Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberg'inn

Fleury 1, 2000 Neuchâtel, Switzerland

#17 of 19 hotels in Neuchâtel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior window facing onto a small courtyard, with catering staff using courtyard on the ground floor, was sometimes a bit noisy.

    All organised online. Electronic key box very handy for self service arrival and departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building was shared by a restaurant below, and people began coming and going early in the morning. There were echoing stairs and offices right outside the room, and it was noisy (but only in the mornings).

    Unusual room - loads of space and historical features that we loved, plus a kitchenette that was just right to prepare meals if we wanted. Great location in centre of old part of town, near to everything, and very picturesque views of old buildings. Staff saw we were using a travel iron, and left a proper iron and ironing board for us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was poorly lit, and it would be a good idea to provide an instruction about the use of the coffee-mashine, with which I had some bad experience before I figured out how it worked. Otherwise I have no complaints.

    The hotel is located in a nice renaissance building at one of the most picturesque squares of Neuchatel, and everything was accessible by foot. The room had a baroque frescoe on the wall and all the necessary facilities, including a kitchenette with a kettle, a sink and a fridge. The staff person David was quite nice, but I didn't have much opportunity to see him. A tourist pass with tickets for transport and museums was also provided, though I didn't have much opportunity to use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very central but the downside was the noise; next to the clock tower which chimed every 15mins and the street below was busy. It’s also above a restaurant so there is a smell of stale food on the staircase and in the room. Comfy bed and clean though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's situated in the old town, you hear a lot of noise from outside.

    Wonderfull room in an ancient building right in the city center. Very easy handling with the keys, payment. Modern bathroom with hairdryer. Our room had a kitchenette. Tea & coffe making facilities, free water and chocolate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good at all if you wanna sleep at 11 p.m. on Friday or Saturday. Windows are not good enough to prevent the noise from the pub in same building disturbing your sleep!

    Good Place im the very centre if you wanna go out till 2 a.m. on Friday or Saturday night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room stinks of the food (French fried etc.) served in the restaurant below, and the church bells at approximate 20 meters rings every 30 min. during the whole night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing room and building. Fantastic location in the middle of the old town. Friendly online service. Internet not working one morning (probably just my bad luck). Only Swiss electric sockets available so if you're not from Switzerland, you'll need to bring converters.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfectly situated in a central square by a medieval fountain, with several bars, restaurants and cafe’s just a few minutes walk away. Very convenient passcode-based key entry system.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if there were some cooking oil provided in the kitchenette (there was salt and pepper though).

    Characterful, quirky historic place to stay. We had the loft room which had beautiful old beams, very atmospheric and unique. Beautiful part of town. There is no front reception but check-in was really easy, all arranged in advance for easy key collection and drop off. Good sized room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a difficult room for a very tall person, but manageable if you've had your morning coffee.

    This hotel was centrally located in the old town, and easy to find due to proximity to the large clock (good marker). I was able to check in and out on my own time, which was excellent since I arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small kitchenette and a coffee maker. My stay was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    76 steps up stone spiral staircase if you are on the top floor! No outside space. Expensive.

    Centrally placed. Quirky accommodation. Historic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was directly opposite the clock tower, that chimes every 15mins and on the hour. I had the windows open so it was rather loud. But to be honest, if I had stayed a few more nights you would get used to it.

    A quirky property right in the centre of town. My room was up in the attic and although laid out for a family (3 beds) was also perfect for one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of noise from the street below, especially on Friday and Saturday nights (until after 4am) plus smell from restaurant, meant that couldn't keep windows open during the night which was frustrating given it was so warm.

    Complimentary water, coffee and chocolates. Microwave, coffee machine and fridge were all very useful to have. Good, strong wifi. Lots of coat hangers in the closets, plenty of storage space - drawers, cupboards, etc. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only improvement - the shower stall doors need to be realigned or replaced as they wouldn't close completely.

    This was a real find. We walked into a huge and fabulously quirky room which was set up perfectly for a family stay. The location is central to everything and wonderfully vibrant. We loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows weren't soundproof. Saturday night was the time when people go out, so it was not quiet outside. We kept the windows open to have more air movement in the room.

    Big room with a view to the fountain, lovely! Even though we're late, the owner waited 2 hrs for us. Everything is available in the kitchenette, if you bring babys, you can easily cook meals. Coffee machine is good! There's even sofas there so that my baby could climb👶

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given smaller room than I booked. In my booking I had a picture with wooden floors and big room. I was given small room with tile floors (I hate tiles on the floor). The owner could not explain why :(

    The owner is very friendly. Location is awesome. Availability of kitchen is a great advantage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very poorly lit with stains on the outdated pink tile. The Hotel is very close to the famous Clock tower that chimes quite loudly every half hour and hour. Bring your earplugs if you are sensitive sleeper.

    The Family room is HUGE. It can fit five people adults easily although we were 3 adults and 2 kids. All single beds. Tall ceilings and a big but somewhat awkward Kitchenette area that dominates the room. It probably used to be a real Bar. The host is very friendly and came right away even though we were half an hour early to let us into our room. There is no proper Reception area but you are able to get into the building using the PIN code that comes with your confirmation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday night in the old town of Neuchâtel can be very noisy, there was shouting down in the street until the small hours ...

    Historic building, right in the centre of town, full self-catering facilities for 2 people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Let consider that it is one of the oldest buildings downtown, so there is no lift. It is not possible to go up and down for disable people with wheelchairs or not able to go up the stairs

    Everything was really OK with a great location. At the arrival Vito was really kind, offering suggestions and ideas for sightseeing. As I was busy for my job few hours per day, my family spent the time in the hotel enjoying of the big and charming loft on the roof. And it is also possible to cook or bring your food upstairs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The church bell ringing every hour!! And it's nice if they will put a thicker curtain or a blinds to cover the light from the road.

    Nice and kind person at the reception. Very ancient room but nice. Near the center and accessible to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was awful.heating was on full could not turn it down approached the manager,he said he would fix the problem he did that alright he opened the window..what a farce he said he could do nothing.it was not good value for money,no receptionist on after 8pm on arrival after 10-00pm we had to search for our room key.cleaning of room was non existant..we put towels to be changed and she picked them up off floor and hung them up still dirty..shower,seen bigger shower in dogs kennel..

    kitchen..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that we would suggest is darker curtains. The morning light is a little bit strong. But if you wake early is not a problem.

    We stayed at the Medieval room (for 2). We even had an original fresco in the wall. It was a confortable room (great bed), modern fourniture in a medieval room. The location is fantastic too. It is located at the heart of the Neuchâtel old town. At 5 minutes walking to the lake. A lot of little shops and restaurant all around. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were just twin size and we have larger bodies.

    Location in center of town was excellent. Also we had an extremely large room to use for our accommodations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of steps - we were on top floor, the loft room. Low beams - kept bumping heads! Thought it was quite pricey.

    Very central. Nice room with character. Facilities for cooking if required. Good for one night stay. Excellent restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a huge disappointment, definitely not worth the money. We paid 160 chf for a tiny room with very uncomfortable bed, small bathroom (no shampoo or shower gel). It was impossible to sleep and I did not even see the staff afterwards to share my feedback. The guy in charge was ok but he should seriously reconsider what he charges for this hotel. 50chf maximum for what you get!!! This was by far one of the worst experiences I have had.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things. With a bad back and a bad knee, the bed was far too low to comfortably get in and out of but it was very comfortable to sleep in. Loved having the windows open but there were huge spiders on the overhang we noticed the last night so we closed them. Noticed small bugs on the bedding when we got there. I brushed them off but spotted them a few more times I ended up with bites on my chest and the back of my neck. I don't think they were bedbugs but I'm not sure what they were. A word of advice to future travelers on a few things that the hotel has no control over. The weekend we stayed was the college graduation/music festival and the bands went till after 130 in the morning And the celebration went long beyond that right below our window. We didn't get a lot of sleep due to their celebration. Also, be aware that 95% of the town closes on Sundays and we didn't know that. The restaurants that remained open were extremely expensive. Plan ahead for food if you are there on a Sunday. We were also unaware of how much it rains in Europe during the summer. Bring a small umbrella with you every day. The rain is romantic and keeps everything green but is also untimely. Really did love our stay at the room!

    The location and historic aspect and view from this room were spectacular. We woke up to a farmers market on Saturday right outside of our room. The host was really friendly and helped us with our luggage all the way up the stairs to our room and gave us a bus pass for our stay which we really appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money, given prices in Neuchatel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dodgy internet connection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charm. Very old building with lots of character in the old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location, in old town, nice room size, not small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location fantastica

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs

    Neigbourhood very noisy. Coffee machine a puzzle. Tower clock bell lovely through the night. Manager very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a big room , the guy literally told us he decided to give it to someone else...take it up with booking .com

    Nice location,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in the room, should have more lamps with stronger globes

    Location is excellent, in the old part of the city just beneath the chateau.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately it was very loud because of nearby concert on Friday night.

    Historical building and cozy room atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities for price

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is very nice,and the staff also very kind

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church's bell constantly ringing including during the night :-( No breakfast . Bed was not very comfortable.

    Location. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real Medieval feel with ALL the luxuries!! Good access to city restaurants and plenty of friendly people!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi not available. No lift. Parking in public car park 5 minutes away.

    Traditional. In centre of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No double bed

    Superb location, friendly and helpful staff, spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front view and location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walls and ceiling let noise through: a couple talked from 1:30 am until 3:30 am: not much sleep that night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The freezer was broken although the fridge was fine. Very noisy but that was to be expected in the middle of a touristic area

    Beautiful arrangement, use of space good, comfortable and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No view from the room, noisy bed, instable wi-fi, no breakfast, no receptionist: the keys must be taken at a near Bar.

    Central position, small kitchen corner with coffee and tee machine in the room, big screen cable TV, lot of historic places, restaurants and shops nearby

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No breakfast, but the kitchen in the room was more than enough. Bought milk, juice and croissants from the nearby migros and breakfast was better than in many hotels I've been. The reception in Cafè du cerf opens only at 4pm, it might be annoying for some but in my case it was not a problem at all.

    I've been in Neuchatel a few times before and this is probably the hotel I prefered so far. It is in the middle of the city center and about 200m from the square where all the busses stop. Since they give you a buss pass for your stay it is great. The building itself and the view on the small square are outstanding. The 5 beds room is not a hotel suite but beds are comfortable and there is enough room for everything. The pub that acts as the reception is one of the best spots for nightlife in town, very lively but none of hte noise came to my room.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no breakfast. I think that for this price and the overall quality, the breakfast in some of the cafes nearby should be included.

    Perfect localization. Nice room with coffee machine.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room CINEMA is loud in evening because one side faces the bar, very noisy unitll 24 o'clock on Saturday night. And othe other side faces the kitchen smog pipe of the restaurant downstairs. Smelling if you open the window when restaurant is on business. The wifi is very poor in the room. you have to stand in front the bathroom :( The shower room is dark if you have a bath in the evening. The whole room is dim because no enough lights there. The Check in place is not easy to find.

    The hotel provide cute kitchen stuff then I can cook to myself. The coffee is good and the room is very clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only two annoying things: the bed was very squeaky and the tower bell was even ringing in the night.

    The room was very tidy, quite spacious, seemed quiet,no traffic. The centre of the old city..

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too hot in my loft room but appreciated the fan. Some troubles checking in before 4 pm but eventually everything worked out.

    Lovely rooms and personnel!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard to contact or re-confirm with hotel prior to arrival.

    I like the heritage and the atmosphere around the building. Location wise is good but travelling handy. As it's walkable from train station.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi sometimes doesn't work in a specific spot (in front of the door, etc)

    the hotel is located in the heart of neuchatel down town. It was my second stay and i love the bed. Nice coffee machine and convinient kitchen with a microwave and a fridge.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Faulty WiFi

    Really comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi connection

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Three flights of steep stairs.

    Central location and Irish bar attached

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room need more lights.

    Location and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    In the evening it is a bit noisy.

    Nice place!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location, very friendly staff. The hotel is in a beautiful historical building. Huge and vey clean room. Very strong wifi.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not cheap

    Fun, old fashioned rooms. Feels like a castle.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No lift, no breakfast included

    Nice welcome from the host of the inn

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no standard place, somewhat special

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Calm and very well located in the historic centre of Neuchâtel.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check in took extremely long

    Furnitures and style

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No reception, narrow staircase, check in is at nearby caffe. Too expensive.

    Location. Kind staff let me check out late.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: