Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Continental Hotel Lausanne 4 stars

Place de la Gare 2, Lausanne Centre, 1001 Lausanne, Switzerland

#22 of 50 hotels in Lausanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1321 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    I did not like that the price of the room changed during the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the price of the room changed during the stay. The first day was way cheaper than the following days. It is to catch people's attention with a good price the first day. That practice should be forbiden, just put a higher price since the begining. The elevators are super old and need some paint.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Tiny rooms with very poor air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was VERY poor. Our room faced the sunset so it was quite hot. Rooms are very small, if your a couple travelling with 2 suitcases, you will have to zip them up to move around the room

    It’s across the road from the train station which is fabulous if your travelling by train. The Metro is only a few metres away if you wish to visit Ouchy and the centre of town. The staff are super helpful. Every room has an iPhone type device in it that you can take with you whilst exploring. It is connected to wifi and you can make free local and some international calls. Just a note, if you lose it or break it, there is a hefty bill.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is just in front the train station, which is very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room on the back side, which gives to a very bad view from the window, not to say no view at all (overlooking on the conditioner and kitchen fans and back of next building).

    The hotel is just in front the train station, which is very convenient when you arrive but also when you leave since you can leave your luggage at the lobby. The staff was very helpful and dynamic, room very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    value for money OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking facilities please indicate what to do on the site. airco too cold, even at higher temperatures.

    braekfast would have liked more fresh fruit for CHF 20. Parking is not well indicated, a little stress where to temporarily park the car upon arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location right opposite the train station, right...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms quite small for a four star hotel and the room price

    Perfect location right opposite the train station, right next to the metro, very clean and very supportive staff (plus: not only fantastic free WiFi, but also a free phone to use during your entire stay).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    We would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent for us, right across from the train station. We requested early check-in and we were able to get into our room before 12 PM, so we could go sight seeing. Even though it was very busy outside, you did not hear the noise. The room was quite and clean. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    The staff tries their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs to be renovated badly. Everything dates back to the seventies and they don't have air circulation and the airconditioning is a standalone unit that makes all kinds of noises every thirty minutes.

    The staff tries their best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say, everything was excellent!

    This hotel is fantastic!! The staff was simply great, room was clean and very comfy, location is perfect, near subway and station. Each room is provided with a mobile phone connected to the internet but the amazing thing is that you can actually carry it around the city!! It's extremely helpful given that Switzerland didn't cut out roaming fees.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    An out-of-expectation stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    The hotel is situated in an excellent location, with all-weather proof underground link connecting with the main rail station. It is also very close to the metro station. The staff are resourceful and offered good advice to my trip. The room is clean with all essential facilities provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location opposite Lausanne Gare is excellent and especially with the metro just steps away. It is also within walking distance to Flon and the old town. The staff is professional and helpful. The room is modern, very clean and well maintained; very comfortable firm bed; the shower is very clean, spacious and has great water pressure and a rain shower option. Good amenities provided in the room. It is wonderful to have air conditioning in the hot weather we had last week. I would certainly stay there again .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel management takes good care of the customer,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite expensive but you pay for the location and the service.

    The hotel management takes good care of the customer, extraordinary follow up actions on issues raised. Excellent team, special thanks to Rafael (front desk) who follow up on my informal comment to the housekeeping, Isabel she did a good job, special thanks to Sylvain Attou and Yannis for the appreciation fruits in addition to the follow up actions. Well done to the hospitality arrangement. Will definitely come back...thanking the whole team especailly Rafael who served me during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass topped coffee table in a family room was a bit of a nightmare (particularly with two lively boys). Bed could have been a bit more comfortable.

    The location is fantastic if you are using Lausanne as a base like we were. Seconds fro the train station, it made life so easy. The staff couldn’t be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Quite oldfashioned!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel in general needs a renovation, it really looks very oldfashioned and the room was just ok. great location but it does not compensate for the high rate. T

    The staff at the reception was very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Next to the Lausanne Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Location is the best! very easy to travel by train or metro. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Compare to other hotel in Switzerland, the price of the room is reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent - 5 star stay (*****)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    All of our rooms were upgraded Amazing service Great valet service Extremely police and courteous staff We just came from France and the hotels over there can learn a thing or two from Swiss hotels. Even as a Swiss hotel, the stay was of a very high standard. Location is great Travel tickets are provided Rooms were extremely spaceous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Location is amazing everything is next door cafes,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building that has been renovated you can tell from the elevators, but room is really good. The quiet rooms are good but the wifi was really poor.

    Location is amazing everything is next door cafes, restaurants, train station and metro station as well. Very friendly staff, they provided us with a free mobile to use during our stay with 4g free of charge. Free metro tickets during your stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great location and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought this hotel was great value, especially for Switzerland.

    We like modern places so this was perfect. Not for people looking for Swiss character though! There's a big gym with all the equipment. Really handy for train and metro and we liked our view of the station. You could even see the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    It is very close to the train station as well as to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very close to the train station as well as to the metro. Starbucks, Mcdonalds and other cafees are under the hotel exactly. The hotel staff are very kind and helpful, we got a room facing the front street (we were scared that it would be noisy) but it wasnt at all. The rooms are renovated, bed is very comfy. The hotel gives you free unlimited tickets for the tram to be used during your stay in Lausanne, also a cell phone will be kept in your selected room it has a wifi and can be used while you are going out to google, use applications and make calls. We stayed for one night only, but we were able to visit the Lausanne Cathedral which was one or two blocks away very close as well as the lake of Geneva and the old city. The hotel was in a very good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    Excellent hotel, just across the train station and next to underground so very convenient for sightseeing. Hotel provides free transport pass. Staff most helpful. No Parking at the hotel but staff takes care of your car just stop at the entrance they help with laugage and take the car to garage nearby. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Attention to details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, no negative aspects to mention.

    Great location in front of the train station. Friendly and helpful staff. “Handy” phone free of charge for the duration of my stay with free internet and international call. Public transport ticket included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Quite pleasant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft. The Matress could have been more comfortable. Also, I would prefer extra amenities such as cosmetic pads and cotton swabs to be provided in the bathroom. I don’t like to ask for these things at the reception.

    Croissants were really good! In general the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay.......but please do something about the very hard mattresses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are like sleeping on a concrete block!! Why do they have to be so hard. Travelled with 4 friends & we all had the same issue.

    Great location opposite station. Easy access to Metro & buses. Friendly staff & spotlessly clean. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    The website says it’s a four star, it was not even a three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst, old rooms.

    The website says it’s a four star, it was not even a three star. The worst hotel I have ever been. The photos of the rooms are all fake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff, room furniture, location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise in the room 117 when the person upstairs takes a shower or flushes the toilet. Not acceptable for a 4 stars hotel.

    Staff, room furniture, location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Free unlimited smart mobile phone and free pass for local public transportation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything that my adult son and I didn't like.

    I was amazed that this hotel provides a smart mobile phone with unlimited calling to dozens of countries and a free pass for local public transportation. Elevators were great. And the hotel let us check our suitcases after we checked out so we could go to the museum before departing Lausanne.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Don’t let the building’s exterior fool you, this was a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right opposite the train station, so a well-connected location. One could easily walk uphill to the center of town, or take the metro maybe two doors down either up to town or down to the lake. Check-in staff was pleasant and helpful. Our economy twin room had a single double bed, was clean and comfortable. Our room 312 overlooked the station and the traffic in front. Windows could be opened wide, or when closed provided adequate noise protection. Wi-Fi was very strong.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall, we were very pleased with the room and the helpful hotel staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too warm to sleep and the air conditioner was so weak that it did not cool the room even after several hours. The hotel staff person was so helpful that he came to our room to try to solve the problem, but he was unable to get the air conditioner to cool the room. So he suggested that we open the windows to let in cool air. That did cool the room but people partying outside the room made exceptionally loud noise. We were so tired, however, that we eventually fell asleep.

    All hotel staff members were very friendly, efficient, and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provided a smart phone that we could take with us during our stay and use for free to call outside the country. We also noted that we were given free transportation pass for free use of busses in Lausanne during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, amenities and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small.

    The room was cosy and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great, just opposite the railway station and next to the metro station. Furthermore, there are nice coffee shops just outside the hotel. They gave me a free card for the use of all PT means. They also gave me a free mobile phone with internet for my whole stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location in front of the train station and close to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of fast food when we open the window

    Great location in front of the train station and close to public transportation. Large and confortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay in central Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little.

    Excellent location right next to the railway station. Very friendly and helpful staff who seemed genuinely dissapointed that we are only there for one night. Room a little small but very comfortable and very clean. Very nice bathroom, but no bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfy, but with small rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite a nice hotel but there is no particular charm. Very functional which is fine but I wouldn't opt for this hotel if I went on a city trip to Lausanne. For work however of 'just to sleep' it is perfectly adequate.

    The hotel is next to the train station but the windows are good so it didn't bother me. The room (single) was really small but well furnished. The bathroom was comparably spacious and comfortable. Many breakfast options in and outside the hotel which is great. Internet works well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Soft but comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems quite old therefore the room was had some bad smell I assume this occurs from the old carpets but nevertheless it was clean

    Soft but comfortable bed. Close to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    The perfect place to stay one night, to leave our ski luggage in our room, while we visited daughter
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting too dim in the evening. Proper ceramic tea cups would be better that plastic/polysteyrene ones which leaked!

    Super convenient for the station without being noisy. The hotel gave us free travel passes for the Lausanne area. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    The facilities, The bed,the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While a great location, since it is near the station, it is a bit noisy. So if one is a light sleeper and wants the window open it could be a problem, however for me it wasn't a problem

    The facilities, The bed,the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location for daily rail travel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with some upgrades. Very expensive for its class.

    Good size rooms but a little date in terms of interior. Great buffet breakfast, very helpful staff. Right opposite the mail rail station & the next to the local metro. Many bars & restaurants within minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    The property has a very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not refill the cola and juice daily

    The property has a very good location. You just need to cross the street and walk a bit to get to the train station. There are also a lot of nearby restaurants be it sit in or take away. The staff were extra friendly and accommodating. Will surely stay here again next time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location couldn’t be easier to find after getting off...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘twin’ rooms were not so twin. They were two single beds but pushed together so not ideal for sharing a room with someone you don’t know really well!

    Great location couldn’t be easier to find after getting off the train. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very clean and luxury one. (low-price choices might still offer better experience with better lighting and decor)

    The location and the customer services are simply perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, beds very comfortable. Easy to reach both the lake and the city center. You get free metro cards, that can be very useful after one day of walking around this beautiful city! We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Very close to train station and the front staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the room cannot handle the cold, we stay in winter time. So the room temprature still little bit cold

    Very close to train station and the front staff very helpfull and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to train the main train station in Lausanne, also there are Mc’D and starbucks beside the hotel also the metro station just under the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    very nearby train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not adjust the room temperature, lack of ventilation in the toilet, I was sweaty again after the shower which was caused by the steam in the bathroom

    very nearby train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Location is good just opposite to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is too soft to me.

    Location is good just opposite to train station. We got a free upgrade to Suite. The balcony provide a good view of the city as we're on a high floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    adequate for 12 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertised parking was 500m away and with wet weather this was not what was expected. They shouldn't note parking available as this was one reason for chooing it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron. Room was very noisy, flag poles right outside room 114 constantly squeezing when flags were blowing in the wind.

    Convenient location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The breakfast/items can be sometimes changed. Very stereotype without any changes during my visit (12 nights)

    The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel has very good place, 30m from train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great Location !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - A room was a bit dark even turning on all lights

    - Great Location, just opposite Lausanne Train Station & few steps away from Lausanne Gare Metro Station - Lots of restaurants and cafe nearby, Starbucks & Mc Donald’s are located next to the hotel entrance - Single Room is big enough, with firm mattress, desk, WIFI connection was strong, water pressure was OK - The staff was great with good recommendations on where & how to visit places - Don’t forget to ask for Lausanne Transport Card if the staff doesn’t give you after checking in. With this card, you can travel throughout Lausanne with every transportation mode FOR FREE, get the discount (or free entrance) on some museums and shopping places

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    If traveling to Lausanne via train & for siteseeing, this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey - with no included breakfast in price.

    Staff was great - person checking us in was excellent - accommodated our requested view / room Room with balcony overlooking train station and lake was great! A little old but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.5
    The location is excellent - just across to the railway...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent - just across to the railway station and metro station. There is nice cafe in the ground floor, with good choice of food for breakfast and snack. Both the receptionists that I met were very nice and professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    the employees are always the positive aspect from the stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym was renovated, which is fantastic...BUT! it opens only at 09am on weekend! Too late.. and closes too early as well! C' est vraimant dommage! the room need a urgently renovation, along with the amenities.. could have a better quality.

    the employees are always the positive aspect from the stay! from front office and breakfast. The Portuguese lady working at the restaurant is really pleasant. Very practical to have le pain quotidian downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Superb location, helpful staff. Bed too close to wall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is superb - right across from the train station. I had an early morning train, so this could not have been more convenient. unfortunately for a smoker, the room does not have a balcony. but the staff was kind enough to allow me to smoke at the tables downstairs (outside), even after the hotel bar had closed. the room itself is very ok. the only drawback is that the bed is extremely close to the wall, so you might have a hard time passing through, especially if you are a big fellow/lady. all in all, the best accommodation I've had during my stay in Schweiz.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    THere is no parking but the staff can take your car and park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is baaaaaad baaaaad baaaad NOT COMFORTABLE at all !!!!!

    THere is no parking but the staff can take your car and park it , then return it back when ever you need

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Room, breakfast room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No waiting area or lounge . If it is raining there is no place for waiting. Area is a bit scary due to train station proximity. It really need a Libby and a cafe bar

    Room, breakfast room and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Friendly, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Very attentive and knowledgable staff, superb location next to the metro and rail station opposite. Really excellent place to stay for a city break convenient, free Wi-fi, cafe downstairs and great transport links combined with friendly staff, I highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Very clean comfortable and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal thing of not liking shower curtains and hence shower over baths. Only 1 of each tea in room for 2 people seemed a little mean

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable. Soft drinks in mini bar included. Room well insulated from noise of railway station opposite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant check in staff. Property listed parking but did not mention it was an additional charge (but i have found that seems to be common in Switzerland)

    Close to everything. Clean comfortable and value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Not recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can as well sleep in the marble floor, the bed was so hard, like a stone bed. As if they were joking they said they have rooms with softer beds, I was just unlucky!?? Also there is an air condition in the room begging to be terminated... It is so old, just making wind noise... all this for 280chf a night, it is a rip off!

    Location is excellent. Next to train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Valet parking available- just have to ask reception - very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel furniture may have to be changed- a bit old (carpets)

    Valet parking available- just have to ask reception - very good and comparably cheap service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When coming back after a day outside of the room the air was stale. I just left the window open for a while and it was ok, but this can let some noise in (if you're sensitive about it).

    Nice room, with the perfect size for a solo traveller and a very modern bathroom (with rain shower!). Quiet enough room despite having a window directly on a busy street and the station. No fuss with the administrative issues, which is always nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice comfortable room. Parking is offered at a discounted rate at a nearby car park and the staff will drive your car there for you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic place to stay for a couple of days to get over our jetlag. Transport on doorstep. Central
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dated, but quite adequate.

    Breakfast was fantastic. Not the massive choice of some hotels, but it had enough hot and cold options, fruit, cereals, juice etc, and the quality was excellent. The hotel gives you a free public transport pass for the days you stay with them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel (for Lausanne) in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated

    Convenient location right opposite the station. Good bathroom with powerful shower. Decent value for Lausanne. Good breakfast at le pain quotodien downstairs (cheaper than the hotel breakfast)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Nice updates rooms. Tight on space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of my single room was absurd. Most of the open space in the room was on the other side of the bed near the window, but the way they designed the room made it actually hard to reach the other half of the room. I am a small person and i could not walk between the foot of the bed and the wall - less than one foot of space. To get back and forth inside the room i had to turn sideways and shimmy between the wall and the bed. My suitcase definitely wouldnt fit through so I had to pick it up and drag it across my bed to get it to a place where there was enough space to lay it flat on the floor. I injured my knee on my trip and it was REALLY hard to move around in this room because of the layout. I can't imagine how challenging it would be for someone with any mobility issues to stay in a single room here.

    The location is directly across the street from the train station - could not as for more convenience. The room and bathroom were recently renovated, so it was all up to date and very clean. Everything was very luxurious - the towels, products, etc. The wifi was strong and consistent. The breakfast had good options. I could hear my neighbors in the hallway, but inside my room I had no noise issues with others inside the hotel or with noise outside from trains or cars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient place to stay in Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the nicest part of town but ok. Breakfast was extra.

    Convenient to train station and metro. Reasonably large rooms by Swiss standards. Very helpful desk staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    The location and the friendliness of the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the room could have been bigger and what I am really not happy about is the picture reflected in the web is not as per the room.

    The location and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, fast check in, clean room, comfortable...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somebody calling my room at 4:30 AM but i guess that is not something the hotel can control... Being looked very suspiciously when i got back at 3:00 AM and I had lost my key. No iron machine in the room :( Small room

    Excellent location, fast check in, clean room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    The single room was small but spacious enough for one person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The male staff at the reception was a bit racist when he told me that he needed to check my credit card in case it's blocked. I understand that all hotels ask you to guarantee card payments for same reason so that they can get their payments, but they don't have to specify this on a customer's face. He also tried to oversell a double room when I was travelling alone and didn't need a bigger room. The female staff were all very polite and courteous.

    The single room was small but spacious enough for one person. Bed was comfy and my room was opposite the main train station so I didn't hear any noise during my sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.0
    Room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not perfectly clean. The cleaning staff was not friendly: they wouldn't say Bonjour in the corridor and looked annoyed or stressed. They wouldn't refill things like tissues even though the tissue box was empty. One of the "clean" towels had somebody's hair on it. There were no slippers in the room. The carpet looked a bit disgusting to step on with bare feet.

    The reception staff was really nice and professional. I liked the proximity to the train station and the fact that you don't have to drag your luggage uphill which is the case for some other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    I would not stay at this hotel a second time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning did not work in summer. The windows were thin and the noise from the train station was high during the night (especially on Friday). Carpets in the room were old.

    Very close to the train station. Close to subway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    perfect position, nice hotel and service, but small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room too small for an actual 4 star hotel in Switzerland, the room on third floor either look at the train station (noisy) or directly to a building (very quite) but you don't want to look outside the window ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs refurbishing, the room is very worn out. The price/quality ratio is definitely not good, one is mainly paying for the location.

    Location. The room was very quiet. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the entrance desk could take a few seconds from their screens - long enough to greet returning guests!

    Although the hotel is located in the centre of Lausanne opposite the main train station, it was surprisingly quiet!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Location. Right across from the train station. And the subway is also on the block. Front desk was very helpful. Showed us on the map where we should visit in town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot, Lausanne in itself was 27-29 degrees (C). When we couldn't switch the AC on, they told us, its the hotel policy to not start air conditioning before June. It was very inconvenient to us, because the weather was very hot. They did provide us with a small fan, but it wasn't of much help. A good help would be to start air conditioning when the weather requires so.

    The location of the hotel was great, the staff was really friendly- they allowed us to check-in early, that was very convenient. Rooms were very clean, the free public transport card was a bonus. Facilities were good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay overnight in Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no complaints.

    The hotel is located opposite the main railway station in Lausanne so it is easy to walk to for an overnight stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. We had a great view over the station to Lake Geneva and snow covered mountains beyond.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: