and spacious. On my next trip to Lucerne we will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were very accommodating and helpful. Room was clean. Location was good - right off the main street close to restaurants, bakeries, and just a short walk to the train station and middle of the town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room overlooked courtyard which was fine until Saturday night when some kind of Nightclub / Party was banging on until 2:30am. Duvets too small

    Staff were excellent and the room was clean plus the lifts were super quick!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel parking quite expensive although there are alternative solution for the night in the neighborhood

    professional staff, pretty and large room, convenient location and nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...a truly lousy hotel...even the towels were raggedy, breakfast awful. If Insight Tours ever suggests this hotel again... theyve lost a client

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entrance was somewhat confusing. It's around the corner from the main street and up some steps. Otherwise the hotel was centrally located and it was easy to walk to the waterfront and other attractions from there. The hotel restaurant location and setup was also confusing.

    The rooms were not overly spacious but I liked the room layout-it had space to open up our suitcases.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price bit high

    Location is great, just few minutes from main station and few minutes to the lake. Very clean and comfortable, breakfast with good selections and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The wait staff at breakfast was a bit rude to both us and other guests. -It is a "modern" style layout which isn't bad, but it also meant no door to the bathroom, so there is little privacy offered for a couple. -My girlfriend was very sick on the morning of checkout, however the hotel staff would not let us have a late check out. Instead, because she wasn't quite able to leave yet, we were forced to get another night at the hotel for about $200. We left the hotel about 2 hours after making that request, but the staff denied us any sort of refund, discount, flexibility, or understanding. I do understand that they had sold us the room, but this was an opportunity to try and do something - anything - to try and help the situation. As the staff offered nothing in this instance when a traveling couple was sick and could have used a bit of understanding and help, I would not stay in this hotel again. There are lots of hotels in Lucerne with better locations and likely better, more understanding staff.

    The location is nice - fairly close to the station and river, although a few blocks further than expected.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only problem was that, after an overnight flight, all we wanted to do was eat and go to sleep. Our room faced outside construction so at this early afternoon hour, this was impossible. We asked for a room change, but as a supervisor was unavailable at the time, we had to wait an additional hour. It was then taken care of graciously -- however I think the hotel should make guests aware of the possibility and book an appropriate room

    The Astoria has an excellent location, on the main avenue through this picturesque city and a short walk to the main transportation hub, the KKL cultural center, Lake Lucerne, the museums and shopping in the old city (for watches of course!). The hotel is modern, and the staff accommodating. The rooms are large by European standards and the beds comfortable with a variety of pillows. The central ac keeps the room comfortable (although not cold by US standards) and the bathroom was clean and modern with marble fixtures and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was included and provided a good variety of choices including eggs made as you liked and coffee also made fresh in the style you requested (and a nice variety of tea for the rest of us). All in all this hotel makes for a comfortable and pleasing home base for all the beauty of this city and the Alps.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    First of all the location was great, it's only a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. The Superior Double room was huge compared to Swiss/European standards. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially the room service porter, reception staff and the breakfast service team at Latino.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very flat. Needed to ask for additional pillows. Pillows were supplied right away.

    The location was excellent walking to the train station and tourist areas. The breakfast had an excellent selection. The room was very clean. The people at the front desk were very nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are really bad.We booked 3 rooms for 6 people.but in fact,we just 4 person came to live,they still charge us 6 person's tax.The lobby looks big,but the room is really small,the corridor was also noisy,bad experience indeed.

    the location near the railway station.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: