Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blümlisalp 3 stars

Äussere Dorfstrasse 84, 3718 Kandersteg, Switzerland

#7 of 19 hotels in Kandersteg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good room, with a big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very impersonal, almost unfriendly. At least compared to other Swiss hotels I have stayed in the area. Breakfast is very very poor, especially for a 3 star hotel with a distinguished restaurant. Coffee was a joke, it was so diluted that the colour was whitish.

    Very good room, with a big bathroom. Indeed very clean. Great checkin times, large parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    bof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that you had to give a notice 30 min in advance to have the sauna heat up The bowling wasn't available. Except for the (early) breakfast hour (7h30 to 9h30) we weren't given any introduction to the hotel facilities and tourist activites arround The food at the hotel was ok, but the breakfast very poor (and the bread half dried) I would't recommend this hotel

    The dog and the waitresse were very nice !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice experience, would recommend and come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room South
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The pillows could be harder. 2. The heating in the room was not sufficient for us, especially if one sits in the room to read for an hour or two. However, the owner immediately responded to our complaint and brought an extra portable heater. 3. We were hearing noise from other rooms during the morning (9-10) hours.

    1. The breakfast was good. They serve coffee with hot milk, which we appreciate a lot! 2. The main courses at dinners (i.e. cutlet, fish from nearby lake, kalbgeschnetzeltes) were very good. 3. Sauna was very good. 4. All of the staff members (including the owners) were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant experience and we would definitely come back here in future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The billiards table, fussball table and the bowling facility could be used only on payment which kind of put us off even though it was very nominally priced.

    The owner and staff were very friendly and polite, contrary to what we read in some reviews. The room was spacious, cosy and warm and the kids were very happy with the bunk beds. The ample parking space available was a major plus point. Again contrary to some older reviews, there is a lift so you don't have to carry your luggage up the stairs! For anyone interested, there is a small Volg & as well as a Coop outlet, a short walk from the hotel where you can purchase your necessities or groceries. The sports equipment rental shop is right across the hotel so that's very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    I almost never write reviews, but the staff here were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I almost never write reviews, but the staff here were so friendly and extremely helpful [with great English]. They all went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They also provided very useful advice on the surrounding area that enabled us to see the highlights in the (too) short time we had for our visit. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean an comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean an comfortable. Perfect for a stay that was centered around being outdoors all day. It was a five minute walk from the train station; very convenient! The resident dog was adorable, an added can bonus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Warm and friendly hotel! Near Oeschinensee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear people walking on the floor above us and it can get a little loud late night

    Staff were very friendly and assist with much patience. Restaurant serves excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Kendersteg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was incredibly helpful and thoughtful. She put us in a room away from the street where there was construction. She also gave us good recommendations of places to hike and where to get supplies. The breakfasts provided us with many choices of fresh breads, cereal, juices, eggs, etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay for a great (swiss) price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could've been a bit warmer at night.

    The rooms were very large and clean. Washrooms are especially modern. Great staff, especially during the dinner service. Had a very homey and comfy feel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoy the stay, the staff was very kind, the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a little high, otherwise it was wonderful.

    I really enjoy the stay, the staff was very kind, the place is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Breathtaking view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator Even walking makes other guests annoyed because the wood floor may be old.

    Breathtaking view Good location Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Our host was excellent and very attentive to guests needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was excellent and very attentive to guests needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly , clean , perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly , clean , perfect !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, very nice staff, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were very limited

    Fantastic location, very nice staff, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Great time in a very beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic Location with wonderful view of the mountains and good central access to town as well as activities. Very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    We have stayed before at the Bluemslisalp and are already looking forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    A very well run hotel with friendly and professional staff. Outstanding cuisine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    A wonderful week's walking and eating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    A very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice hotel. We had wonderful views of the mountains from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, excellent cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is not at the actual safety standart

    Great location, excellent cuisine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great choice at breakfast. A large room with very comfortable beds, lots of storage space and a big bathroom too. Lovely to have a balcony too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Love Kandersteg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the things here were great. Love here very much, especially the scenery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, very relaxing, clean, unpretentious.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable, very relaxing, clean, unpretentious. Kind staff. Perfectly situated in relationship to trailheads and train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were extremely comfy. Amazing views all around. Staff were so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could've been better if there was a kettle in the room

    Amazing location and view. Staff super friendly. Service was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    nice place to stay in the mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Breakfast was excellent, bread selection and everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Extremely friendly and charming establishment.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly and charming establishment. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.8
    The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish we were able to stay longer.

    The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The food is innovative and the quality of food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were excellent. Room was large, quite adequate for our group of three. Excellent large bathroom. Breakfast was great. View was spectacular. Even though our Australian dollar is very low against the Swiss Franc, it was still great value.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No conditioner in shower. At breakfast they had assigned seats. My family and I were stuck in a back room farther away from the food even though no one was there.

    Overall a good hotel. Typical Swiss mountain hotel. Clean small and basic. Wifi was good and breakfast was ok. On the Edge of the village but only 10 min walking to center but there are shops and restaurants along the way. Easy 10 min walk to the cable car to the lake.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    The hotel was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast Small room for 2 adult and 2 kids Dog was always near the elevator that make me angry as well as my family

    The hotel was good Good location Free wifi and it was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    The hotel is located in a beautiful village, Kadersteg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is located in a beautiful village, Kadersteg. It is a family run hotel with full facilities. The hotel rooms are very clean and maintained properly. Also the staff is very friendly and very helpful including owners. Food served in the restaurant is excellent. We had enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The most important is the climate, almost 5 degree lower than any other location in the country.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    8.3
    We stayed there with our grandchildren and families and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there with our grandchildren and families and found them very helpful in sorting out the rooms for the nine of us. The food was the best we had in the village. We had a wonderful time.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Everything was above expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was above expectations...

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    Lovely homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely homely feel. Great staff and super restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and well situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable and well situated hotel. Excellent food!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly small personal family run hotel with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly small personal family run hotel with good facilities, excellent staff and food. Great location, can't wait to return 😎

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.5
    Good sized room and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor in room could do with an update - a bit old-fashioned.

    Good sized room and staff very friendly. Restaurant very nice with good food.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast with my favourite birschermuesli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast with my favourite birschermuesli. Room simply but nicely furnished with a lovely balcony.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    The room was very clean and the hotel manager was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very clean and the hotel manager was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    The owners and staff are friendly and very accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners and staff are friendly and very accomodating. The location is great and the restaurant is one of the best in Kandersteg.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: