Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix, Geneva 5 stars

11 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Saint-Gervais / des Grottes, 1211 Geneva, Switzerland

#23 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalized greetings, offered chocolates upon arrival and colouring books for the kids. The establishment really tries to satisfy the little ones, which also make the adults satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    In a great location, the staff could not be more helpful. Everything I requested was delivered. Amazing room, amazing view, expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as in Geneva the parking fees is to high and they scratched my car tire ring then denial that, the breakfast buffet small and not that good.

    the location and like view was amazing with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing place to stay. The hotel has recently been renovated, tastefully and stunning. The staff are awesome! They go out of there way in every aspect. We stayed there for the geneva marathon, and Camille left us a note of good luck, energy bars and energade, on behalf of her and the staff. The front staff, Camille, Klementyna and all of them, barmen, the doormen, the waiters, all awesome! Will sure return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator . That's all .

    Location is great .. view is stunning.. staff OMG I've traveled a lot round the world many countries all over Europe and United States and Canada and Dubai but I've never seen a start like this group ... The hotel manager was welcoming us at the restaurant for the breakfast .. every day . The pay attention to small details. Gifts were given to my four year old son . Everyone there was a reason we enjoyed our visit to Geneva . Thank you Ritz Carlton.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff services

    Selection of food was limited and resurant size and layout was below expectations. Car parking carge was extremely high for hotel guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled from Canada to surprise my son and family in Geneva on his 50 th Birthday The staff decorated his room and from the general Manager to all the staff they were amazing in their genuine friendy attitude during our stay.. it made for a very memorable birthday

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are fantastic and the rooms are spotless - the current renovations to the hotel provide relaxing, yet chic open-concept rooms. Make-up and turn-down services are exceptional. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and fun. They are wonderful helping you book touristy excursions. Literally everyone - front the moment you walk through the main doors - are welcoming and happy to see you! Highly recommend the luxurious Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1/ very small classic room 2/ corridors in the hotel was dirty! He was not cleaned during our whole visit 3/ breakfast unsatisfaied/ very limited offer / it's not 5 stars hotel 4/ during our visit was run repair :-(

    Location is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and friendly staff. The one negative comment I have is when we visited the hotel was being renovated so it was a bit of a maze to get to the lobby and back to the room but other than that I highly recommend the hotel if you are staying for a short period. Be warn it is expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the fact that there is no outside space at this hotel. Because the hotel is being renovated, the only area for guests to sit in is the restaurant. Obviously this will change when the hotel is completed, but is very limiting at the moment.

    All the staff were extremely well trained and helpful. The restaurant was excellent with a variety of choices. The rooms are all newly refurbished and the ambiance of the hotel has changed from what was an old, traditional formal Swiss hotel to a more vibrant boutique hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The staff were excellent - extremely helpful and friendly. My room was gorgeous. The hotel has just been refurbished and was beautiful throughout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were first given rooms that are newly furbished on the top floor. However it smelled of chemicals in there which was awful and the floor on which the rooms are located had no been built to completion yet (they were still renewing the hotel). Later on we moved to other rooms. It turned out that there were still other rooms available on the lower floor which had been fully renewed and not smelly at all. It seemed like they were reluctant to reserve better rooms for us. We also travelled to the property by car so asked them to leave the car in a proper parking space. They did not seem to fulfil our request since they have moved our car outside the lobby on the street. By the way the door was broken and we couldn't lock it properly because the lock was ageing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative I have is the cost of the food (breakfast specifically). However, that was really the case throughout Switzerland not exclusive to Hotel de la Paix.

    The staff were absolutely the best. They learned our names immediately and made us feel as we were the only ones in the hotel. They also made great restaurant recommendations and were extremely helpful with all our needs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great view of Lake Geneva from the room, very friendly and helpful staff, great bed with lovely sheets and an overall beautiful newly renovated room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took forever to serve us dinner and we where all tired and couldn't finish our main course... This I understand is because the hotel is being renovated but the client shouldn't suffer for this

    Staff excellent very friendly proper 5 star service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor service. one of the recently hired staff, came in to my room at 2:00 a.m. (by mistake thinking I'm the one that ordered something), but not only that, he opened the door as I was approaching the door. how can a staff open the door for a room, even if the guest had ordered something? ?at 2:00 a.m. ???? The manager was kind enough to apologize the next day and assure me that employee will be disciplined and corrective action will betaken to ensure this never happen again. Overall, the hotel is old, rooms are small and breakfast area and type of food is not recommended. Preferred to have breakfast outside

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really outdated, small shower, drain initially completely stopped up but continued to flood the whole bathroom even after the plumber came. Cheap, 2 star type amenities. I know the hotel is under construction but the bathrooms are below par!

    Of course the location! Lovely view and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived they informed me they are having renovations and I got the oldest muffy room ever... I truly hate this, esp when you book a 5 star hotel, you would expect some level of comfort. The bed was awful and I didn't slept all night...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is under renovation and is in a big mess. The old rooms, although very large, they are in bad condition. Especially the bathrooms.

    The staff and the view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my last night there was a terrible noice in the room . I couldn't sleep for aprox two hours. I wasn't able to check what caused it. Maybe the aircondition ? Yours sincerely J.Nekvapilová

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing the design, staff, comfort, cleanes, and welcoming they take care about all the guests from the small to the big one of us and in this is would like to give special thanks for the amazing and tremendous job been done by Mrs. Nicole Brugger & Mr. Abu baker our hosts for her preparation, registration and the tour been provided by them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geneva is grossly overpriced. We did not feel the price of this hotel was warranted. Breakfast not included. Dollar for dollar we felt poorest value of our entire trip through Switzerland.

    Front entry Bellman Chiek (?). Always helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel going under renovation. Currently using part of restaurant as lobby. Only one small elevator for the entire hotel.

    Amazing location - close to the shopping and right next to the lake. You can walk to see lots of sights. Train station is 5-7 min walk. Extremely friendly staff wanting to go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Able to accommodate early checkin and late check out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is small and the elevator is very small and old. Is too expensive for very ordinary facility.

    The location is great, The service is very good and very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loopy decoration is not to the standared.. And to tell people's when chick in that any movement for any items in fridge s will be acounted on their ' bills .. Best wishes

    Staff in the reception were very good people , good behave, and respect Especially ( hany/ nicole / michael .)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER MAJOR RENOVATION, GREATLY RESTRICTING ACCESS AND QUALITY OF SPACE. WHEN FINISHED, IT WILL BE WONDERFUL. BUT RIGHT NOW, IT IS LESS THAN THAT.

    ELEGANT HOTEL, SUPERB IN AL RESPECTS EXCEPT ONE...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, Nicole gave us excellent helpful advice, was very professional and ais an asset to the hotel, We had an upgraded room which overlooked the lake, this made our stay so much more of a treat ! (Iprobably as the hotel was having a re-furb)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is under construction , This hotel is not Ritz Carlton yet .after the construction is done it will be Ritz Carlton It is against the law in US to advertise an unbranded hotel as Branded Rita Carlton purchase this hotel recently but the hotel name is only thing that changed No spa , No bar definitely miss representation

    Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertising themselves as a Ritz-Carlton hotel and not informing that they are going under heavy renovation and so they can't offer what a Ritz-Carlton hotel is supposed to give its clients is certainly unforgivable.

    Best is the staff attention. Makes almost forget the facilities' weaknesses. Food is also outstanding. Strongly recommendable dinner at restaurant. Breakfast very expensive but of good quality

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some charges seem a bit steep in the bar, but service is included.

    I liked the personal attention, the helpful staff. The hotel is small, cozy and traditional, as other Ritz Carlton. It is peaceful and quiet place, with a small number of staff who made every effort to make me feel comfortable and taken care of. The location is convenient. Most attractions and things not to be missed are within walking distance. My room was spacious, clean and pleasant. All amenities I expected were provided, e.g. free Wifi, converters for charging iPhones, iPad, Kindle, as well as bath robes, slippers and free mineral water. As a solo voyager who didn't know Geneva, I got all the help, advice and attention I needed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym a bit limited.

    Loved everything about the property. Will be my only stay in Geneva from now on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think about anything.

    Everything was extra ordinary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Location, staff friendly n beautiful rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small.

    Staff and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping takes long time to come and clean the room

    Mainly the staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food Noisy Floor

    Comfort of the room View Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive restaurants and bar.

    Such a comfortable bed, I loved it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One evening the hotel bar was closed for a private event. 🙁

    Extremely good and friendly service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View. Building. Style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's just been renovated but the rooms have not been completely modernised, ie pipes on the walls etc

    excellent position on the lake

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wow nice accommodation.. friendly staff... Amazing hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast, low quality food

    Excellent rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden floor is very noisy

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the hotel door is dangerous because it is on the street

    The hotel is perfect and they have the best breakfast in Geneva ♥️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel website advertised baths in the room which is difficult to find in geneva.this is why i chose the hotel.my room did not have a bath

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to add more option in the Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pool in hotel

    View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very bad smell which makes the sleep difficult for us.

    The kindness of stuff, the room size , and the hotel location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly! We were so pleased with our stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants a top class hotel in Geneva.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction and renovation want announced before booking , no Bar, restaurant Just one !

    Too much expensive comparing to facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks to Ms. Natalie for the upgrade, hospitality and everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Without any doubt, the best hotel staff we have ever encountered.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under repair, no breakfast or lobby!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work underway

    Location on the lake was lovely

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have been advised that renovations were taking place while I was booking my room.

    Room size. View on the lake. Service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location 10/10

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation.There was lots of noise

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of lobby because of the renovation which will last one year and the clients are not informed not even by booking.com .

    The view of the Lake

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nob

    My favorite hotel in Geneva

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too expensive Breakfast could have been much better

    Central location Staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in corridor

    The Staff was welcoming and the room was amazing, we loved the view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Desk Staff specifically the kidness of Nicole Brugger.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuine hospitality, so warm amd friendly that we felt like writing a thank you note when we got home!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the reception area is very small, there are no lobby, and the hotel is not fancy

    i like the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not enough parking

    the location + the view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location,very clean,friendly working stuff,breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    The veiw

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Breakfast for that money

    The room was excellent and clean. The staff were helpful. For sure i will comeback

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: