Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Au Bivouac de Napoléon et Spa 3 stars

Route du Grand-St-Bernard, 1946 Bourg-Saint-Pierre, Switzerland

#5 of 6 hotels in Bourg-Saint-Pierre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Good for an overnight stay when trekking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget chalet was very basic and in poor condition, choose a better room if you can afford it

    Good for an overnight stay when trekking. Food was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    do not go there, sleep in your car it is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Motel Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an overpriced dinner before we checked in at 9pm. then they gave us a room in a barn practically, no towels ,no shades. we threatened to walk away without paying the dinner .they understood

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous Stay, Great Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was brown when my husband wanted a bath. The next day it was running clear. Some of the tiles of the bath came off. My 11 year old son climbed/sprung on the top bunk which then collapsed. Luckily my other son wasn’t underneath. We had nowhere to place the ladder as my bed was too close and a desk was put at the end. We still had a great visit.

    The hotel was very tired and old. However, this gave it some charm. The room and bathroom was a good size. It was very clean. We all slept well, I did bring my own pillow though. The restaurant was fabulous! My kids had steak and chips, I had goats cheese salad and my husband had deer with mushroom sauce. Wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    A nice place to recharge the batteries during a long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Motel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices a little on the up side for the type of accommodation but that's Switzerland...

    Great stopover while traveling back home. Cool temperature and mountain atmosphere. The room was simple but adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I first booked the basic room, I did not realize that there was no WiFi in the room. I had to upgrade to another room for that.

    My room included everything that I needed, incl. coffee and tea facilities. The staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi worked just fine. I think I got excellent value for the money. (Note, however, that I paid a discount price.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Basic comfortable accommodation for reasonable price. Friendly helpful people. Good place to stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Motel Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple motel room with 3 beds and dry secure space of bikes. Nice spa with hot tub, sauna and steam room for 20CHF pp. Food in restaurant excellent with good size helpings and abundant serve yourself breakfast. All in all ideal for cyclists.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    This was a marvellous find for an overnight stop en route to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving without trying out the spa

    This was a last minute booking through booking .com on Bastille weekend. The hotel staff were wonderful - so welcoming and showed us to our simple but clean and comfortable rooms in the chalet style motel. The food however was amazing and I enjoyed the best steak that I have ever tasted with great wine- all family enjoyed their selections as well - what a find that I would enthusiastically endorse to anyone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Haute Route ski tour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a couple of very minor points: We had booked the budget chalet with shared bathroom. While we understand that this is the 'basic' option, it would've been nice to have shampoo/conditioner/soap provided - our host however, did provide these on request :) The wifi only worked in the main building (not in our chalet across the road). This hotel is a few kilometres from the town of Bourg-St.-Pierre so it is best to do any resupplying of food etc. for the Haute Route in Orsieres (or buy stuff through the hotel).

    Great breakfast and fantastic dinner. Our host also drove us several kilometres up the Valsorey Valley (next stage of the Haute Route ski tour), saving us a long walk to the snow line - fantastic service and very much appreciated!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Stopover while on the Haute Route
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Staff, Nice restaurant and a quiet room. Nothing more needed. Great place to sleep while on the Haute Route. Bonus, they offered us a complimentary ride to the Trailhead.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    2.9
    Worst place (can't call it a hotel) in my life, stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad heating in the room, squeaking floors, noise from the road strange smell and more. I booked two nights and first think that I did when I got the room is booked another hotel for the second night. We left first think in the morning and still pay for two nights. Stay away.

    Can't say one good think about this dump.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    The sauna, hamman, jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old-fashioned deco.

    The sauna, hamman, jacuzzi. really great after driving a few hours. Fantastic food in the restaurant. Even if you don't sleep there, stop for a meal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Amazing localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Motel Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi in the room... way too small for 3 persons.

    Amazing localisation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Motel Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very good staff. Clean nice rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Motel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains

    Lovely location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More coffee and suger in the room.

    The hotrock steak was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Double Room with Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Lovely spot and hotel with interesting history and great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Good but dear
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Motel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everything in Switzerland breathtakingly expensive

    Restaurant and bar facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    It was exactly what we were looking for: cheap,very quite, beautiful landscape, relaxing Spa, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Motel Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    narrow bathroom, room a bit too dark.

    Kindness of the staff, Spa, End of the year's special dinner absolutly delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.3
    OK place, price quality wise not really in balance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtains, fairly basic and simple rooms. Bed was quite hard.

    nice location, kind people

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    It was all just wonderful for us to arrive there, after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Chalet with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all just wonderful for us to arrive there, after a long long walk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Excellent for pilgrims on the Via Francengina, on the route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent for pilgrims on the Via Francengina, on the route. Helpful, friendly staff who made our stay comfortable. Good restaurant for an evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.3
    Friendly owners, personal reception, nice room with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Still a bit overpriced because of high chf.

    Friendly owners, personal reception, nice room with nice view, great breakfast, unique sauna and hammam like a personal spa, daily advice on skitouring. We felt very much at home.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    Simple accommodations but cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple accommodations but cosy. Cost was great for Switzerlanf. Bourg is surprisingly sweet

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    6.3
    Nothing really - I don't mean i was bad, just that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really - I don't mean i was bad, just that nothing stood out.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    5.4
    There was snow outside And When entering the motel room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was snow outside And When entering the motel room there was no decent place to leave the shoes so the entire (very small) room was wet.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Came there after skiing is Verbier and went straight to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Came there after skiing is Verbier and went straight to the spa. I can only say that it was fantastic and a great value for the money.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: