Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Bildungshaus St. Jodern

St. Jodernstrasse 17, 3930 Visp, Switzerland

#2 of 4 hotels in Visp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    great value, quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was to far away from the station, and the bed was a bit too small, and if the bathroom can be in the room that will be perfect.

    The room was clean, staff are friendly, and fit the value of money, in addition, breakfast was nice and cost only 11CHF and have variety of selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location for us and I had researched before so knew what to expect. Upmarket hostel but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could have been better. Don't expect tv, telephone or fancy toiletries. Towels a bit continental for English taste, I.e. Not big and fluffy.

    Good location, we were visiting someone in the hospital opposite, so perfect for that. We knew it was basic before we went so we're not disappointed. Just a little showerroom but everything worked. Balcony with nice views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, functional and comfortable rooms with no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Very clean, functional and comfortable rooms with no frills. The staff were excellent - very friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was a reasonable continental breakfast. The evening meal shared with the "semi-permanent" workers was excellent. They had good facilities for storing our bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pillowcase had hair on it. Helicopter landing on hospital rooftop just outside our balcony three times through the night. Sounded like it was landing on our balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    2.9
    Parking is free ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There're someone's hair on the pillow, which is upset, There're two door inside room, and hear neighbor voice easily, Frnot desk service is not good

    Parking is free ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel but it’s an uphill Hike
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only a heavy Dona on the bed which in summer is a trifle on the warm side. Although there’s a bus it doesn’t take you to the door and it’s a hike up hill with luggage. This was’t a real problem though.

    It was a very comfortable hotel, well run, serviced and there was even a cherry tree with ripe cherries right outside the window. It was quiet and the reception staff were pleasant. We didn’t have breakfast but it appeared to be average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Could have provided a shuttle service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls just failed to insulate sounds next door. Our room is just next to the common washroom. Sounds transmit into the room just like no walls in between. Very annoying.

    The view. Cleanness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Almost everything,,,although a bit far and uphill walk from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whereas the room was of very good size with practically everything I needed ( including a beautiful balcony ) , I would have loved to have a small water heating kettle to make my own tea and coffee in the room.

    Almost everything,,,although a bit far and uphill walk from the station with heavy luggage in hand .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    A good place for a one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here as a family for one night on the way to a skiing holiday. The room we had was a bunk room (we were happy with this) and the shared bathrooms were no problem. It was a basic, clean and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, quiet and very clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance front door locked after 9pm (Sat 3rd Feb) - I couldn’t get in. I was told by the reception that the door would be locked after 10pm everyday. I pressed the bell, but no one came for about five minutes. I banged on the door and shouted. Nothing. Then a woman came, possibly a guest, she was going out so I was able to get in. This was a scary experience because this hotel is in a quiet area and I wasn’t sure where to go for help.

    Comfortable, quiet and very clean. This hotel was just next door to Spital Visp (hospital) where my husband is a patient at. Easy for me to visit him.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    A very nice guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like a student dormitory, room was basic but very neat, clean and pleasant, with a great bathroom and a balcony with mountain view. The receptionist was very helpful and accommodating (late-evening check-in and early check-out).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and affordable accommodation in Visp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to cross the city center to reach the accommodation. Roughly 15min

    Very convenient and good value for money. Offers everything you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic lodging option with superb value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right next to the hospital, might get noisy if an helicopter lands on the roof (happened when I was present). It is not an hotel per se, but rather an educational complex belonging to the Catholic Church.

    Excellent location, 5 minutes by foot from the town center, 10 min from the train/bus terminal. Superb value for money. Polite and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Visp.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and affordable place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the hill, keep it in mind if you have a lot of luggage. Also, the hospital helicopters are quite noisy. Bathrooms need some renovations. Wi-fi is bad, especially in the evenings, cuts off very often.

    Very basic, but quite nice place. Very clean, wonderful mountain views from every room. Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast is good, beds are comfortable. Parking lot. Overall, very good for the price!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice room and location but overpriced breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor though for the 13.00 CHF they charge.

    The facility and rooms were clean,nice and simple. A very good view from the room balcony of the mountains surrounding VIsp,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Very large family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average breakfast.

    Very large family room. Clean place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Bollywood country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skylights in ceiling

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt just a little institutional. Maybe try putting up some pictures or adding some color somewhere.

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money and good cleaniess
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the center, but it's ok without much luggage

    Great value for money and good cleaniess

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    warm welcome with smiley face at reception and help helping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    warm welcome with smiley face at reception and help helping nature.....superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean rooms. Beds were great. Service was good as well. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Basic, unpretentious, quiet, very clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic, unpretentious, quiet, very clean and friendly. Low budget - highly recommended for families, free parking, close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    The pleasure of the purity to find purpose and meaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress could be a bit firmer, but just a small detail for my back :-)

    Wonderful Buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Very basic hotel but in line with the price you pay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic hotel but in line with the price you pay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Best find in Visp for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Since it was similar to a youth hostel room, we liked the fact that it was advertise for 4 people even though the room had 8 beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    cheap and clean place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the furniture was quite old but it's understandable. Basically I got what I paid.

    very clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    A religious venue (not sure quite what!) which also rents out rooms. V comfortable, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer walk from the train station than we'd been led to expect (not a serious failing though)

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Walking distance to all facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to village

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay in Visp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was exceptionally clean. It was quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Super clean and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in room would be nice.

    Super clean and friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stuff very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Very good value for money overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be improved in particular more selfservice for milk and coffee. Thus you do not have to wait. Fresh milk instead of UHP milk would make a great difference for me.

    Very good value for money overall. The hotel is in a quiet area and has free parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    The rooms were clean,albeit small,and the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was adjoining a hospital with helicopters frequently flying in & out making a lot of noise. The place had an atmosphere of a former nursing home, convent or seminary. Too many religious artefacts around the place including the room

    The rooms were clean,albeit small,and the bathroom satisfactory

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Eery place. Right behind hospital which patients can look into your room. View of scenery blocked by hospital. Not easy to locate. 30-45minute walk from train station.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    - Quietness city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - WiFi should expand to cover all area including room

    - Quietness city - Very good service mind though we cannot speak Dutch with Sister (Staff) - Nice parking place - Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location if you need to visit the hospital nearby...
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location if you need to visit the hospital nearby - just a 3 mins walk. Lovely accommodating staff who were understanding of my difficult situation with hospital visits. I appreciated their kindness.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    quietness, cleanliness and the comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    an in-room hot water kettle would have been nice.

    quietness, cleanliness and the comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Friendly people, easy to book and reach there with satnav.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing really

    Friendly people, easy to book and reach there with satnav. Was value for money .

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    10
    The setting with all the fruit trees in bloom and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting with all the fruit trees in bloom and an opportunity to buy fresh jams from those trees.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Quiet Free Parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet Free Parking

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly nuns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the nuns at the reception did not know a word in English

    Friendly nuns. Large room. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    The place is basic, but comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The place is basic, but comfortable and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    very friendly and very quiet
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and very quiet

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    So basic - more like military barracks. Stay as an absolute last resort

    Nothing

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: