Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belle Epoque Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Gerechtigkeitsgasse 18, 3011 Bern, Switzerland

#25 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1168 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location... very friendly staff ... lack of air conditioning was very problematic as our room fronted the road, and with the warm weather we had to leave the windows open so it was very difficult sleeping with all the noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired - you can't tell this from the pics. The light didn't work in the bathroom. There was a kettle, but no teabags (only green tea :-0) Maybe a bit over-priced.

    The location is fabulous- right on the Main Street. Was a little noisy but I didn't mind. Staff were efficient and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very old building and they tried to cover up the smell of old walls with scented sticks. This is not a 4 star hotel as it needs urgent renovation. The room was not clean, the shower had hair on its walls, the bed was not comfortable. All the furniture and appliances are old and not well maintained. The elevator didn’t seem safe because it doesn’t have an inner door. On top of all this you are subjected to the hotel’s preferential exchange rate. We had to pay around 183 CHF and the hotel charged us 178 EUR and they claimed that the reason is that Booking.com has a different exchange rate. This is being handled by the police. This hotel is to be avoided.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only because you ask, there couldve been ceramic cups for tea/coffee in the rooms , plasti cups are porous and absorb many flavours and smells from previous beverages so the tea was unpleasant...

    the location was perfect, room was elegant, and the bed was soooo big and comfy. lovely bathroom , strong hot shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    This boutique hotel is like a home from home. The staff are always incredibly friendly and helpful whenever I stay here. The hotel itself is like a wonderful time capsule of times gone by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely property right in the middle of Bern. Great room - comfortable, functional and very fitting to the property, all at the same time! Highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closes all day Monday! As a hotel restaurant it should always be open.

    Bed very comfy and the shutters on the windows amazing to block out the light. I love the old style antiquey feel of the place. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of a last-minute debate with the hotel staff, she charged the hotel, whereas the hotel had been secured with a credit card just waiting for the money to arrive at the hotel's account, it seems the hotel staff did not understand, and she charged the city tax fare which should have been 2.5 frank per person, logicaly we had to pay 5 frank for one day but she asked for 10 euros and 10 cent frank (we gave 1 euro coz we dont have cent frank she refused and said did not receive euro coins hahaha), whereas in other hotels we know we only pay 5 frank or about 4 euro more, she was very nervous serving us. so we just pay the city tax money even though our feelings are not good! when i check again the price was include with city tax :( so next time u must really becarefuly with this staf, but other staf was good.

    All facilities are same like in the website, i love them!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fourth star is likely for the supreme location. The rooms feel more like a three star hotel.

    The location of the hotel is phenomenal - in the historic center, walking distance to all major sights and conveniently near a bus stop to get you anywhere you want. The hotel has a nice cozy feeling with a genuine spirit of the times when Art Nouveau was the main style. The staff is very friendly and helpful with anything you need - especially parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of refurbishment, was a bit gloomy. Pillows were awful. The shower was very grubby in the corners and whole room was just o.k. would give it more 3 than 4 stars.

    Reception was very friendly. Hotel is in a good position.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast facilities - sent next door restaurant for croissants in plastic and poor coffee overcharged

    Great location decoration was old needs a freshen up basically - should be only 2 stars

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tv. I would have liked to be able to watch a show/movie in german to keep practicing.

    Very well located on the main street in the old city. The shower is nice, there is an hairdryer, the staff is super friendly.wifi is good and easy to connect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very old and uncomfortable. Shower in bath was very narrow and shower curtain would stick to you while trying to have a shower.

    The old charm and service from staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's small but there's anything to it and the employees are very kind. There was nothing uncomfortable about it.

    The hotel, which has chosen to make a special offer for its unscheduled trip to Berne, is a great place to walk along the Rose Park, just off to the edge of its old city. It was hard to find because the sign was hidden, but it was found by an Asian restaurant next door and is a minute from Nedegg Station, number 12.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is not a “4-Star” hotel, rather a 3-star. Cleaning was too bad to stay. Breakfast was not good at all.

    The hotel is within the “Altstadt” area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great room. The welcoming was especially warm, with the receptionist offering helpful tips about the city, a city map and free bus tickets for the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super helpful and friendly. Even though they had no luggage carts, they said they would help us up to the room! The parking was convenient and just around the corner. The breakfast buffet was small, but sufficient. EXCELLENT location and very nice overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel precharged full amount of my booking and then charged during my stay one more time on top of this money. I asked to withdraw only precharged amount, but they said they couldn’t. So now I have to wait my money to be back.

    Location is wonderful! You can walk throughout the old town and be sure, that you are very close to your hotel - it is just at the middle! I liked the hotel staff - they helped a lot and have significant discount for a public parking, which is just in 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head

    The location is great, in the old city. Lovely outlook onto street. and a short walk to some of the main attractions The art deco interior was lovely. Overall it was very comfortable. The hotel gives you a bus ticket to use during your stay which is really great. The buses are very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent for us. Very close to the river and park. A bit noisy at night with the windows open - our room faced the street. A room to the back would be better. I did not eat breakfast there but it looked fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would like the bed to be more comfortable

    Helpful staff, they also gave us tickets for free transportation in the city. Excellent location. Extras in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff was great, they even saw it was my wife's birthday from her passport and sent a birthday dessert to our room for her with a personalized hand written card

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to spot from the street.

    Good location and really nice view from our room. Parking is not available at the hotel itself,you need to drive round the corner to the Rathaus parking which is very safe but a little expensive. On arrival we were given a free bus pass for transport in the city and on even the funicular railways.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like coffe with the possibility to boil water, and more than one soap for two persons.

    The possibility to boil water in the room. Nice man in the reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was poor. Cost was excessive considering the quality of the place.

    The location is great, the room was big and comfortable, and the bathroom was good. They don't have parking on sight, but it's very near and they offer you a discount by paying at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old shower curtain which had gone yellow at the bottom. Who uses shower curtains these days? This should be a glass screen. Mould on the bathroom grouting between the tiles. A ripped duvet cover. The bath towels were a size too small and very thin. After the second day our teabags were not replaced.

    Brilliant location, right in the very centre. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely Belle Epoque period interior. A very good arrangement with the nearby large underground car park which gave us greatly reduced parking rates.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The efficiency at check-in and check-out, perhaps the fastest check-in 30 years of business travel. Location is wonderful, steps away from anything one might need or desire.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather small rooms (ok - it's a very old hotel and big enough for a short stay)

    This hotel is all about location - it couldn't be more convenient for sightseeing and shopping in bern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location & hotel lives up to its name , a very nice example of a different era , you feel as if you've stepped back in time ( in a nice way ) . I liked the fact there was no TV in the room .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff does not remind during check-in that breakfast is paid extra, so the final bill differs significantly from the expected price... If booked in rush without reading the conditions fully on booking.com :-D

    Location, nice breakfast, rooms with bathtub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready at 3pm for check in. Were asked to come back in around 1 hour. One bathroom towel had make up on it when we checked in (someone had wiped their lipstick on it) and this hotel did not even wash the towel. Bathroom tap sprayed backwards towards the mirror and towards power outlet. Safe did not work! TV way too small for room. No minibar in room or tea/coffee facilities. Storage cupboards had impractical handles and difficult to open. Pillows very soft and not comfortable. Shower drain seemed blocked and with water pooling to your ankles whilst showering. Shower also has a thin and cheap shower curtain that sticks to your body which is not expected of a "4 star hotel" Have stayed in 3 star hotels of much better quality. This i would rate a 2 star establishment. Horrible hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on a motorcycle, so parking no problem. For cars, add CHF 20,- a day for public parking

    Large room, quiet. No mini bar. The positive answer regarding value for money is based on a price of roughly CHF 140,- for a double room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets, bedding were worn down, in some cases visibly thread bare. Breakfast was uninspired and very limited- not enough for what they charged in my opinion. Room and bathroom was small even by European standards. I usually stay elsewhere in Bern (for work): this hotel was good for a tourist evening or two but I wouldn't make it home base for a longer trip.

    Location is the strength here. Easily accessible by 12 bus/Nydegg stop which is 60 feet from hotel door. Front desk was friendly also. The room off the street was quiet. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night at Belle Epoque. The location is fantastic and right in the old town. Our room was spacious with a view on the main street. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet was quite old and fraying.

    The location was fantastic. It is near the river on the most charming street. You can walk to everything here but the tram stops almost at the hotel. There are beautiful paintings at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ref, no free coffee or even a kettle in the room. Only one bottle of water provided. No toiletries. The room phone was not working and the safe was locked when we arrived. Room not ready when we checked in at 3pm. Not sure about the claim to 4-stars. Some staff were helpful thougj.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to fifth floor (only up to 4) and only windows in roof on fifth floor.

    Excellent location, clean and classic interior. Comfortable room. Very good breakfast (quality over quantity) and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have debited 3 times my credit card for a one night booking they have not been reversing sad story

    Perfect location easy accessible value for money. Only thing u have to check in before 10pm other wise no one will be there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner but probably unavailable in most hotels in Old City. Amenities were average. Breakfast not included.

    Location was very good. Rooms were charming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel that is rated as 4 stars it didn't have a mini bar or kettle/coffee/tea making facilities in my room. The shower cubicle had some mildew in it. The location is good in terms of closeness to the railway station and facilities but patrons should be warned that the streets are steep and there area a number of steps, if they have heavy luggage and are walking.

    The staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was clean as was most of the bathroom. I got a free public transport pass for the days I was in Bern. The room I had was out the back and relatively quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it was very hot during our stay in Bern, we really have missed air conditioner.

    Hotel is located just at the end of the Old Town at one of the main streets. The river is just few hundred meters away. The breakfast was simple, but very tasty and it was really enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the room I was in. In the attic of the building. No windows you can look out from. Very, very hot and stuffy. If you do not like confined spaces with no windows avoid this. My impression was - run down overpriced hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was very hot and there is no air conditioning. So it was pretty hot during the night.

    The staff was very nice and helpful and the hotel is in an excellent and beautiful location. Also, the rooms are furnished romantically in an old style fashion.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a moveable fan, but no air conditioning - so warmer than ideal in the very hot weather during our stay. Some of the decor is a little 'tired' for a 4 star hotel.

    The location in the old town is perfect with underground parking nearby. It is in walking distance of most tourist sights and has many restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely not a 4 star hotel (maybe 2.5 star max). Very dark and not well maintained room, uncomfortable beds. Noises coming from the water pipes were annoying in the night.

    location is great, just in the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much to fault due to the positives.

    Location location. We arrived. Left suitcases. Dropped off car. Went for a walk around town. All within 10 min of arrival. Easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent staff are obliged to cope with the rather rudimentary and poorly maintained facilities on offer (e.g. Broken shutter on only available window). The standard of the room (no fridge, no hot drink facilities) would merit maybe three star rating by international standards but certainly not the four stars advertised.

    The location, staff and breakfast were all magnificent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...shadows in the corners in the WC were unfortunately and unnecessarily distracting. The breakfast was nice but rather unimaginative and totally standard, though of course adequate and ok. Otherwise a straight 10 rating for this nice hotel.

    The fellow at the reception on May 4th was VERY helpful and accommodating. Thank you to him! A very comforttable, nicely located small hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought that the hotel had it's own parking but after all, the parking was the city parking and it had to be payed for. Although we had a discount by the hotel, it was something that caught us off guard.

    Everyone was very nice and helpful specially at breakfast with our 1.5yo son. We loved the breakfast and wished the stay could have been a little longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were exceptional from the gentleman who greeted us at the door and especially the person who put together breakfast. The location could not have been better

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely LOVED this place. Granted, we got a free upgrade due to availability of rooms, but the room was fantastic. Spacious, clean, comfortable and the receptionist was honest and let us know it was an upgrade so we were aware for next time. GREAT location. Friendly staff. Cutely decorated with a nice hotel bar. Breakfast was good - it didn't look like much, but it was very tasty and plenty to satisfy. Would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Hot drink facilities in the room. Only one rather unwelcoming fake leather arm chair and a desk chair in a DOUBLE room.

    The decor. Thé cosy atmosphere when it's minus 12 outside!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin towels!!

    This boutique hotel is charming. It's location near the bridge in Bern is ideal, near restaurants and transport. The facilities and staff are very good. Staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant meets expectations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from the corridor can be heard in the room

    Very friendly personnel Nice location in center of Bern Love the atmosphere of the building, it has character!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfirst was poor, with croissants too much baked. No possibility at first to make Tee or coffee in the room. Only upon asking we got a boiler. Room is small and bathroom is old. It is surprising that they have 4 stars

    The location in the old town direct on a bus stop.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little on the boring side...And our 1st room facing into a building at the back of the hotel...it was dark & dreary We could have been anywhere ! Those rooms should be cheaper..But we were moved thanks 😊

    The location was excellent & the front desk staff were fantastic. .they made our 3 night stay extra enjoyable by moving our room to street fronting without a fuss & many smiles. ..we thank them all. And special accolades to the ever friendly lady at breakfast She was always smiling & cheerful !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I eat light at breakfast I found the 19 CHF charge a bit steep. Would have been nice if I could just have had a pastry and coffee for a smaller fee.

    This is a great boutique type of hotel with old world charm but modern conveniences. The staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions with restaurants and things to see. The room was a good size,comfortable bed and the bathroom and shower great. They have a small bar for an evening drink as well as sitting outside before dinner for an evening cocktail. Well located, I walked most everywhere though you get a free pass to ride the bus/tram system. They have a restaurant as well but I did not have the opportunity to eat there. The hotel is close the bear pits and a wonderful climb to a park with stunning views of the city. Restaurants and shops all within a few minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy (on street side room) with no good way to keep the room cool without having the window(s) open. We got this in spite of having requested a "quiet" room well in advance of our arrival.

    In the heart of old town/convienient by foot to many attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely does not deserve to be a 4 star hotel: very old and tiny rooms, no TV, no minibar, no A/C, no night service at the reception...

    Nice location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have tea / coffee making equipment. Also need an option to a duvet as the only bedclothes. It was quite warm when we were there and the duvet was too hot; just the cover, not really enough!

    They were able to lend me an adaptor for my phone charger.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside signage on hotel is easy to miss upon initial arrival ..

    Right in the heart of the Medival Old Town .. Leisurely stroll in one direction to the Clock Tower, Munster Church and in the other the Bear Park .. Room was exquisitely furnished and very comfortable .. Art work in hotel outstanding ..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included and had to pay for parking

    Beautiful hotel in the centre of the city, very comfortable room and bed. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 51 - you need to be very short or you will hit your head as it is an attic room. Also a flight of stairs as lift only goes to 4th floor.

    Helpful staff with internet problems. Room quite spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    that the room looked far less impressive than on the advert

    perfect location, nice man at reception, rooms less wonderful than on wide angle lense photography. but very clean-if carpeted

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed only to be able to have dinner out on the terrace & although the food was very good the selection was not great. I also expected to have tea & coffee facilities in the room of a 4star hotel.

    Lovely surroundings expensive original decor & in a great position

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right beside in the tram way.It's too noisy until midnight. Wifi cannot be connected either our mobiles or lap top computers. Room is very hot as carpet is on the room floor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    The city of Bern is well worth a visit, it fully deserves its Wirld Heritage status. The layout of the old town is a lovely place to wander around and the covered sidewalks are a real pleasure (we described it as a posh Chester)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Basic accommodations but clean and super convenient.

    Location is great. City travel pass is awesome. Can get anywhere just outside your front door.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in room is slightly tired. We had a last minute discount which made the price for the room okay, would never have paid the original price for that kind of room.

    Very central location in Bern though very quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly no air-conditioning - presumably due to the historic building.

    Breakfast was simple but good quality and not too expensive considering this is Switzerland! The building and location were both very attractive and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room showed a few signs of wear and tear. Plus it was advertised as a double bed, whereas we had 2 twins pushed together. Not sure if it quite deserved the 4 star rating.

    Great location, friendly staff and I loved the art nouveau theme

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, but we knew that :)

    Fabulous location and terrific staff. It was perfect for the Tour de France. We had a lovely front room looking out onto the street and all the action.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Charming hotel in a great location in Bern's beautiful old town, near the Bear Park and easy walking distance to the clock tower, Parliament, Cathedral, Aare River. Take the no. 12 bus from the train station to one stop below the hotel (at the bridge). Staff upgraded us to the junior suite on the top floor, which was huge. No air conditioning, but the fan kept the room comfortable even with the windows closed at night. My wife got sick while we were there and the man at the reception desk couldn't have been nicer; he got us ice and coke from the hotel bar and asked about her the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was the odd (to an American) European feature of creating a large double bed by putting two single mattresses side by side. One of us had to sleep on a crack. But it wasn't that bad, nor was it completely unexpected.

    The location, staff, amenities and design were all very nice. It's on a great street, with excellent restaurants and not too much traffic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, staff was very friendly, rooms were comfortable. My daughter and I stayed there for 3 nights and everything was great. It's on the bus line, so take advantage of the free passes the hotel gives you. Close to the bears, the river, and at the bottom of the main street. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Belle Epoque Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: