Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bristol Relais du Silence Superior 3 stars

Obere Dorfstrasse 6, 3715 Adelboden, Switzerland

#9 of 51 hotels in Adelboden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is located in a wonderful area, and it’s easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old-fashioned for me taste.

    This hotel is located in a wonderful area, and it’s easy to find. The staff is amazing, and the rooms are not too small. Great view from the balconies!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting with a very pleasant room and a wonderful view from every window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just are not used to these prices. It is so expensive. We did like the meals. Make it clear on the website what 1/2 board means. Some of us would not know.

    The location was fantastic, just walked off the bus. Everyone was so nice and worked so hard. We saw everyone do every job. Loved the tubs in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at hotel Bristol in adelbolden was Amazing. Friendly hosts. Anki was extremely sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at hotel Bristol in adelbolden was amazing. Friendly hosts, Anki was very sweet. We even got a free upgrade to a bigger room. They are flexible that way provided the rooms are available, I guess. They gave us an early check in upon request too. Great breakfast, a wide spread. The views from our room was brilliant. Highly recommend. Thank you .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey and spa area quite small (we had to wait for half an hour until one of the six deck chairs was free). Expected more considering what we paid.

    Very friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Average due to my room location almost inside the hotel's restaurant..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room location was, at least, terrible. They have a room that is almost inside the hotel's restaurant, and sadly I was chosen to stay in such room. The room itself is very good, but its location makes it impossible to rest, from 7am to 10am and from 6pm to 10pm. I have read about this room before going to the hotel and made the big mistake of not contacting them beforehand asking to not stay in that room. I was travelling on vacations, looking for some relaxing days, but unfortunately I had to make my plans according to the hotel restaurants'... Every time we went out of our room when the restaurant was open, the hotel guests made a surprising face of "Wow, are their room really there? Where are these guys coming from?"..

    Very good breakfast.. the hotel's team is very kind and treat you nicely. The location is excellent, and the overall cleanness of the hotel is superb. It has everything needed to receive an excellent feedback from my wife and I.. but unfortunately my room location was hard to believe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Well located, comfortable, amazing view and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - South
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience, the hotel is well located, just above the Main Street. We also got an upgrade to a nicer room, which was really good. We had already booked a montais view room and our room had an amazing view. The hosts were super nice and friendly, I totally recommend this place. The picture I’m attaching is from our room view in room 4.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is very polite and attentive. Very clean and comfortable. Located in the city center, in a short distance from the bus station, stores and access to the ski tracks. The SPA, although not very big, is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay, helped by extremely friendly hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very elaborate and tasty, we loved the croissants. The hotel made us a picnic since we left very early, which was beyond what was expected, very nice. I would recommend this hotel, situated in the center of Adelboden (main lift 400m).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Suuuper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The visit was waaay too short.

    Rooms are very spacious and food was very,very nice Thomas is super cook, very central location Anke and Manuel very helpful receptionists. More than happy to come back 😘

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    I'd stay there again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is set in my dad's hometown. I didn't realize when I booked that it was on the same street as the house he grew up in! Beautiful town!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Be careful of "Mountain Lifts Inclusive" service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights

    False information of "cable cars inclusive" campaign. On arrival at Hotel we requested to give necessary card BUT reception denied. The service is in case of direct reservation only and NOT applicable through Booking. com. We intended to use this service for three days; afternoon of day of arrival to morning of day of departure, but actually for one day with Adelboden Day Card with additional CHF 33 for each.

    facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    The price from booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price from booking.com wasn't the actually price. Our child wasn't included and we had to pay extra. I want a refund from booking.com. Hotel said its your fault.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very friendly staff from the reception to the breakfast service! - Steam bath, Sauna, Jacuzzi (only this one at a minimal fee) was a great bonus after a long day's hike. Small but nice facility with an outside garden to relax. - Our room was large and very comfortable. A great value for money! - Centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.0
    Owners trying to make a quick buck and blame booking.com for their issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked a room for two adults and one child and received a price from Booking.com - the proprietor then suggested we needed to pay CHF75 for the child, despite being accommodated in a bed that was already in the room. I refused. Was then told charge would be waived but CHF25 would be added to our bill for child's breakfast. I refused. Then offered child's breakfast for CHF12.50 - I again balked and in the end paid nothing extra. The room smelled bad - like curry? - and was outdated. Very unhappy with initial response from proprietor re: booking.com's failings in selling us the room without the CHF75 charge for child. The room was hugely over-priced already and no way would I pay one penny more. However, in the end, I got the room for the contracted price. Either the hotel or booking.com is deeply at fault here and is looking to gouge customers - 75 for a pull out bed for a child with two adults? Ridiculous and shameful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No conditioner. The road was windy to Adelboden.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice view from windows 4 flour-to mountains and fall. Good breakfast, but it begining at 7:45 a.m. Car parking was full near the hotel and the car we left on the puclic city parking. At first I was disapointed to this news, but it was okey. And maybe it was better. They gave discount to this public car parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Good quality place to stay, not too pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Extremely comfortable, great location near centre of Adelboden yet not on main street therefore quieter. The staff were simply amazing - incerdibly helpful with their help in sorting out our luggage transport (we were walking from place to place and needed to arrange transport for our suitcase). They also helped with sorting out a bag we had lost on a train in switzerland. So friendly and they could not have done more to assist us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Adelboden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very nice room with great view on the mountains. The hotel is located in the centre of the village, but it's nevertheless very calm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing. I loved the breakfast buffet and I decided to have dinner in the hotel. All of the four courses I had were delicious. Next time I'm in Adelboden I will stay in the hotel Bristol again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa could have been better

    Check in was efficient and friendly. The room is comfortable. I had hoped to use the Spa - the jacuzzi is extra so I got a token, but when I got to the spa it was like a sauna and the "jacuzzi" was basically just a large bath with jets not a real one. So I didn't bother in the end and just had a bath (the bathroom was great, with a real bath). There is no pool at the hotel and we were not offered the special discount card which gives discounts on a lot of attractions and lifts and things when we checked in - we had to ask for it after we found out about it - and that would have given us free access to the public pool in the village. But we found out too late, which was sad. Breakfast was good quality with many selections (one of our better breakfasts of the trip) but somewhat spoiled by the very noisy children running around that nobody was looking after (other guests, so not the hotels fault, but it would have been nice if someone would have spoken to the guests!). Location of hotel is great - right next to the bus terminus and the shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Stunning views and comfortable welcoming hotel with great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tea facilities in the room would have been good

    Beautiful location, quiet, stunning views of mountains. Ski lifts take you to the tops, wild flowers, cows with bells Ideal for someone with limited fitness and stamina

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful boutique hotel with amazing warm friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water kettle in room or coffee cup, so that's why had to trouble them for hot water and cup for tea.

    The staff was amazing. They noticed we keep asking for hot water during breakfast, so they delivered two huge thermal pot of hot water to our rooms every single night! And when we asked for more toiletries as our family of 5 uses a lot, the housekeeper stocked up with extra stuff the next morning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Great weather, great snow, great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One or two additional restaurant options in town would be welcome.

    Clean functional thoughtful and extremely welcoming hotel, located in the heart of Adelboden

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Well above expectations for a 3* hotel, slightly let down by cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was unfortunately disappointing. There were stains on a bathrobe and one of the towels as well as on the bathroom walls when we first checked in. These issues were quickly rectified as soon as we pointed them out and the staff were very apologetic, but it was still a shame that the room wasn't already clean from the start. We also noticed quite a few cobwebs in the bathroom. The whirlpool baths in the wellness area are token-operated and tokens must be purchased from reception in advance. This is not only inconvenient once you're already in the spa area and undressed, but also doesn't really make any sense as all of the rest of the spa area is included in the room rate except for the whirlpools!

    The facilities and food in this hotel are well beyond what the 3* rating suggests. In particular, the restaurant for evening meals was genuinely fantastic. The half-board (Halbpension) option is great value and left us very full and satisfied both evenings. The staff were very attentive to our needs, and provided nice extras such as cake and tea served in the reception after a cold day in the mountains. The wellness area was nicely designed and pleasant, and certainly a nice bonus during our stay. Overall we really enjoyed staying at the Bristol and would definitely book again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly! They even welcomed our dogs with some cookies :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Great view from balcony, quite big room, nice personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view from balcony, quite big room, nice personnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Big rooms, clean, good breakfast, view, location and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be mentioned

    Big rooms, clean, good breakfast, view, location and nice hotel staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    extra CHF 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra CHF 4.- for Jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The room and the breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with a great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, ready to help, flexible with guests needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, ready to help, flexible with guests needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Incredibly friendly staff, good-sized room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly friendly staff, good-sized room, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    We felt at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and nice staff. Nice dinner and breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - South
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite the hard.

    The staff were very welcoming. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.2
    Room was very nice and clean with the superb view (we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Signs to the hotel could be clearer. We had difficulties to find the entrance and even a temporary place to park the car.

    Room was very nice and clean with the superb view (we were upgraded to suite because it was our anniversary). Breakfast set up was good; fresh food, efficient service and cosy and quiet atmosphere. Wellness area was comfortable, we enjoyed all three saunas a lot!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.8
    Good location near main street and parking available close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed mattress was hard, sheets were rough and pillows uncomfortable (too soft - we both had to fold them to sleep on). Only 1 power outlet for charging phones and laptop computers. The outlet by the bed did not work. Drinking glasses stored above the toilet (!) was unhygienic.

    Good location near main street and parking available close to the hotel. Very nice friendly reception from staff. Strong pressure in shower. Quiet room (Birke).

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    everything was perfect - the staff were nice, facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like one small thing - we had to pay for a bottle of water in the spa area. Water in spa, at least a jag of tap water, is something obvious

    everything was perfect - the staff were nice, facilities, comfort and cleanliness excellent. I really liked stylish lobby with the fireplace.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The people at the reception were very friendly and gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I know that the prices are very high in Switzerland. So the only negative element of the stay was the high prices (hotel, restaurant).

    The people at the reception were very friendly and gave us good walks to do. The breakfast was very nice too and had gluten free bread for celiaque people.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    The breakfast was delicious and the location was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was delicious and the location was wonderful. Our room was very comfortable and I enjoyed sitting on our balcony and enjoying the mountain view.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly manager and hotel staff - which is rare in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly manager and hotel staff - which is rare in Switzerland! Location in village, just set back from the main road. Amazing views - Adelboden is stunning! Very spacious double room (superior) - with sofa bed, perfect for family with small kids Lovely meal in restaurant and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.7
    Very friendly and accommodating hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were beyond firm, rock solid I dare say. Very difficult to get comfortable on, and I sleep on a firm mattress. The hotel is located very near a very old church with a very loud bell. It rings every 30 minutes, all day, and especially all night

    Very friendly and accommodating hotel staff. Spacious, clean rooms by local standards

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Tip top hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The mattress had a dent in it. As if a very heavy person had been sleeping in it for a while

    Tip top hotel. Dud not try out the wellness area. Assume it is great

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.3
    A very friendly receptionist welcomed us and introduced us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Adelboden is in general a very quiet place. No outdoor afterski or vibrant clubs or pubs for middle aged guests. Hotel is also a quiet place to be (good or bad?!). With the very strong CHF-NOK rate and general high costs, a ski holiday in Switzerland turns out to be less value for money than other Euro resorts. But Switzerland is unique in its own way and perhaps worth paying the little extra.

    A very friendly receptionist welcomed us and introduced us to our room. Spacious and welcoming room (family room), free wi-fi and great view towards the mountains. The hotel restaurant serves excellent 5 course dinners to a reasonable price. Small but well function and relax section with Finish sauna, traditional sauna, steam bath and 2 jacuzzies.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    The staff were excellent,especially the waitress in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bells kept ringing from the church opposite,which did go on through the night. Not good if your a light sleeper.

    The staff were excellent,especially the waitress in the dinning room. The rooms were immaculate,very comfy beds. Great food.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Easy to find and very good communication from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small ski & boot room for the size of hotel. The Spa area is spoiled by the 2 single jacuzzi baths that you had to wait until someone was finished, it then drained and filled on insertion of token you had to pay for. This takes about 25 mins every time, so you can wait an hour or more, couldn't understand this. Small bedrooms.

    Easy to find and very good communication from the hotel management prior to our stay. Warm welcome on arrival. Very good breakfast. Central location to the village and ski lift.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    missing child menu while bought half pension, so small children pay/eat 5 dishes for adults Internet exist but weak signals in family room

    welcoming staff walk distance to city and gondola

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    Very good, a warm welcome exceptionally pleasant staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good, a warm welcome exceptionally pleasant staff, good location, and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress was old and I couldn't sleep the first night until I turned it around.

    location

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could not unlock your room from the inside with out a key.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, lovely Spa, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little tight - perhaps one less piece of furniture.

    Great location, friendly staff, lovely Spa, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    very good quality/price ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good quality/price ratio. staff was very friendly. hotel room was proper, spacious and nice decorated.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.2
    Everything was very good, indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was very good, indeed!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    All staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Food excellent. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.1
    Location, reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at the breakfast buffet

    Location, reception

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Friendly help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly help. Really beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    COmfortable, quiet hotel with beautiful views and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    COmfortable, quiet hotel with beautiful views and very efficient and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    8.3
    staff, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff, breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was very nice,the location of hotel is excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Breakfast was very nice,the location of hotel is excellent staff were kind

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    6.7
    They chargé us to much, I hade all ready payed for one extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They chargé us to much, I hade all ready payed for one extra bed

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    Staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not much

    Staff were great Rooms large and very comfortable and clean Great food Great facilities

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: