Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Central Wolter - Grindelwald 3 stars

Hauptstrasse, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#27 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 715 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mid 90’s Switzerland 🇨🇭 was spotless an now it as a litter problem i had ocd picking other people’s litter up , last time in the 90s i seen 1 cigarette stump this time other larger litter is being dropped. Another couple of decades it’s going to run out of control like UK 🇬🇧 which is a shame 🙁🙁🙁

    This is my first time back in 20+ years an it’s still awesome such a lovely place so close to the railway station an absolutely breath taking views especially from the front of the hotel 😃😃😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room, the bed was very cramped. The bedroom for four had a strange structure. one bathroom between two rooms with two bathroom doors and no locking system. So, you couldn't possibility use it without an announcement! Breakfast was ok. Though not enough for guests as plates in the buffet were empty though one came at a good time for breakfast.

    The location was great. The view from the single room was fantastic. But the room for four had an o k view. The Restaurant was very good and the service, staff excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked is family room for 4 but finally it is Just a 2 twin bed rooms with connected door.

    The location is very good, just 2 mins walk from train station. The breakfast in the hotel is really food, fresh bread and fruits,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just thought it is little high on price but I'm sure they all are in that area.

    The view from the front balcony was spectacular, awesome, and almost overwhelming. The view of the mountains there is great. I would not waist the money for train to top of Europe. Way to much. Grindelwalf first was great. Taking the scooter back down gave whole different view on the other side close up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lore who worked during breakfast was so nice and accommodating to our needs. She is an asset to your hotel. She made us feel at home. Thanks to all the staff who met us with nice smiles and were eager to help us. You should be proud of them and know they are always doing the best job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We inadvertently ordered a "Chinois Fondue" (aka. hotpot, steamboat) thinking it was an Asian-version cheese fondue. Wish this had been clarified or mentioned in the menu that cheese would be replaced with broth. It would also have been good if we had a choice of the side dishes that came along with the "fondue" as there was a lot of wastage for the items we did not eat.

    Dennis who served us at dinner and breakfast was a memorable host who joked with the guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the apartment and exactly as described! Wonderful view of Mt Eiger which I didn’t mind it being partially instructed because of the apartment space and layout was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a bit thin. Well our neighbors thought so when we were chatting in bed.

    The view from the room was amazing and the staff were super helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet on my first day. Family room was just the combination of two bedrooms with connection through toilet. Toilet has no lock and have access from both bedrooms. Lift is very small. Breakfast can be improved.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Close to all transport links, the view was amazing, hotel spotlessly clean, food was excellent, staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was in the annex building, and access there was a bit confusing and difficult.

    Perfect location right next to the train station with access to the slopes. Very good breakfast and also very good meals for dinner in the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the room was too cool, was not clear whether it could be adjusted.

    Location is excellent, room was as expected, food was excellent. All areas was very clean and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could add a second cushion to the bed and get better mattresses. Also filling up the breakfast buffet while there are still customers coming for breakfast would be nice.

    The hotel is really in the center of Grindelwald, which is great for walking around. The rooms are cosy, although the beds are not too comfortable and it was quite hot in the room. Breakfast buffet was good, but a few things were no longer available, such as cold milk and jam. Excellent restaurant for dining with very friendly and competent personnel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The receptionist was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the view was awesome and location near to metro. We will definitely come again and the service is more than 3 star

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was excellent, the ski room is convenient, the location was great, our room was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful. It felt like a well run family owned hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft and we have found a small bug on the pillow. Everything else was perfect.

    Eiger view, good breakfast, best location, perfect staff. We will be back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The website advertised wifi, which was one of the key reasons behind our choice. We didn't get a wifi signal all week and had to use mobile data instead. To be fair, the hotel management gave us a reduction because of this. The picture of the room we thought we were booking had a sofa - we didn't get a sofa! As we were leaving, a fellow traveller complained that his ski boots had been stolen from the ski room. I would recommend that the hotel introduces some sort of security for entry into the skiroom.

    Excellent breakfasts. Very friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Rooms were cleaned well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater is not hot enough

    The location of this hotel is perfect! Just 2 mins walking from the train station. The view of this hotel is extremely good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room that was in another building behind the front building of the hotel. The room in general was spacious with a decent balcony and a small kitchen but we had to change rooms (smaller, no view) as the heater did not work. I was really surprised that the hotel staff did not do anything to remedy this and insisted on 11 am check out despite the time we wasted in shifting rooms at night. It was also slightly inconvenient to be located in another building but I would have still given higher points if they were more accommodating in light of the heating problem (in December)!

    The hotel is near all major destinations and transportation in Grindelwald. We dined at the restaurant once and the food and service was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grindelwald is such a beautiful place to stay however the hotel staff sucks It is kind of disappointing that the hotel staff ruined the general experience

    Breakfast is standard however the view was awesome Location is A plus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartments somewhat worn; rooms on the street side have great views but also some trafic noise

    Great location - across the bus and only one step from the train station. Appartments in the nearby house comfortable and very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay at Hotel Central Wolter. Central as it says. Good facilities, clean room, comfy bed, mountain views, English TV channels a bonus. Both hotel and restaurant staff were lovely and friendly. Food in restaurant was good and good breakfast too. An array of shops nearby including a Supermarket and Pharmacy across the way, where the staff were very helpful too. Train tickets could be purchased at the hotel for a trip up the Eiger (not cheap but we knew that beforehand and well worth the experience). Also a free pass was available to use the local buses. Would happily recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air in the room was a bit heavy and the cleaniness could have been better e.g. personally I don't appreciate full floor carpets for the dustiness. However the room was quiet and gave us a good night sleep.

    The location of the hotel was excellent right in the heart of the village and just next to the railwaystation! The view from the balcony was beautiful over the mountains. The breakfast was very good and the dinner good and easy in the downstairs restaurant. The personell was nice and gave us discount tickets for local buses and transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at first I couldn't find the entrance of the hotel..and if you enter with the main entrance, there is a stairs up to the lobby which is not so convenient if you have big luggague

    the location is perfect just next to the train station, breakfast is good and staffs are very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just a comfy place to stay excellent village position good food either on half pension or just bought in their restaurant and of course a friendly staff welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very nice hotel, with an excellent location near the railway station. but my room was in the rooftop of the building, especially my sleeping bed got only one more meter space height, when get on the bed, you would bent, like a hunch over, also the bed's floor was not clean... what's a pity !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit slow wifi connection a bit dark room lighting

    yummy breakfast with really good cold cut, cheese and coffee. Chocolate lovers can order hot chocolate too, you will receive an instant chocolate powder pack, served with hot milk good view of mount Eiger right in front of the balcony very close to Coop (the supermarket) and super close to train station Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave!

    Nice first floor apartment with a roomy balcony and a view of the picturesque town of Grindelwald in the Swiss Alps. Quiet, spacious, well equipped and comfortable apartment away from the main hotel . Staff were courteous, efficient and willing to engage. Restaurant had a nice menu and we enjoyed dinner on the terrace there on two evenings with no complaints. Proximity(about 1 minute walking) to the railway station is a bonus facilitating railway trips to iconic destinations of Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We reserved an apartment room. It was not really an apartment as much as a kitchenette. Most items needed for cooking needed to be checked out front desk as "extra box" at no charge. But even then it was very slim. Not even a knife for cutting bread or veggies only table knives. Our balcony was shared with the room next door (Apt 12) and there was no privacy divider so we never got to enjoy it since the neighbors were out on it reading and smoking. That was disappointing.

    Location was great, Asked for extra pillows and towels and Staff was responsive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive - you can book a room in a good four stars Hotel in Zürich , for example , for that price. There are no kitchen in some rooms - it is better it to consider in advance.

    Wonderful location: just near the railway station, but the property is perfectly silent. Comfortable old fashioned building, even with an elevator. Small but very nice and clean room. Great restaurant with helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great.

    bed was comfortably spacious for 3 as we booked a room with an added bed for 3 people. The location was great as it is literally steps from the train station and grocery store ( though it closed kind of early by the time we wanted to go to get some bottled drinks). The view was good facing the mountains. But the breakfast was much better than expected. The food selection was good and the egg was really well-prepared and delicious. Other items such as meat and cheeses were good as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been softer :(, but I just like a really soft feather pillow.

    There were three of us traveling together, in this hotel we had a split room with a connecting door, the bathroom was in the middle. We also had a connecting balcony with an INCREDIBLE VIEW of the surrounding mountains. Going to Grindelwald was worth it for the views alone, but the staff at this hotel were warm and friendly. Since none of us spoke Swiss German, we weren't sure how well we would be able to communicate but it wasn't an issue. Breakfast is included in the price of your room in this hotel which is a very good deal and delicious with lot of choices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's still mountain view from balcony but slightly blocked. The key hole of apartment was stuck and not easy to open.

    It's spacious since the room we booked was apartment type. Everything is so woody and authentically Switzerland feel in the room. You can have breakfast and dinner with an impressive Eiger view!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast isn't good at all. It is almost not worthy. The selection is very very limited, especially if you have a diet restriction.

    The location of the hotel is great. Everything is in walking distance. The restaurants, grocery store, bar, train station and such. IT is a pet friendly hotel so we could bring our dog which was wonderful. The staff is nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was living in apartment which is a separate building. It is quite troublesome if you carried a large luggage. Besides, there were groups of china tours stayed in hotel in each day, they arrived late and talked very loud outside the building and our room. The hotel should give them a notice to keep quiet

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have had better breakfasts at other hotels although having said that it was certainly adequate

    The location, the balcony, the size of the room and the uninterrupted Eiger views. Dog friendly hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the restaurant and front desk were helpful and friendly. One couldn't ask for a better location right across the street from the shuttle buses. The outdoor portion of the café was very relaxing under the view of the Eiger.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    + Nice & diverse Breakfast Buffet + Friendly Stuff + Clean rooms + Hotel located very centrally ++ only a couple of minutes walk from the train-station ++ only a single minute away from the central bus-station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    like many skiing/mountain hotels at 3 star, they need to cater more for teenagers and be flexible. while adults are ok, teenagers do not want the fixed half board menus. they dont eat them. maybe ask them "what would you like" rather than "this is what you are getting" even ask them in advance at breakfast. it wasnt a problem in the end we got him something from the a la carte but it seemed against their "policy" general comment as everyone knows: the swiss currency is so strong it makes absolutely anything TWICE, or more, the price of rest of europe and world. only the japanese can really afford it hence the dedicated japanese tourist office on main street. this hotel goes a long way towards encouraging skiers to come. the last time i was here it was better exchange rate was 1.52 to euro now its 1.03.

    nice studio apartmemt with view of eiger. excellent location for everything skiing related (or indeed summertime activity im sure) friendly and warm staff. fresh breakfast is very good and the staff are quick to get you fresh filtered coffee (no delays, morning schedule very important when skiing!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money apartment at hotel. Great breakfast and located 30 second walk from the train station to the ski lifts. Also 1 minute walk to the local supermarket which has everything and the sports centre where you can swim and ice skate for free. Second year at this hotel and still impressed. Apartment reasonable size and very clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the breakfast room's view that I can see the mountain all the time. It's very close to the station so it's easy to travel. The staff is very useful. she suggest us a nice restaurant in town and it's very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot!That's my only complaint, whole of hotel way too hot.

    Breakfast great. Very good menu in restaurant. Lovely staff. Heated verandah at street was favourite spot.My little single room had a bath and a balcony. Superb location for bus and train.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no complaints; the price of everything in Switzerland is 25-50% more than elsewhere on the continent - and the hotel's value for money should be interpreted in that context, as should the meal prices, which were reasonable by Swiss standards but would have been expensive by comparison with, say, France or Germany.

    We had a spacious and comfortable front corner room facing directly onto the Eiger. The breakfast had a good selection of food, and the hotel has a nice restaurant (we were bed & breakfast only). The car parking, although not free of charge, was reasonably priced and very convenient for the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator buttons flat screen. I was on third floor and had to repeatedly press it just right in order to get it to work.

    LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! Room with magical view of majestic mountains right outside my small balcony. Flower boxed (real flowers) balcony gives way to view of lush green grassy mountain side with little chalets dotting it. It was an added and totally unexpected bonus to still see green grass in mid-September. Just what you expect for the countryside of Switzerland! For a small single room, it was comfortable. Bed was comfortable, had TV with English speaking channels, bathtub instead of tiny shower, nice basket with shampoo, conditioner and soap. Little table had a welcoming plate of fruit including banana, half a kiwi and some tiny red things I couldn't identify. Had mini fridge which I used to put snacks and drinks in. This was important as everything is so expensive there. Luckily, there is a grocery store a slow 5 minute walk away. Breakfast offered plenty of both hot and cold selections including fresh fruit. Excellent location as tour bus stop directly across street. Train station 5 minute walk. If you're traveling solo, this room will not disappoint. Waking up to the view outside my room is just beyond explanation! Everything I hoped the view would be was there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the dumpster-view room - one with a balcony would have suited us better

    The woman at the desk at check-in was most helpful, and checked us in when we arrived a bit early. She also provided good info on the hiking trails We had the chateau briand in the restaurant, and it was superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is perfact, right next to the train station and to a supermarket. the view is great. we got a very comfortable 2 rooms connectiong for 3 people, with balcony, it was perfact. the car parking very good and the stuff friendly and the hotel very clean. if we come back to Grindelwald we defently stay again in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    almost all staff were kind and friendly except one serving lady who refused to let us use the corner table saying 'it's not ready'. Actually what she had to do was just replacing the set of a knife and a fork from the table next to this corner one. (The next morning, we found that table was beautifully ready for us, though)

    we could enjoy wonderful and gorgeous sunset and sunrise everyday from windows of this corner room. Literally we could face the awe-inspiring Eiger from the wide terrace. The cleaning lady was really a joyful and kind person. We promised her we'd come again to see her.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, close to shops and train station. Large spacious apartments, good breakfast and restaurant with a great view. There was also limited parking available onsite (reserve in advance!).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Switzerland is expensive and what one gets per Euro is less than almost all countries in Europe.

    The central position is ideal. Car parking at rear was helpful. Breakfast included hot food. Reception staff were always positive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very limited selection at the breakfast bar for someone with a gluten-free diet.

    Very hospitable hotels staff - particularly the F&B service, and reception. Upon the arrival we realized, that we had mistakenly booked a single room instead of a double. The receptionist was very friendly, and resolved this issue promptly by offering us an upgrade without any fee. We really appreciated this gesture, and overall enjoyed the brief 1 night stay! :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture, especially the chairs are too old.

    The location is excellent. Just a few steps from the railway station. Breakfast is nice and the half board dinner is good, worth a try. The kitchen in the apartment is good enough to prepare a simple dinner for a family.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom smelled slightly like an old gym

    Breakfast gives a very good start for a day of hiking; the location is great and from the rooms in the front you have a stunning view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maid did not seem to do good job. Drinking glass was put away without being cleaned properly.

    Very convenient location. Closed to train station and supermarket. Breakfast is good with reasonably choices of food for long stay. Croissant is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has no air conditioning. Room was stiffling hot with windows open during our mid july 2016 visit. As with most europeon hotels, the bed has no top sheet, just a comforter that is also used in winter months. I am sure during fall and spring this would not be a problem but during the warm summer months the room was very uncomfortable!

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    The location is perfect for those traveling by train or bus. A fine breakfast. Rooms are small, but the balcony with seating gave needed space for those sharing a room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is our third stay at this hotel staying 7 nights each time but we didn't feel a particularly warm welcome. The hotel has a huge turnover in groups which are hard work and make the staff relatively frosty.

    Location great, room decor quirky & fun, shower great, a la carte restaurant good. The breakfast has quality ingredients - fresh fruit salad, artisan bread, lovely cheese and quality jam. The big Wolter ice cream (Share with 2-4 people) is unbelievable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not the best. Loud Asian tour group who wiped out breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is one toilet for 4 of us, and the toilet is the passage of the rooms.

    Nice location, cosy room with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The connecting room share bathroom cannot lock

    Location superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the breakfast room was not so good. Better coffee in room.

    Comfortable, so convenient. Great view! Breakfast eggs were exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is average

    perfect location, and very good for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a solo traveller it is great to get a single room with a balcony - overlooking the Eiger.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing Breakfast menu. Less variety.

    Room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second building has no internet to access; breakfast served very slow eg. egg, ham.

    Near the station, quiet, good view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more choices.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Room was clean. Great view from the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly, the location just perfect and rooms very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all very good

    Well located, good price for Grindelwald, comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Large comfortable room. Very helpful with accomodating our late arrival and arranging parking. Very happy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the hotel having a lounge and bar to relax in.

    The room was big and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is excellent, very convenient to the station. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location, great services

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. There were no unpleasant hidden surprises. We were very happy with location, staff, the room, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited parking space and need to pay. difficult to carry luggage to lobby as there’s no lift to reception.

    close to train station and shops

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: