Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berghof Amaranth 3 stars

Oberdorfstrasse 23, 3812 Wilderswil, Switzerland

#7 of 23 hotels in Wilderswil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1137 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit distant from access to public transport but it’s worth it for the stay.

    The hotel is situated in a very beautiful neighbourhood with lots of lovely wooden houses. Definitely like a fairytale. You can overlook Jungfrau just from your hotel room. Staff are friendly and the property is clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not much cooked or hot food. No room tea and coffee making facilities.

    Very good location. View was amazing. Comfortable rooms. Good staff. Breakfast was only average. Room was clean and comfortable but no tea or coffee making facilities. Station nearby for train to Schnize Platte.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location downtown is approximately a half a mile from the bus stop. It was quite steep up to the hotel and could be very dangerous for person bringing luggage. To stay at this property you must arrive by car or by Taxi

    People were very nice and made an effort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (1) There is a steep climb from the nearest bus stop at Wilderswil, and there is no support from the hotel. It is difficult for an aged person like me to climb with the luggage. This practical difficulty should have been mentioned while booking - which makes easier for the customer to take a call. (2) I expect at least an electric kettle in the room (if not the tea, coffee sachets which can be purchased by the resident) for hot beverages. (3) For most of the time, the front desk is unattended.

    The scenic beauty around the hotel. It makes up for many discomforts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 6pm after a busy day of sightseeing and found out it was not possible to have dinner at the hotel anymore. This was very disappointing. Had to take the car again to go to a hotel nearby. Would have been nice if the hotel had contacted us to ask if we wanted to stay for dinner.

    Beautiful location at the end of the road, perfect for relaxing. Beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property doesn't provide basic facilities in the room like electric kettle, tea, coffee, iron table etc. In fact none of the TV channels are in English. Because there is no direct connectivity from the train station and the rare bus service drops you almost 500 meters away from the hotel, you need to walk all the way to the hotel by a walk of 1km of steep height with all your luggage.No staff to attend your requirements after 10 PM. I would suggest not to book this property.

    Nothing great about this property except the view. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean but a bit old...

    Everything was great. Very nice crew. Good location if you are with a car. Very close to Interlaken. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been a pleasant touch to simply have a kettle/coffee/tea in room before and after a long day out and even plain old English Breakfast tea amongst selection of flavoured ones !

    Location, cleanliness and service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff, host was very helpful. Arrived early, able to book in. Room was clean and comfortable. Good view of Interlarken and Jungfra from our room. Buffet breakfast was adequate. Free parking. Location of hotel some distance from train station. We had vehicle so not an issue for us. Good location out of Interlarken, peaceful area. Restaurants close by plus to drive to Lauterbrunnen. Able to book Jungfra at reception of hotel. Can recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is too far away and it’s very difficult to get there without a car, They only provided 1 packet is shampoo/shower gel which is obviously not enough/ the curtains do not block the sunlight and I was awaken at 6/ the room is too small and I can’t even open my suitcase/ not enough sockets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that we didn't like about The Hotel Berghof Amaranth.

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent, and location, location, location! The scenery was magnificent! It was quiet and beautiful. We especially liked the trails; and did I mention the scenery? We were going to just spend one night, but we ended up staying a second night. WOW! We would stay there again in a second!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Changed room as the original one didn't have the bath we'd booked, but staff were accommodating and even moved our bags for us. Beds in the second room were saggy, so we ended up changing back to the room with more comfy beds and just had a shower rather than a bath. It was a spacious room with fantastic views. No tea or coffee-making facilities in rooms.

    Fantastic views, nice and quiet, on the edge of the village. Friendly staff. Breakfasts better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person on at breakfast. Not a problem for us but on first day we must have followed a huge coach party who had eaten and gone. Not possible for one person to clear all the tables and replenish food. We were fine but not nice to have to search for a clean table. Similar each day but not because of coach trippers.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, good location as we had our car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhat out-of-the-way location. The rooms are very small and they don't justify the star category. Breakfast is good but there are only two hot items, and once the bacon ran out, they did not refill either.

    The property offer fabulous views of the Alps and the valley. Small and cozy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familiy Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, they are not informative until I asked about visitors card for local transport.

    The views are fantastic and it’s located in quite area and you will feel that. When you come out the Jungfrau hills make you feel like you are in heaven.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far off from the train station (1.1km) and bus stop (0.5km). Felt it to be quite over priced for the facilities and amenities provided. The pool was non-funtional when we went there in march-april. Room had smell of smoke. Bed not too comfortable.

    The location is good. The surrounding scenic beauty is very good. Probably a lovely place to stay during summers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing bad to say about this place. I guess that the WLAN could be a bit better, it disconnected a few times, but nothing major. The number of TV channels are somewhat limited without many international options. But these are tiny tiny details and did not spoil the stay at all.

    What I mostly enjoyed: Beautiful location. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in Europe in a long time. Staff super friendly. Very cozy, nice view from windows. Large balcony in room. It was such a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First I got a room on the last floor which is let me use the word very carefully a true disaster and it is under a maintenance with old floors and not working heathing. After complaining they gave me a very nice room on the second floor and I'm greateful for that.

    View, quietness and breakfast. Very nice and friendly portuguese guy serving breakfast ready to chat and help everyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right next to Forrest for walking. Lovely service and cosy atmosphere with couches. Easy access to train station but not right in town - instead it was up the higher end of town with a gorgeous view and history.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Familiy Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's situated up a hill so when it snowed heavily one night it was quite a dangerous descent , even in a 4 wheel drive vehicle, down to Wilderswil. However by the afternoon when we got back it had been cleared - and it was an exceptional amount of snow. The lounge area lacks a little atmosphere - perhaps a log fire or mood lighting. The mattress on the sofa bed in our family room was a bit uncomfortable for my older teenage son as it was quite thin. The cheese buffet needed some crackers.

    Breakfast and dinner were excellent value with the half board option, if you're going to have an active day. We went there on a skiing holiday. On the breakfast buffet there are the usual pastries, fruit, yogurt, breads etc but also hot bacon and scrambled eggs are available. The hot drinks machine does a very good hot chocolate as well as various coffees. The five course dinner consists of an excellent salad buffet, soup of the day, main course (which can sometimes be a bit odd for British tastes!), cheese buffet and dessert. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Views from the room were lovely. The Rugenbrau was pretty good value for a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is tired it needs working on ..the room we had certainly needs noise insulation you hear everything upstairs room and corridors the radiator was noisy all night , the bathroom was clean but very small the beds are uncomfortable we didn't enjoy a good nights sleep,there is no coffee or tea making facility or a fridge

    the proprietor is friendly and works hard to please the hotel is generally very clean the main areas are adequate and the food was good the breakfast is a buffet style and there is plenty of choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familiy Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our children missed the table tennis and billiard, which are available only during spring and summer.

    The breakfast was excellent, many choices. The beds were very comfortable. We had two connected rooms, with shared bathroom, which was perfect, as we were staying there with young children. The food was excellent, we had dinner a couple of times. The view from the room was spectacular. The owners are very kind and helpful. The owner helped us with our luggage to the car, at the check-out. Wilderswil is peaceful little village, we spent very good nights at the hotel Berghof.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was at the top of a very long hill, so you need to be quite fit to walk. I went with skiers and it was necessary to drive to the station to travel onwards to ski slopes. Still worth staying here.

    The bed and pillow are very comfortable. The food was tasty and there was a good variety of meals. Good choice at breakfast. The staff were friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have very high expectations about this place as I just needed a place to sleep and eat breakfast. This isn't a negative thing but something I noticed about all hotels (including the Victoria Jungfrau, they tend to put two twin beds together to make a double. I don't know if this is the case for al hotels but given that the Victoria Jungfrau is like this, then I can assume most hotels in Switzerland are the same. It takes about 10 mins uphill walk from Wilderswil Dorf to the hotel. Do not get off at Wilderswil station as that will be too far. Bus 105 from Interlaken West will take you to Wilderswil Dorf

    Beautiful property situated outside of Interlaken - probably only a ten minute bus ride from Interlaken West to Wilderswil Dorf bus stop. Hotel was overall clean and comfortable to sleep in. Really liked the breakfast - very fresh and quite filling. The hotel also gives you a free bus pass for travel within Interlaken.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very inconvenient for traveller without vehicle. The hotel is located at the hill of the road and is secluded. We have a hard time pushing out lagguage up to the hotel. It is not near to the train station and the bus service does not bring you near to the hotel location.

    The staffs were friendly and helpful. The food was great at hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, i tried sending email asking if our bus van reach the hotel. But i had no reply, and it actually couldnt go near. We had to go up walking to reach the hotel, since the road was steep and narrow. 400meters walked uphill with luggages in a rain. The hotel should provide a car for assisting groups with their luggages from 400 meters distance.

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurants are a little far away, so we were lucky we had our own car as otherwise it would have been very difficult to eat at night as the area gets very dark and quiet at night, so a little scary to go out on foot.

    Fantastic location and amazing views from the balcony. It was an amazing experience for us. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were really nice, the heating worked well, the Wifi was excellent, so very happy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I t was very hard to reach the hotel at night because there is not enough lights at night as well as the direction signs, for this reason sometimes I got lost in that area particularly at night and it was over the mountain far away from the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights and booked dinner on the morning for both nights. On the first night the restaurant staff did not know about us and just managed to fit us in while on the second night we found the restaurant closed and were informed that dinner was not being served on the day. We had to go out and find a restaurant at night and at a temperature of -5C. Quite disappointing😞

    Nice hotel with good facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was asked for a room with b.ath. I received the confirmation e-mail but finally we didn't get a room with bath, but shower. We cannot pay with Reka card, the terminal doesn't accept it. The Receptionist upon arrival tried to help, but there was no chance to change the room.

    Breakfast was fine with a very nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow - what a find! The most beautiful location, very friendly staff and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and great coffee machine. Would love to return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a very awkward tap setup and location. Easy to use but difficult to get around.

    The breakfast was very good. The view from the restaurant to mountains was beautiful. Our view from the balcony to lake was fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise from the room above whenever someone walks. Although breakfast had some variety, the food was not refilled soon enough once it was over.

    Free parking Nice view from the room Possibility to order dinner from nearby pizzeria

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at end of a narrow road, not clear where to park & check in. Nice shower.

    Management very friendly. Setting was beautiful, but hard to get to. Very comfortable room and lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that this was a dislike, but the building is older and the doors are heavy so it's easy to hear people opening and closing doors; particularly early in the morning. I'd suggest bringing ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. But otherwise a great place!

    The overall facilities were nice, there was free parking and free breakfast. The view from the room was fantastic. It's an overall great location to other nearby towns as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities......really pathetic. Transport is the minimum requirement.

    Property is superb but not worth for money on account of location and more than that nothing is available to eat except Breakfast while everytime we have to walk meinimum 20mints for sbopping or nearby railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was way too short (3 nights). I hated leaving.

    I loved everything about this place. Location, staff, room, facilities everything. They really do go out of their way to ensure you have the best stay. And their breakfast is great and the perfect way to start your adventures in the area. Perfect location to explore the Jungfrau region too and a wonderful home away from home to come back to at the end of a tiring day. Very affordable and the best value for money I’ve come across.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The views from our rooms of the lake on one side and alps on the other were absolutely gorgeous. The location on the hillside is a plus. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have a car and depended on public transportation to reach the hotel .. so if this is your case then you must put into consideration you will need some physical fitness to carry your bags to and from the bus stop over a hilly ramp and carry the bags jumping from one train to the other till you reach Wilderswil. I have some physical strength yet it was not as easy as thought.

    View from the hotel Balcony and breakfast tables was breath taking .. The free bus pass card for transport to Interlaken was very useful .. I liked the breakfast specially the cheese and the coffee. Reception person was helpful enough to answer all my questions and provide me with recommendations on trips and hikes. He even prepared me a very nice breakfast box on my last day as i had to leave very early to catch the train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffemachine in the breakfast room was rather slow and only made a small cup but it tasted good,

    For price paid it was superb, I was expecting it to be a budget type of hotel but it was really on pair with other hotels i stayed at during my trip, there is parking in front and just a 10 minute walk to the station, had a small single room with nice view over the mountains and also a balcony, had everything i needed, breakfast was very good, very good and fast wifi, great with the guestcard, you have free trains to interlaken, (can also be walked to from the hotel in about 30 minutes)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road outside was under repair when we arrived - though hotel had information about the road close for repair 3 weeks in advance hotel did not inform us . On asking the reply was “ we can not inform 80 persons . “ we had to park the car on street and walk uphill to reach the hotel . My father who had a leg operation was really put into a lot of trouble . The rooms was stinking , the drainage was Jamed which was not rectified till we left .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the hotel is excellent. I can see the mountains and the river all the day. Especially, the chief is a very very nice guy. He is gentle, kindly and humorous. He helped me a lot. By the way, the breakfast is very delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little too soft for our liking, but they were fine.

    We walked into our room and immediately returned to the desk to add another night! Our large room included a desk, two chairs, an easy chair, and the beds and still had plenty of room for us and our luggage. It had two sets of French doors opening onto a balcony with table, chairs, and lounge chairs. Besides all 3 peaks (Eiger, Monch, & Jungfrau) and those in their forefront, we could watch a bucolic scene of sheep, goats, and cows in velvety pastures. The proprietor helped us get the tickets for the trip to Jungfraujoch the next day. The train station was only about a kilometer away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Two single beds pushed together do not compare with a double bed. Our only downside comment.

    The hotel is superbly situated, with many walks from the hotel and of course in the mountains. Our room had a huge balcony with views over the Eiger, Monch and Jungrau mountains. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no AC so it was slightly hot at night.

    The hotel is just like out of a postcard! Its in the outskirts of Wilderswill, a very small lovely village 10 mins train away from Interlaken. It is surrounded with green fields and cows, sheep, donkeys etc. we were woken up by cow bells in the morning..what an experience! Staff was really helpful, and rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was squeaking when an average weighing adult sat on it on the last day of our stay. Sounded like it was coming clean off the fixture to the wall and didn't feel safe applying the full weight on it. Informed the reception when we checked out and they promised to look into it. Long distance from Wilderswil station. And it's uphill. We had a car but we left it at the property when we went to Jungfrau. And that day evening it rained cats and dogs.. so we were soaked wet when we reached the property.

    The view from the chalet was perfect. The triple room was spacious. The bathroom was clean. Tickets for round trip to Jungfrau can be booked from the hote reception. They can also pack a picnic meal if you inform the previous night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familiy Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were put in a smaller room than what we booked the first night and was a major struggle for us as no mesh on the windows and all types of insects and flays were getting in the room in the evening. We faced a major issue with our kids with these insects and flays. This wasn't a good experience. When complained the next day on the room size and difference from the pictures shown on the booking we were moved to the room we booked!!! without compensation for the 1st night. WIFI was poor

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location so bad if you want Interlaken Wi-Fi so bad poor connection in the room No restaurant or grocery in the area The hotel is created from wood that means if you walk on the floor so noisy Thus, if you have half opportunitiy to run , run run run

    Just the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI is not working in the rooms of the hotel only in the lobby! The bed is not a queen bed as on written on reservation but 2 separate mattresses put together. Location is a bit off and up a steep hill. We had a car so no problem, but without a car it can be very problematic. Bathroom very small.

    Balcony with nice view in the room, breakfast not bad Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    View from the balcony was beautiful, location of the hotel was perfect for experiencing the mountains, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast area was also very nice. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views across to the mountains from my room and wonderful location that is not hard to get to (I walked easily from the centre of Interlaken) but feels secluded and incredibly peaceful. Some lovely restaurants just down the road too. Excellent, accommodating and knowledgable staff. Incredibly comfortable bed and very clean, cozy room. And excellent crossaints at breakfast! Have already booked my next stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like the hotel , staff and everything The owner very kind and gentle , he is try to do every thing to stasfity the clients فندق جميل وانصح به

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the room as like old furniture, floors were very noisy when the neighbors were walking in their rooms, very small elevator (two persons with luggage does not fit). Upon check-in, at the reception, the lady tried to switch our reservation from main building to "The Chalet", even if we booked a room in the hotel.

    View from the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea & coffee in the room.

    Room nice and comfortable, reasonable size, very clean. Hotel has a lift, which is a bonus. Balcony so you can soak up the fantastic views (we were there in summer). We missed the restaurant on our one night stay- last serving is at 20:00 - but it looked ok. Quality breakfast with a good choice. Outside pool looked very inviting on a hot day!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very friendly and was sometimes hard to find. The room and bathroom were small but sufficient for one person. The biggest drawback to the hotel was its distance from the train station--a little more than a kilometer. Although that may not seem like much, after a day of hiking a one-kilometer uphill walk wears you out! Once you reached the station, however, it was a short ride to Interlaken and other points.

    The hotel offered bacon and scrambled eggs for breakfast, quite a treat for an American tired of coffee, rolls, granola, and yogurt. My room had a nice view of the Jungfrau, Eiger, and Monch peaks--at least on clear days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was extremely poor. Staff is rude. Breakfast was stale. And most important, the location is very very uncomfortably far away from transportation. We had to walk 1.5 km to get a train.

    View is the only positive thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the most expensive hotel on our holiday but we found it offered little value for money in comparison to other much cheaper hotels we stayed at in other locations. I presume the pricing rates are very much hyped due to the location of Wilderswil near to Lauterbrunnen valley and the Jungfrau railway. I would offer the following advice to travelers thinking of spending so much money that if you are planning on going up the Jungfrau railway that car parking at the stations is only about 7 to 15CHF per day and works out much cheaper than paying for an expensive hotel in a prime location. If not traveling by car then the use of public transport would also offer a cheaper alternative to reach a Jungfrau station. And remember if you are going on the Jungfrau railway then no hotel view is going to match what you will see from the train or at the top of the mountain anyways :)

    Location of hotel is nice and rural. Nice views of the mountains. Wilderswil train station is 15-20mins walk away. Car parking is easy within the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familiy Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non provision of tea kit including kettle which is a normal minimal expectation.

    Location , the personal care by the owner cum manager of hotel, room size and facilities in the room .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You should have masala omelette for breakfast. Many Indians visit your hotel looking at the beautiful surroundings on the website. Everyday same Breakfast is boring . you have to keep your restaurant open so that if someone is ill or does not want to go out will atleast get food.

    We liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi non existent in room and kept dropping out in bar. Very steep walk into village for dinner. You can eat at the hotel but you have to pre book.

    In a lovely position with view of the mountains. Excellent receptionist- very friendly. Small bathroom but clean. Lovely village location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room we stayed in was very small and not well isolated, could hear TV in other room. Hairdryer did not function correctly. Breakfast was OK, but a bigger/better quality selection of everything in general would be welcome.

    Friendly and helpful staff, nice hotel location, beautiful view from balcony. Clean environment. Nice breakfast area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the wifi was weak.

    The location, peaceful area though very close to interlaken. The stuff was helpful and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lack of tea & coffee facilities in the bedroom was a bit of a let down. I feel the hotel could make more of their dining room. Unless guests have pre-booked dinner, then the hotel closes the kitchen and no dinners are served. Seems a shame to waste the facilities in place.

    Views were wonderful, room was ideal (with balcony), beds were extremely comfortable. Cleanliness was spot on. Breakfast was superb (buffet style but with loads of choice) Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was very quiet, total peace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told on arrival no kitchen so no evening meal. Very poor. Unhelpful staff. Property needs some maintenance on balconies. Had we known no food on an evening we would have booked elsewhere

    Clean hotel, beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was ok.......no fan available for how hot the temperature was in the room. First 2 nights the Internet did not work well in the room. Most of the staff was very pleasant, although there was one person who was not very friendly. Overall a decent experience, especially given the views, but the town had little to offer in the way of restaurants. The good news was it was close to Interlaken, which was a big benefit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had asked for a family room but were given 2 seperate rooms instead on different floors. The receptionist was in no position to help us out she said repeatedly. The location is a little far and uphill. One certainly needs to have their own car or means of transport to go and come to the hotel.

    The breakfast was good. The view from the rooms is amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't be a better location. Right at the top, where you can get good view of the mountain and natural beauty. You might want to sit outside the hotel to enjoy natural mountain beauty. Pass for train and bus to Interlaken was free from the hotel and walking down from the hotel to the train stop was a great walk (5-10 mins max). We traveled with a 5 year old but no trouble at all. Great value for money! Breakfast was full of varieties and a very friendly staff to guide you to other popular destinations. Room was very clean and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention

    So beautiful place looking at the forest..)) Real paradise.. I booked a double room but was offered a big room in the chalet with attic and great view from my windows and the balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ITS Uphill and a challenge to drag your luggage,.. though still a mesmerizing location!

    I WILL KEEP COMING TO THIS HOTEL EVERY TIME I COME TO INTERLAKEN!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Good accommodation and evening meal. Very good value for money. An out of town location with marvelous views and more importantly quiet. Excellent breakfast. Easy car parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road to the hotel is quite narrow and steep but not a problem at all if you come with a car. It would be better if the hotel rooms have a microwave oven.

    We stayed 3 nights in one family room (with sofa bed) and one family room with duplex style. The view and atmosphere are excellent. Parking is very convenient. The hotel provides you bus tickets to Interalken (the bus stop is 5 minutes walk away).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too warm in the room, so we slept with the balcony door open. At breakfast there was no much food left after a large group of tourists left a big mess behind.

    The warm feel of the hotel and the owners who were very helpful. The room was spacious enough and the view was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was free wifi but the signal was much stronger closer to the lobby. We were on the 4th floor and couldn't stay connected well.

    This place was fantastic. They had a playground for my toddler, a good breakfast, and incredible views. It was within walking distance of a train station and grocery store, but you felt like you were a world away. Would definitely go back here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views are impeccable. The hotel staff are so warm, helpful and welcoming. You get a free travel card which allows you discounts/better rates when exchanging money and allows for using all types of transport for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel using public transport and the location is not close to the bus stop, 10-to-15-min walk. We had to walk upward with our luggage. The bus comes every 1/2 OR 1 hour

    The view couldn't be better :-). We love the scenery so much. It had a bit of country feel. The staff was friendly and traveller's card was given when you checked-in. It was a great help to save your transportation cost. Breakfast was decent. When we arrived, the receptionist door glass was broken and it was fixed the next day, like nothing happened. I was impressed.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: