Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astra Vevey 4 stars

Place de la Gare 4, 1800 Vevey, Switzerland

#8 of 19 hotels in Vevey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, this time, is not charming as before. The TV remoter is bad. the heating system does not work. It seems that the air-conditioner is broken. But, it is very cold in Vevey during my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say that the breakfast was the only thing which did not meet expectations. It was ok but the coffee was not good and it did not feel very good value for the price.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms and spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast was a little tasteless.

    Great for three people: husband and wife plus daughter in early twenties. The room was spotlessly clean; well designed and had a very pleasant atmosphere. The location is within easy walking distance of good restaurants. The following morning we had a very decent breakfast. A good hotel to stay at when visiting Vevey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows close well which is needed, because the hotel is on a noisy street/square with much traffic. No view of mountains or lake -which, however, is reflected in the moderate price of the room.

    Nicely appointed room, restaurant with in- and outdoor seating, friendly and helpful staff, excellent coffee and that wonderfully flakey croissant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prime location, next to train station for easy travel, and short walking distance to local attractions. Room was comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel has a substantial infrastructure and is in a prime location for train, bus, boat, funicular, shops, bank, restaurants ... everything. The politeness and efficiency of the staff was evident. Copious breakfast from 06.30 were much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not on a high floot and outside my window were the exhausts so rather noisy if windows are open. The breakfast is so expensive so i never took it.

    Cluse to town center and train station, and the staff is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed in Astra Vevey for two nights and moved to other place to attend a conference and then went back to Astra Vevey. II found I had left an adapter of electric outcome when I checked out first time. I emailed Astra Vevey to ask about my adapter. Unfortunately it seemed Astra Vevey did not receive my email. When I checked in the hotel second time I talked about my adapter. Astra Vevey could not find mine but kindly gave me their adapter. I appreciated it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too expensive for what they offer (around €20 per person in August). It's good quality but not much variety. The balcony in the room faced other balconies really close, no view whatsoever besides other buildings. The parking is also pretty expensive.

    Location was very good, two blocks from the lake and super close to all the city attractions. The jacuzzi on the rooftop is nice but there's always people in it since there's only one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CHF 20 for the parking per day.

    Spacious rooms with all the utilities (except electric kettle, you need to ask for it before if you need it), right in front of the train station. Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This review is written some days after my stay. I have no bad memories of the place. It was a very pleasant, reasonably priced town centre hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were rock solid (although this seems common in mainland Europe). Pillows were huge but didn't really support my neck/head at all, pretty much may as well have not been there.

    Well, it literally couldn't be closer to the train station unless it was the same building. I can see why this is commonly booked by people coming here on business. A short walk from the lake, from the town square, amenities and offices. There's a reasonable (but small) gym and a hot tub on the roof, as well as a roof bar (though we didn't use any of those facilities). I like that the room had both EU and UK plug sockets, conveniently located for charging our phones, laptop, etc. Lots of UK TV channels if that's something that interests you. Lobby bar wasn't overly expensive (at least by Swiss standards) and had a decent drink selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very large and pleasant room, good breakfast, excellent location (few steps from train station). We chose to stay in Vevey as a very convenient starting point for visiting Montreux and Lausanne and Astra Hotel just did a very good job for us!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was very poor. No tea or coffee making facility in the room. Shower/bath needs a bathmat as awkward and slippy.

    Nice spacious room for three people with nice ambience in the room. Very nice beds. Breakfast good value for Switzerland. Easy to reach from the station and close to the boats.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key card didn't work first time so had to go back down to reception.

    Perfect location if you're in Vevey. Right opposite the train station in the middle of town. Lovely room - it has been refurbished since we last stayed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was rather spartan. Badly designed shower. Shelf above the sink was so large that you banged your head every time you leaned forward.

    Generally good service. Good restaurant. Reasonable prices (for Switzerland). Pleasant terrace for drinks and a cigar. Close proximity to station but with no noise from trains. Rooms had Nespresso machines. Have been going to the hotel for years and will continue to return. Ideal location for the center of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wish there was somewhere to print things off. There wasn't actually a business center but we used the 5th floor (top floor) gathering area in the evening to work as a group on a project.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are typical european rooms. Slightly small but very comfortable.

    Staff was wonderful. Great location close to where we needed to go. Very helpful in telling you how to get about the town. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking garage was very difficult to get into due to small size

    Room was quiet and clean; located next to train station and 5 minutes walk to Lac Leman and the plage du Vevey

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Continental breakfast could have been included in the price. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been good. But this is veering into nit-pickery.

    Everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 4 star hotel and they do not serve dinner / room service when arriving at 10:30 PM after a long long trip!! Extremely disappointing. The staff is not friendly both at the reception and when serving breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sound of outside e.g. truck and cars but it s ok , we can t run away from it.

    I love the friendliness of staffs at the reception and breakfast. :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been taller great if your 4ft 10inches or below. Another help would be a safety rail to assist when stepping out of the bath onto the floor

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Hotel was undergoing refreshment but not desturbing for guests

    Breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice and well prepared Location is good for both people traveling by car as well as by train (opposite to station)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, from my point of view, there was nothing not to like.

    The hotel is in a great location just by the main railway station. I had a room upgrade on arrival. The hotel restaurant was very good. And my best accolade, I would go back again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of smoking smell in the room, even after I have changed my room for the same reason.

    Location is perfect, just cross the street to get to the train station. The sound isolation is quite good, you don´t hear from outside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive. Room could have been quieter but the hotel is in the centre of town. Would have been nice to have had a kettle to fully equip the small kitchenette.

    Good sized room, large bathroom, excellent fittings, air con effective and easy to operate. Good breakfast, pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more variety in breakfast and charging of CHF 15 for high speed of 20Mbps for 24 hours or 20 CHF for 48 hours must stop as these speeds are usually given to guests free by most top hotels although the usual speed for wifi was not bad either.

    fantastic location, very comfortable beds, good relaxation area on 5 th floor, staff very friendly and attentive. big rooms and very good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our favourite hotel. It provides comfort, is in the perfect position; close to railway station.The staff are always at hand but certainly not overbearing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy with no breakfast included.

    The room was a good size and comfortable. Really handy for the train station and for exploring Vevey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just renovated, new furniture and equipment, Nespresso machine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is too small and lacking some basic needs.

    Very swift reaction of the staff to my requests. Pleasant and very clean facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable stay, nice environment, dinner and breakfast....and ideally located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfy bed, and very clean property. Have gym and Spa also for use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom has a sloping roof, keep bumping my head on it

    Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast for extra charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine

    Located in the heart of Vevey town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness, staff, hospitality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    None

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the 3-bed room is too small.

    The reception is very friendly and helpful, and the position is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are dated

    great breakfast and superb location!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, although next to the central station; Centrally located; Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airport shuttle

    Strategic place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smells. Small room. Not comfortable for the price paid. Not to repeat

    Only the position is fine. All the rest doesn't worth the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass door in the bathroom had a risk to break when you take a shower!!! , no kettle

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water tape in the bathroom cannot be controlled

    Very close to the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit old style

    Well located with friendly staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast basic with not too many options

    Location central and close to train and stuff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities Parking was expensive

    Extra large room and bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa facilities on the roof of the hotel are great! Stunning views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    very comfortable room; good shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Close to all public transport and within walking distance to the lake and all amenities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People from reception assists us a lot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good

    The courtessy of the staff The calm atmoshere The cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom was far too hot Noise outside all night room service menu poor

    Convenient location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable rooms, great location close to everything. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and garage very very expensive.

    Parking place (even if very expensive); wide room; confortable temperature.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel room

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very conveniently located!!! I especially enjoyed the restaurant both for breakfast and for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows can be better

    Excellent location and Wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room, twin bed request fulifilled

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Av. de la Gard side is very noisy.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, but that's Switzerland

    Great location - I'm a regular visitor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed made my back hurt :/

    very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be nice if there were a coffee machine in the room. it's really the only thing I missed. but everything else was absolutely perfect!

    Loved my room, the view on the town, and the delightful staff....

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location nearby train station. Kept my luggage until time to catch my train. Trustable Room service: "Forgot my watch in the morning. Found it on my return. Not everywhere would be the same."

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was quite basic, with no cooked meal options (scrambled or fried eggs, pancakes, etc.) for the price paid.

    The wellness and spa area, particularly the outdoor jacuzzi!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small bathtub;

    Location opposite train station; staff did not abandon an issue until it was addressed; dressing gowns in room (many hotels do not include this perk); relatively good breakfast; although room was relatively small, it was well laid out with table and 2 comfort chairs

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelled from cigarette. While staff (friendly) tried to find an alternative room, hotel was full and they could not. Smoking room not announced in booking.

    Location is perfect, right in front train station.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and efficient reception staff. Free bottle of water on arrival. Free internet, unusual in a business hotel. Good quality pillows. Breakfast staff remember a new guest's preference after the first day. Coffee made to order and served in a silver coffee service. And location, location, location!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didnt like The bed was so uncomfortable, the shower freezed me and boiled me every time when I went to the reception no one did anything and told me that they haven't listen a complain like that before

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was difficult to leave in the morning because several cars were blocking ours in the garage. It was lucky that we were not needing to catch a flight because it took a while to get everything moved around for us to leave.

    It was great being across the street from the train station and only a few minutes walk from the lake. The hot tub on top of the hotel was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Central to everything in Vevey and a short stroll to the lake. Just across the road from the train so very well positioned. Fantastic view facing the hill towards Mt. Pelerin. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. I'll be going back!

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was quite small. The corridor in front of the room was a ramp connecting the 2 buildings and it was quite noisy.

    Staff always available and kind. And the location in great.

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: