Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Casa Berno Swiss Quality Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Gottardo Madonna 15, 6612 Ascona, Switzerland

#8 of 37 hotels in Ascona

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gardener cutting grass noisily while guests were enjoying Bfast on the terrace on our last day.

    The beautiful view of Lago Maggiore, the peace & tranquility of the environment, the therapeutic ambience, the impeccable service of the restaurant staff, the friendly & informative assistance from the reception desk staff .....ALL add up to a memorable stay for us. Well-worth the effort to get there, either by road or by plane via Zurich!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice property and facilities for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found bed to be uncomfortable: too soft. And two single beds pushed together.

    Very nice property and facilities for the money. Good location for active people. Not suitable for families with kids as you have to walk down and up to Ascona center. We loved the walk through the forest. Bikes to rent for free and free car park !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views and ultimate relaxation at a well run property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms are a little bare.

    Stunning location, lovely staff, well kept pool and grounds, wonderful food. Great value for money. We extended our stay here by a day - could have stayed another few.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Casa berna is a jewel and I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could provide an English menu for dinner.

    The view and tranquility of this location is outstanding. Staff were exceptionally attentive and helpful even providing a courtesy car for an elderly friend. Great breakfast and a lake view as a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.8
    "Wow, look at that view!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Approach road is narrow.

    Superb view over the lake. Lovely swimming pool. Loungers in various places by pool and in garden. Excellent breakfast. Good parking. Shuttle bus to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    9.2
    beautiful view over lago Maggiore, free transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was good but the selection of pastries was limited

    beautiful view over lago Maggiore, free transportation shuttle from / to city, spacious room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Great Staff...highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had didn't have air conditioning this wasn't ideal but we were given fans for the room which helped a lot.

    All staff were so friendly and welcoming and with a very nice atmosphere. I didn't meet the general manager but I assume it's starting there. The shuttle bus picked us up from the train station which was great and with regular scheduled bus trips to Ascona made everywhere very accessible and only a short bus ride to Ascona. The hotel has everything you need for an amazing stay in this beautiful region.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast, beautiful view from the room and restaurant, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were ants crawling in our bed. We changed to another(more modern and ants-free) room the next morning. I guess we were unlucky and that this issue only concerned this partidular room...

    Breakfast, beautiful view from the room and restaurant, nice staff at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather during our stay this year was not at its best, and not even the best staff could help.

    Excellent location on a hillside overlooking Lago Maggiore. Great breakfast with everything you could wish. Live music a couple of times during the Ascona Jazz Festival. A very warm atmosphere with a very care-taking staff. A shuttle bus into Ascona in case you don't want to take the 20-25 minutes mostly downhill walk, with perhaps 40-45 minutes uphill return walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening meal a little expensive, even for limited choice menu. Lack of English translations challenged our linguistic skills - but we have no right to expect English everywhere.

    Very comfortable hotel with good facilities. Lake view from the room was great, the room was comfortable and well cared for. Cleanliness excellent. Good range of choice at breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Welcome drink with the owner was a pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.2
    Gardens Pool Terraces - place is like a palace at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was extraordinary. The food better than average. The staff, once you get to know them, are efficious and friendly. The pool and gardens are a treat. The mountain behind the hotel is a dream for hikers and bikers. The lake is beautiful. Ascona is close enough to the hotel such that you dont miss not being in Ascona. We are Ascona regulars - love the place - and Casa Berno just made Ascona even better. Stay here if you want the best of both worlds - your own luxurious pool and terraces away from the crowds and the buzz of Ascona nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    10
    Awesome place, very attentive service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of fitness room and the king bed that were two connected beds.

    We had a very big family room. There were so many storages places in the room, made it very convenient. The service was highly attentive. Everyone tried to make us satisfied from the receptionist to the various waiters. Food at restaurant was very good as well, we enjoyed a lot sitting in the bar, watching the beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is surrounded by an awesome forest in which you can hike. We had to leave earlier as a matter of health problems, and they didn't charge us for 2 additional nights that were previously reserved.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful views!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was a wonderful place to spend a long weekend.

    We had one of the refurbished rooms on the upper floor and it was one of the nicest rooms we've had in Switzerland - we had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was modern and spacious. The view from the balcony was stunning! At the pool area, there were plenty of lounge chairs overlooking the lake and you could have your pick of sun or shade. The restaurant team was very friendly and everything we ate was delicious! We will be going back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.2
    Situated on a hillside, overlooking lake Lagio Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It takes a while to walk into Ascona. An option might be the Casa Berno shuttle bus.

    Situated on a hillside, overlooking lake Lagio Maggiore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, if a little awkward to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Amazing location, if a little awkward to get to. Great staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    A piece of paradise on the cliffs of Lake Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms were slightly dated, but very clean.

    The staff was very friendly. The facility was well maintained. We enjoyed drinks on the veranda.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.2
    wonderful swimming pool, friendly staff, view to die for,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to walk to city center, but free shuttle

    wonderful swimming pool, friendly staff, view to die for, rooms new and well furnished, balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, wonderful view and excellent pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ---

    Wonderful location, excellent view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, fabulous view on the lake,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant quality medium

    Excellent location, fabulous view on the lake, very good parking facilities, nice room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.2
    Great location, well worth the drive up from Ascona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Superb location. The views from rooms and terrace are wonderful. Very efficient and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast buffet, crispy bacon, outstanding menus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The prices for mineral water were high.

    Excellent breakfast buffet, crispy bacon, outstanding menus in the evening. Prompt chambermaid service; the room was made up while we were breakfasting.

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    9.6
    Spectacular view on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's quite expensive, yes.

    Spectacular view on the lake. There's nothing like that. We come every year to recharge. Also close to other nice areas.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quality of beds/matresses below average.

    Wonderful location. Very good breakfast offered.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    9.6
    very friendly and capable stuff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no aircondition

    very friendly and capable stuff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: