Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chez Gilles 2 stars

Rue du 1er Mars 7, 2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland

#5 of 10 hotels in La Chaux-de-Fonds

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Stuff friendly, but "ungemütlicher" room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was only partially renovated. Felt like the hotel owners wanted to do something but stopped in the middle of the work. The pictures on booking.com look better than reality.

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Centrally located family business in La Chaux-de-Fonds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was bad luck that the annual city festival occured exactly during my stay - resulting in loud music on the adjacent street until 2 a.m. The windows were not soundproof enough to keep that noise out. (Obviously, this would not happen to people staying any of the other 364 days of the year.) My room was on the top floor and I felt like the kitchen exhaust had a direct connection to the bathroom ventilation, making it somewhat smelly.

    Very friendly host, prepared breakfast the night before as I had to leave early. Central location in downtown La Chaux-de-Fonds, a 10 min. walk from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location but not great quality. Needs a refurbishment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic equipment missing from the rooms. For example we had a kitchen without running water, no plates or cutlery. Bed side table with reading lamp only on one side of the bad. Our room was used as storage, had several mattresses stacked up next to the wardrobe...

    Breakfast was OK, free parking was available, friendly service and location is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Honest place in downtown La Chaux-de-Fonds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to complain about, except maybe the ventilation in the bath room that was a bit noisy.

    Nothing too fancy, but an honest place in the middle of town, and yet a rather quiet location. A 10-min-walk from the train station, just a few steps away from cafés, restaurants and cinemas. Friendly, unpretentious hosts. Nicely sized room. Good breakfast included in the room price. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Don't be fooled by the first impression - this is a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing Very, very basic reception area - but no real issue

    Comfortable, newly renovated, location at a small square with playing ground

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    It's always a pleasure to stay "Chez Gilles",...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a little noisy on the Saturday night, outside the Hotel - just unfortunate timing.

    It's always a pleasure to stay "Chez Gilles", and the food is superb.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    5.8
    Really friendly staff and tasteful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We reserved a cot and it was confirmed twice before we arrived. Upon multiple requests they told us they had none. The dinner took three hours just for the main course, drinks got forgotten, there was no kids menu etc There is no space for baby carriages and no elevator. Don t go there if you have small kids.

    Really friendly staff and tasteful food

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    Lovely modern room, very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The church bells. . . . kept my partner awake but I slept like a log !!

    Lovely modern room, very comfortable bed. Fresh and tasty choices for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.5
    Place .
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Equipment rooms, no kitchen equipment, soap dispensers in the bathroom were both empty :-(

    Place .... :-)

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    The staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    How to close the room key is a little bit difficult, but no problem.

    The staffs are friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.4
    The management was non accommodating and could not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The management was non accommodating and could not understand my need to attend a conference in Neuchatel - very poor service

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Absolutely fabulous."

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    They have a very good staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have a very good staff, I would like to say Thanks for everything.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: