Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet des Alpes 4 stars

Chemin de la Fréha 33a, 1978 Crans-Montana, Switzerland

#1 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Crans-Montana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was superb. The place was peaceful and the views were breathtaking the host was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious amazing place to get away from all the noise in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Chalet des Alpes for 2 nights. The hosts are really nice, kindly and you can feel that Garry and Karen love what they do. Both days we had breakfast which was also good. Everything you need for a good start into the day was given(fresh bread, juice,cereals, cheese & ham). At our first evening Garry prepared also a 3-course menue which was really good. The room and bathroom was very clean and fully equipped with all stuff you need (underfloor heating,hairdryer,towels). The view from our balcony was wonderful :) We totally enjoyed our stay and would recommend it 100% Greatings from Germany :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A suggestion: to have chairs in the terrace to be possible to take profit of the beautiful landscape outside and relax...

    The hosts were very efficient and helpful😊 The breakfast was quite good and the meals as well!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    /

    - very nice and hospitable hosts, helpful with all the guests needs (for example they provided tips for different activities) - the food was delicious - the view from the room and dinning room was awesome - nicely decorated rooms - pleasant and quite atmosphere, good for relaxing - I would definitely go again there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Read the 10+ reviews and you will know everything you need to know! A suggestion for you: when communicating with Gary and Karen, ask for driving or for train/bus/walking directions to the chalet. These are simple but important to avoid confusion.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great Location.Excellent service from the owners. Rooms very comfortable Good Bathroom and the accommodation was very warm. We had to leave at 06.00 on our last night in the morning to get to the airport for early flights The owners left us a prepare breakfast at 5.30. Great. Will look forward to planning a return visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The local village only had 2 eating places available , so you really need to travel down into the valley, or up to Crans to open up the options.

    The guesthouse is very clean with excellent views down into the valley in a quiet location. The hosts were welcoming and informative about the area, and provided invaluable information. we stopped one night , but we are sure they could provide days or weeks of trips around the area. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh as a cold buffet style .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great with fantastic views down the valley, the Chalet is on the edge of Lens which is 8-10minutes drive below Crans & Montana. Lens is an amazing old village Friendly owners. Very helpful with info. Great continental breakfasts. Bathroom was new, shower was very powerful. Bar available in the evening. Short walk into Lens, just a little off the beaten track but in a really good way. Excellent instructions on how to find the property. Found it easily in the dark.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gary and Karen were fantastic hosts. The property is absolutely immaculate and the views/location stunning. The evening meal was delicious and breakfasts offered everything you could want.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little foot mats by the bed, was the only thing I could better. only 2 restaurants in town, one overpriced and one for the locals, was not to bad. Next time I will eat at the Chalet des Alpes.

    It is a beautiful house with a beautiful view. quiet at night, friendly owners, they really try to make you feel at home, price wise exactly what we wanted. We will go again. :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The village though small and charming dies not have too many dinner options. The chalet itself provides dinner however.

    Great view from the room. Good breakfast. Plenty of parking and it is a small and charming village a short drive from all the fun stuff. The hosts were accommodating when we were quite a bit late for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The chalet is clean and comfortable, but what makes this place so special is Karen and Gary who own the Chalet and do everything an amazing host should, to ensure you get the best holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Host was very helpful concerning local information and flexibility of breakfast time and check out. Very easy access to the Crans Ski area, only 3 miles away with excellent parking facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We staied two nights in the Chalet and all was Perfect. Karen and Gary made everything to feel the guests comfortable. The atmosphere is very familiy like because there are only five rooms. For us it was Perfect. The breakfast was homemade and was fresh. If someone expect some saumon or Kaviar had choosen the wrong location. But for "normal" wishes you will find something. There is a possibility to eat something from the Menucard. There is a Menu of the day or the à la card with approximative 20 dishes. I could not rate it, because we hadn't choosen it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gary and Karen are so friendly and helpful! The room was so clean and comfortable! Breakfast was nice but I feel they could do a bit better. The chalet was only 10 minutes by car from Crans Montana ski resort which was so convenient! We didn't try dinner but we are hoping to do that next year!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never go there in winter. Landlady seems to be suffering from OCD . She asked us to remove our shoes before we go upstairs to our room. I think that was very rude as I have traveled a lot but no hotel has done this before. Please don't save money find some other place .....

    View from the room is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As we approached the property ,brill location Met by very friendly owners who were excellent with knowledge of what was available to do in area We decided to eat at the chalet food was excellent quality and value for money Definitely recomend to others

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have everything right.

    Very clean and well maintained property. Solid breakfast. Friendly and accommodative staff. Good lockation. Fantastic views. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - city of Lens itself is super small, so for most activities and restaurants you'll have to drive somewhere else - breakfast table could have more fruits

    - Very cozy hotel, close to Crans Montana for those who do sports (4km away) - Room has everything one would need (tea/coffee, hair drier) - Our room was very private and quite, never heard the neighboors - Owners were helpful, gave an iron and ironing board

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spotless, the bed really was 'like a cloud'. The views were amazing and the only thing that was better than all that was the hospitality! Thank you Karen and Garry for a great stay. We'll be booking for next years golf very soon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The hosts, cleanliness, breakfast, views, facilities, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice chalet, clean and comfortable room, terrace with beautiful view, free parking in front of the house, pleasant owners

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! The owners were amazing and the room as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Très bon accueil, I recommend this place if you are looking for a peaceful weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place to stay, extremely clean, very good breakfast, very kind hosts, very reasonable prices for the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really is like home away from home. The hosts were amazing and very accommodating and breakfast was really yummy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the small village of Lens, so only few restaurants can be found within 200 metters.

    The place is very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The chalet facilities were extremely good and the attention to detail excellent. Gary and Karen were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight inconvenience was the rooms can hear what goes on next door....of next door are noisy!

    Fantastic location and very welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great Place to Be !!! thx Karen & Gary !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their Wonderful Hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very little is not likeable, I can't really name something, it hard to define something

    privelistea, aerul, linistea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place pour stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Extremely peaceful, beautiful views. Very kind owners, very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind personnel, clean rooms, proper breakfast, nice environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps breakfast but not so bad I mean English coffee is not for European people ;-)

    Beautiful location Amazing view Take balcony room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at Chalet des Alpes! A perfect place for everybody right in the middle of the Alps.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit too firm for us

    Fantastic location and lovely hosts they couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gary and Karen are doing all they can to assure you have a pleasant stay at there beautiful chalet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was breathtaking and the staff were incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of..

    My room was very comfortable. Karen & Gary were excellent hosts, I shall definitely stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent house with excellent host who really took time to give us very useful tips on getting around. Very good breakfast, too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a really nice B&B, room is clean and confortable. Price is correct. We are very enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Amazing hospitality, felt welcome. Gary and Karen were very knowledgeable on what to do in and around Crans Montana

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The twin beds were put together to make a king, but we each had separate twin duvets. Would prefer a king duvet for a couple sleeping together as we would either get tangled up in the two or uncovered.

    The chalet was very modern but still had the traditional mountain feel to it. The rooms were spacious with a beautiful viiew. The breakfasts were delicious, and Gary and Karen were so helpful with information on places to visit and things to do. The value was excellent in a country with typically high prices. We loved the Valais Region - we visited a different town/area every day - all within an hour max.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts Gary & Karen are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Their chalet is beautiful and it felt like a home away home, with a lovely big guest lounge and delicious breakfasts. Our room was large and comfortable, and the room and ensuite was cleaned and made-up every day. The chalet has beautiful views over the valley and alps and is very close to the local ski areas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a very special place.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ''Now children don't be late, Chalet des Alps wants you to check in by eight!' The property requested arrival times which is ok, however we were on a road trip throughout the day and couldn't commit to a fixed time. This may not be a good choice of accommodation if you need a late check in time.

    Clean and comfortable stay. The countryside is stunning and if you're after a quiet relaxing stay in the alps, this is the place! Gary was delightful in the morning, conversational and serving breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Dinner, early check out, and not getting a daily towel change. Though the reasons why, like take your shoes off, were understandable, there were a few 'don'ts' too many. Visitor tax paid was more than that on the receipt.

    The chalet is nice and comfortable, furnished with sturdy pine. The beds are good and so is the linen, the wifi reception,and the efficient light shower room. Friendly owners who serve an excellent breakfast. This B&B is surrounded by other houses, so to capture the beautiful views try to avoid those in your lens. Do visit the new local cultural centre, but be prepared for the admission fee: CHF 18 pp!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike about our nine day stay!

    The location and cleanliness is second to none. Karen and Gary excell as hosts and are very helpful in suggesting days out and things to do.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts Karen and Gary were woundefully helpfully giving us maps and information on sights to see. The view from our room was fantastic and the location quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There isn't anything to not like.

    Karen and Gary are great people and were very helpful. They are great hosts and manage their B&B in excellence. I would recommend the Chalet des Alpes to everyone I know.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a big thing: the full table (with brossures) in the dining room was a bit uncomfortable.

    Really nice guesting: Karen and Gary is a very kind couple, who helped us with good tips what to do in rainy weather.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My one gripe was that in my room there were tiny flying bugs that, when got close to my ears, emitted a high-pitch noise that was very unpleasant.

    Informative hosts, cleanliness of property, location of chalet and easy accessibility to hiking trails

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The absurdly early check-out and late check-in. Reminded at least 10 times about the check-out time: when we booked,huge black block letters on our confirmation, posted on the door, told by both owners, reminded again and again. Also the slipper thing... The chalet does not allow children yet we, a mature couple with many years of extensive traveling experience, were treated as such. Pay to borrow trail guides? Poor breakfast: almost empty Mr. Coffee maker,stale breads Felt like the inn keepers could not wait until we left ! Although there are five rooms and only two taken, we were not offered a room with balcony but rather had to hunker down to enjoy the spectacular view. Not welcoming at all...

    Clean...but this is expected! Inexpensive enough but that doesn't make up for the rules. I don't treat my house guests this way!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    that we had lo leave ... :/

    we stayed in Chalet des alpes for 6 days. Gery and Karen were amazing hosts ! very kind and helpful with all our questions . the place is super clean and comfortable , the view is amazing and relaxing. breakfast were very nice and tasty :) very recommended place . thank you very much !!!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and comfortable rooms, very nice balcony with great views into the valley below and the mountains. Friendly English couple that manages the chalet. Excellent value for money,

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I loved it!

    It was our second time staying at Chalet des Alpes, and for sure we shall return on our next trip! Great hosts, superb rooms and spotless cleanliness.... You found my secret Valais Chalet!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A later check-in than 8pm isn't welcome at all (should be clearly stated when booking, so don't recommend a drive on a Friday evening after work, you won't feel welcome), the breakfast could have been a little bit richer..

    Good located B&B managed by a British couple, very clean and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location and view from the balcony, great positioning in a small village at 10 mins from the ski resorts and 15 mins from the highway in the valley, friendliness of the owners and breackfast. I would deifinittely recommend Challet des Alpes to anyone in search for a quite place to rest after a day of great skiing or trecking or other mountain activities.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Couldn't manually set the heating system in the room. - Can't find power sockets like in most european countries, couldn't charge my laptop and phones.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have preferred Swiss meal option

    Excellent accommodation, location.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfty beds, good hosts & amazing views

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only three days !!😒

    Everything !!👍😉

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In case you are going for riding, you definitely need a car to go the gondolas!

    Super clean and super friendly!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaint.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is quite far from the closest available train station.

    The room is extremely clean, and the experienced couple were nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    karen & gary are very nice. beautiful view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation is spotlessly clean and the owners most agreeable and knowledgeable with regards the surrounding areas. Will stay again

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is fantastic. This property is highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls maybe a little thin...

    Very friendly owner. Gave lots of helpful directions.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent accommodation. Very friendly atmosphere. I travel a lot and I'm sick of hotels but this place was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff and lots of ideas for day tours. Great price for the area.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    exceptionally clean, relaxing, excellent views

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, felt like a home away from home. Will be revisiting.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: