Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Beatus 2 stars

Sundlauenen, 3800 Interlaken, Switzerland

#8 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Interlaken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had an ant infestation. You cannot bring any food stuffs with you or the ants will swarm it. There is no mini fridge in the family room. The breakfast consisted of a very small container of yogurt for each person (due to allergies we could not eat them), a few rolls with jelly selection (no honey), 2 slices of luncheon meat, cheese and (thinly sliced) melon (1 for each adult), 1 hardboiled egg cut in half (one half for each adult), a carafe of orange juice and a carafe of coffe with just enough for 1 cup each (family of 2 adults, 1 toddler and 1 infant). The room was very dated and felt like late 1960's or early 70's.

    The beds were THE most comfortable out of every place we stayed during our month long vacation. The location and view from the hotel itself. The actual cleaning/housekeeping of the room was top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -The lake view room and bed was too small. -No place for baby cot. -There is no lift. -No restaurant nearby and the restaurant from hotel is very expensive.

    - Amazing view of lake Lake thun from hotel. - Beautiful nearby areas. - Old and classic ambiance of hotel. - Owner of the hotel is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Probably need your own transport as the last bus from Interlaken leaves at 19.20

    Comfortable room. Excellent food served in the restaurant. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice couple who welcoming us and tried to help us. Honest with dealing with money since I didn't have my breakfast the second day. Therefore, she didn't account it on my own and deducted from the total price. Very great location aside of interlaken and 15 mins by car to the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been hard to access the hotel without a car. There is a bus from Interlaken but it stops early in the evening.

    We had a room with a beautiful lake view and windows on two sides of the room to enjoy it. The restaurant and breakfast area also had a lake view. The breakfast involved lots of choice and was nicely presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a hotel but a guest house. The host were not friendly. The restaurant is not open on Monday and Tuesday, so no food. And this comes as surprise as it's not on website. There is nothing to eat nearby. The last public transport is at 1900h. So be careful to return on time. Breakfast is only bread and coffee. Nothing fresh to eat. Go this hotel if you must have to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only staff could be more helpful. It was like we were staying in someone house as guests without paying .Here staff dont make you feel comfortable like in good hotels. Here you feel intimidated even to ask questions about sight seeing and travel facilities

    Not at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only building work next door but this is needed to strengthen embankment and owners deal well with it.

    The hotel was ideally situated to visit the Beatus caves. The owners were very welcoming about my dog. Their garden is very charming and welcoming. Walk to lake side and ship station just a ten minute stroll away. The single room, No. 9, with attached bathroom was good. Dinner there at hotel, fish from local lake was very good. Only drawback till Nov 2017, is some building work right next to hotel but at night, it is quiet and peaceful. Parking still guaranteed and I could do some work at computer in garden despite slight noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not friendly. I had breakfast included in the deal. It staff never showed up in morning. We waited till 8 am for breakfast but it did not open

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft and the pillow is totally not able to sleep. 2 small pack of shampoo/body shampoo provide.and the bedroom is at downstairs so whoever carry heavy luggage have to really consider.

    They have a very nice window view of Interlaken

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- Everyday morning there were big noise in the street due to street repairs being done by big equipment. 2- The room we got is considered in the basement (with a window that in the same level of the street digging that was taking place during my stay) of the hotel and i many times heard noise between the ceiling decoration and the ceiling it seems that it was mice. 3- I got lots of allergy on my hand and leg also there were spider webs above the closet.

    I only liked the lady who was in charge as she was nice and helpful somehow (except when i asked for a better view room and she told me that it is full house now though i am sure it wasn't but i can't judge her according to my doubts)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (with a bathroom inside) is little bit smaller than the one without a bathroom. There is a construction near the hotel now, however it did not affect the bus schedule etc. (just the view of the hotel I guess)

    Simple and good breakfast. I really like the bread. A very nice view. Friendly and nice host. Make sure you come within the allocated check-in time. In my case, I arrived a bit late 10.15 pm. Luckily, the host waited for me as I informed her. I booked two room (1 with a bathroom and 1 with a shared bathroom) The beds are comfortable. Rooms are clean and there is a sink in every room. The shared bathroom is big, clean and comfortable to me. To me, the location is good and accessible by bus. The bus stop is just outside of the hotel. Make sure you know the bus schedule. Taxi from Interlaken West to Hotel Beatus (I took one time at night) was CHF 34.50

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public transport closes early & hotel is far from the train station, so last public transport connection info should be made aware to guests

    The location & lake view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not good if relying on public transport. Breakfast was free but not adequate, would have preferred a paid breakfast instead. Owners are not outrightly helpful and appeared grumpy.

    Had a good view of Lake Thun otherwise nothing great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works ongoing nearby, finding where to park difficult but enough space once identified.

    Stayed in room 10. Nice view. Had a small ensuite bathroom. Didn't realise on booking that not all rooms have this!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the way from town, didn't have a single comforter that covered us both. Should have had a kettle for hot water and coffee in the room bit it did not and restaurant was closed so we didn't really feel at home there

    Hostess was very helpful. Bath was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No Public transport after 7pm to the hotel 2. Shared washrooms

    1. Location of the Hotel is Picturesque 2. View from the hotel rooms/restaurant is beautiful, overlooking the Lake Thun and Mountains 3. 5mins walking distance from Lake Thun 4. Breakfast is sumptous 5. Restaurant is also very nice 6. Neighborhood is quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Sunday as the restaurant was meant to be open but we were told that they weren't cooking. Then we watched the owners eat with a group of friends. Unusual for hoteliers who I've used before.

    Nice people and a comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use facelift but still quite comfortable.

    Warmth of the owners. View from our room. Saturday night entertainment and buffet dinner. Ease of parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Pillow already used 2) A string was poking my back on the matress 3) balony not cleaned and full of spyder nets 4) no restaurant in surrounding

    The view from Balcony

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities would have been appreciated, however, the hosts probably would have made us coffee if we had asked. The restaurant was closed on the evening we stayed.

    Stunning view from room, which was very spacious. Keith was helpful in providing directions into town and sound advice to not walk back on the roadside. We were able to borrow an adapter so we could charge our phones....Swiss plugs are not always the same as the rest of Europe. Decent breakfast with great view! Excellent information to get from station to Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    separated wc & bathroom? location, very pretty but we need to buy tickets the first time to get to the hotel from the train station

    view, room, wifi, breakfast, food, environment...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners could be warmer and so could be breakfast or a dinner (if requested before 8:30 PM). Absolutely no interest in telling guests anything about Interlaken and how things could be managed (even on asking). Felt like I am trying to stay for free (though cost of stay is at par) Do remember if you want to avoid paying for taxi last bus to this hotel comes by 7:00 PM. I thought Swiss hosts were warmer.

    Close to lake. Though no view as we were given basement room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, quiet place for a good night's sleep. Plenty of parking ,convenient to bus and Beatus Caves.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of the lake & mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was in bad condition, breakfast was pretty bad and not sure how you guys are giving 4.2 for my review when i can i give only 2.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    He charged more than what is mentioned while booking hotel,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room the location

    The owner was friendly the quietness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Nice staff. Good Breakfast. we like the view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and the old furniture of the room.

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast if a little small. Really helpful staff. Easy to reach by bus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Additional information: restaurant is opened only on weekends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture old and not good condition, mattresses old and too soft.

    Nice view to the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a wooden house. So not sound proof

    View is aewsome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far away from Interlaken and bus 21 is too earlier to stop operation

    You can see lake when had brakefast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was too little

    Nice people managing the hotel, very polite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge construction around the hotel

    Fantastic lake view from breakfast room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid extra for private bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting an ensuite but had to upgrade for that.

    The view from our room was splendid with the lake below and the mountains up high.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance is far way from main city.

    Excellent scenic beauty. Hotel people are very helpful and always greet with a smiling face.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude Staff, free breakfast is just bread n jam.

    Located facing the lake and it was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice view from Hotel , Good location for travelling with own vehicle ...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too soft bad

    Place close to the lake View of lake Breakfast prepared in advanced when we needed Bath tube

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great for self-driving

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was amazing! The location of the hotel was nice too. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, it was a bit too expensive for this service.

    The personnel was really charming. The view near the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable sleep made me love Interlaken more!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly small bathroom, no bus/ship in the evening (after around 19h)

    Wonderful view of the lake from the window, great taste of decoration in the room. Good drinks at very reasonable price, nice staff. Beautiful restaurant and good served breakfast. Near the lake and dock (can go back to Interlaken by ship)

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was bit far from the city limits which made is expensive to travel around

    The location of the place was on the hilly range of Interlaken with great view from the room . Very friendly and helpful people .

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, tiny bathroom, faded furnishing in the middle of nowhere for quite a price. Staff is not nice. Breakfast is carefully portioned. Lakeview room actually means roofview of other buildings.

    not much

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are quite small, but clean, which is most important. The hotel is 5km from Interlaken and you can only go by car, taxi (20chf) or bus number 21, but be careful, the bus stops running at 19:00.

    Views from hotel to the lake are spectacular. Breakfast is served with views to the lake at a very cozy dinning rook. Personal at the hotel is very friendly. They give you a free "visitors card" while you stay there in order to go by bus to the city of Interlaken, any time you want.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic room, very small, did not correspond to the description in the web. Very small bathroom, with no independent ventilation. Too expensive.

    Location is OK, near Interlaken. Good breakfast in a nice room with views of the lake. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were bugs in the room, the staff were not helpful, there was only a shower for ten double rooms. The wifi only worked ocassionally in the lobby.

    The breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    our room was downstairs, the ventilation in the bathroom was not very good. There was smell all the time.

    Beautiful view of the lake from the restaurant, great breakfast experience with the view. Staff were nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seemed really odd when we arrived the owner said welcome to your "economy" room. It was what we chose so why on earth say that. Fortunately my wife didn't hear what he said at the time!

    Stunning views of the lake and mountains including a direct view of the Eiger.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No internet access though promised it will be available. Even 3g was not available. Very inconvenient to drag heavy luggage. Very rude stuff. Very small potion size for breakfast.

    Cost

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although rooms said lake view...there was a distant n partial view of lake...not really what we expected...also .the price was steep as compared to other places we stayed in..lastly. ..there is only 1 bus that plies the route....n the last bus is at 7 pm

    The location is amazing...just opp the bus stop...also...the lake is very close by...u can even take a ferry from interlaken ost to the lake ..get off and walk to the hotel...a bit steep climb though..

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It has bugs that could be actually from inside the room as well. The shared bathroom is two floors upstairs and the ventilation of it needs to be improved.

    The breakfast and the view from the kitchen is really good.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is in a beautiful and quiet location which is central to anything you would want to visit, yet far enough outside of the tourist areas in Interlacken

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seems as though the owners could do with a holiday or retirement. Not ideal characters to be in the tourism industry.

    Ideal location, magnificent views, close to the St. Beatus Caves.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet connection in the room (had to sit in the restaurant to get a connection

    Breakfast was great View from the room was amazing They have us a free bus pass to use during our entire stay

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    showers are on the 2nd floor and the toilets are outside your room. The breakfast was standard and prepared before time, by the time it was served to us, it was cold There was no help available to take our luggage up or down.

    It is a refurbished place, v nice and cozy. It is next to a bus stop so getting to and from the place is easy. The rooms are nice, clean and warm. The restaurant is nice and sunny. The couple who runs the place give you a very family like hospitality

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The last bus from Interlaken to hotel is around 7pm. No public transport after 7pm. Hence it will not be a good choice for people who don't have their own vehicle.

    1. View from the room / restaurant is very nice. 2. Breakfast was very nice 3. Lake Thun is very near from the hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel location is nice but away from the City. The frequency of the bus is less and the last bus to return to hotel is 7 in evening. So you can't stay late in the city if you want to. The WiFi is available but does not get range in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very friendly owners, good food, warm & great views!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel served breakfast and they changed the towels on daily basis. The view from the room was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything is not good

    nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    LOCATION IS ONLY FOR PEOPLE WITH CARS

    THE ROOMS AND THE HOSTS

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor was outdated.

    Nice location. Beautiful view for meals.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food & hospitality

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staffs are sucks. Free wifi was down all the time

    The scenery around is really nice

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpfully staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WIFI is not available in the room and rooms must have television sets.

    The hosts were too good and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds in our rooms have to be renew.

    Almost everything.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: