Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bernerhof Grindelwald 3 stars

Dorfstrasse 89, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#20 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 998 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really

    Given a free upgrade to a room with Mountain View which is an excellent view. Room is big enough and beds are comfortable. Breakfast very good too. The hotel has a boutique touch everywhere in terms of details. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small

    The staff were very helpful and patient with all your questions. Ellis in particular, explained to us a great details about hiking routes and gave lots of valuable recommendations. We have been to many places but such high quality of services is rare. Besides the breakfast is awesome and I like it the hotel provides coffee and tea all the time. mini bar for free as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eiger view was little compared with other expensive hotels in Grindelwald. but I think this view was awesome because mountains are very big.

    Service of staff was very kind and warm. and direction of hotel was fantastic. Even breakfast also nice. Hotel made good memory in Grindelwald. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfortable beds, excellent staff that made great recommendations and helped us book activities, and can't beat the location--steps to the train station and easy walk through the town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very, very small. We booked 6 months in advance but were placed in a rear facing apartment.

    Staff were excellent and accomodating. Location was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel near the Grindelwald-First. Everything was great, clean and comfortable. We had amazing balcony view on mountains. There’s a perfect terrace. Stuff was very friendly and helpful. We were given a city map, discounts, free bus tickets. Breakfast was very tasty. I will recommend this hotel and will stay here next time for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything, but the shops close early so be quick to grab what you need from the shop nearby, to be precisely it’s front of the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the balcony was incredible, the bed was so comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had to leave at 5am for a train and they packed us a huge breakfast each!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel for a ski holiday. The location was excellent-near to the train and bus stop. The ski hire shop was below the hotel and gave 20% discount to residents of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was two singles put together.

    Location was really good. Nice area close to bus stop and train station. Breakfast was basic but good with a nice view. Would recommend sledding and restaurant wise the Italian was amazing in town and the restaurant opposite the train station for cheese fondue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit expensive (you are paying the location) and bit smelly rooms.

    Outstanding location, in front of the bus and train station that go everywhere. Convenient parking facilities and we got a free upgrade from the excellent staff. Room was basic but nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower sink was too slow for water to go...so it took time to take shower.

    The hotel is right in front of the bus stations which takes you to each places. It’s just three min walk from the main station n next to the ski board rental shop!:D The breakfast was normal n I was fine with it bc it didn’t cost extra. Single room was as small as I expected so was okay!:) but at night it was so dry inside that I woke up bc my throat and nose hurt from the dry air... I dunno how we can avoid that tho... anyway it’s a good one night stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were extremely squishy and therefore uncomfortable, but that's not a major problem.

    Great location in the middle of town. We reserved a triple room, but it was two adjoining rooms which was ideal. Nice to have a coffee machine available in the main lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight downside to the location and, ironically, having a room with an Eiger view, is that you face the road and can hear the buses as they fire up and if noisy groups are getting on/off at night - but that is only an "observation" and did not detract from the overall feeling that we had found somewhere that was good value for a short stay.

    We had a great short stay at the Bernerhof in a low season week during the winter season. They very kindly upgraded us to a superior room which faced the Eiger which was much appreciated. And our general impression is that this is a well run, value for money, 3 star hotel with very good breakfast included and in a great location for the village and the train station in particular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sound proofing and you could hear noise from the street and hallway so we didn’t manage to sleep that well. It was also very hot in our room. Even with shutting off all of the heating, we had to sleep with the window open. We would stay again but bring earplugs.

    Great location! Beautiful view and room was cute (& small) but exactly as the website photos show. Breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff is simply shocking. Receptionist was an unpleasant apathetic girl with a sour face. I saw her rolling her eyes even when other guests asked smt. It was a mess compared to what happened next. We asked to pay for a room in euros and were surprised to know that the exchange rate of CHF/EUR is 1: 1. We lose 40 euros per night!!! I have never seen such fees at any exchange or bank . All another hotels in Switzerland calculated a price in euros, of course, including taxes. But the rate can not be 1: 1!!! And as mentioned before the staff were awful and there was nobody to talk to. In my opinion, the hotel is not worth the price. I've seen many impressive hotels and at a lower/same price. I forgot to mention that there is no parking mark, we had to pay for parking before got explanation where the parking was.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No atmosphere at all in the hotel, with the exception of the chap who checked us in the staff were miserable and barely raised a smile....Sorry

    The hotel is in a great location, very clean, breakfast was good not spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room & bathroom was small. But we managed it all.

    The road from Wilderswil was closed so we parked our car there and went to Grindelwald by train and this hotel just <5 minutes walk from the station. Awesome! Even after a tiring and long ski day our bus just stopped right in front of it. They upgraded our room to Small Double Rooms with Eiger View for free! Thank you! Our family never has problem sleeping with sounds so the buses or cars sounds were nothing to us. Even when we open the window a little for fresh air. Breakfast with a view and nice choice for a 3 star hotel was also good. My parents loved the free lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful, the location was just excellent! Couldnt ask for a better location, it was less than 2 minutes walking from the train station and the bus station was just opposite to the hotel...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towel hooks on the bathroom door would have been helpful

    We were welcome to use the hotel lounge area (with free coffee and tea) after check-out while our children went ice-skating at the sport center across the road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive but you are paying for location. The tiniest bathroom I have ever seen, had to hop in the bath to shut the door & couldn’t get in to help the kids if they needed it.

    Beautiful breakfast with great variety of hot & cold food; excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The saff were very friendly, breakfast was good and plenty of food. Location of hotel is in the middle of town a very short walk to the rail and bus stations. There are many short walks around the area which can be reached by the local buses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The entrance of hotel is not significant that we passed by it at our first arrival. It's better to have an eye-catching sign for tourists. 2. As the free lounge has limited opening hour, it's better to place complimentary tea and coffee at each room for the guests' convenience. 3. The room key is heavy to carry out. 4. Only one rubbish bin is found in wash room. It's better to place one under the desk in the room for the convenience of guests. 5. To prevent confusion and mistaken, it's better to have receipt for picking up baggage that guests dropped after check-out. All hotels provide this service to protect belongings of each guest.

    Good location of hotel as just few minutes walk from train station. The blanket is comfortable and warm enough. Great view from some rooms, breakfast hall, lounge and balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fabulous. The stuff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful, nice, especially Elias, he helped us evey time with a friendly smile. I recommend this hotel for my friends definitely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    20 seconds away from the Grindelwald train station. You cannot beat the hotel location if you have heavy luggage. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Great view if you book a room with view - the front side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location across street from train station and close to restaurants stores and gondola clean comfortable room with great bed and fantastic views of mountains from balcony a very good breakfast with coffee available all day f

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant, tiny bathroom, very expensive even for Switzerland.

    The location is really good. Nice view from balcony. Good lobby with free drinks and coffee. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good location, just 2 min from bahnhof. Very suitable for anyone who purchase Good Morning Ticket to Jungfraujoch. The room is also nice and the linen is also warm. Many selection of breakfast to catch the hunger. The staff is also great and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small for a couple. Although there was a slightly bigger room in the same price but it was not available for us. Moreover we had a Baby cot for the child in the room which left no space at all in the room. The price was way too high as there were no special facilities. Most of the other hotels with similar prices had facilities like massage, Sauna bath, small pool etc. The common areas/Lounge was good but closed at 21:30 so there was no place to sit with our friends and talk. The only option was to go in the room which was again too small. Also one thing which I found strange was that parking was chargeable. Although the price was only 5 CHF/day, this was the first time I experienced the hotel charging parking fee. Also there was no dedicated parking. They just allowed us to park behind the hotel.

    The staff was quite friendly and helpful. The options in the breakfast were limited but quite good. The location of the hotel is probably the best in Grindelwald.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am very much disappointed with Owner and not happy at all very rough behaviour and arrogant I was surprise in such a hotel anyway not a good at all timing was to strict and no extra help overall I will never recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Internet wifi The breakfast needs to be varied

    Friendly helpful stuff specially Mr.ILIAS Location is excellent Perfect view Hot driks available all the time for free

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very small! Showers I. The bath VERY dangerously slippery.

    Reception staff were excellent. So too the tall girl doing breakfasts. She even tried to give us crispy bacon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed had slats which moved a little with movement

    We had booked a triple room and the single bed was in a second room which we were very surprised and happy about. Lift to get to rooms, delicious breakfast, and central to station, buses and shops. Quiet at night so no noise from street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the balcony was stunning. The view where we had breakfast was wonderful. The hotel was so close to everywhere, the bus stop, train station, shopping area, cable car to First, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to sleep with all the windows open as the room was very warm most of the time.

    A very well positioned hotel for all that Grindelwald has to offer. About 2 mins from the station, right by the shops and 10 metres from the finish line of a 62mile race I had just run! Nice touches like free afternoon tea and coffee, friendly reception staff and comfy beds. Requested a boxed breakfast which was not a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable and the room was very cramped. It was also pretty old so it didn't really meet our expectations. The bathroom was very dated. All in all it was not worth the money that we paid.

    It was in a good location by food and the Coop for groceries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of woods! You can hear the sound when people walking upstairs. There is a curtain just over the head of the bed and hence it is not comfortable when sleeping!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small, but adorable and had an amazing view of the alps. The staff was very friendly and even gave us a free upgrade so that we could enjoy a balcony with a mountain view. The location could've have been better. It was only a few steps away from the train station (though it was never noisy) and right in the heart of town with a lot of great restaurants and adorable shops. I'd highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Great location (less than 1 minute from the station), Kind and lovely staff, great breakfast, clean facilities, also so beautiful view out of the window. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Switzetland someday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entry and lift is hard to find, small lift can fit 2 pax with luggage only

    Good location, 1 min walk to train station, bus station at front. Best is their coffee station. Normally hotel do not provide electric kettle for making coffe or tea in the room. You can go to their coffee station at lounge for free. Booked Eiger view room, view was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillow is more than soft...which I do not like it much.

    Breakfast buffet is good, my friend likes the cheese platter and beacon very much! Location is super convenient, just next to Grindelwald train station, 2mins walking distance. Very traditional swiss country side style, can enjoy the wonderful mountain view when having breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a standard double room which was comfortable but very small indeed, the bathroom was tiny. Worth paying a bit more for a larger room.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and close to train and bus stations. Free self-service tea and coffee in the bar. Rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies with great view of the Eiger. Hotel has small car park to the rear.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired.

    A cheerful and helpful manager and the view was terrific! The location was perfect - right by the station and an easy walk to bars and restaurants. A wide choice of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing I would like to have in the hotel was to have some french fries for breakfast (:

    We stayed for 3 days with my spouse. The hotel is about 50 meters to Grindelwald Train Station. The best thing about the hotel is the view. The view of Eiger from the balcony is absolutely stunning. You could even spend your whole day enjoying the view. The hotel crew is also great and very helpful. They helped us to plan a beautiful day trip to Trummelbach falls and Murren. Definitely look for their help. Also, the room was really tidy and clean. Definitely recommend. We didn't have any displeasures during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The magnificent view from the balcony and the friendly & helpful staff (Miss Yen).The room is cosy and clean. So close to the train station & bus station. There's a lounge where you can have complimentary tea & coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not major concern - Locker should be easily accessible so that you easily stroll the big bags to the room. we need to lift the bags couple of times till you reach the room.

    Stayed for one night, Location, Breakfast, view from balcony, Locker room facility

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated

    Comfy beds and nice warm rooms. Staff were efficient and very friendly. Great views of the Eiger if you get a facing room. Very close to the station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a plug in the bathroom would have been helpful. Otherwise everything was adequate for one person. Also the breakfast was good.

    Having the complimentary tea and coffee on the terrace, watching the sun go down over the mountains, while listening to the birdsong. The bed was comfy and being able to open the window was a plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the beds were small it was quite uncomfortable sharing the bed with a child. It was a bit hot in the night as well (no AC/fan) Unfortunately couldn't get a good nights sleep. Restaurants in the area are very expensive with little variety so meals were challenging. Absolutely no halal options.

    Great location in Grindelwald adjacent to train and bus stations. Friendly and accommodating staff at reception. Cosy bedroom and lovely view over restaurant. Coop in very close proximity as well. Play area in front of the hotel was a favourite for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a non-refundable booking and couldn't make the first of our two nights so we got an upgrade on the second... not expected and very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was too small I thought it was slightly overpriced A few times the staff wasn't available at the service desk as we wanted to find out about the place

    View from the balcony Location - just across the station Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amy made us feel like home She is an amazing host and a great friend We connected so well Thankyou Amy and the other guy at the reception (don't know his name) You two were amazing Thanks again !:) Also she upgraded our rooms for free :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to location rooms and facilities are on the comfy side.

    Friendly staff, excellent location - 2mins walk to the train station and breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel with very helpful staff. We were planning our trip to Jungfrau and the staff was very helpful to check out the weather and visibility whether it is suitable to go. As the day that we wanted to go to Jungfrau was too cloudy, they recommended us to go to Wengen, which was a smaller and quaint village . We traveled to Jungfrau the next day, with better visibility and weather.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff need to be a lot friendlier especially the ones who work in the breakfast room(not a single smile)

    Good choice of breakfast. Hotel not too hot like some others (next door).Free tea and coffee available in the lounge all day. The ski boot room is really handy as it is at the back of the hotel and only a minutes walk from the train station. We had a room at the back of the hotel but previously had stayed at the front (with an outside balcony) which would've been an extra £40 a night. The room was smaller but still had a view and it was very quiet considering it was the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for 2 people on a ski trip. Really had no space to move around and the bathroom was also very tiny.

    Location was perfect! Right next to the Grindelwald Bahnhoff for quick access to Grind and the mountain bahn.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception closed at 10pm. You should bring your room key when you return to hotel after 10pm coz you gonna use it at main entrance.

    The room was good & Nice view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't the most comfortable and the rooms are a bit dated.

    The location was perfect as it is in the middle of everything. The view from the hotel was stunning. The lounge was modern and a nice place to sit down, have a few drinks and talk about the day. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 lift in the hotel and the space of the lift was too small for family with more than 1 baggage.

    *Excellent location really close to the train station, Coop Supermarket, famous restaurant , post office and etc. *Friendly and helpful staff. *Big space of balcony with awesome Eiger Mountain view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small, it might be diffcilt to use for big-size clients.

    We stayed at the place for 2 nights and I wish we had stayed longer. It's amazing to wake up seeing Jungfrau from the room window; enjoying a cup of coffee at the balcony in summer is a good idea too. One could even enjoy the mountain views when having breakfast, and of course with a great food quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is at the backlane of the hotel. Need to drag the luggage for about 50m on the road to reach the hotel. Just a minor grumble.

    Very friendly service. the complimentary coffee/tea next to the check-in counter is a nice touch to a traveler.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain at all!

    The staff was very friendly, prompt and attentive. Though I was traveling alone, they upgraded me to a mountain facing, brand new room. Especially want to thank Ilias who was very helpful. He stored my luggage for me so I can make the train up to jungfraujoch and he upgrades my room. Breakfast is a good spread and the day long tea and coffee is a bonus!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice, good size room and selection of breakfast options. Location extremely close to station (maynbe 100m) which was great for luggage tranport, but quiet room too. Comfortable bed also.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant experience, cozy and very good location, can sit in second floor restaurant, drinking coffee/tea free of charge and the view is incredibly amazing!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny lift , barely fits one person and a stroller.

    Good breakfast, but some variety would be great for long stay customers. Great location, walkable from train station and all cable car stops

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the key is too huge and heavy. maybe some customer loss the key before? that's why they make the key with the huge and heavy key chain.

    the staff are so friendly and helpful the hotel provides free hot water, tea and coffee. the location is excellent, nearby the station with elevator.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older building not the best sound isolation, no temp control in room got a bit hot at night

    Great location, view of Eiger, discount rate on gondola to first free bus

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bacon could have been cooked more.

    Location was great, breakfast had a great variety. Clean, fresh and wonderful staff. We had a balcony and a beautiful view. Even a view while eating breakfast and access to a much larger balcony. Free tea and ground coffee all day until 9:30 p.m.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the only thick bedding is provided, there is no thinner blanket.

    Excellent location, train station, supermarket just a minute walk and yet it us quite. Nice view of mt. Eiger from room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Lots of noise outside the Hotel as it is next to the train and bus stations; and since there are no A/Cs in the rooms keeping the windows open is a must in the mid of summer which lets the noise get in. In my three-day stay, I couldn't sleep well.

    -Being in the center of the town. -The amazing view of the moutains from the room. -The free coffee and tee. -The recommendations from the reception staff were spot on; especially the ones provided by Ilias.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - room equipment - confusion with the room (We got a key of the room where someone had already been put up. We got another room but it seemed it wasn't the first time this happened.

    - breakfast - beds - guest card

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small, and very basic, for 240 CHF even in Switzerland it is a shame, compared to the pictures shown on booking it was trrible!

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overheating refrigerator in my room which blew out hot air through vents in the wooden desk - the whole desk heated up in an alarming fashion so I had to disconnect it. The slime green coloured carpet.

    The genuine staff, the ability to make oneself tea & coffee during the day, the terrace looking out on to the Eiger northwall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real drawback was that the location is directly accross from the bus stop and main central "town square" so there was some diesel traffic early in the morning you

    Really friendly staff. This hotel recently changed.ownership and underwent substantial renovation. First really hot shower since being in Europe. New furniture and furnishings. Great hot plentiful breakfast starting at 6:45 ( although they say 7) convenient walking distance to everywhere in grindelwald. Rooms are large for European standards. We traveled with 3 kids and they put us in rooms adjacent. Coffee and tea available any time and a very nice dining area and patio. Free wifi that worked really well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very very basic. Beds are small and pushed together. 2 people cannot be in the bathroom at the same time. Tinned fruit for breakfast! Perhaps I was expecting too much. But don't expect value for money!

    Location is right next to station and if you have a mountain view room it's right infront of The Eiger. Parking is only 5CHF per day behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: