Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Collinetta 3 stars

Via Collinetta 115, 6612 Ascona, Switzerland

#5 of 37 hotels in Ascona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Great positioning over next to square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric toilet in the en-suite

    Great positioning over next to square. Very good restaurant albeit food very expensive for simple surrounds. Had a lovely balcony overlooking street

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit warm and the small AC was not really capable of cooling it

    Excellent supporting management and friendly staff. Hotel is very nice as well overall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended, great view from 2/3 rooms,.great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had warm days. There was no fan or air condition and no mosquito nets. One of our rooms was not very good located and near a (cellular?) antenna. Hotel beach not very nice.

    Almost everything. Staff and owners extremely friendly and with a nice, generous attitude. Nice rooms. Nice garden. Very good and complete breakfast, many kinds of bread.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved Ascona and this is a great hotel with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There really is nothing I did not like - other than the cost of everything but Switzerland is so much more expensive than the UK - around double the cost for everything. Drive from the hotel to beautiful Connobio and Cannero (20/30mins) and the food and drink is half the price.

    Gret breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Very clean and efficiently run modern hotel. Just a 30 minute stroll to Ascona and bus stops just a 5 minute walk away if you want to bus to Ascona and Locarno. Fantastic position with great views over the lake. We were given free Ticino tourist bus passes by the hotel. My tip is to go to Connobio and Cannero, just 20/30 minutes or so by car. The Italian border is just 15 minutes away by car, so Connobio and Cannero are much, much cheaper to eat and drink (half the price of Ascona) as they are just the other side of the border. Very beautiful little towns but parking can be tricky if you arrive late in the day during high season.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Stunning view of lake Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cant stay in a room during the day on a hot summer day. There is no Airconditioning, which anyhow not common in Switzerland.

    Very friendly staff, nice garden, good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    In general a very nice hotel to relax and enjoy with the kids and the dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too hot (average 27 degrees celsius even in the night) and not air condition. The internet in our room was too slow

    The location. The breakfast. The private beach (even if there is no direct access from the hotel). The garden! The swimming pool with a beautiful view to the lake. The free parking place in the shadow. The children corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A super Hotel with fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Walking path to the hotells part of the beach is by crossing a heavyly trafficated road. Please get a zebra path.

    Swimingpool and beach. Fantastic service that really made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Ascona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvelous property! Simply the best.

    Absolutely everything. The staff was corteous and friendly. The The accomodation was great. Food was out of this world. The view of the lake was magnificent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.5
    We appreciated the whole experience of staying at the Hotel Colinetta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool was a little on the cool side perhaps??

    The hotel was clean and the staff delightful and efficient. The bedrooms were very comfortable with excellent views. The food was of a very high quality! Thoroughly enjoyable. The garden was well kept, just beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay at La Colinetta and we would book this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choices for breakfast were in general many and of good quality. However, a certain day-to-day variation of types of cheese, fruit, etc. would be appreciated for longer stays and a plate of vegetables next to the other choices might enhance the good score even further.

    Thanks to the off-season time of the booking, the hotel staff was very relaxed and extremely friendly and we got contacted beforehand to settle the question about our baby bed need. The park around the hotel is rather scenic and south-looking with great views towards Ascona, Lago Maggiore and the surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice. we had small children with us, and the hotel made them feel so welcome. the kids corner is great and there is a playground outside. thanks for a great stay. great mix of niceness/luxury and kid friendliness...you dont find that at many hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    The view from the hotel's terrace over Lago Maggiore is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the hotel's terrace over Lago Maggiore is breathtaking. The management ( GM, Mr. Luca Foster ) is brilliant. So welcoming, genuine and always going out of their way to help, fantastic! The location if perfect: the bus stops for the local buses to Brissago or to Ascona and Locarno are just about 200 meters down the road from the hotel. The hotel has its private lake access with sun beds, lovely. Can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Generally a very nice hotel with a beatifull view, but the first night room was not as ordered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered a room with view to the park but got a terrible warm room under the roof with only a few windows and these could not be opened. The aircondition they added was making terrible noise and it took hours until the temperature was kind of acceptable. The room it self was very large, but not at all charming - rather like a room in a cottage in the mountains. We got finally a 20 CHF discount

    the breakfast was great, the hotel is in general very nice with a fantastic view over the lake We booked two nights and the first night the room we got was not at all what we ordered, but the second night we got another room and that room was as expected really nice with a large balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    It is a beautiful hotel with really nice natural landscape...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in Swizerland was expensive. The restaurant waitress looked friendly and nice, actually she gave us "choices" actually there was no choice. This made us feel a little bit embarrassed. There were too many old people living in the hotel, or to say, we could hardly find anyone who was not old, even in swimming pool. The dinner course with discount was OK, but we don't think Pasta should be served as antipasti.

    It is a beautiful hotel with really nice natural landscape surrounded. we enjoyed the view of Maggiore lake and the snow-capped mountains. We loved the flora/vege garden, the conservatory swimming pool and gym, the design and decoration of the public area was also morden and comfortable, just felt like home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice location for relaxing with good views, not great for walking into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was outside of the main part of town, but a nice location once there. Not really walking distance to restaurants or shopping.

    Lobby and dining room décor was very nicely updated and modern. Breakfast options were very nice. Views from terrace would be great, but make sure you go when it's not foggy over the water.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    I love this place and can only recommend it. Great stay and great Restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great time, nothing to complain about :-)

    The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful, the restaurant is great. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner with friends there. A big fat YES!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, lovely location and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked air conditioning but they provided a fan which was fine

    Wonderful staff, lovely location and beautiful setting. Would return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Perfekt
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior Suite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful view and lovely garden to walk around in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view and lovely garden to walk around in!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.7
    room got great space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no air con - stay too expensive for quality of hotel great place for old people but not for young ones

    room got great space pool area view and garden breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the staff, the beautiful view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff, the beautiful view from the room and the balcony, the easyness with which the dog was admitted to the meals together with us in a separate room.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    It was fine and very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was fine and very beautiful!!! 🌹 🌹 🌹 🌹 🌹 Om

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    9.6
    Stunning location with a fantastic view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning location with a fantastic view of the lake. Very green. Easy to reach by public transport or car.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great! The team was nice, kind and welcoming. we enjoyed our stay (Room 114 and 105)

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    It is quiet, nice, everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is quiet, nice, everything was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of our beds was uncomfortable.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent meals.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.8
    Peaceful and lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It should be clearly stated that this hotel is also a place of recovery for the patients getting over illness etc.

    Peaceful and lovely views.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    location is beatiful with an amazing view, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    annex building is more basic than the rooms at the hotel.

    location is beatiful with an amazing view, friendly staff and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and the food always excellent.
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and the food always excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    No aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No aircon

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: