Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropol 4 stars

Untere Dorfstrasse 35, 3906 Saas-Fee, Switzerland

#37 of 130 hotels in Saas-Fee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The single room is a bit small.

    The hotel excels in the two things that are most important to me -- cleanliness and internet speed. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The pool and the hot tub are nice and open most of the day. The property is about 10-12-minute walk from the lifts. The breakfast is very rich and the four-course dinner is always amazing. Every single member of the hotel staff is extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs in the swimming pool area could be more comfortable (longer) and have a head rest. Boot room is rather cramped.

    Very comfortable and clean room. Very good breakfast-eggs with do it yourself egg boilerand timer, smoked salmon, cheese, cold meats, great birchermusli, great bread and choice of jams and honey, unsalted and salted butter. Very enjoyable dinner with choice between meat, fish or vegetarian and 2 or 4 courses at different prices. Very good wines and spirits available. Nice cosy ambiance around wood burning fireplace and welcome drink on arrival. Attentive staff and lift to the cableways in the morning. Lovely warm swimming pool (smallish) and jacuzzi - fine for relaxing after skiing or on a bad weather day. Great ski boot warmers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i would not mind having some kind of rubber carpet outside of the spa (there is an exit door inside the spa where you can exit to the outside and technically cool down in the snow). Since the snow si not cleaned there and it is usually icy - it is not possible to cool down there. Would be great is that area would be cleaned a bit and there would be something on the ground (like some rubber thingie).

    Amazing dinner and good spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a trip to the past! The hotel seems to have been furbished in the 80s, however, EVERYTHING is maintained and extraordinarily well cleaned. The staff are very nice and Radan is legendary. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entrance lounge and bar were quite dated and had no atmosphere. They needed to be more homely and Swiss Chalet style rather than purely functional.

    The spa facilities were excellent but they close early at 7pm and did not open each day until 2pm. The food was good quality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would under NO circumstance bring a child over 2 years old because you end up paying 100 Swiss francs per night regardless of whether the child sleeps in your bed. Also there are additional fees for the child at breakfast that you don’t necessarily take into account when viewing a free breakfast option. Should you want to use a private sauna, they charge 30 Swiss francs for 30 minutes. Also, the pool was set at a relatively low temperature so few people braved the cold. Should you decide to do so, know that the entire pool is fairly turbulent or “wavy”. There is evidently no pool gutter making it difficult to reduce the waves. Taking your ski equipment to and from the ski lift is cumbersome and there is only a shuttle option from the hotel until noon so I would highly recommend storing your gear close to the lifts.

    The food was excellent! You can taste the quality of the products and the presentation was always on point. The service staff was attentive to detail, helpful and accommodating. I also enjoyed the welcome drink. They had a wonderful cozy lounge with a fireplace. Their hot tub was a great way to relax after a day of skiing (popular and gets crowded fast). The scenery from the hotel window was breathtaking in a quiet part of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is run by a wonderful couple who made sure that in our limited time we caught the chairlifts and train to the revolving restaurant to see the extraordinary views. The dinner in the hotel was a feast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The price for the dinner was expensive. We could able to find out many good restaurant near by with superb price.

    1.) We stayed 5 nights. It was really worth staying in a room with panoramic view towards the glacier mountains. It will be best option for the people who prefer to stay with very good scenic view with the glacier mountain in front. Will be worth for money, but there are many other hotels which have such views, don't forget to compare the price. 2.) The break fast was good, we had many options in the buffet break fast. 3.) Swimming pool was quiet free most of the time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good. Hotel is well located, not too far from the car park/bus station, but also quite convenient for the lifts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if there would be sufficient boot warmers for high season-when we were there it was not at all busy.

    We greatly appreciated the airy modern feel, very nice lounge and bar area, spacious dining area, bright and comfortable bedroom and bathroom with a good size bath, swimming pool and whirlpool, warm ski boot room with boot warmers and finally the hotels own shuttle to the uphill transport facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is extremely pleasant and extra helpful. We also loved their dinner offer, which was delicious. And you couldn't ask for more in their SPA area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very restrictive opening hours for the pool and welness areas - Quite expensive - A little more flexibility on the departure time would have been welcome - A service to help with the dogs during the day in winter would be great

    - Great breakfast - Great room, cosy - Dog friendliness - Great pool and wellness area - We had access to our room earlier than normal check-in time - Welcome drink offered

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major negative but the swimming pool area is a bit dated and would benefit from some upgrading. Same goes for the rooms. For some reason the heaters in the bedrooms get switched off at night and the fridges don't work.

    Great facilities including a wellness centre, ski room and the opportunity to purchase ski passes at the hotel. Fabulous and varied breakfast. Friendly front desk staff who helped with all our requests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of explanation and communication from reception, general poor attitude towards customers, especially if you are English...you have been warned! They recommended the most expensive and distant ski hire place and made us feel as though we were not seen as valued customers but just a cash cow, trying to squeeze out as much money from us as possible at every opportunity. One example was when we came to query why we had been charged on a bus and the driver had mentioned a vistor pass we did not have... rather than explaining and apologising for not having provided us with the passes we had paid the local tax for...we were met with not only a lack of apology but in fact an aggressive attitude as we were told it was our own fault as we had not read the info booklet which made brief reference on the back. It did not however say 'pick up from reception' and we had spoken to reception twice about the bus and how / where to catch and at no point had they mentioned or provided the pass to us. Even if we were at fault somehow to be met with such an aggressive and accusatory tone is not what I expect from a 4* hotel. It upset us when we are meant to be on holiday relaxing. When my partner next approached reception the next day the old lady who had been aggressive previously again stated, 'what do you want now'. Quite frankly disgusting and not what I expect when paying £2000 for B&B for 6 nights! The room was clean, views spectacular but little things like combi hair and body wash from a pump in the shower which was more akin to a premier inn than a 4* hotel, necessitating partner to buy shampoo and conditioner in local shop, was one of the many little minor things which meant I felt the hotel was overall poor.

    Spa facilities very good, breakfast good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed is a really small double! Rooms were unbearably hot but there was no thermostat control. Open the window and the street noise may keep you awake. Breakfast is slightly not quite organised - there was always something that was not there - eg no orange juice, no bacon, no milk, no glasses. Got tired of always having to ask for things at breakfast. Toaster is better described as a micro toaster. Scrambled eggs become congealed brown mess after a while. This lets the hotel down and is easily fixable.

    Staff were very friendly. Liked the welcome drink. The fireplace is nice and cosy. Interconnecting room was good for a family of 4 - and nice and clean. Hotel has 2 electric cars that pick up and drop off from car park (but stops at 9pm! - then you walk to hotel). Location is central and convenient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool Hours should be until 10pm. Very disappointed with that. A fridge in room would be great.

    Clean, Ski Room was great. Service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received the friendliest welcome when we checked in, just wonderful. It put us in a great mood and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic, not close to ski lift

    Breakfast was great, big spa

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to think.

    View from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Swimming Pool could have been a bit more attractive. Water was bit cold. More options on the breakfast would have helped.

    Enjoyed our stay, staff was very courteous.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There should be a way of controling the temperature in the room. Sometimes it felt too hot, we had to open windows.

    A wonderful hotel. The owner and rest of staff extremely helpful. Great breakfasts and dinners simply out of this world. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. I highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wine bit expensive and overpriced for. The quality

    Friendly welcome, superb service,spotless facilities, Central location, balcony with views. Taxi service to ski slopes

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A detail perhaps, but the bar soap was not replaced once in 7 nights. (There is the liquid one fixed in the showers). BUT THE WORSE : In my opinion, the room I had should not be proposed to guest during this period of the year. And the owner should choose between night club tenants or hotel managers. I was facing the street and every night at 2-3 am enormous amount of noise. Worst, the 1st January, until 7 AM impossible to sleep. NET : The front row of the hotel is a total nightmare in term of noise. And at 7-8 AM starts the noise from the hotel in front. I guess they should either give up night club, or isolating 10 x better the windows or just not renting those rooms.

    Staff very friendly and articulated in almost every main languages. Breakfast until 11 which is unusual, but when you arrive at 10h30, they already setting for lunch and you feel a bit as a disturbance. Central location, cleaning of the room daily but to the minimum.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The price was a little high compared to the accommodations.

    Location was great.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were outstanding and deployed their responsibilities with high caliber and courteousness. The facilities were superb

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hotel Metropol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: