1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Switzerland hotel reviews
  3. Canton of Basel-Stadt B&B and inn reviews
  4. Basel B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Guesthouse Casa Esperanza Basel

Reviews of Guesthouse Casa Esperanza Basel

Kembserweg 16, 4055 Basel, Switzerland

#4 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.0

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything!

    Friendly and helpful owners who checked me in late in the evening. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, tea-making facilities in the room. The location is also very nice - on a quiet street not far from a tram stop.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2022

    9.0
    It was simple but clean and had all the amenities needed for a short stay. The centre is easily accessible from this pr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was simple but clean and had all the amenities needed for a short stay. The centre is easily accessible from this property. Trams or even walking is doable.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2022

    9.0
    Very good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It will be perfect if facial tissue can be available in the room.

    This is definitely one of the best rooms I have had. Good quanlity good environment very clean. The bed is comfortable. My primary expectation is to have a quiet room. Yes, it is quiet. Only a little bit noise from the second floor. It does not bother me much.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2022

    10
    Basel is a gem, and only 2 hours away from Alps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    perhaps a mini fridge?.. ;-)

    The location is perfect, away from the hassle & bustle of the city center yet perfectly reachable by public transport within 10 min. The owner welcomed me in person and gave me an unlimited public transport card for my stay - so useful! He made sure I had everything I needed and gave me some useful tips on where to go and what to see. I will be back! ;-)

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2022

    10
    Relaxed and cozy with super nice host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super good and quiet stay. Very close to the center. Surroundings have everything a person may need. From Deli to supermarkets to banks and even an Hospital. The owner is an amazing person and is super caring to make his guests stay as tranquil as possible. Be sure to stay here for a relaxed and easy going basel trip

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was exactly what we needed. Shocked to find a full and well-stocked kitchen! Love that we had the first floor. The host was quite helpful. Spacious. Sooo clean!

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service ! Kai is the best host I have ever met.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2021

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not know that the city tax was additional to the price, but probably that has more to do with booking than with them.

    Great location if you need to go to the airport, also close to the city center. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2021

    9.0
    Cozy and private short stay in Basel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay a few nights. Totally private (own entrance). A large room, two large windows. The owner is super friendly and accommodating. I have asked for a firm pillow and was offered a new memory foam pillow. Super clean. Very large and comfortable bed. A few steps away from supermarkets. A tram stop is 100m away. I'd definitely stay there again on a short visits. Great value for money

    Stayed in November 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2021

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent guesthouse The room was big and clean with free coffee. Nice area outside the room with chair, where you could have your coffee and smoke. The shared bathroom was very clean. Super location cloose to old city, tram from railway station and bus to airport. And not to forget very warm velcome from the host who told me all I needed to know about transportation etc.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was excellent!

    We liked the room, the staff was very helpful and generous.We will sure come back next time we will be in Basel

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2021

    10
    I checked in very late but still had a warm welcome from Kai.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel could have been a bit bigger.

    Value for money, great staff.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place located in a nice quiet street near the public transportation. The room is clean and comfort, great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2021

    10
    great stay, exceptional hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Casa Esperanza is ideally located close to 2 tram stops to get to the center, main train station and airport. It is perfectly equipped with everything you might need for a short or long stay and shopping facilities are all in walking distance. Bea and Kai are exceptional people. They were welcoming, warm, hospitable, attentive and made us feel like home right from the moment we stepped into their house. So, a very special thanks to our wonderful hosts. We will definitely be back, for sure! Ioannis and Eleni

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2020

    10
    Perfect price quality for a good night of sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom, but that was not really a problem.

    Very quiet neighborhood. Free bus ticket and interesting reductions on attractions including the zoo. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plain / fairly basic furnishings

    Quiet location, spacious and clean apartment, well equipped kitchen, toys/games in cupboard for kids, easy to get to and not that far from the airport or main town.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Third time we stayed there. Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for us.

    We liked all, location area communication with city center basel card, and of course when we needed to print our next flight checkin at 11pm it was done in time with respect and willingness to help.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bea is the best :)

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2019

    10
    Very good stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow internet

    Maybe the best value for money stay I've used in Basel. The apartment was in good condition and clean, the kitchen was actually properly equipped with tea, coffee, sugar, spices, oil, pots, etc (most places barely provide a pot and some salt / pepper), the host was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, facilities and staff! Will be back if I come to Basel again

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2019

    10
    Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts Kai and his mom were super friendly and accommodating! I would highly recommended Casa Esperanza.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2019

    9.2
    A comfortable and friendly staff, great for parks and kids :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to, spacious apartment, great kitchen and kiddie-extras, books, games etc all provided!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to stay with very helpful friendly hosts.

    Stayed in August 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: