Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baeren Hotel, The Bear Inn 3 stars

Oberdorfstrasse 1, 3812 Wilderswil, Switzerland

#19 of 23 hotels in Wilderswil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Its a great place to stay and we will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sad lack of mini bar and tee and coffee in the room.

    The staff were great the bar and restaurant were great and so was the Beer. Terrific views of the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in the lovely Swiss Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was barely working and even if we understand that it is impossible to have a lift in such an historical building, we need to be aware about carrying luggage in the hotel for some flights of stairs.

    The staff was extraordinary, smiley and extremely helpful. They provided a 5stars experience, with great recommendations for the stay in these Alps lovely area. The hotel is an historical building, which is an added benefit, and is being very well taken care of, as shows the great sound proof

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Not the best hotel for a good night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel provides you every single noise or conversation of every single room you wish to hear. Around 3 a.m. there were noises of continuous walking in the room (?) above us and it did not stop until about 5 a.m.. The floors and beds are cracking and squeezing, so if you are looking for a good night's rest, you won't find it here. Breakfast staff also not really friendly. Pictures did not correspond to the room we got.

    Breakfast was good, host at reception was friendly and location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    The location is very nice, just in the outside of Interlaken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interner does not work at all; it need a renovation

    The location is very nice, just in the outside of Interlaken. it is a old furniture hotel that has seen better days in the past. The breakfast is on the average of any Hütte in the Alps. The beds are comfortable and the second floor is not noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was good and there was free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very uncomfortable and we could hear every word of the argument that the family in the room next to us had that lasted about an hour. We were trying to sleep. Thin walls.

    The breakfast was good and there was free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, they could make it a lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first morning we got there, we went to breakfast at 7:30 and they were all out of eggs and potatoes. Breakfast started at 7:00. No one was there to greet us. There were only two other guests there in the dinning room at the time. After waiting for about 15 or 20 minutes for someone to come out. Or ask if we needed anything. My husband had to go try to find someone on the staff, to ask them if they could put out some more eggs. After a long time a man finally brought some out but didn’t bring anything else or ask us if we needed anything. Later they ran out of juice. Not a good way to start off our stay there. Especially for the price we had to pay for breakfast, we paid for in advance. So they knew we would be eating there. There were four of us, all adults. The rooms and hotel need to be updated. They don’t look as good as some of the ones in the pictures. I appreciate the old Swiss feel, but they could add some more charm.

    The Location was good, close to the mountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was two single beds.

    Decent WiFi in the bedroom. Tasty breakfast. Toasty sauna. Nice (small) fitness center. We had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly, breakfast was perfect, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms, you hear everything from corridor. WiFi is slow and mostly don’t work.

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast was perfect, location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.6
    Poor hotel, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsafe balcony, very noisy creaking floors, unpleasant reception staff (very rude even with simple requests), VERY old decor (possibly not updated for over 30 years), unsafe unlit stairs inside, no tea or coffee in rooms (but did have kettle and mugs!?), uncomfortable bed, noisy when other guests walking in corridors. Floor in room sloped! Cheap by Swiss standards for a reason!

    Kitchen staff were very friendly and welcoming. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Had I known that tourist groups stay there, I would not have chosen the hotel.Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 tour groups from China rushing and finishing all d food at breakfast! I waited and waited for milk for my cereal, but they were consumed by the cupful as soon as it was brought out. Not enough milk served! Had I known that tourist groups stay there, I would not have chosen the hotel. It ruined my experience and first visit to interlaken.

    It's a traditional Swiss cottage style accommodation for the experience, with no lifts to go the upper floors, nor modern amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel was lovely and what we expected. Although there wasn't a lift we were helped with our luggage. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. The view of the mountains from our room and balcony was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    This inn has the most amazing front desk man.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This inn has the most amazing front desk man. I don't remember his name, but he was super friendly and informative! A great welcome to a fantastic beginning at Interlaken. The restaurant server (filipino) was also very sweet! I really enjoyed the sauna and it made the cold days very enjoyable! Such an adorable place to stay as well!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Parking and facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception didn’t tell us breakfast is including .. we knew by mistake WiFi not working inside the room you have to go outside the room to catch a signal

    Parking and facility

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Wilderswil near Interlaken
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not US style, but very comfortable. Al I did there was sleep and eat breakfast. Very good location close to the train station. You can travel anywhere, train or bus, with the card the hotel provides.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    hotel has no escalator then it is not possible to carry big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is complicate and not running number in each room. Poor staff in brakfast morning.

    hotel has no escalator then it is not possible to carry big luggage in case you get 4 floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.7
    The location is fine with me, since you are not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long corridor to access the room is really lack of lighting and completely dark in some corners, especially in front of my room door, furnitures in the room and decorations around remind me of living in hostel.

    The location is fine with me, since you are not far from the motorway, the view from bedroom window is lovely for seeing snow caped mountain. Smoked farm bacon from breakfast is really tasty, which I never ever had before.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Alps trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only regret is that my wife wasnt with me to enjoy this otherwise perfect trip.

    Really helpful, english speaking staff. My room had a perfect view of mt jungfrau. Bed and room was very comfortable. The (free) breakfast had many great choices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures taken from the room were really nice and romantic. In reality the room was decorated with cheap materials and furniture which was quite disappointing.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.8
    Please take note!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not particularly friendly either on departure or arrival. The pictures on the website are misleading as the images would appear to be of rooms which are of a far more superior quality than we were given. My friend and I booked 2 superior single rooms due to the fact that at the time of booking there was only 1 standard single room left, however there was nothing superior about the rooms at all. One room did not have a sitting area and was very basic with no view. We were left wondering if this in fact was a standard single room for which we had been charged the superior price. The other room, whilst it had a balcony did not have a mini bar and the chairs in the sitting area were extremely uncomfortable and one was threadbare. The rooms are in need of an urgent update to bring them into the 21st century. We were shocked to find a hotel that still had a sink in the main part of the bedroom. We had asked for 2 rooms next to each other and were told that this would happen. However, the rooms we were given were either end of a very poorly lit corridor. It would appear that the room next to mine was empty for the duration of our short stay meaning we could have had adjacent rooms. I will be making a formal complaint to booking.com about this situation in the hope of receiving some form of compensation.

    The hotel was extremely clean and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very good. It had great Swiss charm and character.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    4.2
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is not the same with the picture, no wifi in the room, old facilities, breakfast not good if you are with tourist group but excellent after the tourists gone

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Staying in an historic Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An elevator would be nice but with an old building like the Baeren, I don't think it could happen. The staff did ask if we needed help with our bags.

    For a 300 year old building, it is still in good shape, The staff is great including the lady who handles the breakfast buffet. Breakfast has various items that can satisfy almost anyone.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice location, good staff, poor WIFI, basic equipment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is truly a difference between the pictures and the real room you can get. Furnitures not that shiny in the room, floors squeaking when walking. It's a bit embarrassing when we see the real room. But you pay for what you get. And as others also mentioned, the insolation is not great. If you have loud neighbours unfortunately, it could be a problem. In my case it was fine. Breakfast is included but basic. You don't get WIFI signals in the room, only available in the lobby, which was quite inconvenient.

    Good location: in a quite neighbourhood only 10 mins walk from the Wilderswil train station-which is also a stop of the Junfraubahn. Nice deco and atmosphere. Nice staff The room had a fridge Seems to have a nice restaurant (TripAdvisor) but didn't try.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    We will be back !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home.

    I paid for half board and the food was most excellent and large portions. Our room was cleaned each day. The view of the mountains was amazing. Staff were helpful especially Alice (Receptionist) and Martina (waitress) who couldn't do enough for us. Both ladies are an asset to the business.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    5.4
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very noisy room 43, old fashioned furniture, squeaky hardwood floors, poor room lighting, noise from the street and lobby

    Nice window view, bus stop near hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room and it was too hot and no ac in room and bed and pillow was not so comfortable and it looked a bit dirty too but the hotel in general is good with nice view

    Nice view free park and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Alpine holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner for us was pricey but the pound sterling exchange rate was a factor in this.

    This is a good Swiss Alpine hotel - beautifully traditional in appearance and service. Great location near a quaint railway station and easy driving away to two lovely valleys for walks, cable cars to the mountains and sight seeing. Breakfast was very good and included in the room rate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    2.5
    rude staff. no fair treatment . no courtesy . blame the customer attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff made us wait for 45 minutes at the reception when we checked in. We were searching for the people who could help us checkin and was given a reply in a very rude tone that they will come in 5 minutes. But ended up coming after 45 minutes and had no courtesy to apologise for being late. We had clearly booked a room with a big bed (clearly selected this option during booking) as we are a couple , but were given a room which had 2 seperate beds.and the room was changed from 57 to 52 at the last Minute in front of us. Also no apologiees but put the blame on us for not booking properly. Called booking.com and was assured of a call back but never got one back . Finally the Hotel wrote an email putting all the blame on us and we are expected to accept this.

    The Location is perfect but u have a handfull of other Hotels around and B&B where u can stay and get treated with courtesy and in a fair way.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Quaint hotel, fabulous staff, amazing view of mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was only in certain ares, not the rooms. We had a car so being out of Interlaken was not a problem, and train was only 10 minutes walk but if you were lugging suitcases it might be a hassle.

    Our room had a balcony with a view up to the Jungfrau, Stunning. Due to miscommunication we didn't realise there was no lift and my husband's elderly mother found stairs difficult (all the rooms were upstairs) but reception staff were very helpful and fine about us changing rooms if we wanted to. breakfast was included and was cooked as well as continental. Very nice. The wait staff, both evening and morning were very, very friendly and helpful. There were lots of outside terraces, front and back of hotel, which were lovely to sit at. inside there was a large sitting area inside where the wifi worked, seating not all that comfortable tho. Being in Wilderswill gave us a different experience and was a relaxing place to walk around.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spoiled on the first day by a rude staff member who didn't really care about welcoming us. Didn't see her again so the other days were fine. Hotel had stale smelling rooms. TV didn't work. No lift for luggage. Noisy floors where you could hear everyone walking around.

    Hotel location was good. Breakfast was great. Views were great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    3.8
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two room were really different from the pictures of their booking page. The hoover has bot been passed and the floor was dirty with plenty of hairs. The bahroom was horrible, old age! Wifi did not worked well although only available in common saloon. The 2 standard room were not very small as annonced but there were not mountian style and the decoration and fourniture were very old and horrible. Out of date and nothing go togheter. So it is not at all like the nice picture !! Upsetting!!! Forget it !! we wait many time at the desk, like many others customer who though it was closed ! After more than 15 minutes, people and us leaved tbe desk without any answer.

    Only the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic typical Swiss hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular, maybe a bigger bed.

    Excellent breakfast, lots of options and delicious breads. Rooms are confortable but double bed a bit small. The room with single beds was more spacious. Very nice and helpful manager, as well as reception staff. 5 minutes away from Interlaken Amazing view from the room and quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing! We wanted two beds and we got 2 twopersonsbed! The badroom is fantastic we had a room like a suit for so low price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of any other than lots of stairs

    Nice staff and close to interlaken

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    It’s amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s amazing stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was perfect, rooms are cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was perfect, rooms are cozy and clean. Good service and rooms for this price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the train with luggage and skis! They also didn’t tell us about the free card for the train to interlachen

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel stay with surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel facilities and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast did not live up to previous standards due to big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not live up to previous standards due to big groups of chinese guests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic breakfast, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building has been expanded a few times, some slightly weird constructions, dark hallways, odd stairs.

    Fantastic breakfast, friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Best staff experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliest staff ever. Such great service. Felt the love. The rooms were great and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.8
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    A scenic location on our way through Switzerland. Quiet place to relax and enjoy the scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, clean accommodations. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    The wi fi not in all the floors as mentioned on their web...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi not in all the floors as mentioned on their web site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Still top class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great 1st aid care after a travelling mishap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast and separate from the group tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Good breakfast and separate from the group tour

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.7
    If we need a place to stay away from routine, this hotel was the one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little beat creepy, far from public transport

    Breakfast, quite & peace place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Cozy hotel, very spacious room, pure alpine atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only worked in some areas

    Cozy hotel, very spacious room, pure alpine atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of different levels to climb and hall ways to roll luggage thru. Very outdated!

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    A cute, traditional, Swiss hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cute, antic looking hotel. The beds were supper comfortable. Breakfast was vast and tasty. They also cook very good dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    3.3
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , price , break fast, staff, atmosphere ,

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    would recommend this hotel for b and b but evening meals expensive(as with most Swiss hotels)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    size of room - a bit small

    huge choice for breakfast. room spotless and cleaned carefully daily.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    3.8
    Racism with Arabs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Racism with Arabs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    3.8
    Arab family Don't think to go there at all
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff of restaurant they are bad , specially one lady , very nosy at night

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    6.7
    Hotel exchange rate of foreign currency.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel exchange rate of foreign currency. They accepted Euros. But at an even 1 to 1 rate compared to CHF.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.8
    Rooms full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee should be provided in the rooms without charge Bathrooms were very dated There was no choice of meals with half board option

    Rooms full of character

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.1
    The typical swiss german atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food, and especially the half-pension menu was really bad. One advice: do not opt for the half-pension. The lack of friendliness of staff.

    The typical swiss german atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.7
    Food in the restaurant was hot and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stale croissants at breakfast, very slow service at dinner, beds not that comfy, no free tea and coffee in room.

    Food in the restaurant was hot and tasty. Nice beer. Friendly staff but overstretched in restaurant. Liked having a fridge in the room and a tv. Clean. Quiet. Free parking. Walking distance from station.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    8.3
    The authenticity of a 300 year old Swiss Hotel with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds a bit squeaky, walls a bit thin (say no more)

    The authenticity of a 300 year old Swiss Hotel with lots of "Wood" carved furniture. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fab Breakfast. Awesome mountain views

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Enjoyed our stay at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to check out.. :(

    Enjoyed our stay at the property. The staff (the lady at thefront office and all the 3 ladies at the restaurant) were extremely cordial and courteous. Although a little away from Interlaken OST, but it is definitely worth the pain.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    5.4
    It is in a beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast quite average. My room was at the end of a very long, dark corridor. The room was quite stuffy with a very low ceiling. The basics were there. I was locked out of the hotel one morning, when there was a function in the hotel and I had to use another exit, but then the front door was locked. All I wanted to do was to get breakfast.

    It is in a beautiful

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were identical every day, a good selection but no variation. No grapefruit!

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed. Great view. Ideal location for holiday in the Alps

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    5.0
    Despite our repeated request to get us a double bed as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite our repeated request to get us a double bed as we were husband wife the hotel staff did nothing, they let us sleep on different beds joined together with huge gap in the middle which is a big no no for a young couple on honeymoon in switzerland

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi

    Fantastic location. Amazing breakfast and evening meal. Really friendly and helpful staff. Lovely traditional Swiss rooms. Good parking and easy walk to the station. Stunning views!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    The staff was quite nice, but service was slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are very basic, nothing to do with the pictures on the website. Service was very slow. Brunch was quite busy on Sunday and there weren't enough clean dishes and cups for everyone. Lots of choice.

    The staff was quite nice, but service was slow. Food was wonderful in the restaurant. The location is great to explore the Bernese Oberland. Little value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    2.9
    Quit Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel Mangment are dishonest. I booked three rooms and when I came they gave me three rooms with only one Bathroom and these rooms does not have the minimum requirements for three star hotels. These rooms located adjacent to the Hotel with very bad conditions and it has its own door which make it unsafe for a family to stay. When I complained through Booking. Com, the Hotel Mangment lied by saying that the guest requested these rooms since we do not have an s elevator to carry the laguag

    Quit Area

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.3
    Great location for touring the Jungfrau region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room (family quad room with one large double and sofa bed) was very old and outdated. Toilet/shower room was very small, and the sink was located in the middle of the bedroom rather than in the bathroom. Our room #42 was above the street and was incredibly noisy. Traffic noise very loud plus the creaking of the old floor was annoying.

    Great location for touring the Jungfrau region. Parking handy and readily available.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    4.2
    locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Failure to comply with the order. The first day alternative accommodation in a small single room with an extra bed ( mold in the shower ) . Everything arrogant approach to the problem , without any apology and compensation .

    locality

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.5
    Balcony outside room with seats and table
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room didn't have a mountain view or minibar , as advertised. Bathroom needed upgrading. Long walk to room. Restaurant expensive (didn't use)

    Balcony outside room with seats and table Good breakfast,plentiful and lots of choice. Staff pleasant and helpful Nice location, short walk to train station. Bus stop outside hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Good location with a good access to Interlaken and Schynige...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room not like the ones showed on the website! We hoped to have a nice rustical Swiss-style room but we got a very basic one. Instead of one double bed we got two single ones. We didn't ask to change though so we don't know how its staff would react. Attitude of a receptionist who checked us in.

    Good location with a good access to Interlaken and Schynige Platte. Nice view of the mountains. Balcony. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    We liked that it was out of Interlaken, in a small village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all great.

    We liked that it was out of Interlaken, in a small village but still close, with good bus and train connections. It had a big room and we were even able to get wifi in it (room 57) which is now free. The staff were amazing. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    The stuff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no key for the toliet.

    The stuff were friendly and helpful. The two ladies in the reception helped us to find our way to different places and the lady in the breakfast room was helpful and very nice

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Amazing location, Swiss atmosphere in the hotel, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing location, Swiss atmosphere in the hotel, and the friendliest staff we met on our whole trip.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: