Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hôtel 4 stars

4 Avenue de Cour, 1007 Lausanne, Switzerland

#33 of 50 hotels in Lausanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1381 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Cute very old French classic style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small rooms. Couldn’t find a place to plug in the kettle so had to take out the lamp plug not safe place. But our other room was fine.

    Cute very old French classic style. Small balcony with table and chairs. Not much of a view but but looking at the trees on the right is pleasant enough. Hotel next to metro easy to use with the free tickets they gave us. Breakfast was basic but fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 rooms for family- would have been nice for the 2nd one to also have a balcony esp. since the price was the same. Breakfast was not included so paid an extra fee.

    Quiet, wonderful location just off Metro/Tram stop. Breakfast was good - plenty of choices. Rooms were small but perfectly fine - nice balcony. Staff was very helpful with train information and connections for our next destination.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went down for dinner on the second night and the waitor tried to turn us away, saying we had to reserve in advance which is pretty shoddy considering we were staying at the hotel. We told him as much and he found us a table saying we had to leave by 9, however by 9.30 there were still tables free ( and we were still there). The food was good that evening but the service was terrible and we felt unwelcome. I think there were just two people trying to serve the whole restaurant. A shame because the hotel is lovely and apart from that dinner experience we really enjoyed our stay and the service for snacks, drinks and breakfast was great.

    Clean, comfortable, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel well-located, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no bellboys to help with the luggage. Also the entry to the hotel involves climbing twelve steps (with luggage)!

    We were upgraded to a junior suite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Quaint boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a very lovely boutique hotel in a quiet area of Lausanne but still close to the train station. You get a free transport card from hotel for duration of stay. Local metro stop literally 50m from the door and only 2 stops to main central station. Room is not huge but very clean and comfortable. Reception very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    will return if same can be repeated next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect position for delices Metro, very easy from mainline station. easy walk down to lake or metro up to Montebon. upgraded to Executive rm. Dining facilities surprisingly good. staff cd not have been more helpful. Andd all UK tv channels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    A lovely quiet hotel close to Ouchy beaches. Highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant shut in evening for Swiss National Day (1 Aug)

    Quiet and close to Metro. Parking outside. Free Metro travel in region. Staff very helpful and friendly. Air Conditioning in the room worked well. BBC TV channels available. Small fridge in room to keep chocolates cool! Great breakfast choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    My new favourite hotel in Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 steps up to the entrance - not great when you have a heavy suitcase...

    Great location - really easy to go to the lake (2 stops) or the main train station (2 stops), or even to walk to these, time and weather permitting. I've stayed at lots of hotels in Lausanne & this is now my favourite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Walkable from the train station, right beside the metro,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small!

    Walkable from the train station, right beside the metro, walkable to the lake and other main attractions such as the Olympic museum. Has a really cosy feel to it, rooms come with balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and pretty, ideal for a mini break to Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff - on arrival - were not flexible with our request for an early check in.

    The hotel is ideally placed next to the underground station. Its appearance is beautiful - with flowers on all the balconies and an impressive entrance. The room was small but comfortable and quiet, and I liked the little balcony. We didn't try the restaurant but enjoyed a glass of delicious local Swiss wine in the outside dining area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Metro is just next to the hotel, dinner is quite good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Metro is just next to the hotel, dinner is quite good, spacious room. Bathroom is large and clean. walking distance to the train station and the pier. Supermarket is nearby. Good stay in general

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightful
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment here

    Just a very friendly and well run hotel, I will certainly book when I visit Lausanne in the future. Also a nice walk down to the Lake where you find an array of excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Good but with room for improvement
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was quite small and dark, does not help if you need to do some work. Bathroom toilet seat needs replacement. Hotel is difficult to enter/exit when you have heavy luggage, would really benefit from a ramp at one of the entrances. Breakfast was quite expensive considering there are supermarkets and bakeries nearby.

    Great location, very close to IMD, restaurants and supermarkets. Right next to metro station but super quiet. The balcony is a great extra. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Overall very good value for money. The bed is comfortable and the TV has lots of channels you can choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast as it seemed an expensive add on ...would have made poor value for money compared with other swiss hotels. Neighbours in next room had loud tv on all night

    Smart hotel with luxury feel. Quiet no sign of anyone using the bar. Well decorated room..fridge a bonus. Two minutes to the metro. .free ticket on arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for a short stay, the hotel appears to appeal more to business travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food on a Sunday evening, rooms a bit dated and need a refresh. Shower poor.

    Good location, halfway between railway station & lake, close to Metro station. Friendly staff, pleasant balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for a lausanne get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great

    The location was great. Quiet yet easy to find. Right next to a metro so easy to access from the train station and the lake. The room was very small but comfortable. Everything was very clean. The staff did everything possible to make me feel welcome, giving me extra coffee and making a shower available for me after my check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Room was good with friendly personnel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bonus question: I can’t say I didn’t use the restaurant except for a cold meat plate at night which for a raw ham and cooked ham 2 comes and a water 40 CHF I find it a bit expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not mentioned how much we should expect to pay for the city tax per person per night. That is standard for Switzerland and varies from area to area, and I think also depends on the hotel

    The stuff was very friendly, they managed to change our room next day to give us access to the balcony and a wonderful view on the mountains. Normally, if stated in the comment when booking, they would have managed to arrange that from day 1. They have also informed us about the half marathon and that the city will be blocked for driving, so we arranged our plans accordingly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Romantic and cozy hotel in Lausanne center, definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room ("classic") was a bit small. They forgot to leave towels when making the room. When we called the reception they immediately brought them, but just one per person.

    Room is beautifully furnished and comfortable, it includes a nice balcony, and overall has a very romantic atmosphere. Quiet area, though still in the heart of Lausanne. The annexed restaurant offers very good food and service (but it is not cheap). The staff was extremely kind and helpful at all times. Overall a great deal for a 4* hotel (we found an offer at 130CHF/night).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for optional breakfast needs revision
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star, we could have expected a separated toilet from the bathroom and a bit more space. Breakfast on weekend should be served until 11am. We got down at 10:10 and almost everything was gone on the buffet : no more eggs, fruit, water in the boiler, bacon, beans... So we were not really satisfied with the service and options when we paid 20.- extra for breakfast. Certainly something to think about for people spending the weekend there and going out late.

    We liked the decoration and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, great bed, very helpful staff, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. A little less furniture might make it more practical. Same goes for the washroom.

    Late arrival, early departure, so not a lot to go on. We profitted from an excellent last-minute discount (thanks very much!). Very small room, hence the rating for comfort, but otherwise more than adequate for a good night's sleep. Great bed. Conveniently close to the metro for any exploring, and an easy distance from the lake and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A superb hotel in an ideal location, with brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful room with a fantastic balcony. Our cleaner was absolutely superb, thoughtful and kind. We were surprised and very fortunate to be given an upgrade on our room, and the whole experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Great situation just at the metro station "les...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiators where running together with the A/C - quite strange and not necessary. Byzantine occupancy policy (i.e. not allowed to have two 14 years old children in the room beside without an adult). We were charged a penalty tax for breakfast despite our reservation at the reception desk the day before.

    Great situation just at the metro station "les délices". Nice entrance area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfy boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean room with comfortable bed despite the “boutique” of this hotel. Free transport pass to travel around the hotel is a big PLUS. Next to the hotel is a Sport Bar serving good burgers and local dishes like Chinese Fondue (Dunno why the name but we learnt that this meat fondue is nothing related to the Chinese!!!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Cute boutique hotel centrally located with a comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower doors didn't close properly so every day the floor was flooded and we had to use a couple of towels to mop it up, there was also no extractor fan so the hot moist air stayed there for ages which unfortuantely did cause a bit of mold. We had the breakfast the day after we arrived. I have to say it was a very sad affair, the hot food was actually quite cold and a bit well ....congealed. I highly recommend you skip brekkie at the hotel and instead head to a Blackbird cafe and breakfast club. The breakfast was delicious, fresh and healthy and they have awesome coffee ( the beans are ground on site). This place is so popular we had to queue 20mins for a table but it is totally worth it!

    The bed was so comfortable we struggled to leave it and go sightseeing! The location is perfect, we could see the lake from our balcony and could easily stroll down to the water or take the metro 5 - 10 minutes into the centre of the city. What was great is that we received free travel cards for our entire stay which saved us almost 10CHF each per day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect. Enjoyed it fully and would recommend and go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard room is very compact but I didn't really mind it.

    Location next to metro to access the city / port. Calm, spotlessly clean and flawless to the detail. Great bed. Great breakfast although a bit on the expensive side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Fair value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conveniently located, 1 minute away from m2 metro line. The rooms are spacious and recently renovated. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a parking lot in front of the hotel. It is possible to use spa facilities at additional cost at the luxury hotel right across the street. There are a few nice restaurants in the neighborhood. Wi-fi works perfectly. A place to happily get to back to after a hard day at work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Restful stay in a beautiful well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really missed a gym on site. Breakfast is quite expensive considering there is a great boulangerie and a supermarket next to the hotel. Room is a bit small Note to hotel: next time it snows like this please clean the little entrance road, as it becomes dangerous for the guests who don’t arrive by car.

    Great location, right next to metro station but super quiet at the same time. Super friendly staff with great welcome! Room was comfy and well decorated, and the private balcony is such a bonus! Hotel is in a quiet street and still walking distance to IMD.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetables at breakfast!

    Metro Delices stop just outside the door, two stops to Lausanne station. Hotel offers a free transport card for us each which is really nice and convenient. Sweet receptionist. Beautiful French decor in the room. Quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, excellent onsite restaurant, hotel is a bit worn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some TLC needs to be given to the hotel. Its all about the first impression and the red carpet in front needs replacement! Also I had large suitcases and struggled to get them into the hotel up and down the stairs. No one assisted even though there were men at the front desk. It's a lovely old hotel. Take care of it.

    The restaurant is fantastic - the lobster lasagna over the top amazing and the wait staff is excellent and attentive. The hotel looks a bit worn. The red carpet as you walk in is in need of replacement along with the rods to hold it down. (I am into the details). I would have expected a hotel of this caliber to have a real hairdryer instead of the inefficient wall mount you would find in a lower class hotel. I also found a large bug in my room which was startling. Nothing that was not horrible just expected more with the name of Carlton. It is in a great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -a bit over price

    -good location, a stone's throw from subway station which brings you to everywhere in Lausanne easily -nice staff, spoke good English -new and clean, with a small balcony

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Perfect location and good bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very fast and short stay but i really liked it. Door to door with metro station (Delices), they give you transport free pass for your stay, bed is comfortable, my room had a cute balcony with a nice view for the sunrise and they stayed with my luggage after check out for a while. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and freindly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows are the most uncomfortable ones I have ever had. For 2 people the room is a bit too small The bathroom needs updating- Some mold on the wall and cracked basin

    The location is perfect. Right next to the metro station The staff is really friendly and efficient. The balcony is very cute and elegant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No floor heating (conventional heating plates on walls) makes toilet a bit too cold during winter.

    Location is perfect, 1 min walking to the metro that goes up to train station and the trendy area with shops and restaurants. Hotel is clean and rather comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was v small, cold and wasn't cleaned until mid afternoon. Breakfast was nice except they didn't provide a pot of tea or coffee for the table. Each time you had to use coffee machine for express sized cup.

    Good location, beside metro and close to lake. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money in comparison with other nearby hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Expensive breakfast (better to go for one of the nearby cafes).

    Good value for money in comparison with other nearby hotels. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Luxury with Cocooning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small but this also gives a Cocooning feeling. It was not a problem for me.

    Very elegant, cosy, friendly 4 stars Hotel. A real cocoon with a luxurious feeling. I have loved the small balcony outside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.5
    Everything was clean and in good working order, the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    Everything was clean and in good working order, the bed comfortable, the staff pleasant and agreeable, the breakfast copious and varied, the decor harmonious. What else can one ask for?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location just a few minutes from the train station and clean hotel with great restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was understaffed and bar tender left when we wanted another drink and never came back :( For the room, despite cold temperatures outside, we could not cool the room down. Odd thermostat. As with most hotels, no washcloths. Why is that?

    Location was great. Restaurant was above expectation (I mean really good). Pretty hotel, great staff at reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    A great place to relax from excursions and feel at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since i just had vertebra-disk problems, the climbing of the stairs at the entrance or into the restaurant was difficult and painful - there is only an elevator inside for the different floors - so not apt for handicapped people, this should be mentioned in the advertisement of the place!

    I liked the quiet position of the Hotel and the ideal combination with public transportation(Metro station for town visits directly beneath, also busstation)-the lake is in walking distance!The matrace was extremely comfortable and the dinners in the restaurant were excellent ! The staff was very helpful and the parking in front of the door. I liked the old fashioned french way of the interior in the rooms and the lack of all the wellness equipments that all the Hotels seem to need nowadays -( where you pay for all this , but cant use it ).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location, friendly staff and cosy rooms!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small, possibly better suited for 1 person and not much room for luggage. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, so it wasn't a major issue for us.

    The shower was powerful, the bed comfortable and the staff was kind and polite. My particular room had a nice little balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Nice weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but when I book last month it’s Look like free breakfast but at hotl say must pay 25 CIF

    Nice hotel look like that you live at place nice color wall paper nice room but if I have lady will be at havan hhhaa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good but perhaps a little overpriced. Otherwise no complaints at all.

    The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was very well appointed, and it is an excellent location either for visiting the lake or the town. The metro is quite a bonus and only yards away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, but for a 4* hotel, having one of those horrible shampoo dispensers - not very pleasant.

    Comfortable and elegant, great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a weekend in Lausanne, but quite pricy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included despite the large rate.

    Very well located with a nice view from the balcony. The hotel and the room were clean. Helpful staff, not extraordinarily friendly though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    We only liked the location of the hotel and its balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not like it was shown in the pictures. It is a very old building and the bed and pillows are not comfortable. I expected it to be much more clean and renovated based on the pictures but it was very old.

    The location was very good. The hotel was right in front of public transport stops. Very easy to catch subway and go anywhere in city. One of the staff members was a guy exceedingly kind with a very warm cheecky face.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little larger.

    This is my second stay at Carlton hotel.i love the decor and the little balcony.the rooms arenot big but still very comfortable.good beds.it is right by the Metro ,so convenient,and the hotel gives transport cards for free transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely lovely stay! I will be back! The staff are so friendly and always happy to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space of the room but I understand it allowed for the size of the bed and I wouldn’t want to compromise that.

    The temperature of the room, comfort of the bed and my balcony were the highlights! Also the minibar was properly stocked 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't that good (missing some pressure).

    The location was very good. It has a subway/train at the door, and it is 2 stations far from the main station and streets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location and value for money. Please do pay extra for a slightly larger room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was so unbelievably compact. I should have realized that was what the swiss mean by boutique :) I don't however want to be too negative as it was very clean and well located.

    Location was great and staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.6
    Dont go by photographs. Not at all value for money. Better options available at less price.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not clean. Next day when house keeping was done, they dint even changed the bed sheets. The picture showed balcony, but there was none. The rooms were small. Not at all value of money. Disappointed by Carlton Brand name. Monday the restaurant was also closed.

    Front desk staff was very helpful. The lady staff tried to help us in every possible way. She guided us very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We very much enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi needs to be stronger. More selection from the bar.

    Cozy and very comfortable. Balcony was charming and availability of fresh air was appreciated. Well appointed small room. Lunch on the terrace was excellent. Wait staff Helpful and attentive. Highly recommend terrace dining!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Bit disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room v small Bathroom was very outdated and basic for the standard / price of room and hotel Not much in the way of facilities and compares unfavourably to competitors No room service available at 9.30pm (!?) due to restaurant spontaneously closing early My request for an omelette at breakfast was declined Breakfast itself was not great and overpriced, and the napkin was stained . . .

    Room was quiet and reasonably comfortable and hotel is in a handy location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Amazing atmosphere, beautiful room - I loved the style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    Amazing atmosphere, beautiful room - I loved the style. Staff at front office (we didn't use the F&B) were very friendly and recognized us later on as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The room decor was very nice and created a relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room decor was very nice and created a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is conveniently located next to the train stage and close to the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    I will not come next time, there are better hotels in Lausanne than this one, for the same price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has 4 stars rating, but for the same price you will get a great 3stars hotel with much bigger and better equipped room. I tried 4 different hotel in Lausanne within last year, 2-4 star range, but this one was the worst.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, very close to transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Perfect location for me. I've stayed many times before and this hotel is consistently spotless, friendly staff, comfy rooms. It's good value for a 4* in Lausanne and although it's not as close to the lakeside as other hotels in Ouchy, it is in a nice, quiet part of town with a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast well laid out plentiful and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed stay despite rain and even walked to botanic garden

    Breakfast well laid out plentiful and fresh. Good Selection. Easy walk to several waterfront restaurants. Great service for tourists with free public transport pass, metro at door to main station and old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Not what we expected for a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the block of flats from the balcony. Changed room but this was darker and the decor was oppressive for the size of the room.The breakfast was limited compared to all the other hotels throughout our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Dull Lausanne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lausanne was uninspiring apart from the lake. Everything is hugely expensive.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived on Swiss National day so much of the hotel and town was shut.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Not a family hotel choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Our visit started with our rooms (2) not ready at 4.30pm despite 3pm is check in time. No suitable family room (2 adults and 1 child) so have to stay separate. This should have been more clear by Booking.com too when booking for 3 people at this hotel asno connecting door as other hotels. Rooms are small with 18 m2 so large suitable no space to open it. The WiFi not stable. The beds were good and room had small terrace. Location is next to metro /subway train to lake or old city center which is convenient. Look like hotel understaffed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location. F&B staff not customer service oriented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was always closed when we wanted a drink. First night we arrived at 22:57 and were denied expensive Scotches because they were about to close the bar. Next day we wanted to order drinks to enjoy on their beautiful terrace where other guests were still eating. Again we were denied drinks because they were about to close. Swiss might be "on-time" people but they have absolutely no flexibility when it comes to customer service. Also we had to call Front Desk at 5:30pm as our room still hasn't been cleaned yet. A little late in my perspective for maid service.

    Location was great and convenient to be so close to the subway. The hotel gives you free public transportation cards which is thoughtful. Parking is in front of hotel. We were upgraded to and Executive room which as a large balcony. We enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no facilities to speak of at the hotel, which I find inexcusable for the price point. The restaurant hours were listed from 7-10pm - they didn't inform us until 9pm that their kitchen closes an hour early unless by prior appointment! The wine lounge was rarely staffed and closed at 11pm. The staff is limited (no help with luggage!). I was very disappointed to find a hotel of this price with such bare-bones facilities.

    The location was great, right next to the Metro. The building was very pretty and the rooms were attractive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel, lousy bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small. Worst thing was the bathroom, needs an upgrade. Sorting the bathroom would really take the hotel to the next level.

    The location is great, half way between the main station and lake. Next to the matro station. Further the hotel is really nice and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the sunshine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Night in a creepy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never to come back. So we entered the room that was supposed to be 18 m2 it was 10 m2 or even less , nothing like pictures , small room , bathroom. But the best was yet to come there was door in the room , yes a door that gave access to the room next to us , off course blocked , but still the weirdest thing I've ever seen in an hotel room 318 , we could ear the lady from the other room and could see her from the key hole that connect de rooms. I wish i could post the pic i took cause you'd be delighted...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Parking was on the premises right at the front door and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive and not really value for money in the end. The restaurant was closed! Not quite sure why to be honest. WE asked but were not really given a satisfactory answer. We were, though, recommended a local restaurant by the reception staff / concierge - unfortunately this turned out to be a bit of a disaster! Shrimp risotto was on the menu which my wife ordered, only to be told there were no shrimps left - this was despite the fact that I was having a shrimp salad?? She was asked to choose an alternative so she chose a mushroom risotto. the waiter returned to say they had found more shrimps! So they could prepare the risotto - when it arrived it was like a soup! (Which leads me to suggest that the real issue with the risotto in the first place was not a lack of shrimps - but a lack of time!) They did not want to spend the twenty minutes or so it takes to prepare a risotto correctly - so tried to get her to change her mind. In the end they had to prepare a risotto - but skimped on the time. When my wifes' main course arrived which should have been a marsala sauce base - it was with honey and lemon!! She asked for the marsala as ordered and this arrived in two minutes - we were very doubtful. I am writing this here (although about the neighbouring restaurant) as the hotel should know where it is sending customers when it deems it necessary to close it's restaurant. Why was the hotel restaurant closed?? The breakfast (at 25 swiss franc / Euro pp) was a disgrace. There was no meat or cheese left - only scraps - we asked for it to be replenished - and this was done - but with even more scraps!! What on earth was going on?? We were on a tight driving schedule otherwise we would have taken the staff to task. We thought better of that and set off - putting it down to experience. There was some sort of mix up over our bill regarding the charge for breakfast - it was paid for in advance but they wanted to charge us again for it.

    Parking was on the premises right at the front door and was easily accessible. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Some disappointing aspects given the 'boutique' label
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room rate was high for what you got. Breakfast was not included and was really not worth the extra that it cost. Borrowing an iron for 24 hours cost 9 CHF. The safe in the room did not work and they were unable to fix it in the time (3 nights) that I was there.

    The hotel is very conveniently located a short walk from the centre of Lausanne and the lake shore. It is also very quiet. There is a metro station right on the doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Sehr schön - Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is directly on from of the entrance of the hotel. The staff at the reception was really gentle and competent also is there were three or four groups waiting the check-in was quick. The room also if quite small in my opinion but really beautiful and really welcome with a nice and big balcony. I didn't hear any noise. Really calm. The hotel restaurant was extremely good, very polite and competent waiters and the meal was really good. The hotel guests can choose a special menu if they want ant it is less expensive as normal menu. Glutenfree bread was also served! Very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    The property was close to the metro so it was easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came with my adult son and requested (and paid for) the room option of twin beds but the beds were pushed together between 2 bookcases as a queen would be. The front desk said this was the twin bed option.

    The property was close to the metro so it was easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Switzerland.. everything is overpriced!

    It´s a luxury hotel, with very nice and friendly staff, in a very good location right on the side of the tram that goes from the top to the bottom of Lausanne. Excelent rooms, big bed, nice bathroom, with parking lot. Didn´t have the chance to try the breakfast due to the price (25 Fr/person). According to switzerland prices, it´s a very good hotel for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    The parking situation was a disaster, they onkly have a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was a disaster, they onkly have a few spaces, and if you are not lucky (and I wasn't) you have to go park somewhere else, which actually is not an easy thing to do in Lausanne.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a few days and feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very nice but small. Ok for a few days, but enjoying for a longer stay or if you having bad weather and won't to stay more in your room...

    This boutique hotel has a real star flare.... ideal location at the lake place to be. Only 20meter near the underground going cents city. Parking in front of hotel. Very helpful and polite staff. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for a long weekend sightseeing in Lausanne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While breakfast wasn't excessively expensive by Swiss standards, it might be better to find breakfast in one of the many nearby bakeries or cafes.

    Excellent location half way between the lake & the historic old town making both very accessible by foot or the nearby metro station. The single room was an excellent size for one person- with a comfortable double bed- and very clean... and AC in Switzerland is a huge bonus! I was very impressed with the value and the facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff especially storing our bikes securely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No early breakfast option for our 6am start the next morning or coffee in room (tea was available). Tree in car park leaves sap all over car which is irritating especially given the cost of parking.

    Very helpful staff especially storing our bikes securely before a cycling event which started early the next day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    2.5
    Awful, awful, awful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Upon arrival we noted the shabby, tired awnings and dirty red-carpet... nonetheless we struggled getting our luggage up the stairs to an elevated ground floor, there was no help offered. Happy to be checking in, we approached the front reception desk. The reception we received was anything but welcoming, I would have assumed that a reception desk agent, would have noticed our luggage and assumed that we were there to check-in, and welcomed us to out hotel, instead she simply looked up and said said "yes" we said "we're here to check-in" surprisingly her response was "check in isn't available until 3pm". We had to ask if there was a place we could leave our luggage, which was met with a huff and a puff and a heavy sigh... On our return from walking the streets for an hour or so at the designated "check-in" time we were given our keys and went to our room... we noted the threadbare carpet outside the elevator, but still went to our room. The door to our room was impossible to close quietly, the latch just didn't work, I feel sorry for the other guests (if there were any) who had to put up with our struggles to close the door. The room was small but not completely awful, the shower functioned to a point, the shower head was ill-fitting and had a mind of its own...it was impossible to get it directionally fixed, the shower door (over the bath tub) was filthy it seemed that the water barrier at the bottom had never been cleaned... the bathroom door was battered and bruised.. We reserved this hotel through a BOOKING website, we were charged for two rooms when we only wanted one, both the BOOKING website and the hotel refused to refund our money for the room that we didn't need, despite us advising them both of the mistake some 4.5 months in advance of our stay, and within 48 hours, as soon as we noticed the overcharging to our credit card. Overall we regret ever booking this hotel...

    It's proximity to the light rail

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: