Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness 2 stars

Stella Alpina Resort , Ronco in Val Bedretto, 6781 Bedretto, Switzerland

#3 of 5 hotels in Bedretto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, I have booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, I have booked for a single room and they upgraded to a superior one. The room was extremely cozy with wonderful balcony with mountain views. Since I had to leave before breakfast time they gave me a small bag with everything I needed. I strongly recommend it. Stefania fron italy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got stuck in the hotel for a whole day due to the weather. We understand that there where nothing to do, but if you have a full house of people who have schedules then the staff should do a bit more to clear the roads and get the people out of the village and etc.

    We loved the consept and the scenery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Good hospitality, we felt very welcome through our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Good hospitality, we felt very welcome through our stay. Great location, amazing views, and we loved the cosy, intimate decor of the chalet. There was a kettle in our room so we could make coffee and tea. Bottled drinking water was provided. The bathroom was very clean and adequate. The on-site restaurant is good, the blueberry mushroom risotto was exceptional! There was no English menu, but they patiently explained every dish and helped us order. Breakfast was good, solid fare. All in all, we had a very nice, relaxing stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    The location is perfect, especially if travelling by public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room #2 - there seems to be a generator of some sort and tall, bright spot-light close-by outside, which was not really disturbing, but did spoil the atmosphere just a little bit.

    The location is perfect, especially if travelling by public transport since the hotel is right beside the bus-stop. I also like that it is a small, cosy hotel and very clean and tastefully decorated. The interior design is chalet style and it is classy. It is a "silent hotel" and it is located in a quiet valley. The restaurant serves really good food, reasonably price, and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Good service, cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but could have more vegan options.

    Beautiful location! Loved that they have so many vegan options on the dinner menu. Also perfect service and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Alpine chic Ticino style at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer softer mattresses.

    Amazing place, beautifully decorated, very welcoming staff, great food for dinner, overall a very charming place for the perfect mountain experience. Would def come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Luxury
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional and friendly staff. Great views. Relaxing and quiet place (in summer). Delicious meal in the restaurant especially vegetarian dishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    Amazing location but expensive food and you feel stuck!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know about swiss high economy but I oredered 30 grams (about) of tomato pasta for a 2 year old child and they charged 12 euros.

    The location and the view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    The view was spectacular and the food at the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet in room and not a lot of bus times. The lady wasn't as friendly but I think it was because she wasn't confident with her English

    The view was spectacular and the food at the restaurant fantastic. It smells so wonderful and fresh up in the mountain. Lovely area for walked and bus stop right out the front of the building. Only downer is there is not many bus times and it's 12 Ks from train station which is an expensive fee by worth it. Rent a car shop is not far to the right up the hill, could catch a bus. The owner was great. He happily gave me a lift to the station. Fantastic location. Unforgettable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, this area is a pure delight, and the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite of the quiet location, we could not keep the window open because of some noisy engine. This was very unfortunate.

    Amazing location, this area is a pure delight, and the food was excellent. Nice cosy room with very comfortable bed. Unfortunately, we did not have time to enjoy the SPA: we should stay longer next time! Staff very friendly and makes you feel at home at every minute.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Typical beautiful chalet hotel close to San Gottardo motorway in stunning alpine scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snag is, Switzerland is just a tad expensive £30 for the house red (delicious though it was£

    Typical mountain chalet beautifully decorated in cool modern colours. Good restaurant & lovely breakfast. Great location high in San Gottardo alps.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    Would have been nicer with water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No running water at hotel. No shower, no wellness. This due to break in water mains. Not the fault of the hotel but they still could have offered a token compensation. Being able to offer such a token would have reduced the stress level for the staff who had to bring the bad news. There's space to improve on their hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Great place nearby Gotthard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high prices of food and drinks in comparison with other european countries.

    The friendly staff, the stunning views, the good WiFi. The location is close to the Gotthard pass.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    It was a really nice and clean hotel with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An additional 19CHF per person were asked for making using of the wellness center, while this was not made clear in the description of the facilities

    It was a really nice and clean hotel with an amazing view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    stunning views wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being asked to pay for our dinner and room just before retiring to bed, it made us feel as though they thought we would abscond in the morning without paying!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Super wee hotel - pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ...only thing is stairs to bedrooms are wood and very creaky. Don't think it can be helped as just the way it has been built but when taking my dog out early morning felt it was noisy and didn't want to wake everyone. i would recommend here !! 👍🏻😀

    Very pet friendly. Friendly staff and make to feel welcome. We also were a very last minute booking but everything was perfect. We also had some dinner when we arrived which was lovely. Breakfast was fine not huge selection but ample. Views are a must. Our room no 4 had double aspect window which had amazing views. Pic below of view. Well done to the owners and staff 😀😀😀🐾🐾.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Wonderful warm atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing at all to fault.

    A great deal of care had been taken in decorating the hotel to give it a warm and homely feel. The owners have made a first class job and the atmosphere is lovely from the moment you walk into the entrance hall to the individual rooms. From the balcony in each room there is a wonderful view down the Bedretto valley. The location is fantastic. The staff were welcoming and delightful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff. Good food and great wines. Very close to great pass-roads!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great, calm and magic place to spend time out of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, calm and magic place to spend time out of the city. Very helpful staff, and beautiful, clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location stunning views, friendly staff,comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location stunning views, friendly staff,comfy bed. We were also upgraded to a superior room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Very quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quite place. The staff is super! And view is wonderful!!! Love this!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    View from the balcony is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View from the balcony is amazing! Room is very clear and comfortable, in the early morning sunshine in the room is just wonderful!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Very good and worth everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say

    Its all you can ask and more... Perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place to spend a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place to spend a weekend. Quiet hotel with very good restaurant and very nice staff :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower was separate from our room

    Amazing views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    A relaxing stay in the Ticino mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great dinner. Excellent polenta and porcini mushrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Located in a beautiful area.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced even for Switzerland

    Located in a beautiful area. Made us very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Very quiet and nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet and nice place. Nice staff and good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Luxury
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts in the property but it was expected since it's a chalet. Breakfast was a bit limited

    Location Views Staff Ambience

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Atmosphere was fantastic could' have asked for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere was fantastic could' have asked for better.😊

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    A perfect little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, very nice staff, excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Views amazing, very quiet location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very isolated with no other access to food and drink other than this hotel unless you want to drive. Quite expensive.

    Views amazing, very quiet location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Diner was super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing was bad! Would go there again, any time!

    Diner was super! Try the polenta with ham, egg and blue cheese! Breakfast has great bread, really tasteful! Very good and polite service and good rooms with great shower!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    8.8
    Nice room, nice location, nice view, staff made up for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sound insulation between rooms

    Nice room, nice location, nice view, staff made up for a booking error with a bottle of wine for dinner. As the Nufenen pass is closed during the snowy season, the valley is very quiet

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    Everything but the food was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was a bit disappointing. Breakfast buffet was minimal (as Italian breakfast often is) and our dinner dishes were not impressive Minestrone soup - small, simple with little flavour Cheese platter - a few pieces of unremarkable cheeses with honey dip Ossobuco with risotto - ok Brasato with polenta - way too salty, we mentioned it after eating half and were immediately offered a replacement. Opted for a free desert. Tiramisu - no flavour of coffee or masala, ladyfingers crunchy and not properly soaked. These are all classic Italian dishes and can definitely be made better Hint: For a great food experience at similar prices, go Locanda Orelli in Bedretto 1 km from the hotel

    Everything but the food was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    7.5
    silvesterabend da zu verbringen ist wunderschön.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next time I would like to take a room in the roof because I woke up each time when someone in the room over ours went to the toilet. Th Menu with this Halfpension prices and supplementary everywhere is to complicated for me. Maybe also for the staff?

    silvesterabend da zu verbringen ist wunderschön. To be there for newyear evening was wonderful. Thank you very much. Personal very nice, well english speaking, good and special food. We met interesting guests from everywhere: persons from the valley, french part of switzerland, Japan, children, dogs...just a good mix.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.0
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My room was in the basement with very basic and old furniture. There was not wifi signal at all. I could hear the laundry machines tumbling all night. Like sleeping on a ship next to the engine. Worst, I cloud not upgrade to an available better room, because booking.com won't let me and the hotel would have to pay booking.com charges. Canceling was also not an option, since the cancellation period was over. What a mess!

    Good food

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Stunning view, beautiful house, phenomenal attention to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything except internet that didn't work in our rooms and breakfast which was too basic.

    Stunning view, beautiful house, phenomenal attention to details. One of the best if not THE best place that we've seen in Switzerland for that budget, and we've see a lot! Also has an open fire place in one of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.5
    Above average restaurant with inventive dishes like the much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Above average restaurant with inventive dishes like the much touted blueberry porcini risotto that we liked. Out of the way inn but fairly well located for a hiking excursion. We enjoyed a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    The scenery was breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The scenery was breathtaking. Staff very friendly and spoke excellent English. Plenty of tables to sit outside if desired. Small sun terrace (free) outside the hot tub and sauna area (charged extra). Evening meal was very good and so was breakfast. Even though in a very small village this seemed the only place to eat/drink so would have to drive if wanted to eat elsewhere. Free wifi worked well. Shower in the ensuite was good.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    8.3
    The room we had was very spacious and the kids could run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room we had was very spacious and the kids could run around. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Just love the overall feel of the place, very calm and good to relax. Food was great, compliments to the chef.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to get to from Airolo via public transport.

    Great hotel in a superb location! Wellness center is phenomenal! Staff was amazing as well!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    Wifi low signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi low signal

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't stay couple of days more

    The staff was extremely friendly. The food was superbe! One must try the blueberry and porcini risotto!!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    nice nature surround
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old equipment need waits renovation. Narrow room. Narrow upstairs, no lift.

    nice nature surround

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    Very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very kind staff Excellent restaurant on site Would definitely go there again Location in the middle of Swiss Alps

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.2
    very friendly staff, location is just the thing as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff, location is just the thing as a starting point for hiking trips into the mountains, great scenery

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    View, Stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seperated beds

    View, Stuff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful spot on the Nufenenpass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful spot on the Nufenenpass. Warm welcome. Good Italian food

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.0
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner lady?? Quite abrupt !!

    The view!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings, conveniently located for travelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The meals did not live up to the expectations.

    Beautiful surroundings, conveniently located for travelling across the alps.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Scenery, decor, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Scenery, decor, nice staff. Fabulous vegetarian and vegan Food.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    excellent cooking ,smiling and friendly owner,real swiss and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent cooking ,smiling and friendly owner,real swiss and italian atmosphere and mood Thank you

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.5
    The view from the room compensates any imperfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the room compensates any imperfection!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Pet-friendliness Staff Value for money

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: