Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Basel BackPack

Dornacherstrasse 192, 4053 Basel, Switzerland

#35 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1356 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My dom was next to the route of tram, very noisy.

    Close to the Basel SBB, public transportation. Staffs are very nice. Bathroom and toilets are very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step down in the shower area could be marked; I didnt notice it so did that horrid fally down thing. The price was a little steep at CHF53 then breakfast at CHF8 (altho mine was bought for me by a generous roommate). However, the price could have been due to it being Basle Art Week when I stayed.

    I loved the check in. Despite my late arrival and due to clear instructions I was able to find my room easily. The room was calm and quiet (barring one silly girl who couldnt close a door quietly at 4 a.m.) and the bed was huge and ultra comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only being there for one night 😉

    Everything. Really is a great place. You get a free travel card with your booking. A lovely little city. You can park a motorbike there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No getting a towel can be the only thing I disliked about my staying in this lovely hostel.

    The place was pretty cozy and tidy, but I liked much the staff they're very friendly and good-natured.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't really like shared bathrooms, but for one night it was ok, the comfort of the rooms compensated for it. Bathrooms were functional, they could/should be renewed. There was a bit of a weird smell in the hallway/bathrooms but maybe because of cleaning products used. More airing (opening windows) would be good. Also, floors were wet after showering, would recommend to add a "floor towel" for each room to be taken to the bathroom.

    Rooms were very nice, clean & comfortable & good design. Overall very good value for the price for Switzerland. Shared bathrooms were ok for one night, and good thing that there were several showers with toilet each available, so no need to wait.. Staff was friendly, they allowed us to do early check-in & room was free in the early afternoon already.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just above average, my stay was pleasant but not so great.

    The location was close to the station but not so much to the city center, i like the large bunk bed but unfortunately that is it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flight had 3 hour delay and we were so worried about the check in since it was 1am when we arrived. Everything was closed and we saw on the door a paper with our names and instructions to get in.. it was amazing . the beds are big and comfortables and the staff is super nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a double room, in the 'guest house', with plenty of room and a comfy bed. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and super helpful. The local bier 'from here' is super! Location is quite central and close to trams. The Basel card for free public transport makes moving around so much easier. Just hop on and off anywhere, anytime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nightmare to find, i drove round 4 times in a big circle also worth noting it costs quite a lot to park and leave the car. Maybe invest in a little more signage

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist did not inform me that after 9pm you can enter through a different door., so I was waiting for like 15 minutes for someone to show up at midnight. It's not a big deal, but it's good to know:-)

    Friendly staff, large room, would be back again. Walking distance to SBB and river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit hard to find for the first time, took unnessary walk with my heavy luggage, would be better if there is more indication on the main road

    Very nice and helpful staff, free coffee in the morning even if I didn’t buy the breakfast, bus station is very close and convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. I had a lot of luggage but there was someone around to help with the lift. The location is good it is not very far to the centre. The room was spacious and clean. Bed incredibly comfortable. Definitley would stay again. For Switzerland it is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvets are a bit small. Towels are not provided.

    Beds are XXL. Lockers are also XXL and padlocks are provided for free. Kitchen is fully equipped. Bathrooms are large and have several cubicles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could have provided water bottles and breakfast is costly for CHF 8. They could have added bakery items or eggs. The reception closes at 10 and opens at 8.

    Conveniently placed - it was very close to two tramlines and BASEL SBB. Has stores like Coop and Inter Discount nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the toilette is not so good but at least well cleaned

    The location is just great for any backpacker and the management of the place is excellent. Even we have a sharing kitchen and a lot of space for chatting and hanging together

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, kitchen, bathroom. Very kind staffs. Good location. But it’s a little bit hard to find the building in the beginning. It hide in a building square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilets can be more cleaner, and they can offer free coffee in the kitchen or somewhere else.

    the location was so good. it was close to the central train station. and you can easily walk to the city center from the hostel. the room was clean and comfortable. the staff was so helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not every bed has a power plug nearby so it is not very convenient

    good location next to the tram stop and very close to the train station, nice staff and clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is so much different than on the photos! I was expecting a much cleaner and brighter place. Instead it was quite a dark looking place. I thought I even smelt weed scent. I had to enter my credit card details for the reservation. But because I wasn't sure about my checking in and out times, they charged it from my credit card. Costing me of course more money. And I was not so very happy about the place to be honest. They should've waited until later. The checking in time is quite inconvenient, since it is only until 21h. You can get a code for a later check in, but I'm not sure if I would've known how to get my keys if I didn't arrive just in time to talk to the staff. The bathroom is shared with more rooms. The toilets are shared with also boys, so it was smelling so bad like pee. As well as in the evening as in the morning.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. It is nice that you get a ticket for public transportation, discounts and free Wi-Fi. Although I didn't stay long enough to use all of it. Quite close to the station. But make sure you walk out of the station at the correct side (back). Otherwise it takes you much longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was a bit old. The socket is very interesting, some of the holes are extremely tight that you can’t plug into your charger. I really don’t like the uni-sex toilet, so weird that you can hear a man brushing his teeth when you are doing your thing in the toilet.

    The staff gave me a day pass ticket of public transportation, with which you can have 50% off many museums or zoo entry. The room was spacious, the bed is larger than usual dormitory beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was bit quiet, but only because it was off-season when I visited. Nothing else to complain.

    (Location) 10 minute walk from Basel Bahnhof, 20 minute walk to Basel old town, supermarket nearby. (Room) spacious room with enough separation between bunk beds, with a locker big enough for large suitcase. (Shower/Toilet) well equipped, spacious, clean. (Check-in) surprised to receive a free day-trip public transport ticket in Basel city and even to/from Basel Euro airport ! (Kitchen) didn't have a chance to use it but it seemed OK by the looks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    The staff is very helpful and nice. The common facilities are clean and tidy, and the place is 10 minutes away from the city center by tram (they give you a free card to ride every transport in the city for the duration of your stay!). I would repeat for sure. A total value for the price in the city of Basel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets were not so clean.

    The staff was very friendly and the travel pass that they provide makes it so much easier and convenient to travel around the city and no cost for transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room wasn't the one we saw in the pictures. We booked a 2-bed room, but got a small room with 4 beds, so we didn't have much space to move around.

    Everything was exceptionally clean! There's a room service every day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very crowded. Narrow bunk beds crushed in together. No air or space. For €50, ridiculous ! All very basic and overcrowded.

    Cotton covers on bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hostel, just some of the people there (there was a big even on in the city that weekend) were clearly not used to staying in hostels and didn’t have the best etiquette

    Friendly and helpful staff. Cool feeling in the hostel and the area. Kitchen was just right for what I needed. Getting free travel card was great and tram stop very close to the hostel. Hostel was very clean and it was fully booked when I was there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection not quite dependable even for basic activities. Plan on backup if it's crucial.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very good location with a bus and tram stop just outside the building. Facilities are clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to/from Central station Free WiFi Staff called me and offered information about late check in and early checkout Only stayed there for a night but beds were confortable and very large Shared bathrooms and clean Lockers in the room are free

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing is the sound isolation - you would hear everything that happens in the corridor or the kitchen, as my room was by the kitchen

    It is in a great area! Just in the neighborhood there is a cool bar, place to watch movies, restaurant, dancing... Anything you would like!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't that comfortable.

    Staff were so nice and friendly. It was kept very clean - to a standard that was higher than I would generally see in hostels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need proper ventilation. The air was not fresh in the morning.

    Easy self check-in (we arrived after 11 pm). Quite comfortable dorm rooms, very spacious; beds are huge, wide, robust, with nice mattresses; furniture placed in a way that allows you some privacy even though it is common room; lockers for each guest. Showers area is also convenient, with a lot of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff / reception were incredibly kind and helpful, personal and easy to relate to. They exceeded expectations in making travelling and understanding the city during Fasnacht achievable and easy. Thanks so much!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet speed is not that good. It's OK if u use cellphone, but with laptop it's too slow.

    Good location, close to tram station and bahnhof, supermarket and restaurant nearby. Give u Baselcard which can save u a lot of money for ur trip! Really a great price! Service staff is very nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really hard and my back and neck were sore the whole time during my stay

    The staff was really nice and helpful! Rooms were big amd bathrooms were clean. Everything was clean and nice. I would recommend for few night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have proper blinds, some light got in but it wasn't a big issue. The shower curtains also aren't long enough to prevent water from spilling out 😌

    The staff have been really nice and solved the issues encountered. The room was comfortable and fairly quiet most of the time, considering. Good facilities too, and free coffee and tea!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in is only from 4-9pm If you arrive early or in the morning, better you go to downtown to walk around. That is not good because the check-in must be at 12 or 1pm, like the normal hostels. We are tourists not locals.

    Being honest, it has been the best hostel I've ever been in my whole life. the facilities are new and in general it's pretty cozy. You take 10 min from main station by foot. The staff so kind and you could get coffe and tee for free. So nice experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi connection wasn't great but what can you really expect from a hostel? The staff give you a map of all the free wifi spots in Basel which is really handy.

    I try to avoid staying in hostels if I can afford it, but hotels are so expensive in Switzerland so I thought I would give this place a try. I stayed in one of the female-only rooms for 8 people for 3 nights, and it was a good experience. The rooms were not crowded at all (the most amount of people in our room were 4), and everyone seemed to be there for business purposes, meaning it was not at all a party hostel and I was actually able to get some sleep. You don't have to bring your own lock which is nice. The beds were large and more comfortable than other hostels I've been to. Overall it was a lot better than I expected!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast should have some cheese and ham and also a toast. I just ate a bread with butter.

    Location. The rooms were also a quite big and comfortable. Comfy beds. Free public transport tickets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have wifi the most of the time and nor soap/shampoo

    I really like how friendly was the guy on the reception. The room was warm and cosy, however the furniture was a bit old fashion

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the showers was a little bit low (during winter time - mid-January). That is all. 😊

    The Basel BackPack is a great place when it comes to cheap accommodation in Basel. You have a good bed to sleep, clean showers and toilets. The self check-in is a great option, because e.g. we arrived really late after midnight, and checked ourselves in. Even though the room was not the one, as shown on the booking photos, still it was comfortable and nice. Surely will consider it for the next Basel visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilets could be cleaner and not shared.

    You get what you expect of a hostel. Not much of a comfort but for cheap price, especially in Switzerland. The staff was accommodating, they checked us in earlier and offered luggage storage. Provided clues about the town. Wifi in all areas, breakfast available for extra, but there's shared kitchen if you want your own meals. Location is just perfect - tram stop just in front with very reliable and timely service, 10 minute walk to train station, local supermarkets in close proximity. They provide a travel card for Basel so you can use public transportation at no extra cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had was in a bit noisy corner - in the morning with other guests taking showers, at night it was quiet. and the vending machine does not come with a beer, which would be nice when arriving late and shops closed.

    Very friendly, responsive staff. Late arrival is kind of anonymous check in, but worked really well out. Location is convenient to the railway station and public transportation around the corner. And the booking came with a free transportation card.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At CHF 25 for the night, you cannot expect a lot. Sleeping in a dormitory is not always fun. Here there was an old man with all his belongings on his bed, and he was a bit annoying. Also my bed lamp wasn't working. Checkin is until 9pm (but they have a key box), checkin is from 7am: I had to hide the key.

    Very cheap, clean. Great for backpackers. Nice decoration and clean kitchen. The living room is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been to atleast 200 Hostels in my life but this was a no go I was there for two days but for example the bathrooms smells like public toilets and they are common for men and women. If you have light sleep then this place is not for you because people sit at the dining table and they make noise till late night so if you have to leave at 6 am and want to fit for the next day then forget about it. The bed sheets are like stinky and you have to make your bed on your own which I ever experienced before.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property design is not my taste and doesn´t look very cosy, but it has an idea and style it´s a little bit difficult to lear one´s way around first having to make my own bed

    very well located and accessible free public transport pass is nice has all facilities needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be a good idea to provide more plugs in the rooms around the beds. The policy regarding no check-out before 16.00 is a bit problematic considering that the phone number left to call to check-in is the landline itself.

    The common areas were cosy, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basel Backpackes is in an old factory, so it has a really cool vibe. The room I stayed in was nice, with a comfortable bed, and it included a locker (with built-in lock). Reception closes at 9pm, but it was easy to arrange a late check-in by calling. The hostel is about 10-15 minutes walking from central station, or 5-10 minutes by tram. The hostel gives you a transport card upon arrival so you can use public transportation for free during your stay. Public transit picks up right outside the hostel, so it's easy to get to anything in Basel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area around the hostel does not feel safe, and it is a little far from the center.

    Alternative atmosphere. It is not in the city centre, and the hostel is located in a small bars closed area, so it is not easy to find it. Even it is not close to the centre; there is a bus just in front of the building, and the train station is around 10 min by walking from the hostel. The aspect of the building, the corridors, etc. is a little seedy ad it seems filthy, but it is not. The is a kitchen, so you can buy your food and cook it in the hostel. It is clean, and the decorations are alternatives, artistics,...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the separate rooms(not dormitory) the sound isolation (I suppose the door) is very poor. So you can hear anyone in the corridor or even them using a bathroom.

    Very clean room and bathrooms , good furnished. Staff is friendly and easy to be reached. If you come earlier (before 4 pm) you call them and they come immediately. You can leave you luggage before the check in. Located in the renovated industrial complex with a lot of other facilities. The tram stop is just crossing the street and can bring you to the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say...the hostel has all necessary facilities, great location and well equipped kitchen, the staff is friendly and helpful. It could be a bit cleaner ...

    Perfect location- it is a 10min walk from the main train station but with the free travel card given by the hostel on arrival, you can take tram 16 which goes to the main attractions at the Old town in no time. The rooms are spacious, has lovely quirky feel and is kept clean (although this is down to the guests too some of who just don't wash after themselves). Overall it is a great place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not convenient, far from center. (but they give card for transport) There is not any certain kitchen.

    Staff are really helpful. Cheap. They give a card for free public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use travel adaptors, very basic facilities. Also the talking cat who frequented the bathroom facilities was very rude on more than one occasion.

    Cost effective, relatively central for where I needed to be, a roof over our head, staff were very laid back when a mattress from another room made its way through the window.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not ready at 8 am as proposed. The staff was more busy with private phone calls than getting it ready. And the quality of the breakfast was not good (no cheese or ham and just plain coffee, butter only on request). It's not worth 8 CHF!

    Location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a busy bar nearby which gave some noise late at night, but it was not too bad. I took earplugs.

    Staff were great, location very convenient for train station and two large supermarkets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms and bathrooms could be better! it was my first time in hostel , but the experience was satisfiying! we had a double separate room with basic facillities

    The location , near the central station Basel SBB , the staff polite and helpful with all we ask and need! the place around very safe with an area of architectural and enviromental interesting! Young and middle-aged people staying in hostel very polite and smart, coffee and tea facillities at the lobby all day for free!rooms need renovation but ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report here. I had no problems with my stay.

    Super nice helpful staff. Cool place, being located in an old industrial unit it feels nice and spacious. Facilities were clean. Good value for money and a pretty good location. Lockers in dorms and decent security meant the place felt pretty safe too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really that negative, just a suggestion. The breakfast was the most expensive breakfast ever, but I guess that's Switzerland for ya! We paid 8 euros for it or it's CHF 7. There was coffee, tea, fresh bread, many types of jam, oranges, pears and apples. There was 3 types of cereal including muesli. I wish for this price they had cheese or eggs too but I guess beggars can't be choosers!

    Really cool location. It's right next to artist studios and ceramics places and workshops. There's a communal garden outside. The room has eclectic furniture. We loved that we were given a free two day travel pass even though we were only staying for two nights. There was loads of suggestions for art and music events. It seemed like such a cool place to stay for like a week or so. It was really handy as well that they left our key in a deposit box with a code.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too quite and dark to get to kitchen or toilet. Probably to have few lights switched on at the corridor.

    The place situated near Basel train station. Convenient to travel by tram and transportation is free if you have booking place. You can also cook at the kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the fact that the kitchen is so spacious and has many stove tops. The privacy and spaciousness of the dorm rooms really surprised me. I really love this Hostel it has a bar and so much room to eat. The decor and style is lovely also it is right next to the tram lines. The owners are beyond kind. One of the owners kindly spent time showing me pictures and advice of Colombia and now we are travelling there in November so thank you so much for that advice!! The rest of the staff were so kind and had no problem with the request for my daughter to stay with me. thank you so much guys. Highly recommend and we will stay again next time we are in Basel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too warm in the dorm and too bright. I might check for a private room next time. Also I didn't see any information about emergency exits.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is good, not too far from the main train station in Basel. There are many restaurants/coffee shops in the area - I just didn't have a chance to check them out. The price is very reasonable, especially for Switzerland, where it almost costs money to sneeze. I would stay at this hostel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room is not very comfortable. Within a few minutes after I started taking a shower, the light went out because the motion sensor was outside shower cabin =)

    The place is near the main Basel railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great budget value. Front desk gal was wonderful. We just needed a place to sleep before an early morning train departure and this was great. Easy access for Transport. Great restaurant/bar steps away (Weeks 8).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took a private room, which was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The room was big and cozy. We only used it for sleeping and taking early bus to the Euroairport. The bus stop is only 10 minutes by walk far from the hostel. The bathrooms were clean and had enough of supplies. We made use of an elevator. We got free public transport tickets at the reception that were valid for 2 days. Thank you for that! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds squeak whenever you move, lamps are way too bright (lighting up the entire room) and having the common area tight outside the room meant it was quite noisy

    Kitchen was well equipped, beds were comfy and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a little problem to put my comforter cover. I think it need some special skill and take some time to finish it.

    The staff is so nice. Don't hesitate to ask them any question. And the location is very good, you will get a day train ticket then you can take the train to anywhere. It is very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the central station it's a bit far by walk, especially if the weather was horrible. The automatic light in the shower room switched off sometimes, which was a bit inconvenient when showering.

    Warm welcome from a super friendly staff. The room fee also included the city transport ticket! (Since check-in to the end of the day of checking out) There are many details have been considered in this hostel, such as the spacious bunk bed, super big locker, and the shower room. Kitchen, comment areas are available and well-designed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well, it is Switzerland, so it is not cheap; the building had a constant hum, like from a big power dynamo.

    great place. kitchen with utensils and a large dining table. large lockers. nice beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely welcome from the staff who was also very informative of places to visit, see, eat around the hostel. The dorm beds were private and spacious and the showers were spot on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People weren´t able to go in or out of the bedroom without the lift .And we needed a code to use it .......

    Possibility of using Internet , reading ( books of the location ) and having free tea , and , of course , of cooking ;eating something in some restaurants nearby ; or drinking and eating something in the same buildind of the dormitory..............

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of dust in our room, and the cleanliness wasn't the best. Also there was quite a noisy street next to the hostel.

    The staff was excellent and spoke good english. You get a free public transportation card from this hostel, and there is an easy access to trams and buses nearby. You can even loan a waterproof bag so that you can go swim in the river Rhein, this I recommend very much! The rooms were great because even though the are 8 person rooms, they are divided so that they are like 4 person rooms (more privacy)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was abit disappointed by the breakfast. It was just some bread with jam, and milk with cereal. No yoghurt, no other stuff to put on your bread.

    Staff was very friendly, making recommendations for restaurants in Basel. The girl at reception also apologized for any inconvience that might have been caused by some loud other guests. The area of the hostel is also very nice: it has some nice bars right next to the hostel (but this didnt cause any noise at all).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared showers flooded easily. Parking not private or reservable.

    Good for a simple stay. Room was seemingly clean, what you would expect for a hostel style accommodation. Bathroom was interesting as the shower flooded easily. Parking on the street was a bit expensive but you could reserve with the machines. Hostel provides free transportation within the various Basel Public Transport systems which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air in the room was bit heavy and warm. Opening windows was not an option since there was a busy street underneath.

    I arrived after the reception close time and they have a great system to pick up your key and find room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just to note that check-in really is at 4pm! I should have contacted the team working there to organise an earlier check-in, as the reception was closed on our arrival at 3pm.

    The room was lovely and really comfortable. We loved the furniture. The area was ideal, certainly a part of Basel I'd like to live in because of the friendly neighbourhood vibe. We rented bikes and the manager/owner was very friendly and obliging. The cafe next door make great coffee - one of the nicest cappuccinos I've ever had!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Everything ! Staff members are just amazing ! I enjoyed my breakfast with fresh bread in the patio. Tram stop is in front of the hostel, besides a free pass for public transport (including airport busline) valid all the stay long is provided. The price is really good in Basel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Basel BackPack traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: