Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chesa Spuondas 3 stars

Via Somplaz 47, 7500 St. Moritz, Switzerland

#14 of 75 hotels in St. Moritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    An excellent location with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very relaxing stay. The views from our suite were stunning and it was lovely sitting on the balcony and taking in the view. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and all the meals were excellent. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is an old house and certainly has some building restrictions there is no elevator if you have heavy suitcase(s) it might be an issue.

    A converted beautiful Old Swiss house into an hotel in the Engadin. Well located, quite calm and a good relation Quality-Price. Good Swiss hospitality in a forest environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    A cozy hotel, hidden from the city and busy streets, stylish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound isolation

    A cozy hotel, hidden from the city and busy streets, stylish and big rooms overlooking the mountains and valley, wonderful playground for kids and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Royal living
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel like leaving the place.

    Excellent location amongst Sylvan surroundings. A typical swiss mansion. Beautiful furniture. Extremely courteous and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and coffee. Good bed and linens. Would have loved to stay for a couple of days more

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    In an amazing location with a jaw dropping view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised check in was from 4pm. We arrived at 3 there was no one there but a resident who was passing advised we would find an envelope with our name on at reception and our room key would be inside. It would have been good to have been made aware of this beforehand.

    In an amazing location with a jaw dropping view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing and refeshing experi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff & owners were very helpful and friendly. Dinner and breakfast was superb. View is exceptional. Room and terrace / yard was quiet. Bed and pillow 10 points of 10.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming small hotel just outside of St. Moritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not a fancy place, but you couldn't ask for a nicer welcome.

    In an expensive city, this is a reasonably priced, charming hotel with great customer service. It's a bit no frills but suited my needs perfectly. The photo is of the view from my room of the fancy Survetta House hotel across the street. Went there to get a bit to eat and found the staff unfriendly, except for the waitress in the bar. Complete opposite experience at the Chesa Spunodas--super helpful and accomodating. Highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Good option if you don't need to be right in the centre of town - very good if you have own transpor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little remote - 15 minute walk to nearest bus top but that also means it is quiet

    Lovely old building / former private home - antique furniture and character

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely Charming but somehow limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com does not make clear that some rooms do not have an en-suite bathroom. There is a private one made available to those rooms, but across the alley. The position is gorgeous but unless one has its own car, be prepared to depend on not so easy (and costly) public transport (stop is 10 mins walk)

    Fabulous position and atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel comfort with a friendly family welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really nothing much to say. A kettle in the room would have been lovely, but then there was tea and coffee available permanently downstairs.

    This is a very unusual hotel. In many ways more like coming to a home; friendly, relaxed welcome, very helpful and accommodating staff, cosy, comfortable sitting areas, easy interaction with other guests of all ages, nice, large rooms, and good food. What more could you ask for? Not much, especially after the lovely surprise New Year's drink and all the useful tips about the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful, warm stay with a spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a wonderful spot just outside of St. Moritz. Our room (14) was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the lakes west of St. Moritz surrounded by mountains which for our visit were covered with snow. The breakfast room below has the same view. Plenty of parking on site. Staff was wonderful and helpful, particularly Mabel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic room,stunning view.cannot praise this hotel enough.very child friendly.nothing is to much trouble.staff are so welcoming.Did not want to leave.will definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was weak. Common room is average but clean. No TV in room but this was not a problem for us. Need public transportation to get to city but you get a city card for free.

    staff was excellent. They helped us get around city with great information. We also ate dinner and breakfast there each of the the 3 days there. Food was top-notch, especially dinner and price was fantastic for a 3 course meal. We also got a city card to use for buses, trains, and cable cars for staying more than 1 night. That saved us a lot of money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Better for families. Avoid if a couple or want a bit of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room - too small, old spring mattresses, no bathtub and only 1 wall socket. Could hear everybody moving in the hotel. Some of the staff didn't treat you warmly if you were young/only English speaking.

    The evening meal was good although breakfast had too few options and not a great coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect B&B for families with young kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room With Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect B&B for families with young kids! They have an amazing playground outside with a zipline and bunch of other stuff. They also have tons of free amenities like strollers, bikes, sleds, etc. Amazing breakfast with a ton of different options. Would love to come back in the winter (we were there in summer).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff is nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit out of center even if taking the bus. There is no elevator.

    The staff is nice and helpful. The room is quite spacious with great view and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    The evening meals were wonderful, very good value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seating in the lounge and the library was not very comfortable. Our beds were very creaky such that we woke up every time one of us turned over, and we were disappointed to have booked a double room which came with single beds which were pushed together but with hard raised frameworks down the centre. 6.30pm was rather early for the evening meal, but we understood that this was because there were a lot of young children. If the lounges had been more comfortable for relaxing in after dinner, we wouldn't have minded the early mealtime quite as much.

    The evening meals were wonderful, very good value for money compared with eating out in Switzerland. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The view was superb and the location was just what we wanted - out of town with lovely walks to the lakes. We liked the honesty bar arrangement and being able to make our own lattes and cappuchinos, and we loved sitting out on the terrace with our books. We enjoyed our visit to Samedan and the funicular train. Hiking at the top of the mountains was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel, just outside St Moritz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there on the opening weekend of the summer season and encountered a minor teething problem with the newly installed hot water system, which was quickly sorted out.

    Location. Fabulous lush, forrested country location, only 2 klms from St Moritz with a bus stop (200m) nearby. But the walk to St Moritz was delightful, as for several hundred metres you could elect to cut through the forrest using a well marked backtrack, where we sighted a deer and squirrels before coming out onto the road. View: Our bedroom overlooked a gently rolling, cleared valley with a charming township located some 400 metres below. An easy stroll along a walking path, skirted the forrest on the left, and followed a bubbling brook down the centre of the valley to the township. Buses in the township enabled you to return to the hotel, go on via a different route to St Moritz or other destinations. The Hotel was intimate yet family friendly. Breakfast (included free) was served in a warm, sunlit glassed morning room. Predinner drinks could be enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the valley, (either intimately or with other guests). It was possible to order a set dinner which was generous, tasty and surprisingly well priced. For Switzerland a well priced gem of a place. As a bonus, as we stayed more than 1 night, the hotel provided a card for free public transport around St Moritz and surrounds including use of the funicular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NIL

    Exceptionally clean and with friendly staff. Great location a 2.5km from St Maritz or a short bus ride. The No 2 bus takes you in to town as well as to the next one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Awesome traditional house close to Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room With Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was outside the room.

    We loved the traditional house and the perfect location among the trees overlooking the lake and town. The staff were very courteous and told us about the history of the house. The rooms were very comfortable and got the best night sleep there. Awesome place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Super night in country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room With Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crossing the landing to go to the bathroom in the night. Would have preferred bedroom with en suite b/room.

    Beautiful setting, gracefully & tastefully decorated. My husband enjoyed playing the piano one evening for the other guests. Fluffy duvets & comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful traditional house with the most amazing view in St.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful traditional house with the most amazing view in St. Moritz

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The hotel ambiance and excellent service were our favorite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel ambiance and excellent service were our favorite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Close to St. Moritz, in a wild-romantic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful Location, very quiet, nice staff. It was the perfect hotel for our two day bike vacation. The view from the rooms was breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Superb!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super super super ! Difficult to describe! Must see in live! Great for families and children!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Perfect summer retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess and staff were convivial and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great views, the house and rooms are beautiful, with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views, the house and rooms are beautiful, with lots of character. The food was delicious and the staff treated us as princesses

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    All the rest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    great stuff, beautiful place and house, simply excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Very welcoming staff , lovely room , delicious food ,great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff , lovely room , delicious food ,great atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Watching the sun set on the snow-topped mountains was worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mountain view, antique furniture, helpful staff, excellent food, quiet room, kid friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    It is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    The eggs were fluffy indeed and the view through the windows was very good. They were flexible and provided early breakfast upon my schedule.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV in room.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Overall comfortable stay. Staff are cooperative and dedicated to work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi should be provided in Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Great surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed, good views, and good dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    The food and the views are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was basic, not even a desk or sofa even do it was quite large.

    The food and the views are excellent. As well as the hotel staff. Very good for children.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    excerllant services, left my back pack on the bus, staff in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    excerllant services, left my back pack on the bus, staff in the hotel found it back and pick it up for me for free, what more can I say, thanks so much. Food was excellent too, location is on the bus route, view is fantastic, highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.1
    Ski tickets they sell you can be purchased cheaper elsewhere...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Ski tickets they sell you can be purchased cheaper elsewhere and have to pay for full 7days even if only use 4 .Dont tell you price of wine before purchasing it for dinner (expensive) .

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    The building, the view, the terrace, the room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When you book for such a small property, you expect outstanding service. Room was great but lacking amenities and details. Hospitality touch missing... "We do not have diner tomorrow as we only have 4 guests"- you don't say this to your guests...

    The building, the view, the terrace, the room size

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    8.3
    We received a very warm welcome and all the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walking to the bus stop (about 15 mins)in my ski boots.(boots are heavy and very uncomfortable) I noticed some hotels drop off and pick up their guests from locations near ski fields.

    We received a very warm welcome and all the staff were very willing to make our stay as pleasant as possible by helping us with our every request.Very friendly professional staff. Beautiful place.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    3.8
    The only thing we liked about the hotel was the Wi-Fi and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very much disappointed. Facilities are very poor. No TV, no mirrow in the standard room. The Shower Cabin was leaking. The receptionist (owner most likely) refused to heat up Sauna due to electricity issues of the hotel. Children are running across the hotel and screaming, while parents do not care. Could not sleep well properly in the morning. Hotel is also rather expensive for what it has to offer.

    The only thing we liked about the hotel was the Wi-Fi and the view onto the mountains. Parking was free.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.2
    Great family friendly hotel, excellent location, would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great family friendly hotel, excellent location, would definitely stay again if we were back in st.moritz!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Ambiance and homely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of the city center.

    Ambiance and homely atmosphere. Friendly staff (she carried one of our luggage to our 1st floor room).

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    JUST PERFECT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    JUST PERFECT.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    The atmosphere and dinner were superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The atmosphere and dinner were superb!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    2.9
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    HIDDEN CROSS FUNDING OF SOCIAL PROJECT - NOT MENTIONED - NO SUPERIOR ROOM AVAILABLE - COMFORT OF A HOSTEL

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.5
    Wonderful position, landscapes cosy wooden room fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful position, landscapes cosy wooden room fittings. True Engadiner

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: