Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Balade 3 stars

Klingental 8, Old Town Kleinbasel, 4058 Basel, Switzerland

#39 of 62 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 516 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Spacious, comfortable room, clean, spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise of doors banging in the morning. Noise insulation of windows from outside noise during late night hours (Friday and Saturday night)

    Spacious, comfortable room, clean, spacious bathroom. Beds were comfortable. We didn't try the breakfast, but it seemed reasonable, considering the local prices. City is very well served by public transportation, and the hotel provides you with a free pass for the duration of the stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Good 3-star hotel in Basel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well located in the center of the city, just a few steps to the river side. However, the area around it looks more like a red light district. Nevertheless, I never felt threatened or anything.

    This is a very comfortable 3 star hotel. Room is well equipped and decorated. Nice amenities, including 3 bottles of water. Breakfast complies with a 3 star hotel. I would add that the room is more 4 stars than 3 stars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    The staff was friendly and receive the guests nicely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly and receive the guests nicely. The Hotel is close to a main street that leads to the center of Basel. In case you need to attend some event on Congress center this hotel is around 10 minutes away walking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Cool place to stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you turn left and left again, you’re I the red light street, though it’s innocuous and can easily be avoided. Neighbouring bar can mean it’s a bit noisy if your windows are open. The room has a fan but no aircon - not really necessary for Basel’s climate.

    Great location in the city centre, yet quite quiet. Go left out of the entrance down a path to the river, in 3 minutes. Over the bridge is the old town centre, 10 minutes walk. Free public transport from the hotel - loads of trams take you frequently and quickly to other parts of the city. Modern large rooms, great if you have a pet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    We are return guests as this location suits us visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be noisy as near bars but the windows are fairly soundproof

    We are return guests as this location suits us visiting family in Basel. Although decor is minimalist it is very comfortable, rooms are big, including bathroom which if staying more the a couple of days is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    It was ok, wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bang in the middle of the red light district. Pillows were incredibly uncomfortable. One ironing board per floor and it was broken. Shower smelt stale. Bottle water tasted...funny. Due to the location, I had to sleep with the window closed and with earplugs to actually sleep - combine that with the lack of functioning air conditioning and it left the room being incredibly stuffy all night.

    Easy to get to. Actually had a plug socket next to the bed - not too common in hotels!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean, silent rooms with soft bedding. Central, affordable location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is actually located in the middle of a "red light district". We were not troubled by any of the workers, however we wished we had known this in advance.

    Around the corner from the SWIMMABLE beautiful Rhine river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, tidy, great staff when they're there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the after hours check-in could be explained better, detailing this. I was lucky to bump into anther solo travelling lady otherwise I would have been very stressed, and would have felt a little unsafe. The cost per night is rather quiet expensive, although I do understand Switzerland is expensive.

    I found the after-hours check-in confusing on a Sunday evening. However, the gentlemen on the intercom was very patient, and on Monday the staff on duty was kind and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds and bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been improved. The wall attachment was broken so you had no choice but to hold the shower head. It was a completely flat cubicle which meant the water flowed under the cubicle door.

    Comfortable beds and bedding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Good spacious apartment a quick walk from old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Red light district that whilst I have no objection to and certainly caused no issues for our stay it did result in interesting conversation with my children!

    Good spacious apartment a quick walk from old city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    We definitely recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful. We needed extra information and they were very willing. Breakfast was hearty and well served. The hotel is close to restaurants and the river and a good experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit narrow for the family room. The ventilation is not great without AC

    Nice breakfast. Good service and good location. The hotel give the free travel pass of Basel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    We were in the apartment opposite the hotel which was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night with the bar opposite open late

    We were in the apartment opposite the hotel which was very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful, the restaurant outside was good and the location of the hotel is good, close to the Rhine with the old town over the bridge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some mold in the bathroom which smelled overnight. We reported it to the staff upon checkout.

    The staff was very helpful. The room was spacious. The location perfect for going out in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very happy and would stay again. Will recommend to my family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no air conditioner in room,just pedestal fan,red light district just around corner

    excellent location ,very helpful multilingual staff,room very clean,beds comfortable,quiet room.good wifi, complimentary bottled water every day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and nice service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was everything okey, but i would like maybe a little better Breakfast that’s all, Thank the Staff for the awesome comfort

    I like the staff and the rooms everything was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay in this minimalist but comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to an authorised red light district

    The shower was good. London BBC and ITV channels. Free mineral water in the room daily. Complimentary Basel card for free travel and reduced museum entry Good access to tram network at Klaraplatz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable value for money in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of outside noise at night, particularly in the square in front. As it was a heatwave we had to keep windows open all night. Also about 20m from red light district, this didn't create any problems but is worth being aware of.

    Large rooms, comfortable beds very convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again - quiet and convenient to transportation and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since the room opened onto a closed courtyard, with apartments and businesses on upper and lower floors, there was some early and late noise - main issue was lack of air flow. Perhaps a room with exterior windows would have been quieter, but it wasn't too bad (one crying baby and some conversation in early evening). I suggest travelling with a small fan or asking desk for one (not sure if they had any available as I used my own.) Shower door opens directly in front of showerhead, so had to remember to turn it sideways before we turned on water, so we didn't get wet. Had to ask for towels. Duvet on bed was lovely, but too small - a twin size on a king bed. They didn't make use of large gravelled courtyard in front of hotel - not sure if because of nearby construction or too early in the season, but it would have been nice to have a place to sit and relax with a cold drink. Also would have appreciated a list with prices of nearby restaurants. (although menus were posted outside individual businesses if you walked around) Brochures in lobby were not all available in English and some were outdated.

    Location couldn't be better - only half a block from the Rhine river. There is some re-construction going on around the neighborhood, but it was very quiet at night. Hotel is clean, breakfast was delicious. Staff was awesome, very friendly but professional and willing to search Internet if they didn't know the answer to a question. Everything was spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was clean. Our room led out onto a courtyard, but since we were on the second floor, there was a small "meadow" of flowers and pretty weeds which made it attractive to have french balcony door open. Only drawback was the room next to us also opened on to it, so there was a lack of privacy if both doors/drapes were open. Staff provided local area maps but more resources would have been welcome (such as the fact that grocery store was closed early some days and not open on Sundays.) One of the best perks was the free transportation pass - we used trams and busses constantly to get around. Don't waste money on the city tour - just get on the bus, ride to the end of the line, get off, take a short walk and get on another line! You'll figure out where everything is and see the sights at the same time, and you get a break for your feet!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely one-night in Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of breakfast buffet was expensive...19.5 Swiss Francs (~$20) for a cold, do-it-yourself cereal, meats (ham, prosciutto, and turkey), bread, eggs (you boil), and fruit is steep! Plus, it was unclear which "area" was for the "express breakfast" (also steep at 9 Swiss Francs for bread, butter, jelly, and coffee).

    Minimalist design was beautiful. Room was the largest one we stayed in during our time in Europe - a rare find! Very friendly reception staff. Easy access to bridge or ferry across the Rhine into the city. Provided us with a Basel pass that paid for one ferry crossing, 50% off an On/Off bus tour (which was great).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    I must admit I was surprised by the size of the room, much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've paid for the room when I was checking in but then when I was checking out I had to pay for a breakfast which I was sure was included in the price - because I always book rooms with breakfast included

    I must admit I was surprised by the size of the room, much bigger than I expected. Very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value for Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower gel container kept falling off from the wall. Drainage in shower area was full of hair making draining slow until we fix it ourselves.

    Friendly staffs. Accommodated our family of 5 really well as we have special need for our room accommodation. As with other hotels in the city, we got a free Baselcard for free tram and bus rides during the length of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    2.5
    lack of safety and back up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of safety and back up. During the first night of our short stay two people entered our room, left two pictures and a strong smell of smoke and did not completely close the door after them. When we reported this we were told it would be looked into and we would be informed of the results. No effort was made to e-mail us or leave a written message. A day later at breakfast when my husband went to reception to pay for breakfast, he was told no one else had used our card key and we must have left the door open! As there was no 24 hour reception and at times when there should have been reception no one answered the bell and during the day we were sightseeing, on return home we confirmed by e-mail that we had closed and locked our bedroom door so perhaps the lock could be faulty and needed to be checked. Response was again we must have left the door open and a change of room had been offered. No alternative room had been offered and the faulty lock possibility had not been addressed. After pointing this out there was silence! Also, no attempt was made to find out who had entered our room. Because of a corridor entrance which used the same card key as for the bedrooms, the culprits it seems must have been from one of the rooms on our corridor or members of staff.

    any positives were overshadowed by entry of unknown persons into our room on our first night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location in Old Town, otherwise forget it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic hotel with a single elevator that didn't always work. Our "quiet" room that we had requested faced a square, where noisy drinkers made a lot of noise into the small hours of the morning. Management didn't provide enough staff at breakfast, which was consequently a bad event - young children were out of control running around & fingering all the food (what was left of it). Found out the other side of the hotel was in the red light district! Would not stay here again.

    Great location. Understaffed personnel were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value - would stay here again but probably in the colder months when people aren't inclined to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have had a microwave in the apartment for cooking quick meals but otherwise the apartment was well equipped. The only real downside was that the apartment faces a back street used by the local 'ladies of the night' with a number of bars and while at times it was entertaining to watch the antics, the noise from the street at night sometimes made it difficult to sleep.

    The receptionist Simone was excellent and very helpful especially as she spoke perfect english. The apartment was separate to the hotel and a short walk across the road. The apartment was a good size and clean with plenty of towels, cutlery and crockery etc for our stay. The apartment was located in an area that is only a short walk to to tram stops or a short walk to the river or over the bridge to the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Modern, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly too to find ourselves right in the heart of the city's red light district, and to have a view of prostitutes vying for trade from our hotel room window. May be ideal for some guests, but for most people it's maybe not. Makes a walk along the street or a drink at a local bar a vaguely threatening experience.

    Modern, clean and comfortable. Located very close to the city centre. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Offer in the room is correct. Room big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the hotel I wanted to charge services at a different price, I did not pay the parking lot according to the hotel staff's instructions, but a lot more. This was very incorrect, as the price was about 5x higher than what was stated ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking was available near the hotel. I had to park far away. The neighborhood was quit bad. No place where you want to take a walk in the evening with your family. Lot of noise all night, so you could not sleep with the window open.

    Modest but confortable room, decent price. Good tram connection nearby, easy to get to downtown Basel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Clean, modern, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet, modern, large room with a large, comfy bed. Great location. Comfortable room temperature. Helpful staff accommodated our late check-in. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location for a short stay to visit Art Basel and the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable, but that's subjective, and the room was a bit warm. Fortunately there was a fan made available but no central air conditioning. It was a bit noisy at night because of nearby bars, but for just one night it wasn't too much of a nuisance.

    The location was perfect, halfway between the Messe where Art Basel was located, and really close to the Old Town of Basel. The shower and cleanliness of the room was excellent, the staff was very helpful with everything, and the hotel really easy to find by car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    It was so close to the town and great public transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third bed was a camp bed which was fine in itself , but the room was far too small with the two single beds already in the room, so with 3 adults sharing, definitely not enough space in this room for adding an extra bed ☹️

    It was so close to the town and great public transport access.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent place to be in Basel- but be mindful of the vicinity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the location is perfect - central next to the market and the river bank all good. The only challenge is that this is on the 1 authorized hooker street in Basel. From the window you can see them soliciting. While they pose no problem and if you are with your partner they will not solicit but can be a bit of a challenge when traveling with children.

    The Apartment (#101) was excellent - spacious and well appointed. The sofa cum bed could easily fit two adults. The apartment had amenities - fridge, oven, kitchenette, cutlery et all. The bathroom was clean, huge and nice. Overall excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    great apartment , good staff , so close to everything too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillows very thin and uncomfortable , view from our windows were straight on to red light district and very noisy at night but none of this really bothered us but thought i would add this as others might not feel the same. police keep regular checks on the area so still very safe .. breakfast was a very poor spread for the price , very bad selection at 17chf per person . we went to have breakfast but took one look and walked away .

    friendly staff, hotel so close to all amenities and public transport , nice bar in hotel with good prices for Basel . our family apartment was large , clean , comfy beds , everything we needed for our stay. bottled water slippers , toiletries , washing up liquid , dishwasher tablets all included and a daily maid to replenish stocks and make beds. overall had a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only concern was the area. We didn't realise that it was next to the ref light district. We may not have chosen Balade if we knew this as we were travelling g with our 3 small children. Having said that, we had no problems and hardly knew that we were there.

    Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Bit pricey but super comfy beds and great location, friendly staff. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't believe breakfast is not included at that price. Also, I would recommend to go coffee cups, I had to get to work early in the a.m.and would have liked to take the coffee with me - even if it wasn't that good and other hotels of the same price range offer a nespresso machine, to go cups are always a plus. Also, the floor was so cold so a carpet would be nice, even tho they provide slippers.

    Love the beds and everything was very clean as usual (not my first stay), great staff too (very friendly) and Wi-Fi was working fine. What i specially liked is that the curtains were very dark and the room was super quiet facing the backyard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.4
    Not the best I have been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Staff. (Except one man who was kind and helpful) -Looks like if the rooms were dirty due to a very strange floor design-it didn't feel good. Don't book if you like to feel clean.

    Location (if we do not count that it is in the "red zone"), everything important is in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Location to everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location to everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Huge and clean apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the family apartment, so take note that it’s in a different building from the hotel.

    Huge and clean apartment. Friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay especially for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff, convenient to go everywhere, room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Grand Palace was amazing and the carpet of flowers was a highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was expensive.

    The room was very modern with good air con and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Moulin Rouge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moulin Rouge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The absence of the promised parking space for 18 Swiss...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of the promised parking space for 18 Swiss francs. They sent us to a public parking garage that cost us much more in the end.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is was between redlight district and kaserne

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Price location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Price location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly and helpful with our early check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with our early check in. She also made sure we got a parking lot in their garage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent apartment in very central location. Lots of space (kids loved that), clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent apartment in very central location. Lots of space (kids loved that), clean and comfortable. Will stay again at our next trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel for the money you pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a triple room and it was spacious enough and the beds were very comfy. The room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Thanks Hotel Balade for the comfy stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was excellent stay, I would like to thank the staff there for it. They also helped me planning which places I can visit in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great annexe, lovely accommodation however there should be a drop of box for return of your room key
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the location of it

    Overall space,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    The cleaness a

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    good wifi , big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good wifi , big room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Near to the river and the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located within one street of what might be called a "Red light district".

    Near to the river and the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.0
    Good position, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position, good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Moderately Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were not very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    we stayed one night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all is good

    we stayed one night .. all was great ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great place with warmful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and very good comfort Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of prostitutes out the window.

    Clean and spacious room. Courteous staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    The hotel's Apartments are great great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for just one night!

    Apartment was very modern with latest kitchen fittings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place very centrally located to eaters, COOP, river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place very centrally located to eaters, COOP, river walks and great transportation throughout the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    No air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    A very good place who must improve its air conditionning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditionning not efficient

    Efficient and smiling welcome and support

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice, clean hotel, excellent location, friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at nights because of the red light district which is really close.

    Nice, clean hotel, excellent location, friendly stuff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay - clean & comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have included breakfast.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Very clean. Good shower ! Fairly central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    construction noise, and a number of prostitutes within sight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    construction noise, and a number of prostitutes within sight of property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Hotel Balade, Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Great location. Great setting. Nice, helpfull staff. Beautifull city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    good accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    good accomodation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, however the hotel is in a not so nice neighbourhood and there's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood not the best, right in the red light district and this should be mentioned on Booking.com

    Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location as we were attending a locally held event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location as we were attending a locally held event...5 mins away! Friendly and accomodating staff. Comfy room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    I liked the fact tha the hotel was close to the tram station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was next to the red light street, but this didn't affect us.

    I liked the fact tha the hotel was close to the tram station. It was also clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Red lamp district next to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Red lamp district next to hotel. Not safe for woman travelling alone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood isn't the best.

    Good value, nice room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Comfy, friendly place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location on a quiet square. Friendly staff. Short walk to the centre. A little noisy with the local bar but a good place to stay while in Basel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    5.8
    Not a good area to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside are prostitutes standing 24 hours

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was situated in the other building.

    Good breakfast and nice location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.8
    Loved the area and the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basel Switzerland is a very expensive place to visit.

    We liked the location. We could walk to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Balade traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: