Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellness- und Schneesporthotel Christiania 3 stars

Saas Almagell, 3905 Saas-Almagell, Switzerland

#8 of 19 hotels in Saas-Almagell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great base for hiking in the valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Dinner is served at 7PM for all guests together what takes 1.5h (5 dishes served one by one at very relaxed pace). For us it was deffinitely too late and too long. HB does not include drinks during the dinner (what is normal for HB), drinks are served at regular restaurant prices. I think that a glass of water could be served free of charge and not ruin the owner. - Wellness area is open from 2PM to 7PM, so long distance hikers may not be able to use it.

    Wellness area is almost brand new, everything is clean and well maintained. It's family run business and they are really taking care of guests. We had HB option, the food was really delicious and portions were very big. During the summer almost all cable cars and busses in the valley are free for hotel guests what really saves a lot of money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    A great find - especially in July!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope. All good!

    The owner of the hotel and her family are delightful and very welcoming. The evening set menu food was properly outstanding (we did half board for two nights). We loved the village (we went in July) and enjoyed a couple of great local walks. You will be given a free cable car pass for local rides if you stay 2 nights or more. Saas Fee is a nearby village which is also worth a visit...Plenty of free parking outside the hotel too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well-located hotel to which we will certainly return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was our second time in this lovely family-run hotel. Our room was big and had a nice view on the skiing slopes. Taking the half-board (breakfast + dinner) was a good choice and the food was excellent. The friendly staff made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in the Saas Fee area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we can think of.

    A nice, easy to find hotel in the Saas Fee valley. Very friendly staff and owner who made sure we were looked after and sorted out our needs. Good set menu in the evening served at a nice pace, with a wine choice that did not break the bank. Nice wellness area that was fine for the size of the hotel. Overall, we'd be happy to stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Ski weekend in Saas Almagell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi got disconnected continuously.

    We have been well treated and the owner was very flexible as we asked to get dinner at the second day of our stay. Dinner was very good. We also got a bigger room as initially booked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money and very warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom design a bit outdated, otherwise everything was perfect.

    Warm welcome, hospitable owner who really takes care of each guest. I am very thankful that despite our late arrival, we got a great dinner - many thanks! Very comfortable beds and quiet environment - we slept very sweetly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Excellent. A pleasant stay with everything you need in the direct surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't come up with anything not ok.

    I really like the hospitality of the staf and crew. The breakfast was good. When you book your room with 'half board', you'll get a good diner full of variation. The sauna/ wellness is nice. The single room on the fourth floor with a balcony on the south is SUPER!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    The Steambath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Steambath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.3
    Spa was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was Luke warm at best

    Spa was very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    9.6
    Everyone was so nice and very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds themselves are comfy. They do lift up but I would have liked a second pillow for my legs and back. I did request one and the lady was very helpful and got one for me. So all in all not really a complaint

    Everyone was so nice and very helpful! Fantastic place to stay and great location. Only about a ten minute drive to saas fee to go boarding in a great place and about an hour away from zermatt. Also you get a discount for renting boards. Delicious breakfast. And bus passes. Amazing view and nice balcony!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel in great ski area, excellent for the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception hours - there was nobody at the reception in the morning between 8.00-8.35 (we asked the hotel personnel to call someone but nobody came) so we didn't get our burger passes and thus had to pay for the bus (10.40 CHF pp) going to Saas Fee. It was not a big deal taken the expensiveness of the resort and our willingness to pay. Luckily we got them on our 2nd day. At check out the man (supposed to be the owner as he didn't introduce himself) only asked if we left the keys. He did neither provide us with the bill for our stay nor mention that we have to pay. So we left the hotel with understanding that the room was paid as according to the booking information, the reservation was non-refundable. It was quite embarrassing to receive the call from the manager after a while saying that we left without paying. Again, not a big deal. I would recommend the hotel management to be presented at the reception during the morning hours and be more accurate when communicating with guests.

    Great hotel in great ski area, excellent for the weekend. Amazing spa with sauna and hammam to relax.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.1
    Food absolutely excellent and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location for Saas Fee ski area is quite far out and wellness facilities are very limited for a hotel that has 'wellness' in its name.

    Food absolutely excellent and staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    5.8
    The food was good, the spa was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a double room with the balcony for me and my boyfriend and a single room with the balcony for my mother, the land lady of the hotel decided that she will give my mother a child single room without a balcony just because it was booked for one night, literally the room was like a mini box . I manged to get hold of customer service of bookings.com to explain the situation and at the end she offered my mother a single room with the balcony that had lot more space, so my advice to other travelers call the hotel prior to your visit to know if the hotel have done any changes to your booking without informing you. The beds were not really comfortable. And I hated the fluorescent lights in the dining room and in our room.

    The food was good, the spa was good. good location

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.6
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows too soft.

    Excellent value for money! Unlike other hotels in Valais, the people running this hotel really make an effort to make guests feel welcome! Attention to details: complimentary chocolate, bottle of water and small bottle of wine wait for you in the room. Breakfast has everything one needs in the morning and half-board is a good option: you get four courses! The wellness has a nice and discrete sauna and hammam area, separated from the jacuzzi and gym. Tea available in the wellness.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    This hotel have all I need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel have all I need.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Relaxed atmosphere Great food Very helpful staff

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: