Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Balm 3 stars

Balmstr. 3, Meggen, 6045 Luzern, Switzerland

#9 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 883 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely situation, great outlook and nice garden with good seating areas. Perfect location for buses to Lucern. Very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Plenty of parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift and if you have heavy luggage could be a challenge to bring it up without help. The service at the breakfast seems to be slow towards Asian guest. The location is quite far from train station.

    The hotel is clean and bright. Is comfortable stay with good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Staff superkind and helpful. Clean, spacious, free parking outside. Good breakfast with and incredible selection of cheeses. Egg and bacon or omelet. Wifi ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could use a coffee maker / kettle in the room also.

    Rooms were large and spacious. Staff were helpful and courteous. Good location and great view of the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, can`t wait to visit again.

    Very nice Hotel with a touch of perfection and warmth. The staff are outstanding, from the reception right throug to the restaurant. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable and very spacious as well. The towels in the rooms are very soft and of the highest quality. The patio at the restaurant are very relaxing and the breakfast was very very good. Definitaly far above average. The public transport infront of the hotel and complimentary bus tickets are a huge privelage and helped us a lot. Parking and Wifi is very good. This Hotel is highly recomended as everything has a personal touch and the feel of their passion is visible througout the entire place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , this was a jewel of a find

    Helpful in exploring the area. Loved the easy bus to Luzern. Local Meggen area near water delightful with small pretty parks . Best short trip from hotel was Weggis. View from our hotel window spectacular. Staff wonderful especially as we speak English only. Very gracious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely. We liked it and would return. Waitress at breakfast was rushed off her feet and really needed help. She was a bit forgetful but purely because she was the only person serving. I think another member of staff was needed. Switzerland is very expensive. I think guests have to accept that you will pay more for drinks at the bar and in restaurants everywhere..etc.. The high cost can take you a bit by surprise initially.

    Lovely hotel 15 minute drive from centre of Lucerne. Easy to park. Warm welcome and beautiful room. Spacious and immaculately clean. Staff brought our luggage to our room as there is no lift. We were very comfortable. Tourist card is emailed to you on arrival allowing free use of the bus into Lucerne. Runs regularly and stops directly outside the hotel. So easy. Would certainly suggest guests make use of this to explore Lucerne. Breakfast was enjoyable, continental style. Perhaps the choice is a little limited in comparison to other hotels but it was perfectly fine for us. Some hot options such as egg and bacon. Delicious coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The rooms were very clean and a good size. There is a large garden area where one can have a peaceful drink. We had dinner in the Bistro and the food was excellent with a good selection of wines. Staff were terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey but that is Switzerland

    Location was convenient for riding the bus into town, driving to Rigi and walking to the water. We enjoyed Thai and Italian restaurants nearby and visited Meggen Castle. Rooms were clean, breakfast delicious and views to die for! We loved visiting the animals in the backyard. Desk clerk was very helpful with maps and suggestions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of vegetables for breakfast (buffet)

    Amazing hotel! If you think about visiting Lucern just stay in Hotel Balm! Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Free big parking is available and you get free bus tickets to the city center of Lucern (couple of minutes drive) - it was very convenient. Actually you can use the tickets all around the city! The hotel is located in a very calm area - again for me it was better to stay there than in the city center! The view from the room was amazing! (see the pictures attached).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, although their was no elevator in the hotel, the staff have hold all our bags to and from the room. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was delicious, eggs are fresh and prepared on time. The staff and reception were very helpful and pleasant. There are free parking and the bus stop is at the hotel door. Nice backyard with garden and animals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel with very welcoming staff. Booked a room with a balcony from which the views were stunning. Free parking which was great as we were travelling by motorbike. Although the hotel is slightly out of the town up a hill, the hotel gave us complimentary bus tickets into town and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Great breakfast selection including eggs and bacon cooked to order. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit costly

    Ground staffs were very amicable and helpful. overall it was just awesome journey also breakfast offered had plenty of varieties (especially Indian can also like)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big problem, but there is no elevator, so lookout for the floor if it can be a problem. Location was similar to lot of hotels, but not near to the lake itself.

    Breakfast was a brilliant spread. Great amount of variety and all the egg preparations were amazing. The rooms are really well kept. The staff and the chefs are all really amazing set of people. Overall the experience was superb. Bus stop is right outside to catch a train to Lucerne train station and it is pretty frequent in the day time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has no lift and the family room is on the 2nd floor.

    The family room is spacious for 4 adults. Free parking included. Very convenient to take Bus 24 to Lucern city (only 10 mins). Bus stops are directly in front of the hotel. The hotel provides free Lucern Visitor Cards for each guest which gives you free use of buses and trains within zone 10 of the city network, as well as a range of discounts for cableways, mountain railways, museums and excursions in the Lucerne-Lake Lucerne Region. Breakfast is great with variety of choices of eggs, hams and local cheeses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, comfortable rooms with great mountain and lake views, very good restaurant, great location for sightseeing and day trips. A very relaxing place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel caters to people who require gluten free and lactose free food. It was so nice to have this option available as I have struggled to find gluten free food during my travels. The hotel staff could not do enough and the breakfast was amazing! We also had fantastic service from Yannik (front reception). He was so friendly and incredibly helpful with nothing being too much trouble. This is a fabulous hotel and I highly recommend it. Thank you Hotel Balm for a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food price in the restaurant is a little bid expensive. The pillow in our room is too soft and not very comfortable to sleep with. Stuff told us when we checked out that the bed head can be lifted up or we could order more pillows. it would be better that they told us about it when we checked in.

    very comfortable hotel and stuff are very friendly and helpful. restaurant in the hotel is extremely good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a little uncomfortable, but kids found them ok.

    Hotel and rooms very clean and spacious. Staff very attentive. Nice continental breakfast. Quiet location, with free bus ride to the main town. Great parking facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant in the hotel was very very very expensive for lunch and dinner compare to near by hotels.

    Morning breakfast was good. Nice view from hotel (lake n mountain) Room service is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good reading light at bedside and backboard of bed had metal tube making sitting up in bed very uncomfortable. Sofabed for third person was very uncomfortable. Since weather was bad we spent more time in room and also missed no public lobby space inside.

    Excellent breakfast and delightful staff very clean and beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room - as advertised, a double bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed really should have had a separate mattress on top of the standard sofa cushions, as it was really too hard without - even for a 6/yo girl.

    If the hotel had a lift,it would have 4 stars. A wonderful find! And the breakfast is fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down side was that the restaurant was closed for holiday (just after Carnival) but the reception staff are happy to help with other places to eat and even booked us into a great place not far away for fondue!!

    Beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Being outside of Lucerne means that there isn't an extra cost for parking and you get a travel card which enables you to use the bus into Lucerne for free. The stop is just outside the hotel too so perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa bed for the kids a bit uncomfortable but they slept good all night so it could not have been so bad after all :-)

    Great breakfast buffet! Large family room. Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive. And it's 10 min drive to the city center of Luzern, but the train is more convenient.

    The service is super! The man at the reception desk helped us to carry the luggage. Thankful~ Also the breakfast is good. The room is big and clean. Everything comfortable and convenient. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very accommodating & informative, view from room was wonderful and bistro food was great. Bus stopped out the front and runs regularly into town with the free ticket. Car parking was free !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were here during a portion of our honeymoon and absolutely fell in love with Hotel Balm. We were actually here to visit Lucerne, and would highly suggest others to stay here, too! We were upgraded to a larger room, with a patio overlooking the lake and the mountains. It was gorgeous. Common in Europe, the bed was split (two twins, combined), but so comfortable. The bathroom had two sinks, a great shower, and was very clean. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the owners made it a point to meet you. The breakfast had a great and delicious selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, etc. There is a bus that will take you into Lucerne (for free, for being a visitor), taking about 13 minutes. It picks up/drops off right outside the hotel, so don’t let this deter you from staying here. There is a bar in the hotel, and some restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay again! If you can eat at the restaurant, you won’t be disappointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel very quiet, outside Luzern however linked by a very good Bus network until late in the night. On top of that the hotel provide free bus tickets. (hotel behind the bus stop and you can go direct to the railway station). Room perfect, comfortable bed great bathroom everything very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast with good products. Perfect location for whom wants to enjoy the Luzern city activities and be in a quiet area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was just a sliding glass panel - no sound barrier.

    Very nice room with a big balcony with a view of the alps and lake,very good breakfast with local cheese and ham, great coffee and professional staff. Free local transport ticket. Extremely good value for this price category.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at hotel balm. We got an upgrade to our room. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. You get a free bus pass for your stay. The bus stop is right infront of the hotel. Furthermore we had an incident where are car got stuck in the snow in Engelberg. We couldn’t reach any emergency numbers. We called the hotel and they stayed on the phone with us, assisted us, called the police and sent them to us. Wonderful stay and staff. The location is great! The breakfast was also great, plenty of options and great coffee our day. I would definitely recommend this establishement and am very glad we stayed here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comparing Swiss to USA: The rooms are very small for four people: four beds shoved into a small space did not leave much space for walking. Price was high.

    Great continental breakfast. Very classy hotel. Nice, friendly staff. Bus service was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which makes it difficult to carry bags to higher floors. No affordable eating joints in the vicinity.

    Quiet..large clean room. Excellent wholesome breakfast and kitchen staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not the elevator! Very difficult to get to the room with heavy luggage

    Staff is very kind, I loved the breakfast with fresh made products and different kind of bread, cheese and fresh marmalade. Room was spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb hotel grounds. The free bus service to the Luzern centre was very helpful. Excellent breakfast. The little gift at check-out was a thoughtful gesture - appreciated...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated

    The complimentary bus pass was great to get back into the city, staff was great and breakfast was excellent. Hot showers and spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free travel pass was provided by reception on arrival allowing free travel around lucerne. Bus left from right out front of the hotel. Ample onsite parking. Lots of great Swiss cheeses for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three days was not enough.

    Balm is typical of Swiss hostelry regardless of the number of stars. The accommodation was very comfortable and a good size room, bed excellent and very good shower including toiletries. The best part was the view from our balcony of the lake and mountains. The breakfast was Continental, good quality and plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need an elevator. Thankfully the staff offered to get our bags to the second floor room

    Breakfast staff was excellent and very attentive. Excellent choices from the buffett. Evening at the bar was fine. Prices great. Bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite old. We had a triple room and one of the beds was very uncomfortable. Good that there was another bed, where all 3 of us could sleep.

    The breakfast was great! Also the dinner at the restaurant- excellent. The suroundings of the property are great for families with little children, there is a little zoo just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very basic just bed and bathroom. There is no air conditioner and the road is very close to the hotel so if you are opening a window there is quit noisy.

    The hotel is in very good location. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We get the free ticket to the buss and it is very convinient when you are going to Lucern. The restaurant is fabuluos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a lot of luggage for such a large group, not having lifts was a bit of an inconvenience. No Fridge in rooms was a challenge for those with young infants.

    The reception we received on arrival was wonderful after a long flight from Australia. Despite arriving early they arranged for the two family rooms to be ready straight away so that our youngest children could rest. The farm and play area around the Balm were great for the kids. The free bus travel into Lucerne was arranged immediately by the Hotel and was appreciated as other members of our family were arriving by train later in the day. Breakfast at the hotel was fantastic and catered for all ages in our extended family group. Nearby food facilities within an easy walk covered for the Hotel Restaurant which is not always open.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Little far from the city centre, but travel with bus was really convenient, the hotel was just behind the bus stop. The restaurant downstairs was good, and the owners would come to talk to the visitors. The view of the room was ok, but not superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little expensive but perhaps the exchange rate makes this comment unfair.

    A very clean and comfortable hotel, breakfast was fairly basic continental style but good quality. A free bus pass was an unexpected bonus however we had already purchased a Tell Pass for our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to check in late because the desk staff was not moving in the right direction, It is absurd because there is no elevator

    The air is clear and there are lots of windows. Cool ~

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room safe was very small and not very usefull.

    Great hotel that was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great. The hotel provided a visitor card that allowed for free public transit for the buses, trams and trains in the Luzern area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds a little worn.

    Very friendly and professional personnel. Excellent restaurant. Excellent and convenient bus connection to the city centre of Luzern, transport offered for free during accomodation. Very nice view and location. Very calm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator

    Good breakfast Great Staff Bus station in front of the hotel with frequent buses to Lucerne Located in a very quiet area, with great garden and back yard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was extortionate for what we experienced. We were charged CHF10 for tap water at dinner! Also, the hotel converted €'s to CHF at a 1:1 rate, which is incorrect and added a further 15% to our already significant bill. To pay £530 for one night in a 3* hotel for a family of 4 to stay in 1 room (breakfast and dinner included in that price) is outrageous!

    The view from the balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the hotel, but again we had help from the staff with carrying the luggage up and down

    The staff was excellent and ready to help with any request, be it helping us with our luggage, supplying us with hot water and cups to make coffee in our room, or helping us to plan our vacation in the area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been a mini fridge. We specifically booked a double bed room, but were given a room with 2 single beds joined together.

    The breakfast was lovely. the rooms were huge. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fantastic overall. We mostly interacted with Yanick who was very attentive, helpful, and had a very friendly demeanor and personality. Great job!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The free parking and the free bus pass to get into town was great. The bus stops out the front of the hotel and it's only 10min into town. They also had complementary travel adapters which was a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peaceful position a short (free) bus ride from city centre. Good getaway from bustling crowds in Lucerbe very friendlyhelpful staff. Large room with nice view. Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they had air conditioning though. It was super hot in the room and we didn't sleep very well at all, even though we brought a tall fan from home. To be fair, it doesn't usually get that hot in that region, so we do understand there was a heat wave.

    We loved the hotel and the staff. Very comfortable room, very clean and well appointed. We absolutely LOVED the playground and the areas to walk our dog and allow our child to play. It was perfect for us. They even had a brass band playing in the nearby pavilion and we enjoyed the live music while our child played on the playground. The landscaping was outstanding and I could have easily got lost in it's beauty. The bistro had the most amazing food and something for each of us (I am vegan, my husband is a meat eater and my son is vegetarian). The food was really wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water, kettle, tea bags are not offered in the room. We were informed that the host would hold a party when we check in. It's okay for us but we didn't expected that the party last till 1:30 am. Also there were a group of teenagers chatting loudly on the terrace outside our room, which bothered other guests as well.

    Restaurant "La Pistache" offers excellent food and service. Breakfast was excellent, especially the coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was ok but lots of "buts". Only a cold continental breakfast option (not even toast). Room had no fridge or tea making facilities - this was in the hotel info and I thought it would be ok but after a week was VERY annoying. Room décor and bathroom ok but getting tired. No air conditioning_ essential in summer. There were two restaurants; the Bistro with little choice and the only option under £25 was their version of pizza, ok-ish. The main restaurant had Michelin status - the cheapest 2 course meal started at £55 each and no vegetarian option. Basically it was a very expensive restaurant (even by Swiss standards) with a tired 3 start hotel taking second place. For a hotel with a Michelin restaurant I would expect to be in a 5 star hotel not a 3 star. The Bistro could have been used to fill in this menu gap, but it was very uninteresting and still expensive.

    Free parking, not common near Lucerne. Free bus pass into Lucerne (20 min trip)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft. Ugh! we

    Great location, away from the noise and bustle of downtown, but right on the bus line. Free upgrade was much appreciated. Wonderful front desk staff. Very classy but friendly institution. Nice neighborhood, with good restaurant close by. Guests who drive would greatly appreciate the free parking. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect. It's located in a quiet area, with nice view of the lake and the mountains and it's very easy to go to the city center or the Swiss museum of transports by taking the bus, just in front of the hotel. At the hotel you get a travel card to use public transport in Lucerne for free during your stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity the restaurant was not available to us on our arrival so we had to look elsewhere to eat.

    Parking was available for our group of five cars and my room was very fresh and clean. Bathroom was excellent. Lovely shower cubicle and shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , the hotel was beyond our expectations.

    Spectacular location. Very scenic and quiet with views of the lake and countryside. Room exceptionally clean and triple room very suitable for 3 adults. Large modern bathroom. Good continental breakfast included in the room rate with fresh breads, pastries, selection of cold meats and cheeses, fruit and yoghurt. Hotel approximately 7km outside of Lucerneand free bus service right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient location as bus stop is just outside the hotel. Staff is very cooperative and able to guide you properly. The view from the hotel and the near by areas is very picturesque.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows could have been better. we woke up with neck pain every day. I believe they were feather pillows but were very flat and we had to constantly fold them bring them to shape. Then again, this is minor issue.

    The whole experience at Balm was excellent. Right from the location to excellent service from Staff. - Excellent views -We were given probably one of largest rooms in the hotel with balcony/terrace - Excellent service from every single staff - Very friendly staff. when arrived, I was told to leave the luggage at the reception and someone would bring it over to the room but what I didn't know was, the receptionist herself carried it over the stairs. How nice of her! (and I was guilty that made her carry). - Excellent Breakfast choices and you will personally attended by a staff member when you arrive at the breakfast area. - Prices at the bar are reasonable. - It is about 15 mins from main train station and they provide you with a free bus pass for your stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the place: the hotel is situated out of big city in a charming small town (we were with a dog so we walked around). We had a room upgraded to a room with a breath-taking lake and mountains view. The breakfast is great: the cheese variety especially. Personnel is friendly. The room is clean. What is also good about the place is the restaurant and the bistro with a delicious food and great service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    better soundproofing needed in the rooms.

    Breakfast was delicious and filling. The staff was friendly and welcoming to our infant traveling with us. Great location to see Lucerne as well as Mount Rigi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. Just unfortunate that the restaurant was closed when we were there.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, just a bit slow to serve sometimes. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel, which is quite convenient. Also good location if you plan to go to Mt Rigi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    The staff. The manager Mr Gebistorf was very kind and nice with my wife and I, giving good hints about places to go in the city. Hotel is very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and the staff was also very kind and supportive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is absolutely stunning! The staff were so friendly and helpful in many ways and gave some fantastic recommendations for a daytrip which was a real highlight of our holiday. The room was lovely. The children really enjoyed the playground and visiting the animals.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff, it was pleasure to talk with them!! We got a great room, it was large and very quiet. The beds are super comfortable, the bathroom is large and very clean. We booked an economy room but were upgraded to a suite. Thank you Hotel Balm!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really dramatic but no lift in hotel (our room was on 2nd floor). Bulb in bedside light needed replacing but, when I took it to reception for replacement, I was not offered a new bulb even though it was only about 6pm. Hotel lacked any real warmth or character. Restaurant closed. Had asked for a room with a balcony if possible, but was given one on the other side facing the main road even though the hotel didn't seem full.

    Clean. Bed comfortable. Generally good but "nothing to write home about".

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The crib provided for our child was not immaculate. No mattress was provided for it and we had to ask for an extra duvet folded underneath, which wasn't as comfy for him. - No lift to the floors. - Not very panoramic or beautiful position

    Nice and abundant breakfast, comfy beds, kind and supportive staff, generally clean, large bedroom, easy parking. The restaurant seems very good but we didn't have the chance to try it. 5 mins drive to Luzern centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was really nothing that we did not like.

    The reception staff was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Assisted us with bus tickets and information that made things very easy for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and suffocating breakfast with no vegetables Unfriendly and unhelpful stuff Uncomfortable and lousy bed and pillows No elevator The hotel manager snop in my plate over breakfast to see what I've taken The room door was broken, no body bother to fix it Moist smell in the room and creaky floor Un recommended hotel!!!

    Free parking Nice tiles in the bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. met our needs.

    We liked the access to the bus stop in front of the hotel. Easy to take transit into Luzern and to the Swiss Transportation Musuem. We also loved walking down to the petting zoo in the back of the elder complex nest door.Great concept.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. A bit difficult to take luggages up and down stairs. Swiss-style dinner at 200 fr.for two persons was a bit high despite the wonderful services. Anyway, high prices is common and well understood in Switzerland and hence I have no dissatisfaction.

    Nice services

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No queen bed in the family room Not many choices for breakfast Quite old pieces of furniture

    The view from the terrace Big enough parking Quite good location

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: