Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel City am Bahnhof 3 stars

Bubenbergplatz 7, 3011 Bern, Switzerland

#30 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1097 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    The location was ideal, just a 5 minute walk to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was ideal, just a 5 minute walk to the train station and central for the city. Staff were helpful and we were given a ticket for free use of public transport (we were there on a Sunday). We were able to walk and see many of the sites, buildings in the city. A very impressive city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Not good experience staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable, bathroom shower is also not good, we didn't got hot water coming in bathroom in the morning. Light in room blinking continuosly which we need to get that sorted

    Location is good very near to station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location near main station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the middle of summer with most days reaching 28-30C and there’s no air con in the rooms, when we asked for a fan we were told the hotel only had one and it was being used. As a result we had to sleep with all windows open and it is a very noisy area. So definitely would not recommend staying in summer. One person in our group asked for another pillow as the ones provided we’re pretty uncomfortable, we were told they couldn’t access house keeping supplies at that time (about 4pm) and they would make a note for the housekeepers to leave an extra pillow but we never got it. Staff were also regularly right outside the entrance to the hotel smoking so we had to walk through a cloud of smoke and then wait for them to finish off their cigarettes/conversations before we would get served.

    Good location near main station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    It was close to the train station and old town Bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were on the 3rd floor and the rooms did not have air conditioning and it was very warm in the room. When the windows were open, the noise from the traffic and people outside was too noisy to sleep and you needed your hotel door open to feel the breeze come into the room. So we sleep in the room without the windows open. Worst night of sleep while in Switzerland.

    It was close to the train station and old town Bern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    The receptionist from Colombia was really nice, very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been much better if the room had Air-conditioning. In mid-summer it had no A/C and still a duvet on the bed! It was a bit hot and thus not so comfortable during the night.

    The receptionist from Colombia was really nice, very helpful and very friendly. He welcomed us and made our stay comfy. The location is very central and that is why I chose this hotel for the second time. This time I brought my parents but the first time I was alone and I can say it is ideal for solo travelers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    It was an awesome experience specially the hotel is right opposite to the Bern Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was an awesome experience specially the hotel is right opposite to the Bern Station and that made the stay as well as travel to nearby cities very convenient. The hotel, people and location was all brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, we have stayed 2 nights there and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great, we have stayed 2 nights there and just left our luggages in the hotel, then take the trains to other city/place. Close to the train station. Well, same as other guests, we feel the breakfast is simple but expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was not working properly as light was on but no coolness at all. Room faced onto the Main Street, but was not noisy as windows were double glazed. We knew there was no air conditioning so I had requested a fan in advance, but the check in attendant would not give me a fan....so I waited till he finished his shift and then asked the next attendant and received a fan immediately with a big smile.

    Close to main train station and all the downtown city area. Big room. Lovely pillows and firm bed. We were given transport cards to use for the time we were in Bern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    A great location but too much pricy for the quality of the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the quality of the hotel is not at the right level and the walls of my room were not clean - bathroom in poor condition and hot water not always there

    A great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Decent hotel right across from the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is just opposite the Bern railway station. I had an early morning train from Bern and this was very convenient. Took me a few minutes to get to the train with time to spare. Fortunately the reception operates all night, I arrived after midnight. The receptionist was friendly and was also able to assist me with printing a document. The rooms are decent, fairly large. Excellent for an overnight stay. The bathroom is also quite spacious. The linen was clean and there are also tea/coffee making facilities as well as a fridge. I was only there for a few hours but had no issues. Would stay again, even though it’s not a fancy hotel you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good enough for a layover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, Old school key system with a huge keychain. It can get loud, because we had the terrace door open all night (facing bus platforms), but it didn't bother me much.

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. Close to train and bus system. Laundry, supermarket, etc. Walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Only Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air condition in the room but the hotel didn't mention it on the website. It is too hot when you are in the room if you stay here during summer time. When you keep the window open, the noise from machine outside will be too noisy. Also if you got the second floor room, when you open the window, people from outside can see you or possible to claim into your room. The room is outdated and the electronic pot provides in the room is very dirty. The room is too expensive from what I got.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Best cheap option
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very basic and outdated, but its best price you'll find. Worth it.

    Perfect hotel if all you need is a bed and shower. It's cheap and in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    clean, very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 6th floor room was too hot, even with the window open. It was not even as hot outside as it could be. So the sweating was not fun.

    clean, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Outdated facilities. Vintage keys instead of actual keycard. The entrance looks awful and it is very hard to find the first time.

    Friendly reception staff, always with a smile. Great location. Room was always very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a little bit high.

    The location is brilliant. Just a 3 minutes walk from Bern station and just right next to bus and tram station. The room is very cozy and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    One of the best place to stay at Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific

    Perfect location Very near to Train and Tram station Kind full help desk.clean room Beekfast was good Help desk provide City pass to travel across Bern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were no cold air conditioning (only heater)

    Friendly staff, great location, confortable room. We got tickets for public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    the hotel suited us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    With such a centrally placed hotel there was some traffic noise. Our room got quite warm and the only way to control the temperature was to open the window which would have resulted in more traffic noise.

    There was plenty of hot water. The breakfasts were good. It was very central. The staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location close to the railway station, restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small but had all that was needed for an overnight stay.

    Excellent location close to the railway station, restaurant and shops. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Unlike stated in the description there was no parking lot...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike stated in the description there was no parking lot for the hotel. You have to go in the train station parking: super expensive for the whole night. Or go to another hotel's parking (free) and take the bus to come back. Anyway a huge waste of time to reach this hotel by car. Just don't choose this hotel if you have a car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    A very easy to reach and comfortable hotel close the station and other public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast at extra paymente was very simple (no dried fruits or healthy seeds for the muesli; no warm disches, such as egg & bacon, apart from a cold 4 minute egg).

    The room was very big and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lighting was not enough, so overall it is quite dim. We could see dust hidden in corners so probably better house keeping will be good.

    Location is excellent. 3mins from train station and main tourist street is just 5mins away. Room was surprisingly big for a city hotel of this price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    It was okay. The location is worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the sink was completely plugged up and the same for the shower. We stood in half a foot of water when we showered because the drain didn’t work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean and comfortable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a great location very close to the train station and centre of town. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and gave us free passes to ride the trams and buses which pull up nearly right outside the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast because we had to leave early the next morning so I can't comment on that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    A prison cell you have to pay for....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonder how dumps like this can exist? Paid 165 CHF for a room worse than a prison cell (not that I have experience in penetary detention!). The single bed was so small and attached to the wall I could not even rest. Slept about 3 hours due to discomfort. Totally inacceptable. Youth hostel at a fraction of the price must be better....

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillow was not comfortable, but I do not think that the Swiss like to sleep in comfort. Also, the desk in the room was broken. Room/hotel was very hot, almost too warm.

    Great location and nice staff. Also, get free use of the public transport in Bern if you stay here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Very Good and would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing because for what I needed, everything was good :)

    It was convenient because it is very close to the train station and has 24 hour reception :) It was great value for money and very clean which is very important.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    A basic hotel but in excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minibar fridge did not work.

    The location was excellent, the room although not big but sufficiently comfortable. I received the room on the 6th floor, so no noise from the street. I recommend it for business travelers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    In need of modernisation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated and could do with a slight refurbishment. One of the beds decided to collapse during the night. And no bathroom facilities other that in the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with an old smell. Zero decorations. Bathroom very poor. Ceiling and furniture of the bathroom was deteriorating. Not very clean.

    Location of the hotel. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent location. Free parking not far away from the hotel and the hotel offer a free tram tickets to go and come from the parking. Recommend for sure! Excelent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Central, serviceable and reasonable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the bed hindered movement of larges cases.

    Central, serviceable and reasonable value. The nearby "Washing Bar" was a great place to do your washing and have a beer At a new and very clean bar. Great idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Superb location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But as the hotel is located nearby train station, so it geot pretty loud noise at night time. Since there is no air condition in the room, so we had to open the window at night and you couldn't avoid the noise down the street. But if we closed the window, it's better as the windows are soundproofing. During summer time, I would suggest the hotel to provide the fan as it gets too hot while sleeping (especially when we had to close the window).

    The location is superb!! The staff helped us explaining where to go around the town which was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice location...but
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not included and is very expensive. There is no air conditioning and it was very loud when the window was open. Beds were not comfortable....

    Excellent location! Also enjoyed modern decor...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    Near train station/hot, no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel no air conditioning so in Summer very hot. Lucky they loan us a table fan.

    Good location. 3mins to train station and walking to many attractions etc.. Hotel gave us a local city transport day card which is good that we can travel around city doing sightseeing as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location & clean/comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at all & it's very expensive in parking stations and street parking.

    Fantastic location & easy to get around on foot or public transport. Clean, spacious & comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    Unprofessionally run dive in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff did not even say hello. The room wasn't clean. The table was broken, and I requested a different room. In the second room the table was broken as well. The furniture was shabby, the lighting bad.

    Location. Good coffee in the morning. Quiet court in the back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and stuffy. There was no AC or fan. We had to open the window but the street was no noisy even at midnight, as the hotel is so close to the SBB station. The bathroom was too small. Also the pillow was too soft. Not enough power plug

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at the hotel during summer time(End of June), there is no air-conditioned provided. It's super hot in the hotel room even windows were all opened.

    The location is very close to Train Station. It's very convenient for the one who carry large luggage. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    A very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room can be a little hot with the window closed. When window is open, it can be a little noisy

    Location was great and the room was very functional for a family of 3

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient if you have a late train, but lack of aircon means unconfortable in hot weather!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable in a heatwave without air conditioning.

    Large comfortable room with balcony and extremely close to the station. Good service and professional staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Train Traveler Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't really complain about anything. It was what I expected and more.

    So close to train station, perfect for train travelers like us. Comfy room, great reception desk attendants, internet fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    The location is great, 3-5 minutes walk from the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal is very poor in the room and a bit noisy during the day.

    The location is great, 3-5 minutes walk from the station. The staff is very nice, who fixes the problems we had very soon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Worth Considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling across Europe and hotel stays are really expensive and usually not worth the money. Compared to all of our rooms over the whole vacation, this hotel was more expensive than the others (probably because it was Switzerland). However the room was also much nicer than almost all of the other places we had stayed, So it was a welcome trade off. It was also only a short walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first visit was for 8 nights and we had a balcony on to the noisy street. In colder times you could leave the balcony door closed so the noise would not be a problem. We became used to the noise. Our second stay of one night was in room 608. Unfortunately the layout of the room did not work. Space was an issue due to a column and a mirror and a split bathroom with bar fridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Clean & convenient
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to find public parking, which was expensive and would have been more annoying if one has big bulky luggage to bring from parking lot to hotel. Hotel quite expensive for what it was, yet I suppose this is to be expected in Switzerland.

    Friendly helpful staff; very clean; convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Location is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is superb! It is practically across from the train station, everything else (tram rides, old town etc.) is within walking distance; we couldn't have asked for more :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    The location could not have been any more perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of the outlets in the room did not work. They were so loose that the plugs would not stay in.

    The location could not have been any more perfect. The hotel and the room were well kept and clean, and the staff members were incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, just 3-5 mins walk from Bern train station and all attractions are in walkable distance. The hotel is clean and tidy. Bern travel card wa offer when check-in, we could enjoy free transportation in town. What a bonus! But actually the town is small, we just explored it on foot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    Good Location, but quite old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no AC. We opened the windows and it's loud, because of the location near the station.

    The location is great. Just a few steps from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt a little bit wierd. A little bit expensive for what you get but it's Switzerland...

    The location, literally next to the train station and the city centre (bern is really small)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Stay in Bern during the Carnaval
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. Only one switch for both, really inconvenient. Bathroom light pouring into bedroom due to glass wall disturbing. Plugs in bathroom not working.

    Breakfast good but no warm food. Vicinity of the downtown. Free bus and tram passes during the whole stay huge plus. Free parking but located not on site.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice and Clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is an unpleasant odor in the lobby. (Toilet) Rooms dont smell.

    Staff are nice and friendly. Bed is very comfy, pillows are very soft. Nice and clean. You can go anywhere by walk, by tram, by bus by train. The shops under train station are open until 10. Best for night snacks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    The location is amazing, right on the front of Central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for a room with a single bed (What include a single pillow, a single bath towel...etc)

    The location is amazing, right on the front of Central station of Bern. They give you a mobile card to use in any transport around Bern.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the expensive side! Strange smell in the lobby but thankfully nowhere else. Double bed was actually 2 singles put together - didn't bother us but might bother others

    Surprisingly large rooms Clean and with every comfort including kettle and free tea/coffee Very good location for the station and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No public parking nearby, only a private parking underneath the railway station is available.

    Central location, friendly and helpful reception staff, free wifi, coffee and tea tray in the room, nice view to the Bahnhof square from our balcony, free public transport travel card for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Great hotel right next to the central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains concerning the hotel, had a good rest there.

    Great hotel right next to the central station. Decent price for a room makes it hard to complain, since Switzerland is quite expensive overall. Friendly and very helpful staff - always ready to assist.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.1
    Clean, good location but dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main entrance smelled of sewage/rubbish. The hotel is a bit old and the decor is dated. Quite expensive, probably paying for location rather than quality.

    Across the street from main station and high street. Quiet for a central location. Nice staff. Free wifi. Free travel card for the city was brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Centrally located so you can make the most of your time in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did find the corkscrew and bottle opener in the bathroom/toilet a bit bizarre. Not really sure I want to go in there to open my beer/wine!

    The hotel is very central, right opposite the train station, so you don't have to drag your bags very far! It's central location meant that everything we wanted to visit was within walking distance. It made an excellent base for our brief visit to Bern. The room was clean and comfortable. My daughter thought the pillow was especially comfy and wanted to take it home with her!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.3
    Convenient and clean but not first choice if you really want a peaceful night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room faced the main square overlooking the station. It was too light ( no way of really shutting out the street lights) and also way too noisy, even after midnight..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    You pay for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay for the location. The hotel itself smells off,the room is clean but still dated and a slightly damp smell lingers in the air. Most of the staff at reception seemed nice but there was one staff member when we were checking out who was darn right rude and arrogant, which left a sour taste in our mouthes to ever return...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, very clean and comfortable in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional, polite and helpful, hotel was very clean, bed very comfortable, over all excellent, right opposite train station but not noisy at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price outrageous

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Location Very close to Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit Noisy near the street

    Location Very close to Station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    It was close to the railway station so convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the railway station so convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Prime location in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning

    Location, staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel staffs were excellent and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staffs were excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    No air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning on 30+ degree days. Bar fridge didn’t work. Needs a good refurbishment.

    Large rooms. Looked out on to the station and beyond.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Location and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and the weather was quite warm. On top of it no fans in rooms

    Location and staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Ok money-value for the location of the hotel, although they could have included breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bench tops heat damaged

    The proximity to the train station and the city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning or fan in the room, so it's get very hot

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    One min walk to train station, nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC provided

    One min walk to train station, nice staffs

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel City am Bahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: