Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Waldhorn 3 stars

Waldhöheweg 2, Breitenrain-Lorraine, 3013 Bern, Switzerland

#9 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1642 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel waldhorn was very nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel waldhorn was very nice and comfortable. The room and bathroom were big and had great windows that opened which was nice for letting in cooler air. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the railroad station and just a short walk to the beautiful rosegarten. I would highly recommend it for a stay in Bern.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Want to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel even the short tram ride from city centre was interesting

    Layout of the room, fantastic large bathroom entry area where you unpacked bags. Lovely white bright atmosphere, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great location in Bern!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!

    Very helpful staff and nice facility. Right next to bus stop and given free tickets to use. Nice safe parking area in basement of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with good location and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was in the cellar, not very nice, no windows and very hot there. But the breakfast was good.

    Nice hotel, pretty big room, free coffee, good location: only 20 minutes walking to city centre or by tram, just 1 stop. We were with a motorbike and could easily park in the street (free).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel and staff but noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise outside because of road works and building work and bells rang every quarter of an hour. Lot of shouting outside late at night. Had to keep windows open because it was hot at night

    Staff very good. Hotel very clean. Liked USB charging sockets in room. Liked free tea and coffee at reception. Good reasonably central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was really clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I didn't find nice was the very long corridor to the room, but that's just me being picky about the layout. Overall really nice Hotel.

    The room was really clean and comfortable. It was nice to have free coffe and tea in the lobby and the location is perfect, being near the city center, easily accesible by tram and in a quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, slightly expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very well appointed hotel with all of the amenities you could want to make your stay just that bit more comfortable. Great continental breakfast included, friendly staff and a great assortment of English TV channels thank you)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    • Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    • Great location. Just 3 tram stops away from old town, and free public transport card is given. Also close to the Rosenpark and Barenpark. • Friendly and helpful staff. • Clean room, quality bathroom. • Free coffee at the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot mention specific things - maybe a bed should be a bit more comfortable.

    Overall, it is a wonderful hotel for the requested money. Around 5 minutes from the old town (by tram). Free coffee and tea at the receiption desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    To reception: Thanks for tips for swimming in River Aare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh coffee should be available at the breakfast, not only machine coffee. Best option is the filter coffee. The room is far too hot, and there is no air condition or ventilation.

    Free coffee, quiet surroundings, friendly service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, modern rooms, located close to a street railway station, 10min walk to city centre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was very hot in Bern during my stay and the rooms are not climatized, which is okay, cuz I didnt pay for that. But I had a room facing to the South-East which got very hot and I was not able to cool it down, even with windows opened during night. Below my windows was some kind of hotspot for loud speaking people even during night or in the early morning which got annoying sometimes.

    Personally, I love the coffee and changing varieties of bread they serve. The hotel switched to modern smart TVs and have access to a broad variety of channels. Free tea and coffee through the whole day and a bottle of water on the day you leave. The staff is very nice and is eager to help you with any matter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've been nicer if it was equiped with AC and if there was a refrigerator in the room.

    Easy access to public transportation. Quiet and in a residential area with nearby restaurants. Very kind and respectful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airconditioning, although they did give us a fan. it was extremely hot.

    The staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. It was clean, bright and fresh. They gave us free public transport card to use during our stay which meant we didn't have to work out how to pay for public transport. nice location and good breakfast included in price. really nice i'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything about this place was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish there was a fan given there was no AC. However that is my only complaint.

    Everything about this place was great. The staff were super helpful and the breakfast each morning was really good and a great perk. Also its so close to everything including the tram.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Generally ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who was checking us in could be more friendly and helpful. The room was very small, it was very hot in the room. For breakfast there was no vegetables at all. Price too high for money - however in Switzerland all is very expensive.

    Generally ok. However comparing to other hotels and places of 3* in Europe - from the country of Top Quality, we had much more expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service without a smile. No aircon so room very hot. They provided a fan after asking but wanted a deposit in case we nicked it - personally offensive

    Nice hotel, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.9
    Worst ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Rude and unfriendly.the worst i met so far during any of previous travels. 2)Racist and so not friendly to foreigners from asia 3)Room extremely small 4)Bed and sheets are so uncomfortable and rough 5)The room is hot..no aircond or fan provided 6)Location is way off..forget about getting any bus for your early morning train to another destination 7)cafeteria for breakfast next to the toilet I checked out in 10minutes despite paying in full..no refund was even offered

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for a few days in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small, and the view from the hotel room was not very exciting. Though I am really nitpicking when I say this.

    The hotel is within walking distance from the city center (20 mins), but there's also a tram stop very nearby if you want to take it easy. There are some nice restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood of the hotel as well if you really don't feel like going far. Staff was helpful and friendly and took time to give us recommendations and make the most of our stay. We felt very welcome. The room was a bit small but very comfortable, tidy and clean. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very decent as well with plenty of options to pick from. After breakfast times, coffee and tea are also available in the lobby. All in all a very decent hotel with little extras that make your stay just that extra enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel around 20 mins walk from the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room rather small for 2 people.

    We loved the free tea and coffee and reasonably priced refrigerated alcoholic drinks in the lobby. The underground parking on site was useful, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom smelt a little bit weird, but it was bearable

    Location was good, staff were friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice with a decent spread.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, simple accommodation near the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clean, quiet hotel near the city centre, tram stop nearby, helpful staff. Excellent coffee for free available in the lobby all day long, good breakfast. Fast WiFi. Rooms are basic but clean and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is located very close to city center in a good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection was so-so, rooms are considerably small. Not very encouraging for a long stay, but perfect for a sleepover.

    Hotel is located very close to city center in a good and quite district. Rooms have all the needful, staff is ready to step in and help. Design is ok, typical for hotels that deal with people on business trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional hotel for city stay, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and cimfoftable. Staff very helpful at checkin. I liked the bowl of apples at the entrance to help yourself to. Also the suztainable, refillable, eady to use bottles used in the bathroom fo soap and shampoo. Great breakfast. Very easy 6 minute tram ride to the city centre and railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast, access to the old town was a 10 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast, access to the old town was a 10 minute walk via the rose garden with a return by bus the 4th stop out off the old town with the stop 50 metres to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Traditional Looking Hotel in Residential Neighborhood with Good Transport to Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that there’s room for improvement as far as cleanliness is concerned. Somehow I did not feel comfortable walking about the room, Maybe because of the arrangement of the room furniture.

    Helpful staff, water, coffee & fruit available for us in the lobby; a kind of nutty bread for breakfast which I really liked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in Bern for business and holidays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small. Otherwise, nothing.

    Very pleasant staff (gave a good recommendation for dinner), good location in Bern (about 10 minutes walk to the city centre and trams/bus just outside), relatively inexpensive considering the city in question, modern and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    There was a loud rock concert going on nearby which was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a loud rock concert going on nearby which was clear to hear in the room. I know this was beyond their control but there should have been some warning before hand so I could make an informed decision on the hotel for that night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would appreciate all the sites we stayed at including bus and tram numbers to reach hotel from train station. That would save a lot of time I spent finding TI and waiting my turn in line for info. I did have international Verizon plan but it didn't work well .

    The receptionist at the desk was very positive and helpful.Lots of smiles and good sense of humor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel just outside of the town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay, staff were slow to refill when items ran out, also table clearing took too long for a busy breakfast service. We struggled to be understood in either English or German

    Easily accessible with public transport from Hauptbahnhof, also great for the concert we attended in the Stade de Suisse

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    great location close to tram line (5 min away from centre by...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cost for parking is not exactly cheap; room was not very spacious but ok for 1 night

    great location close to tram line (5 min away from centre by tram); friendly and helpful staff; clean room; good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Just a great hotel with great breakfast & free tram pass !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable, no issues.

    Overall a fantastic hotel made all the better by great staff who were there to help without being over zealous. I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is no far from the tram stop #9 about 5-6 stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit small and no fridge.

    This hotel is no far from the tram stop #9 about 5-6 stops from Hbf or just 1 stop after Viktoriaplazt. Once you get off the tram it is on the right handside after the intersection. They gave us Bern card and free bottles of water to take with us when we tour to Thun and left luggages with them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The staff were cheerful and friendly and gave us some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were cheerful and friendly and gave us some wonderful sightseeing suggestions. They also lent me a tool to replace a screw in my suitcase. The location is quiet and located very close to a stop on the public transport which is included free with the hotel stay. Free coffee, tea and apples in the reception area were an added touch. The breakfast was great. A great choice for a stay in Bern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Really nice staff, good breakfast in nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and street outside noisy at night. No AC. So you had to have window open.

    Right beside the railway station and only ten minutes walk to old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Wi-fi, car park, good choice of breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit further to walk to the centre than you think !

    Free Wi-fi is a plus, secured car park. The sockets to charge yours devices are brilliant! The reception is very helpful, and friendly, free public transport ticket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Really really good service and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really really good service and nice staff. Ladies at the reception are extremely warm and kind to me which helps me a lot. Good location and also a very clean property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Good value great nights rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little pricey.

    Great stay, comfortable rooms a bit on the small side but beds were super comfy. Friendly staff , very helpful. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Conveniently located modern hotel in Berne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently renewed hotel, within easy distance of the city centre (walking or 3 stops on tram 9, free public transport is provided). Quiet neighbourhood, with an underground parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities are brand new and an intelligent use of space is made (bathroom, cupboard space etc.). The breakfast is plentiful. Fully recommended - I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Friendly service in pleasant hotel, with good breakfast in small but clean room, having all you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single room is very small.

    I liked the location and closeness to the public transport. I liked the rich breakfast and the coffee complementary corner at the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    If we come to Bern once more we will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A certain lack of storage place in the room.

    All in all - wonderful place to stay in Bern. Wholeheartedly recommended if you plan to come to Bern. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Our room (#307) was large, light and well designed. Quiet sleep, close to the center (4 tram stops), free coffee and apples at the lobby any time, ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    The parking at the basement, the breakfast and the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the room may be better to be lower, so that, we can stay longer in Bern

    The parking at the basement, the breakfast and the reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Handy usb port on bedside, nice soaps, super yummy breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could be a little faster.

    Handy usb port on bedside, nice soaps, super yummy breakfast - 3 types of bread including a super yummy brioche loaf. Recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable place to work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decorations are a bit plain. The photo on the net does not really represent the place.

    A very comfortable place to work. Yes the eggs were good, if not "fluffy."

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Bern - the city you will like.
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's not our first time in this Hotel - that is the sign that everything was great. It is possible to think that the hotel is rather far from the center. Nevertheless, you can reach the center in 3 - 4 minutes by the tram. Sometimes, we had an impression that tram N 9 was waiting for us (the interval between the trams was 4 - 6 minutes!). And the walk through the rose garden (with the Einstein bench - that is new!), the information center and old city would become unforgettable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Cosy hotel close to the Bern centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the breakfast a lot. Also, 24 hour accessible free tea/coffee machine was a plus. The room was nicely equally equipped and clean. Tram stop is just round the corner and you get a public transport card, which also fully covers day of arrival and day of departure. Nice :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good, would go back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful & friendly lady on reception. Nice touch with tea & coffee machine in reception. Free tram passes. My son was visiting Bern after working there nearly 30 years ago. The receptionist talked to him about the changes & also knew the person he worked for, really made his stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    This is our new favorite hotel within an easy drive of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like most hotels, the bedding is a very warm down comforter. These are too warm for my husband and I am allergic to down. We usually remove the comforter and just use the cover as a double sheet.

    This is our new favorite hotel within an easy drive of the Munich airport! Very clean, comfortable with an excellent breakfast that starts early enough for those morning departures. If you are in the area for a longer time, the hotel location is great for exploring the town and restaurants, including Weihenstephan, home of some of the best beer in the world.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful visit to Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was conveniently located near a tram stop and close enough to walk to Old Town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room, though small, was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Should have stayed two days instead of one. Happened to be there on Sunday and many shops were close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Only one block to the trams and buses. Set in a residential area so very quiet. Outside the downtown but only 5 or 10 minutes to city center by public transportation. Beautiful old neighborhood, with a walk around the block we saw many interesting buildings and homes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    quite area not far from the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was very small, no facilities, breakfast buffet with limited variety. I had problem with the wifi and could not connect.

    quite area not far from the center. Excellent idea to give a ticket for free public transportation all the stay long. Very kind idea to provide all guests with apples and a machine for free coffee always available and a bottle of water when check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    The ladies at front desk are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very basic.

    The ladies at front desk are very helpful. Hotel design and facilities are modern, e.g. power strip has USB port, which is very convenient :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Very well located hotel with very good amenities and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very compact.

    Breakfast had a good selection and was very nice. Rooms are really clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Appreciated the complimentary transit card. Also the offer of water to take with us on our departure for our drive. Nice extra touches.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable stay in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no complaints. The morning buffet is only mediocre, as most mid-range hotels are, so don't expect anything more than the usual (ham, cheese, cereal, bread, yogurt). The hotel had no control over this, but major construction is going on (Oct 2017) across the street. The banging and yelling started very early, but we managed to fall back asleep. Something to be aware of if you're sensitive.

    We stayed here for two nights and were satisfied with everything, including the location. The free passes for public transportation were a nice touch, and we did use the local trams to explore. Coming from Germany, we didn't realize that our plugs were the wrong size, but the hotel staff had an adapter for our use. Our beds were comfortable. The double room is quite small, but we don't spend much time there so we didn't care. It's completely adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    It was clean and the bathroom was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds weren't especially comfortable, although not terrible. The curtains are definitely not black out and the room got really hot in the morning which woke me up. The breakfast was also not very friendly to people who couldn't eat dairy, almost everything had dairy in it.

    It was clean and the bathroom was really nice. It's a nice, quiet location that is really close to the center and they give you a transportation pass.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Well located and well thought out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was located only 5 minutes from the old town, by tram, which was very nice. The room was small but exceptionally well planned. They even provided firm pillows and comfortable light blankets, whereas other hotels in Zwitserland and Austria only tend to provide the standard super soft (uncomfortable ) pillows and far too warm bed covers. Moreover, the hotel offered free coffee and tea as well as free public transport tickets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    This lovely hotel offers a very quiet, relaxing stay with a delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, but since it was so efficient, we didn't mind.

    We were very happy with how easy it was to reach this hotel quickly on public transit. The receptionist was very friendly and super helpful. She gave us a map & offered suggestions for walks & restaurants around the city. She even looked up all our train times for a complicated day of travel & printed them off for us! After we checked out, she let us leave our luggage so we could enjoy our walk around the city. We also loved how quiet the place was, the clean, modern decor and very comfy bed! To top it all off, the breakfast included was very healthy and delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Good location with helpful staff and good amenities. We loved it and would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little larger, but there was reasonable hanging space with the best collection of coat hangers we've seen in ages!

    Good location to city & bahnhof with the connecting tram (No 9) which after very few stops dropped us almost at the front door! Great for any city. Staff were very helpful, rooms very clean, and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of Room, Hotel.com should make it compulsory to have room size listed

    Front desk, breakfast girl and room was clean so the cleaning crew were all excellent!' Free bus and tram passes by Hotel, nice perk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable but tainted by a small matter..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel after 19:30 and paid the CHF16 per day for parking. The next morning we checked out of our room around 09:30 and went into town until 12:20 and returned to pick up the car. The receptionist who was there was quite rude to us about not taking the car out of the car park when we checked out and left us feeling told off. Which was a shame because otherwise we enjoyed our stay. SO YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

    Nice hotel, good room, location and breakfast. Novel parking via car lift to underground car park. The check-in staff member was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice budget hotel in a location that suited us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice budget hotel in a location that suited us. As you get free travel on public transport its easy to get to, use number 9 tram from station (we walked initially). Nice staff good breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice quarter of Bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room (at least, I did not find one).

    Nice quarter of Bern. Guests get a 24 hour ticket for the public transport. Our dog could stay with us in the room. Our favourite hotel in Bern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Gem hotel short walk from city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat tight parking that uses car elevator .

    Excellent location. Short walk to the city center. Comfortable and clean hotel that features a very good breakfast. Parking garage available. Bike shop around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    so so!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was small and had to take a tram to get to hotel, but not quite far from the station. there was 3? 4 stops from station to hotel and close to the tram stop

    staffs at reception was so kind and welcoming!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice and 10 minute walk into Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground parking garage is not large can only accommodate small vehicles not designed larger vehicles; recommend you inspect prior to using this garage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff at reception were really helpful and the route...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in room at start of night though a cool breeze helped us to sleep after midnight.

    Staff at reception were really helpful and the route suggested into the old town was an ideal introduction to the city. Room was compact but that's what you expect in city hotels generally, with bright, fresh décor. Liked the provision of free hot drinks in the foyer whenever we wanted them. 15 to 20 minute walk into town but the trams stop very close by too and come along every few minutes. We were at the station for our return journey very quickly and it's a great alternative to the very expensive taxis. Free travel pass for trams provided by the hotel. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    The check out process was amazing, they even gave us a water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night person checking us in was a little awkward.

    The check out process was amazing, they even gave us a water to go. Very accommodating when we were running late for check in. Cute room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean, efficient, modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No character. Felt a bit like a nice college dorm room. Nothing was lacking, but nothing to make it memorable.

    Clean and efficient and comfortable. Easy to get to from the train station ( take tram #9 a few stops.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location , clean and well organised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Its a minor thing because apart from sleeping we really weren't in the room much but the rooms are snug and have no a/c ( but of course you can open a window ) if your a person who likes to spread themselves out then this hotel may not be for you.

    Having a tram stop a few minutes from the front door was really great as was the travel ticket you receive included in the price. The Breakfast was well organised and tasty. Excellent cleanliness throughout I have a dust allergy so my nose always knows ! Staff were helpfull and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is kind of impatient. The windows of the room shouldn't be opened, or there would be plenty of strange bugs inside the room at night.

    Location is great. Only three stops away from downtown, and bus No. 9 passes right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    free translation card in bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift to the parking place. it's very narrow. it's fit to benz vito exactly. and it's quite expensive for parking here.

    free translation card in bern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean, well equipped hotel with a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's Switzerland, so everything is expensive! To be fair, it's probably relatively good value compared to other places...but it still felt expensive!

    Very modern building that is well equipped and clean. Good wifi throughout the property as well. The location is quite good, being very close to a tram stop and just 5 stops from the centre of Bern. The breakfast is good with a large selection of options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel Outside old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive and quite tight parking garage. Room was very warm, no fans and room was quite small.

    Staff were friendly, easily walkable to main attraction but we got a free transport pass which was good for returning to the hotel. Quiet location so we could have the window open. Free tea and coffee in the lobby was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    good, solid, very clean, pleasant,value for money. Staff friendly and helpful. 3rd stay there.
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    slowish Wi-Fi at times.....room temp.. hot weather.......light sleeper ....so opening window at night let in occasional street noise. Winter would be fine.

    breakfasts.........had early departure and they set up breakfast for me.......and the availability of free fresh coffee all day. *****Free City Transport Pass during my stay******

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Comfortable clean light room in a convenient location. Great breakfast with healthy choices and great bread. Extra touch is tea and coffee and apples for guests in the foyer. A very safe and caring hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    An enjoyable holiday in Switzerland's capital city which is small but perfectly formed!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices as stated above

    The hotel, as seems to be the case throughout the city , gave us travel pass which we used on many occasions. There were numerous eating places close to the hotel which we chose to use rather than going back into the city, albeit by bus or tram. The travel pass could even be used to go on the funicular up to Gurten, a little mountain just south of the city, which gave wonderful views over the city and the mountains and lovely scenery. The old town is very picturesque and compact so a three night stay was just right. As in all of Switzerland, prices are almost twice that in the neighbouring countries, but I'm very glad we made the trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Waldhorn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: