Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Bern Expo 4 stars

Am Guisanplatz 2, Breitenrain-Lorraine, 3014 Bern, Switzerland

#16 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1572 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room wasnt clean - room was full of insects - AC wasnt working - Toilet was full of spiders - Staff were unfriendly and not supportive - Operator doesnt speak english

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid for three persons stay but the facilities in the room was only for two persons. Not even refill room's tissue, water, cup, stir, refreshment and etc everyday even we requested for room cleaning. The drain in the shower room was clogged. So digesting. The room was not as clean as expected as a 4 star hotel. The kettle was so dirty. The cleaning service was not good as a 4 star hotel. The overall service in this hotel was not good.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the hotel parking has very limited number of spots compared to the interest. There is no guarantee that you would get a spot, if you leave the hotel with a car, and come back. Even if you paid for three days of parking...

    - location: just outside of Bern Expo, just 15 minutes or so to the city centre or Haus des Sports in Ittigen. - excellent wifi connection - has both shower and a bath tube! - nice, helpful staff - tea maker in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second bed in room (sofa bed) was not very comfy.

    Nice clean hotel with great tram link to centre. Walking distance to the beautiful Rosengarten. Breakfast was simple but fresh and good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Main bed in room was very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is little bit small.

    The location is good. You can walk to the main area in Bern. But we rode the tram because the hotel provided us free transportation tickets. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature too hot in the rooms and we could not control it because the air conditioning is central and they considered it was not time to turn it on! But the city was very hot while we were there. Also, despite the fact that we were four in the room (family) sometimes they would not replace the towels accordingly!

    Location was very good considering that it is next to a tram stop and the tickets were free! Very easy to go to the city Centre and train station. Hotel has a nice decor and the breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and much better than other Novotel hotels that we stayed before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed the night we arrived, with two children. Curtains that don't really block the light. Bathroom "curtain" (glass door) wouldn't stay in place while we showered, and it would close on us. No hooks or flat surface on the bathroom to put any toiletries and hang towels.

    Food at the restaurant (dinner). Friendliness of the staff (reception and restaurant).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entrance easy to miss out. Need more directional sign. Hard to u turn back to hotel because heavy traffic. Two hotels sharing same building and carpark. Easy to mix up. Front entrance too small, hard to park and unload lugguage.

    Everything quite new. Room in ok size. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking management. Guests parked over multiple spots causing others too miss space. Hotel should manage via requesting licence numbers and enforcing proper respect

    Overall very happy with room and other facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask front desk to print one paper of PDF boarding pass, take too much time, even by email. It is my first time so experience during my more than 200 hotels stay.

    Check in and check out very easy. The room is quite big. I get one person price from hotel. Some hotel make same price for 1 person and 2 person. It is not good for single travelers. The breakfast is super good and lots of choice. From train station to hotel just 15 minutes by tram nr 9. You get free ticket from hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located next to the tram station at the Expo center. Tickets to ride were free at the hotel and the clock was a short 10 minute ride. Great location and service!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Easy access to the hotel from the high way. Plenty of parking spaces around it. Convenient tram connection to the Bern centre where the tickets are bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise insulation wasn't the best, we could hear some noise outside until later that evening.

    Great room, great conditions, great staff, great place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room was bit small for all of us (two adults and two kids). They use a sofa as an extra bed, so it wasn’t really comfortable to sleep and I hit my legs a few times against the metals of the sofa bed. There was not enough amenities, not even a soap to wash hands, there were only shampoos and body soaps or lotions which were attached by the wall in the bathroom, my kids couldn’t reach to it. I tried to call the reception to bring a hand soap, but the connected part of the room phone cable was almost broken, I needed to hold the part with my hand and I finally succeeded to make a phone call. I made another call after 15min waiting. So total waiting time was more than 30 min. The closest supermarket was quite far from this hotel. The person working in the bar wasn’t very friendly. The breakfast was average, nothing was fantastic.

    Price was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the linens were replaced daily. Some arrangement for vacuum cleaners during room making would make it 10/10.

    Very ideally located with appropriate price. Friendly and English speaking staff. Very nice parking and breakfast options, although on payment. I would like to stay again and would recommend it to rest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not worth the price (26 CHF), especially that they charge 5CHF additional for an omelet. Same goes for the parking at the hotel , not clear why the charge from the guests of the hotel...

    good service and nice facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more guest friendly.

    Value for money, small but ok hotel for a day or two stay as a family. Space well utilised and comfy room. Tram station is next to hotel and very well connected to reach city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of small grumbles. The room was only prepared for one person rather than the 2 booked. As a non-coffee drinker- the hot water for tea was lukewarm so hard to brew tea. Black tea available was Earl Grey, no breakfast tea blend available so perhaps bring your own?

    We thought this hotel was great. Opposite a tram station with easy access to the city centre. Our room was opposite the tram station but we were not disturbed by it. Great blackout curtains and double glazing ensure a good nights sleep. We would stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price could have been slightly more competitive however it could just be the Swiss exchange rate being as strong as it is.

    Very comfy bed and quiet room. Decent location, close to tram stop for centre. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have reserved the family room but the arrangements like towels, pillows etc for only two people but it was arranged immediately when we informed the front desk team.

    Best location and Friendly staff, Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit out of the centre, but there is a tram line next to the hotel and you can get a free pass, so this isn't really a problem.

    Overall very good value for money. No problems at all staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service access your room even you put do not disturb sing on the door and even if you are at the room.

    Only the location because next to bern expo

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a family room in Novotel. We traveled with 2 children. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The carpet was dirty with sticky stuff on it. The bathroom is old and the bathtub side was broken. For a short stay it is OK.

    The hotel is outside the old town but very well connected to the center by frequent and quick trams. They give you free transportation day tickets. Very standard hotel. The mini fridge was welcome and staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trams outside were noisy until past midnight

    Breakfast was good, reception staff were very helpful and friendly, being able to leave the car in the hotel carpark after check-out was really useful and gave time to explore Bern without having to try and park in town, which I understand can be difficult.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner could have been cooler as we arrived in a heat wave!

    Breakfast was great. Free tram passes for 5 min journey into beautiful Bern. Very dog friendly. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two double executive rooms with sofa for two couples. The air conditioning in our room was not working and it could not be repaired that evening. They did not have any other room to move to. We were very uncomfortable without air conditioning (summer). They brought us a small, very short corded, dusty fan, that we could not use because it was releasing a nasty smell (may be because it had not been used for a long time). They took it away and had no other fan. It felt like staying at an inferior star rating hotel. We paid CHF263.50 for our room and they gave us CHF80 back for the lack of air conditioning. However, this does not compensate the great inconvenience of spending an uncomfortable night. In the other room, the TV was not working.

    The hotel is very nice It is a good location to walk to the Bear Park and Rose garden. There is public transport just opposite to hotel Good breakfast Nice staff at reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming and very helpful staff at the reception desk, good location, close to bus station, we were able to get a loan swiss adaptor on request, very good breakfast. The only downside was that the shower alcove was small and when we arrived the carpet outside the bathroom was wet. This was promptly addressed to an extent when we informed staff. We were offered to change our room but we decided to stay in this room as it was a corner room and relatively bigger. We had a not so good experience at the novotel Zurich and almost cancelled the booking for this hotel. I am glad I continued with the booking as this hotel redeemed the Novotel brand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really expensive though so we did not avail of it. Toiletries were not consistent. We received on the first day, none on the second, then I have to ask on the third day. The paper cups provided were really limited for two people despite me requesting to add for an extra as there were three of us in the room.

    The location was a few kilometers from the city but trams right across the road are frequent. The hotel provides free public transport for the duration of the stay. Love the room size and that it includes a kettle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water seeped through the window when it rained cats and dogs in the evening

    The hotel is next to a tram stop with frequent trains to the city Centre and thus very convenient. The room was clean and comfortable. Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Nice location easily accessible to public transport. Nice comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast served. Very helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was only open for breakfast so we couldn't get anything else to eat. Bar never seemed open?

    Very clean and modern hotel. Not close to old town but easy to get there on the tram.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Separate toilet and bathroom in the bedroom was an inefficient use of space. The dinner menu was also lacking - limited options and very overpriced.

    Good location with proximity to tram into the city. Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an issue with the door lock - and it happened every time we wanted to get to the room. I complained to the receptionnist in the evening, and during the check-out. The answer I've got at check-out was - Oh, thank you for letting us know we will fix it. I did not appreciate this kind of answer.

    Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was very nice, staff extremely welcoming and kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering that the room was listed as family room to fit 2 adults and 2 children, it was still a typically small hotel room with one double bed and probably a pull-out sofa.

    Excellent breakfast. Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost seemed a bit high for the room plus breakfast, therefore I did not eat breakfast on site.

    Facilities were good and the location was perfect based on my event

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very little space in family room noisy surroundings Luna Park in front blocked parking in front of main entrance for convenient check in not seen any info for free parking for check in, to enter and leave guests and luggage looks you need to pay for 1hr

    comfortable bed and modern furnishing in rooms location near to old town but convenient to move our for trips outside Bern free buss/tram pass tasty breakfast tiny but well equipped and maintained gym room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is too small for family room. I didn't have even space for open my luggage. The car park fee was too expensive 20 CHF for 1 day.

    Good staffs. The room is clean. Give us free public transport ticket for travelling in town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room Prize was very high for the size of the room and without breakfast option. It is not the city centre or a chalet. It cannot be more than 130-40

    I liked the location close to the Manege and kids loved walking around Front office staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is overly crowded, and sometime we had to park in strange positions. The charge was also not relative to the time the vehicle was parked (night only), but connected directly to the number of nights we spent there.

    The staff were super friendly and greeted us very fondly. The hotel is very clean and the facilities were great. Our room wasn't huge, but it accommodated ourselves and the kids (on a huge sofa bed) very nicely. The shower room had a tub and a shower stall - which was great for my kids! The bed was also quite comfy with an abundance of pillows. Everything was cleaned nicely daily and everything in the room worked fine. The breakfast was very tasty and my kids also ate well, I highly recommend it. They also supplied us with public transportation passes for the whole trip which was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the new bathroom looked very nice but it was not so user-friendly.

    The rooms are very nice and the bed was very comfortable. I slept very well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am used to a softer bed personally but as far as beds go in Switzerland, they are as good as any other beds.

    Novotel had a great breakfast. Scrabble eggs, bacon, sausage, cut fruit, fruit juice, meats/cheeses and more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made me feel like I paid too much during the check in process, it was all about being an Accor member and what a better deal I could have had. Tainted everything else.

    Close to tram (free tickets) easy in and out of the city for dinner, sight seeing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surcharge for parking at the hotel.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and really convenient for jumping on the tram (stops right behind the hotel). Cosy hotel bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was large, but the sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable for our daughters. Price is also a consideration--it might be less expensive to stay at the Ibis located in the same property.

    This is an exceptional hotel with a superb breakfast and easy parking on the outskirts of Bonn.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no water sink in WC toilet that is separated from shower room. Staff did not top up shampoo dispenser for my 2 nights stay.

    Clean and spacious room with nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not comfortable. The toilet seat with in a seperate room that has nothing but the seat, not even a water sink. Our room was separated by two wooden doors from out neighbors. They could access our room if we leave the door open. The noise from other rooms adds to that. I had to go the front desk to get any small item I may need (other hotels would send it to me). Not recommended.

    Staff were nice and breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room for 4 persons.not balcony. the towels small ,old. not many choice of beer.

    breakfast, restaurant modern style, free tickets to visit the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the family 2 kids, the room it's to small for us. We have to change the room ( the same size) at 10pm it's because no rideaux to cut the light it's come from outside. The Room there's a dusk( I took pictures). Wi-Fi doesn't worked. Ouffff Payed for parking, and we have to turned around to find one, the end we parked not the place to be!

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My favorite T-shirt was taken together with the sheets and got lost. I gave them a lot of chances to make it right but they didn't even offer a refund at check out, as if it hadn't happened. I had to keep asking about it via email and at the end ask for a refund myself. They said they will pay for a new T-shirt. I would have liked an immediate reaction and larger refund than the price of the T-shirt while I was still at the hotel. That way they would at least make me feel they cared. The window didn't open more than a few centimeters. There was a cigarette smell coming into the room. I complained at the front desk and guess what, they didn't care.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from concert directly across road which didn't stop until 6.30am. Not good especially for a family needing sleep. Room cramped for family of 4. We would have appreciated a room on quiet side of hotel given the well advertised concert being held that night.

    Staff. Free ticket for public transport. Clean, car parking facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been more staff in the bar/restaurant in the evening. We waited 10 minutes to ask about a table then 15 minutes to be told it would be an hour before any food would arrive. So we went elsewhere. There were only 2 staff on duty, which meant the bar was often unmanned, not what you expect to see in a hotel of this standard.

    The service at reception was great, the room was comfortable and well equipped. The location was perfect for us as we were visiting the Expo, but it is also suitable for visiting the city as it is located near to a tram stop.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit farther from city center than we were led to believe based on the website

    Jean Philipe was especially helpful during our stay. He did an outstanding job!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the fact that the rooms are not wide and more tight, so its not pleasurable to stay a lot in the room specially of you got the family room.

    beds were comfort, staff were awesome and breakfast is AMAZING

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small family room and very poor service at breakfast.

    They were out of breakfast items. I took many pictures and showed it to them. They accepted their fault but said that since I have made the reservation through booking.com they are unable to compensate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast menu can do with more chicken dishes.

    The reception staff were excellent. Rachael stands out, her hospitality was amazing. She made our stay fabulous. Good location for the Bear park and Rose garden. Free tram tickets to use within the city. Close to EuropCar rental, by tram 10 min.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, given the price of rooms and our experience in other Novotels, we expected more.

    Nice hotel, rooms are spacious and modern and you only need to walk for 30 seconds to a tram stop that will take you into town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit shabby for a 4-star hotel. Value for money not very interesting (breakfast was very expensive also). Next time I'll try the Ibis, which is housed in the same building.

    Parking onsite, which was good (you had to pay, though). Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was good that public transport was included in the room price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the air condition. I was in the 8 floor. I stop the air condition in my room. But even like this the noise of the aircondition is just madness. Took me two hours to fall sleep. I sleep because I was tyred. I only sleep 6 hours. And the reason why I book a 4 stars hotel was to ensure a good rest, because the day after I had an important meeting early in the morning. For sure, I have sleep better in B & B.

    The location. It's comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff at the reception is sooooooo nice and warm-hearted,giving us a lot of suggestion for trip in bern. The hotel also send us some dessert with a sweet card for our honeymoon. Feeling soooo warm there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person who met us the day we arrived to the hotel make us feel very welcomed. She explained us practical matters about the hotel and the transportation system of Bern. She transmitted us a contagious happiness. It was a surprising and wonderful way to start our stay in Bern. Thanks!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been bigger and it would be nice to have more space for a four * hotel. No irons in the hotel and we had to keep going up and down to a room to iron clothes which for a business hotel is odd. Gym was tiny. Only a few machines. Restaurant wasn't great. Food was very average and the vege options were bland. Restaurant closes too early - last orders were 9:30. Our main issue was parking. Some days we couldn't find parking in either car park and the spaces are tiny. I would think twice about brining a car here again.

    Breakfast was good. Location was good as were the cleanliness of the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with ordinary facilities. Split toilet concept caused inconvenience. After using WC one should go to shower area for hand wash which was separate. not deserving 4 star.

    Cooperative reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small for 3 persons. Strange layout for bathroom and toilet. Not enough space to move around. Breakfast and room service selection is limited.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little narrow space for family but it's not big issue

    very kind staff and reasonable price. excellent breakfast also recommandable. they provide public transportation ticket.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is very null, as if someone copy pasted the place into the hotel. It shames the aesthetics of the hotel itself.

    The location - being a bit outside the city centre makes it a less noisy place. Still, the tram stop is 2 min walk from the hotel and then a 5-8 min ride to the center. The staff is very welcoming and full of suggestions on how to spend your day in Bern. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is mainly for business travelers (the expo is practically next door) but we, as tourists, enjoyed it as much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great facilities. Big room for families. Very good breakfast. Not close to Old Town but complimentary tram on hotel door goes quickly and easily. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is quite small when compared to others i have experienced in Switzerland

    very competitive rate and good location. a few tram stops from the city centre which is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center. We were told, only after we asked, that we get tram tickets for free. Got charged €28 for our pet...a little too expensive.

    Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was rich.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have wanted proper meals after 10:30pm. The rooms were slightly on the high side.

    The staff were always courteous and very helpful. Public transport was just at the doorstep and available till late. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two toilets OK but.. WC toilet without a lavabo, lavabo is in the other toilet..

    Breakfast OK! Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was really bad.

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness, excellent service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Kind staff, comfortable beds, great breakfast! Very clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking Breakfast was not included Hotel lobby desin was strange

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, not far from train station when use Tram no.9 .from Bern Bahnhof to Guisanplatz Expo

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Bern Expo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: