Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa 5 stars

Domaine de Rochegrise, 1884 Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland

#2 of 34 hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Over priced, and distinctly average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • RoyAlp Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was not anywhere near 5 star. The food was tepid when it came to the table at dinner. The hotel didn't seem bothered. The choice of hot food at breakfast was limited. The hotel charged 4CHF for a coffee capsule - in the room!

    The Spa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Completely offended that they didn't look after my mum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff.... My 72 year old mum was with me, she fell ill, I asked 3 times for a hot compress for her, to no avail, after being reassured they will sort one out from a member of staff on the front desk at 1730, by 2100 I gave up but it was too late to go to the pharmacy. On the first night, my 3 year old son was extremely hungry so I ordered a Pizza assuming it would take 10-15 mins, 25 mins later I received a cremated pizza. I asked the concierge for tickets for the train to Bretaye, instead she sold me ski passes, what should have cost approx. chf100, she charged me chf200... all in all completely offended that they didn't look after my mum.

    The driver of the shuttle was amazing, did over and above the call of duty. Its a shame the rest of the staff weren't even 10% as good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Great spa, nice facilities and fabulous room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room felt crowded on Sunday morning and was not perfectly organised. Restaurants have not the same perfection as the rest of the hotel - but all in all, a place to return to.

    Great spa, nice facilities and fabulous room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    One concierge(Ruben) was very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything else! The receptionists ere in most Unprofessional of the years! the ski piste is 30Minutes walk from the hotel, we called the reception, and waited 30 minutes in Cold for Hotel's navette, they just forgot telling the driver, and did not even pick up our calls(6) after that. The staff were almost all foreigner( nothing against that), but most of them were seasonal, and untrained workers fron E-European country or from France! that is the problem. After one day intensive ski ,we have to wait uncomfortably for 20 minutes, because the room was not clean. Hotel guests were a lot of so called " faux rich" or "fake rich" Too much miss for hit, you must be crazy to pay 600 euro+ for a "look good" but poorly served hotel. I would recommended to a more established ski ressort such as Gstaad, or pick a in town 4* hotel which looks more swiss quality Hotel

    One concierge(Ruben) was very professional. the restaurants were also good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service. But Michelin starred restaurant was a total disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the service at the Michelin starred restaurant. We ordered the filet de boeuf which was overcooked and dry. We complained to the service staff. However this complaint was completely overlooked and we received no apologies or efforts to bring us something else. Our complaint was completely ignored.

    Beautiful hotel, excellent service, lovely spa, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.9
    A nice hotel - but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the food choices a bit limited, abd the restaurants and bars dramatically over-priced, with a cheese fondue, for example, costing more than twice as much as in nearby restaurants. We were also very disappointed with the brunch that was served on Christmas day, which was greatly inferior to brunch buffets we have had elsewhere in Switzerland and had very little that was special for Christmas. The staff, while friendly and hard wirking, also seemed a but confused at times, and several freely admitted that they had only been working there for two or three weeks. All in all, a nice hotel but not quite the special experience one would expect given the prices.

    The hotel is beautifully fitted out with lovely views and very comfortable rooms. The spa and pool are excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    I can't wait to go back in the winter!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    They should not charge for parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should not charge for parking! Room was quite small with no view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A brilliant weekend away, staff and facilities all excellent - definitely highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • RoyAlp Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpful staff, amazing location, kids room great, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    They should not charge for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should not charge for parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    TOTALY WORTH IT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TOTALY WORTH IT!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive RoyAlp Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent breakfast,terrific clean pool,friendly and efficient staff.First class hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive RoyAlp Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi was extremely slow- slowest of 12 hotels visited. Charge for unsecured open car park is excessive.

    Excellent luxury hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Clean rooms, very nice breakfast, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a shame for a 5 star hotel to have this menu in the bar. If you don't want to spend €150 per person in their restaurant, you are offered a menu in the bar with an extremely poor and expensive choice of food. A burger for €38, a green salad for €16 and few more positions. No bar drinks menu was offered even once. I would not come here with kids.

    Clean rooms, very nice breakfast, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.4
    There was a wedding on the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a wedding on the first night. The loud music went on until 3.30am. We had paid for an expensive suite and had to move to an apartment in the middle of the night, carrying all of our things. There was no offer of any refund or anything else to compensate for our experience. We feel that for a 5 star hotel having loud music late into the night is unacceptable.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The staff were kind and put us at ease very quickly (we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were kind and put us at ease very quickly (we aren't familiar with such high degree of luxury and quality of service). The hotel is beautiful, clean, perfect finishings and the room service is simply the best.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Spa is nice to have especially when it's raining and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurants very very very expensive. Would be nice with a bar menu with "European" prices. Pool and jacuzzi way too cold!

    Spa is nice to have especially when it's raining and you are traveling with children. (Pool and jacuzzi should be looked at though , temperature is way too cold!) Staff very nice and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.2
    Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa is a beautifully constructed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only criticism of the hotel was that the 2 coffee pods per day for our in-room coffee maker were not replaced on 3 out of the 7 days we stayed. It was frustrating returning from a day out to find a coffee machine with no coffee - and the hotel provided no milk (not even long life pods or powdered milk in sachets). The hotel offered additional coffee pods for 4CHF each! The hotel is situated a few hundred metres above the centre of Villars and there is a small mountain railway stop (Roche Grise) adjacent to the hotel. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to and from the village but frustratingly this can not be pre-booked even when departing the hotel to catch a train/plane with luggage, although it was always available when we needed it. During the winter season, if you are not a skier there is not a great deal to do in Villars. The scenery is stunning but we found hardly any walks and these were not properly marked. The available walking maps were not very accurate or useful.

    Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa is a beautifully constructed and well appointed hotel which is generally well run and managed. The rooms are certainly very comfortable with all amenities. As frequent visitors to the Swiss Alps, I can say that this was probably the most spacious and best appointed room we have stayed in. The inclusive and very extensive buffet breakfast boasted every possible food preference. The hotel director (Philippe) was often present at breakfast, greeting guests. The two à la carte restaurants (one offering gourmet food and the other with Swiss specialities including fondu) offered a good selection and the standard of cuisine was very high. However, if you are on holiday with children, the food was quite fancy and pretty expensive. It was a shame that they did not offer a fixed price daily menu which might have suited families staying for a few days. Visiting other local restaurants in Villars almost seemed to be encouraged and the hotel Concierge was very helpful in booking these. The hotel spa facilities and pool are excellent although my wife and I found the pool temperature rather chilly and the treatments offered by the spa were quite pricey. Most days the spa and pool were not open until 9:30am.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.6
    Great mountain resort hotel, ideal for skiing and most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ski back to the hotel has a 200 m or so flat / slight incline section (can however always take the mountain railway back).

    Great mountain resort hotel, ideal for skiing and most likely very lovely in summer too. Rooms very comfortable. Particularly liked breakfast in restaurant, pool and spa, hotel shuttle service (any place / any time within the village of Villars), link to slopes by mountain railway (stop just outside hotel), reception, hotel arranged ski hire drop off service.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    6.3
    The location, the spa and the carnozet restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service for drinks at the bar was very long, the service for lunch was a catastrophy, dirty restaurant, swimming pool cold. Quite disappointing for the price!

    The location, the spa and the carnozet restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    friendly staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They ran out of items on the buffet breakfast such as potatoe fritters and pancakes, Not very 5 star

    friendly staff and location

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Great sized room and the resort was decorated beautifully!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great sized room and the resort was decorated beautifully!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Stunning place with lovely people around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stunning place with lovely people around...amazing service...we loved every single second of staying..

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff and the quality and cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general. Cant wait to go back.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    9.2
    Amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing staff!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    - housekeeping was rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - housekeeping was rude

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Housekeeping should be instructed to observe the courtesy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Housekeeping should be instructed to observe the courtesy and the privacy of the guests

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.0
    The manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    The inside of the hotel is cosy and warm due to the chalet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    limited menu in the restaurant

    The inside of the hotel is cosy and warm due to the chalet style finishing.Very clean

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.6
    great attention to detail and fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great attention to detail and fantastic service

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    10
    Excellent service and facilities, nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service and facilities, nothing too much trouble. Great location

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Couple

    Better televisions in the rooms they didn t work very well...

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.6
    atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    New Year's Eve service was very weak

    atmosphere

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: