Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Sonnental 3 stars

Zürichstrasse 94, 8600 Dübendorf, Switzerland

#1 of 1 hotels in Dübendorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 829 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I already paid in advance a month ago with Ideal. However, that was not communicated by booking.com. I was almost forced to pay twice. Not sure if it is a problem of booking.com or of the hotel. Problem was solved but my suggestion: never ever pay in advance with Ideal.

    Perfect hotel, I come here quite often. Close to Zurich with perfect downtown connections. Perfect rooms, excellent breakfast included. Nice place to eat and drink something.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wellness area wasn't as big as it looks on the photos, access to the whirlpool is via the naked area much to my daughters horror!

    Good breakfast and lovely terrace, close to the station and free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the room, for me this can't be a hotel room to near from the restaurant.

    I got the room number 706 which is very close of the restaurant, which mean that after 6 AM you can't anymore sleep :-((( because the door of the restaurant is very noisy and it will be open/closed each minutes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking directly with the hotel solves refund problems better. We had to leave a day early and the refund seems to be hard to get.

    Restaurant was fabulous. Called the office once but she could not hear me, so the receptionist CAME TO MY ROOM TO SEE IF I NEEDED SOMETHING. I've never seen service this good in any hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron & Board in the room

    The Suite I was in was on the top floor of the main building and was excellently equipped. Spa bath and contemporary designed room were most appealing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Romms that are not updraded are a bit small and window facing the road No 24/7 reception , has an issue with my key room late at night and need to call and wait out side the in cold

    Great Stuff - Very Healping good breakfet Nice Facilities easy to get and go with public transport ovel all Recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an incident where my clothing was stolen from the women’s locker room. This was somewhat upsetting but staff handled it well and gave me one free night in the hotel.

    Responsive staff, good and clean room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this room for my visiting parents and the first night they arrived late and they were tired so didn't take the time to go back to the reception and complain about it, and there is also a language barrier, but the room smelled like an open toilet. Furthermore, the room that was booked, although it was indicated that the room suited two people, only had a small bed (receptionist said it was 160 cm, according to my parents' experience it was rather 140 cm) and only one pillow and a one-person blanket for two people. It was mentioned the next day at the reception, and a new room was provided, which was at a lower price and with a higher comfort level. Sadly, nothing was done to compensate for the first night.

    The room the second night, in contrast to the first night, was excellent, and breakfast was wonderful during the whole stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big enough, decent bathroom and closet. A bit basic for the high price, but nothing really to complain. Good internet. Really close to Samsung Hall that was the objective of our trip to assist a concert. Very easy to access using train or bus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no fresh vegetables or yougurt at breakfast curtains at the room not close perfect so sun will enter the room in the morning

    Great Stuff . very willing to help nice spa area ,very easy to arrive by public transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 3 rooms (for me and 2 colleagues) and my colleagues complained about the temperature in the room in the middle of the night was too hot and no way to control.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size and arrangement was poor. It's been a long time ago since I've been offered a double bed stuck in a corner for 195€. It took another 30€ to get a standard room!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the people in nearby rooms quite well. Need more sound proofing. Room was pretty small.

    Pillow menu. Restaurant for dinner and breakfast very good. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flat pillow. Credit card money still locked two days after checking out. It would have been more ideal for me if the breakfast were served earlier than 7am

    central location to walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You gotta go naked to use the facilities.

    The receptionist lady was very helpful and the breakfast was ok: but no Cappuccino, no sausages and no toast. These are basics for a three star. The parking was good and comfy. But it was too expensive for what we had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was summer and there was no air conditioning or fan ,The room was very warm

    The breakfast was very good. It was Very easy access to public transport to the city centre The restaurant was also very good food and great staff Although it was expensive The spa and facilities were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is rather noisy at night Room remained very warm

    Room was really nice, with an excellent large two-person bath. Also the wellness facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dubendorf itself is of course boring

    Excellent room with balcony, great breakfast. Free parking and wifi. Very close to subway with perfect connection to downtown zurich

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit basic, the door into the bathroom wouldn't close because the bedside table was too large. Pillows uncomfortable. Very hot but no A/C.

    Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a negative, but if you arrive in Zurich by public transport and want something downtown, this isn't for you.

    For us (a concert at Samsung Hall), it was the perfect location. Getting into town was okay by public transport. Everything else was perfectly fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in bathroom.Room size and bed suitable for 2 but had to request towels,duvet and pillows for 2.This was quickly organised

    Breakfasts were good.Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dubendorf itself is of course a boring place. My appointment was there so for me it did not matter.

    Breakfast included and excellent, lots of free parking, rare for Zurich, close to subway/train station, about 10 min walk, then you get very quick to downtown Zurich, very friendly staff, large rooms. I did not check the wellness part

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small, no chair to sit on, even though it was shown on the pictures on the website. The shower stall was really small. A heavyset person would not have fit

    The breakfast was amazing, with a large selection of breakfast items. Everything prepared was delicious. The hotel was very clean in all locations, lobby, restaurant, room. Location was very convenient, and we liked the terrace of the restaurant to sit and have coffee

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice straff. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with very little windows near ceilling

    Breakfast, SPA and Wellness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good buffet breakfast, nice clean room, very close to Samsung Concert Hall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise beside my room

    It will be even better if I can have a kettle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed could have been better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best. Ok for business but would prefer to be a little more central for holidays

    Good price. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit small but for one night, it's fine.

    Generous breakfast, healthy pillows in option, the saunas and Kneipp pool in the SPA.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy free parking...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room could have been a little more cosy;

    Good Breakfast; Super clean rooms; Easy location;

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    23 min from airport by tram 12 10 min from Zurich HBF Very quiet Very comphortable bed Nice restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small, no heating in bathroom, personal in restaurant not really interested, too expensive

    Close to Samsung Hall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place as usual. Located at the Zurich border with direct access to public transportation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    price. a little bit on the high side

    Breakfast a it more variety will be nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot at night. We borrowed a fan which helped a little bit.

    Near to the forest walks Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should include more oportunities for special diet.

    Location and relax place middle of City.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airconditioner, first access to the internet

    Location, free parking, breakfest, beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Das not elevator

    The breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is fresh and they have really good selection of tea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift/elevator

    The staff of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfastnis very good, we did also dinner at the hotel and that was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are efficient, it takes no time to check in ad out, nor to enjoy the Swiss quality breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are super flat!

    Super clean, comfortable bed, excellent wifi, bus stop in front of the hotel and within distance to a train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need an extra cushion.breakfast menu revamp.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the room (but I understand vis-a-vis price)

    Staff. Attitude.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant prices on the high side. But this is Switzerland... A little far away if going to Skyguide (2 buses, but these are good)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean, comfortable, lovely restaurant within the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tops of furniture should be dusted better

    Location & friendliness of staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked was not the one I requested. For the price it was not a queen room

    Restaurant close and handy. Room very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free excellent quality coffee beside reception desk. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. Room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to road so some rooms may be noisy. But we were fine

    Clinically clean spa/ conference hotel with a superb breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room Twin
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's bit pricy

    Staff , were great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small for two people, and the noise level would have been quite high had the window been open

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small and cheap. Not much space for luggage. No bathropes around. For the size the room rate was too expensive Uncomfortable bed and mattress There was absolutely no relationship between wellness and that room

    The buffett style break fast was great. Dinner was also tasty. Enough parking space around

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Uncomfortable, cheap, sinking bed Only one pillow Lack of lift Vaulted ceiling making it difficult to access one side of the room/wardrobe Long winded wifi access process

    Spacious and strong shower Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a 10 mins walk to town and nearest lift. Bus connection exist, but doesn't run in the evening. Check out the night before leaving if you wish to hit the slopes early. The slopes open at 8, but reception opens at 8:30. Not a big issue both could be worth knowing.

    Good breakfast. Quiet. Nice view up the mountains. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've booked a quiet room not facing the main street. I've got a noisy room - facing the main street. Although I've mentioned this to the receptionist, she wouldn't try to fullfil my booking wish.

    The room mate was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower, and water temperature was not regulated. Thin walls, and can hear outside the room easily. No mini refrigerator in the room.

    Close proximity to local public transportation. Good wifi internet service.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wasn't in the main hotel and there are no lifts so handling steps with painful knees or for elderly or with heavy luggage is not ideal. No bread or cereal for gluten free customers.

    convenient location for business & leisure

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Bedroom in a building without any elevator !!!!!!!!!! Bedroom located just on top of the Restaurant kitcheen. I would have known that, I will not have booked such a room.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    well ... where to start? First of all, even though we were at the first floor it was incredible hot. Yes, I know it was a hot period but, it is not acceptable to pay a lot (and by a lot I mean a LOT - it is Switzerland, but still... ) and not be able to sleep. No AC, but you cannot open the window because of the noise from the traffic, or just simply because of the trucks coming to supply the kitchen. I travel quite often, but this is my worst experience so far! Even though the breakfast and the reception was okay, I cannot give a high evaluation because of the overall terrible experience.

    Nothing to mention!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately we had taken the triple room located at the top floor and It was so hot there. No windows to open except a small ventilation split on the top of the roof. We had to sleep on the floor the second night because it was too warm to sleep on the bed. The bed was really hard too. So after mentioning to the staff, on the third day we got two fans to keep in the room, and some how managed to stay in the same room for one more day. It was not a good experience at all.

    It is a calm quiet place, friendly staff, good restaurant( a bit pricey) and spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Water to toilet wouldn't stop running on Sunday. Not an emergency, but we reported it. The temporary fix was to shutoff all cold water in the bathroom. They offered a move for us on Sunday night when we returned, we changed the next day.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Liked room, breakfast, parking, location and the price. Reception were helpful in having a room ready for me at 2 p.m. before I went to work. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nowhere did it inform of no air conditioning and after a long, hot trip we were looking forward to one relaxing evening before departure. This hotel is in an industrial area with few options for restaurants(2 Italian, 1Mexican). In certain areas of the spa, "coverage" is optional. There was a table and chairs outside our window from which people could look inches away into our window-which had to be left open due to no air conditioning!!!!!! I made a bad choice

    Close to tram for airport

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast didn't include any green vegetables (cucumber, lettuce, just tomato) or any fish.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and silent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was too warm in the room. In night it was not possible to keep the window open because of the trafik noise.

    Wery friendly staff. Wellness center

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please what´s that pillow!

    Breakfast and facilities simply greats!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great staff..great wellness center

There are also 58 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Sonnental traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: