Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caffè dell'Arte Boutique Rooms 3 stars

via Cittadella 9, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#11 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small and overlooked street. By not having breakfast I think we missed out on staff interaction. Cafe not open at other times.

    Clean. Central location near buses, trains, lake, central square. Staff very helpful on check in. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Short but sweet stay in Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying 2 nights, not long enough to explore the area properly.

    The accommodation was not in the real tourist area which was nice and excellent restaurants nearby. Room was excellent, unusual but quaint fittings and very comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Check always where your room is Noisy street or lit up from outside No elevator for knee problems..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charme and Love room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night a room full of light and noise Room overlooking a main alley opposite a shop full of light as well as street lights the whole night The room called camera di Angelis; the angels room would shoo the angels away Feel we should have been compensated for a sleepless night!. Other than that , beautiful original decor Wonderful bed and pillows

    Marvellous location Spotless

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Sympatisch und authentisch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Guépard - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and authentic owners, they put their heart in it and it shows in every detail. They help you feel the most comfortable, are flexible, helpful, tell you about what is going on and help you make your stay easy and amazing. The rooms are individual, artistic and spaceous. There is a fridge in the hallway to get some snacks, additional coffee or a cold drink, great! We loved it and will hopefully be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Language was a problem if you don't speak German, Italian or French
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process took very long and was disorganised - another guest's credit card receipt was attached to my invoice. They forgot to mention the breakfast time. The next morning at 8:30am there was still no breakfast. When I spoked to one of the owners who spoke very little English she said I did not have breakfast with my booking even though it was clearly stated that I had. After half and hour of discussion they finally realised their mistake. I asked for a refund of the breakfast as we were rushing for the train but they said it wasn't possible as booking made on booking.com can't be refunded. Instead they made me a breakfast to go. The property was run more as a B&B than a hotel hence there isn't a receptionist after 8pm.

    The location is central. Room is big and bright with nice modern furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Really comfortable room and even an ipad there for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor thing- there was a kettle with small expresso cups and larger ones for tea, but no coffee was provided. It would have been nice maybe just to have a couple of sachets of instant as we had to leave early and couldn't stay for breakfast.

    Really comfortable room and even an ipad there for visitors' use (though we didn't really have time to even try out the WiFi). Beautifully decorated too with excellent lighting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Most memorable and helpfulness of owner and staff is much appreciated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a converted monastery without air conditioning. Although the evenings are cooler and a fan is provided, this missing element may be an issue in very hot weather.

    Extremely artistic surroundings in excellent taste. Most welcoming owners. The suite was airy and beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, friendly, lovely. The owner is great and very helpful. The garden is beautiful. We really loved the stay there and would return any time we are in Locarno!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Family run arty guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room, on street but we booked late so last room left. No double glazing but had to have windows open as it was hot with no air con. With Windows open it was good except for the street noise. The breakfast was enjoyed by many but for us it was over the top as we don't do the European cheese and meat thing! They made us a very nice albeit small fruit salad on request.

    Arty, old building, ambience, great linen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Guépard - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is Switzerland so everything seems expensive, and this applies to the drinks and coffees in the room. Parking is a bit of a distance but the hotel was very helpful with the transporting of luggage. It was a pity that the main body of the hotel reception and courtyard was locked off so early in the evening, reducing guest facility, in our case after 8pm, particularly as this is not a budget hotel.

    Charming hotel, and meets its description accurately - arty and boutiquey. Position in Locarno is excellent, and the courtyard is lovely. Breakfasts are a real treat and a million miles from the repetitive continental buffets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Affordable luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Zebra - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space and amenities in the room were excellent...the bed was best night's sleep first time my husband awoke without sore back...amazing...loved the staff and outside area...very secure and private 10/10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Warm reception and cozy suite in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Rêve d'Amour Venise - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it was low season, breakfast was not offered/included at this time. But plenty of cute cafes around so we were fine.

    We stayed here on a rainy weekend in February and got extra special treatment from our hostess. We loved the little suite, which gave us plenty of room to relax and have a cup of tea when weather wasn't great. Lots of nice touches like wifi, an iPad in the room, Ticino ticket for discounted local transport and spa entry. Very nice stay, we'll come back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    gorgeous hotel and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Guépard - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we only stayed overnight :)

    Loved the owner, she is extremely friendly and accommodating. We arrived in the morning and were supposed to check in at 3 pm. However, she told us that may be she can arrange for us to check in when we arrived like at 9 am :-) and she did:-) Also the hotel is beautiful and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was hard, we were a little late so no one was there to let us in. After reaching the manager a staff member came and did not speak English. Parking is limited and is not part of the property! It was fun place and would stay there again.

    The breakfast was wonderful! Pleasant way to start the day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Boutique-hotel in the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Zebra - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was located towards the little street which is a bit too noisy to sleep with open windows, but if you close them for the night no problem.

    Very unique Boutique-hotel in the center of the city, originally designed rooms, friendly, caring staff, clean and comfortable room (I loved the Nespresso-machine in the room), walking distance to everything you need in the center of the city to enjoy your stay (good restaurants, bars, bus and train station, the lake, stores, and the piazza grande for the festival)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no breakfast included, breakfast for 30 pP and no egg!?

    Great location, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Rêve d'Amour Venise - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Design. Friendliness. Bar. Garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Poesia d´Amore - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design Breakfast The warmly staff The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Supercomfortable Bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supercomfortable Bed. Top located in the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Swiss quality accomodation with Italian flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostess was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Tastefully decorated, very helpful personnel, different from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tastefully decorated, very helpful personnel, different from most hotels!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feather pillow and comforter..allergic.

    Great location. Close to train and town center. Nice room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Zebra - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was superb. Each plate looked and tasted beautiful - the highlight of our visit to Locarno

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    Marketing versus teality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Charme Sauvage Zebra - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and attitude

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful boutique hotel complete with interesting, funky art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely ambiance - funky and interesting art in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.5
    Magical Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A magical place , extraordinary warm people .The breakfast is one of a kind !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    5.4
    Bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room - Grand Lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expensive to order. Hostess had minimal English but tried to be helpful. Check-out slow.

    Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location, very nice staff, expresso served during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no breakfast available inhouse since restaurant closed during winter time but alternatively "Gipfeli" served; parking abit far away, if the two own parking spaces are occupied

    Excellent location, very nice staff, expresso served during check in, room nicely decorated, Nespresso, hotel in old building in the middle of the old town, I-pad for use

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.2
    We had a wonderful week-end at Caffe Dell´ Arte.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast included in the price during the winter season although the owner organized fresh croissants in the morning

    We had a wonderful week-end at Caffe Dell´ Arte. The room was beautiful, the hotel is very well located and the owner of the hotel is a great hostess. She was happy to recommend restaurants and places to visit and is very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    10
    The staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We received excellent dining and shopping recommendations, and were really being taken care of. Wonderful stay and recommend to anybody wanting to stay in Locarno.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    We were so excited to find this wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was perfect!

    We were so excited to find this wonderful hotel. It was in the heart of the city, close to the train station & shops. We felt like we were part of the city life. A great restaurant was recommended to us & the aunt of the owner made sure we knew how to get there. She even recommended a special Swiss dish for us to try. It was such a wonderful experience. We know of several people who would love to come here.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    The four course breakfasts, varying each day and accompanied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lugging our suitcase up the stairs was a downer.

    The four course breakfasts, varying each day and accompanied by a morning aperitif, were stunning. The room also was beautiful - we were in the Zebra room and it was full of zebra motifs and fabrics as well as a range of mirrors. We experienced a great personal welcome.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Really funky little room, interesting decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really funky little room, interesting decor. Good location in the old part of town. Very friendly and helpful people. Wish we'd had the breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. We were welcomed warmly and looked after really well. The sisters breakfast was delicious and they made up a picnic for later too. Beautiful place we highly recommend .

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    6.7
    The room was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nobody wating for us. We arrived late in the evening (the owner told us that there was no problem: the door was left open) but everything was closed. We had to wait for the owner's sister ... the night was not too cold .

    The room was very nice

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    each room unique, designed by local designer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor quality matrace; very noisy neighborhood (construction works)

    each room unique, designed by local designer

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    10
    The Lady owner and her son and daughter were charming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Lady owner and her son and daughter were charming and nothing was too much trouble. It was worth staying there just to meet them.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Extremely warm, helpful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely warm, helpful owners

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Great location, very friendly staff and amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very friendly staff and amazing breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    We Loved EVERYTHING about our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We Loved EVERYTHING about our stay!! The staff were wonderfully sweet and accomodating! Above and beyond!! Extremely creative interior design talent!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    Cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    How expensive Swiss Franc is at the moment

    Cosy. Cute. Florist. Location. Friendly staff.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: