Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein 3 stars

Davidstrasse 22, 9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland

#12 of 26 hotels in St. Gallen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very depressing atmosphere once you leave the reception : institution-like white walls with aging paint everywhere, plastic-floored staircase, grotty freight elevator, doors in need of refurbishing.

    Very large appartment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was great, breakfast was yummy but the staff were awesome. They were kind and so helpful especially the young lady from Chile who went over and above.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel reception is not opened during the night. It closes around 22:30 We had an issue with room keys and we weren't able to access to the hotel and enter in our room. They asked to wait somebody to solve our problem. It took almost half hour. It is not fair to close the reception so early for this kind of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting was a bit dim

    Very helpful staff, with great English Delicious breakfast Tidy, spacious rooms Fabulous bathroom products 5 minutes from the Bahnhof

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Although there was a kettle there was very little in the way of tea/milk to make use of it.

    The Hotel was very convenient for the train/bus station and staff were helpful in providing info about which buses to get for our needs The cost of the hotel includes a city tax which then qualifies you for a free bus pass for local public transport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel not in goood condition, need be renovated. Personnel is not nice and attentive. I do not recommend this hotel for a trip in St Gallen.

    Nothing was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked an apartment, and had expected this included cooking facilities. It did, but you could not use them without paying an additional fee which varied between 65 and 110 swiss francs. (From memory. ) That is absurd, if it is an apartment, cooking facilities should be included in the quoted price. For this reason I have marked the property down for the facilities. We also felt the apartment,, including the bathroom, was dated.

    It was conveniently located to the station, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise!!! There was construction going on directly next to our room, starting before 7 in the morning. In addition to noise from an upstairs room, there was a seemingly very sociable college of some kind next door, where the frequent smoke breaks were accompanied by loud talking and laughing. There was no peace to be found here.

    Clean, comfortable, well-situated property with helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms look different than in the picture, or at least our apartment was pretty unusually equipped - Buddha/Hindu style or whatever. You don't expect such furniture in this kind of hotel.

    Very nice and helpful staff, speaking fluently English. Tasty breakfast. Great location in quiet surroundings, 5 minutes walk to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Good location, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, very close to train and bus station, old town and shopping. It was very clean and room comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a short walk to the railway station and about a ten minute walk to the old town. A special thanks to Stephanie on Reception who made us welcome during our stay and for her help and advice. Thanks to everyone else at the hotel from Reception to the breakfast staff who made our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was our second stay in this hotel and we were not disappointed. Good location, everything clean and comfortable, very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, - our long weekend was even more pleasant because of all this.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The definition of "use of kitchen" is unclear. We didn't use the stove (it's shut off) but only consumed snacks and drinks at the table, and was charged CHF$80 for "use of kitchen"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing staff. The lady on the front desk is very kind and friendly. I was surprised for stay in a apartment instead a simple room which is amazing , you can feel like home!!! The breakfast is included on the price (what is great) and have many options! When I go back to St. Gallen I will be there definetely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was not any negative circumstances

    This Hotel is perfect if you think on your comfort. Nice clean room and bathroom. No any noises, no door closing or walking. We were surprised how it is possible because there were other guest around. Very friendly staff. They call back when we left our cellphone charger in the room after leaving. Breakfast is continental buffet found enough different meal. We will return back anytime when stay at Sankt Gallen. Strongly offer for anyone who think on to stay a simple clean and calm hotel on business or holiday trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work on my computer, it kept kicking me off the internet every 2 minutes so I was not able to work.

    Good location (easy access by car, public transport and easy walk to the city centre), nice and modern facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 11 pm and the reception was closed, I talked with someone at the doorphone. Everything Ok, but it was a bit strange. I did not find how to regulate the heating system

    The bedroom was very clean and comfy. I had a single bed but it was very comfortable with a nice and soft comforter. The bathroom was also clean and well organized, plus they have Rituals body products. The location is convenient and quiet. Warm room (a bit too much).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apartment was very cold, heating on full level did not warm it up enough over 2 days. WiFi did not work; the staff knew it; could have been announced to me to avoid me wasting quite some time trying.

    Easy access after reception hours. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat in the room could not be adjusted I had to walk the stairs from the third to the fourth floor (elevator stops at 3rd)

    Cosy hotel, very friendly staff Very nice breakfast It was very close to the train station but away from the noise Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modernised hotel - rather impersonal. Our room on 4th floor accessible by lift + one flight of stairs: rather inconsiderate for aged guests. Personnel rather busy with their own tasks... No climat control in room All restaurants recommended by hotel closed on Sundays

    Clean room, basic comfort Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A more thorough clean between guests, maybe we were unlucky but it was sorted quickly by staff once addressed.

    Apartments bright and airy. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great bathroom and strong shower. Wonderful breakfast, selection of cold meats cheeses, eggs, bacon, fruit, cereals, juices fresh and good quality. Staff amazing so helpful and pleasant. Close to train station and old town. Perfect base for visiting St Gallen and will be back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was great. good english. helpful. nice old hotel, (loved the old lift), in good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen cannot be used unless there is an additional number payment of CHF80-100. Too steep for the ill-equipped kitchen.

    Clean and big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extraordinarily helpful. The breakfast was superb. Location was great. Rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Very good service from staff. Nice terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisy early in the morning from the traffic outside.

    Excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and proximity to station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent central location very near to main railway station Room with comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So kind and helpful staffs, very clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and quiet rooms. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed to pay for using the Kitchen. A little bit pricey.

    Very close to the railway station. The apartment was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice family who runs the property. Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was absolutely amazing and the staff very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No protection on the interior door lift Small breakfast area

    Good location Spacious room Outdoor terrasse Parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff.. Very personal touch and warm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No irons in the rooms.

    Best place in St. Gallen, close to the train station and city center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast. Clean and warm rooms (it was minus 8 outside), parking, a walking distance to historic centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are quite old, some "polishing" cannot change the 80's touch

    Location, breakfasts, friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, close to station in the city center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnitures in the room are very oldstyle and a bit strange to see that type of style in a hotel room.

    Excellent Breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort okayish but cannot expect too much for three stars. However was very clean.

    Breakfast(!), wifi, parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Room large enough. Close to the station. Quiet. Tea and coffee machine available in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Large room, great location near the center but away from the noise of the main street, clean, good morning buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning slow with putting out missing things on the breakfast table. The room was an oldish apartment with bad/old carpet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very humid and hot. Ran out of warm items one hour before breakfast was finished, did not replenish even when asked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cruded in the night disturbance

    The staf is Friday

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small.

    The hotel was centrally located to the train station and centre of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Delicious breakfast, quiet place and vety clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great. I have stayed at this hotel at least 10 or so times and its always great. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Delicious breakfast, quiet dodge, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little neglected - curtains pulled off (for all the stay), hole in the sheet ... Noisy building site close by the hotel (from 7:00 am). And first of all, we've reserved and paid for a one-bedroom apartment (size 31 m2 in description on a 'booking.com' website, with a double bed), but we had got a room ca 23 m2 (together with the bathroom), with two tween beds (room no 306). With explanations, that this is a booking.com mistake in description ... In all, not a 3 stars hotel - in actual fact, overpriced 2 star.

    Good location; breakfast simple but adequate. Very good pillows (down ?). Clean, but ... (look -)

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the coffee wasn't my taste.

    Everyone was very friendly. Our appartement was quiet and big. The breakfast was really good and made us feel like home.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The street it is on is a bit dark and not busy.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was within a couple of blocks from the bahnhof - easy walk.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    I was not exactly happy that the beds didn't have at least a bottom sheet in terms of personal hygiene but this did not detract from the comfort or cleanliness of the bed itself. And then again I have stayed in some hotels of lesser standard - stars that provided just the same kind of bed linen.

    I liked the location and environment. I liked what I saw and the apartment was very clean. As a plus it also had a tea kettle and accessories available. Staff were hospitable.The beds were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved having separate rooms from our 3 yr old which can be hard to find in some parts of Europe. She loved all the extra space to run around in. It was a nice breakfast spread -- typical but with a little more selection. The rollladens are great for keeping the light out but it was still a little noisy. Good location for walking to see the city sights.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Quiet yet close to the centre, and only 5 mins walk from the station; friendly and welcoming staff; healthy and delicious breakfast buffet! Our room was comfy and had everything we needed, including free wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    The hotel staff were really kind and attentive. They could speak a good English. The buffet breakfast is really good with cold meats, cheese, bakery products, yogurt, muesli... The hotel is located 15 min walking from the centre and touristic area.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was are second time staying at the Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein in St. Gallen. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean, well-equipped and at an affordable price.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Offers all the little extra comforts that one wants when travelling. Spacious quiet light airy room with very good light proofing, very clean, very good location for the centre, has private parking, very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A continental breakfast is served, but not before 7am. (However, they were so kind to offer me at least coffee and bread at 6.15).

    The service was very friendly and supportive. The rooms are simple but very clean and offer everything needed.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    expensive (compared to neighbouring Austria)

    close walking distance to the old town centre and the Abbey, but silent and possible to reach by car; high quality breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy. Old towels.

    Central location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ...great location...close to the city center...very friendly and helpful staff...

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Family with young children

    Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Some of your staff are not friendly

    I like staying in your hotel room because I feel comfortable there and is clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel and room do not look modern. Furniture looks old and does not match together.

    Friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast selection, quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room in poor condition

    Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly and helpful! The breakfast is nice too! Great hotel!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff Tea and coffee maker in room

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very friendly and very welcoming!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff!

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: