Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix, Geneva This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Saint-Gervais / des Grottes, 1211 Geneva, Switzerland

#23 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    Best service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personalized greetings, offered chocolates upon arrival and colouring books for the kids. The establishment really tries to satisfy the little ones, which also make the adults satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury in central Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    In a great location, the staff could not be more helpful. Everything I requested was delivered. Amazing room, amazing view, expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    grat location with like view and belconi too comfort room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as in Geneva the parking fees is to high and they scratched my car tire ring then denial that, the breakfast buffet small and not that good.

    the location and like view was amazing with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    What an amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What an amazing place to stay. The hotel has recently been renovated, tastefully and stunning. The staff are awesome! They go out of there way in every aspect. We stayed there for the geneva marathon, and Camille left us a note of good luck, energy bars and energade, on behalf of her and the staff. The front staff, Camille, Klementyna and all of them, barmen, the doormen, the waiters, all awesome! Will sure return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small elevator . That's all .

    Location is great .. view is stunning.. staff OMG I've traveled a lot round the world many countries all over Europe and United States and Canada and Dubai but I've never seen a start like this group ... The hotel manager was welcoming us at the restaurant for the breakfast .. every day . The pay attention to small details. Gifts were given to my four year old son . Everyone there was a reason we enjoyed our visit to Geneva . Thank you Ritz Carlton.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    Selection of food was limited and resurant size and layout...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff services

    Selection of food was limited and resurant size and layout was below expectations. Car parking carge was extremely high for hotel guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I travelled from Canada to surprise my son and family in Geneva on his 50 th Birthday The staff decorated his room and from the general Manager to all the staff they were amazing in their genuine friendy attitude during our stay.. it made for a very memorable birthday

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    The beds are fantastic and the rooms are spotless - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are fantastic and the rooms are spotless - the current renovations to the hotel provide relaxing, yet chic open-concept rooms. Make-up and turn-down services are exceptional. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and fun. They are wonderful helping you book touristy excursions. Literally everyone - front the moment you walk through the main doors - are welcoming and happy to see you! Highly recommend the luxurious Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    Location, interior design
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Insufficient outdoor seating / service

    Location, interior design

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.1
    Very disappointed with the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was awful in the restaurant and in the room also

    modern rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    3.8
    It was the worst hotel i stayed in a long time , didn’t worth the ritz tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too noisy The room service is very very bad

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was really amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was really amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Loved everything about the property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym a bit limited.

    Loved everything about the property. Will be my only stay in Geneva from now on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think about anything.

    Everything was extra ordinary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food

    Location, staff friendly n beautiful rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is very small.

    Staff and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Mainly the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping takes long time to come and clean the room

    Mainly the staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    Comfort of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food Noisy Floor

    Comfort of the room View Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.2
    Superb Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive restaurants and bar.

    Such a comfortable bed, I loved it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    8.8
    Great service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel. Will probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe partial lake view room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One evening the hotel bar was closed for a private event. 🙁

    Extremely good and friendly service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    High comfort and style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    View. Building. Style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.8
    Very good by and large
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's just been renovated but the rooms have not been completely modernised, ie pipes on the walls etc

    excellent position on the lake

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Wow nice accommodation.. friendly staff... Amazing hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    5.4
    Excellent rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor breakfast, low quality food

    Excellent rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wooden floor is very noisy

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    5.8
    Do not bother booking this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Do not bother booking this hotel! Trust me, it is way over prized and you don´t get what you pay for. The only thing the hotel can claim is good location and a nice entrance hall. Also, the staff in the reception was polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is well located just few steps from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is well located just few steps from the intersection next the Pont Du Mont-Blanc bridge. Location is amazing Staff are super nice and helpful. The concierge guy Mr. H Traboulsi is one of a kind. He is extremely helpful and went extra miles to help and guide for what to do. The reservation superviso, Noelie Mutschler, has alao gone extra 10 miles to make our stay super amazing. I contact him for some pee check-in arrangement and I was amazed with what I got. With no double, Hotel de la Paxis Geneva, is the place for couple... they know how to pamper you. Best Regards Usama

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2016

    9.2
    perfect view to Geneva lake, perfect restaurant Vertigo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Before, 2 yeras ago - they know my name, and as soon i came in into hotel and even receptionist talked to me in Russian!!! 2 yeras ago - breakfast was included into price of 765 chf, today it's 45 chf per person and there were no fresh vegetables, but it was tasty as always.

    perfect view to Geneva lake, perfect restaurant Vertigo

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    9.6
    The service is just impeccable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say.

    The service is just impeccable. When we arrived at the hotel the valet new my name (no idea how). When we departed the hotel the valet had cleaned my entire car. Everything between the seamless arrival and departure was just as fantastic.

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2016

    6.7
    Valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was basic and bathroom very dated. It needs a makeover and some modern fittings. The room I had was near the cleaners area so was noisy from 7am. Make sure you check to see if the restaurant is actually open during your stay.

    Valet parking. Fresh OJ o arrival.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    7.9
    The room, comfortable bed and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem with the exchange rate (different from what advertised on the desk) the staff was not very helpful and patronising, it took us 4 complains to sort the problem out, not very good from a 5 star hotel where you spend 500 pounds per night

    The room, comfortable bed and location

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    10
    The hotel truly understands the value of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel truly understands the value of service. Upon arrival they had the room fully prepared for our two small children to include treats and small gifts. Upon leaving the hotel we left my son's blanket which they shipped to us immediately. The staff was excellent made our stay there a true five star experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2015

    7.9
    The staff were amazing & absolutely understand what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a tad tired but nevertheless, very well set out & comfortable. Not really a "what didn't you like".

    The staff were amazing & absolutely understand what customer service is all about.

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2015

    10
    The room is perfect and contains everything like nespresso...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is under renovation so you might hear some noise in the morning.

    The room is perfect and contains everything like nespresso machine , big tv , very comfy pillows, etc.

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only negative thing I have to say is about communications. I failed to communicate with the hotel directly when I tried to contact them by email . I had to call them to ensure communication. This was not good. I found out that the hotel is in transition period (change of property) which could explain this, but this is not an excuse for such a high quality accommodation.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. Our room was wonderful with a beautiful view of the lake and the Jet d' Eaux. There was plenty of space which was important considering we had to share the room with our teenager son. The Buffet breakfast, albeit expensive , was of an excellent quality.

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    7.5
    -Location And value for money.
    • Group

    -reception desk did not Know about out upgrade until er showed them the confirmation. -facilities were slightly old.

    -Location And value for money. -our request for separate beds was immediately taken into action.

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    7.5
    Great location just across the lake, very close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was adequate, nothing special. I asked for late check out for 17:00 and this costed 150CHF. This is fine but I would expect on a 5star hotel to have my room tied and some fresh towels, no service was provided.

    Great location just across the lake, very close to the train station, old town, shopping centre and parks. Very nice old building with traditional luxury. Bulgari amenities were nice, bathroom was poor.

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2015

    8.8
    location was great, room was clean and spacious, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    really pricey for what you get, someone was smoking in the room next to us so we had to change rooms

    location was great, room was clean and spacious, friendly and attentive staff

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    9.2
    - Every thing was more than perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room service (room dining) was shocking. We returned our dinner almost non touched. No one of the hotel called to check. Since then we enjoyed our discovery which is a little Lebanese resturant located nearby the train station and almost 6 minutes walking from the hotel. Their food is very tasty, quick service, and the fanciest meal per person costs as high as $17.00 which is rare to find in this country. It is always busy and be ready it is not fancy place at all but who cares as long as the food is tasty, clean, cheap and quick. I recommend you to try it. We almost had all our dinners in this little resturant called (Lebanese Perfumes).

    - Every thing was more than perfect. - The entire staff are amazing and well trained. - The housekeeping is an outstanding in this hotel. - The daily breakfast is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    8.3
    Very nice location at Quai Du Mont Blanc, just across the...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfact is poor and overpriced (43CHF charged extra to a 350CHF room rate of a single room). I have asked for late check out at 17:00 and charge was 150CHF. That's OK but in every 5star hotel they would make my room. Based on the above I consider it overpriced.

    Very nice location at Quai Du Mont Blanc, just across the lake and very close to the shopping centers, old town, park and train station. Hotel building is very nice in old style and luxurious. Bulgari bathroom amenities.

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2015

    10
    The staff is very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Will be great to get some vegetable selection at the breakfast.

    The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Great location. The quietness of room is outstanding. Very comfortable bed and pillows. We got personal attention to us and to our requests. Even hotel welcoming postcard has been written and not printed as usual. It was very pleasant that in addition to fruit plate, chocolates, water and soda water bottles that we got every day, each one of our children got the souvenir toy at the check in.

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2015

    9.6
    The location is perfect, ask for the lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    its a bit expensive & the neighbor upstairs was making a lot of mess in their balcony but it was falling down in our balcony. it was not nice. Privet parking is available @ CHF 40 per day

    The location is perfect, ask for the lake view

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is a big ZERO I don't know how they get the 5 stars Too Old Over priced so Much I won't reserve again in this hotel and i don't recommend anyone to do so.

    Location The valet parking is amazing

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    6.7
    Normally very friendly and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor concierge service. Not friendly. Although previously requested in writing, they were not sympathetic to our motorcycle. Next day they requested me to move it from their parking as it is not permited there!!!! How come they don't know it? Certainly I didn't move, at the middle of my stay there, during my day off.

    Normally very friendly and well located.

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    10
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Obviously as there is a refurbishment planned for 2016, there are a couple areas where the woodwork needs touching up. This did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

    Position Staff service, friendliness and helpfulness Comfort of room

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2015

    9.2
    The location was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room rate is high.

    The location was excellent . The staff were friendly and helpful. The room size was acceptable. The service provided within the room were very good. The interconnection room facilities provided to us that was helpful for my children and me and the provided rooms were with nice view on the lake.

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2015

    8.8
    My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Hotel de la...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Hotel de la Paix and the staff did so many little things to make it special. From extra pastries in the room with a hand-written note, to flower petals and chocolates with the turn down service and lovely complimentary croissants the next morning. We were spoiled!

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2015

    9.2
    Only downside is access by car is a bit tricky due to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Only downside is access by car is a bit tricky due to the numerous road restrictions in downtown Geneva. No issue with parking though thanks to efficient valet.

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2015

    9.6
    The rooms are spacious and well appointed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only sour note was the in-room "trap": a bar fridge filled with overpriced sugary junk for which you will be billed automatically if you should disturb it. This is no way to treat one's guests, particularly in a five-star establishment. The fridge should be available for my own wine, champagne, etc.

    The rooms are spacious and well appointed; lake and mountain views are superb; staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2015

    9.6
    It was my honeymoon and they, for free, provided me with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was my honeymoon and they, for free, provided me with honeymoon arrangements like flowers, biscuits and a card with honeymoon congratulations. Additionally a free upgrade from a room to a suite. I loved the wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    10
    The hotel is gorgeous and all the staff we met were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is gorgeous and all the staff we met were extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel upgraded our room and that gave us a even better staying experience. We had wonderful view from the window, really enjoyed staying at Hotel de la Paix

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2015

    10
    I have stayed here a couple of times and find it perfect for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    there was no bath in my room, only shower that was a little narrow for me.

    I have stayed here a couple of times and find it perfect for requirement. position is excellent. service is friendly.

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2015

    9.6
    Our stay was made perfect by the amazing staff and comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed more breakfast buffet options.

    Our stay was made perfect by the amazing staff and comfort and location of the hotel. Thank you for making our honeymoon memorable!

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2015

    10
    quick check in .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    quick check in ..front desk service welcoming & smile all the time ..i would like to thanks team for upgrade my deluxe room to jounire suite with lake view really it somthing nice to treat regular guest part of family ..also welcoming letter its written in warm way i like it soo much ...hotel de la pix one of my favourite hotel every thing is more than excellent ...they have very proffissional team know how to keek guest always satisfied ...thank u for every thing for sure i will return back again & strong recommend

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    10
    Everything كل شيء
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything كل شيء

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    8.3
    Staff very welcoming and helpfull
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    WIFI very bad

    Staff very welcoming and helpfull

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2016

    10
    Friendly and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Beautiful and comfortable room. Central location

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    5.0
    The club sandwich was good 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't expect a real Ritz Carlton hotel. Its really beyond a 5 star hotel. Very expinsive for nothing special.

    The club sandwich was good 😀

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    10
    Just perfect no doubt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet separate from bath

    Just perfect no doubt

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    8.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Need a little refurbishment... Terrible art work on the walls of the room

    Location

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    10
    Best hotel in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Best hotel in Geneva

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2016

    9.6
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    All

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    8.8
    Location and quiet room facing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant

    Location and quiet room facing The square

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    10
    Location, service, hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, service, hospitality.

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    9.6
    The Hospitality and service were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hospitality and service were great.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    9.6
    Great and stunning building with the staff to match.
    • Couple

    Great and stunning building with the staff to match. Memorable stay.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Restaurant closed Sunday

    Location

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    10
    friendly, attentive and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly, attentive and professional staff. very welcoming and quick to assist you in any matter.

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2016

    8.8
    Generally a nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Foul smell at the bathroom

    Generally a nice hotel. We got upgraded which was nice.

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2015

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly, helpful, thoughtful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff is very friendly, helpful, thoughtful

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: