Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Delfino 3 stars

Via Casserinetta 6, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#34 of 45 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff superb, service excellent, nice breakfast, small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff superb, service excellent, nice breakfast, small but nice pool and area, fab views of lake, walking distance to main areas of town, parking cramped but crispy conditions (good) loved it will deffo stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes (we arrived on a warm and humid afternoon in late August, and got a bunch mosquitoes bites near the elevator. We then put on OFF the insect repellent and it helped. )

    Connecting rooms with lake view, spacious bathroom with jacuzzi, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds, Ticino ticket

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is slightly out of the city center. But it doesn't mean you can't find it. You can take the bus if you don't have a vehicle with you.

    They tried their best to welcome us. We asked the lake-view room as the extra request before our arrival and they upgraded ours. But I didn't expect that since the period was summer peak! Also, they kept our luggage for a while before check-in and after check-out. Wifi was good. Breakfast was nice as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a great week at the Delfino & would recommend to anyone heading to Lugano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we stayed in our room for the evening after dinner, there was only room for one of us to sit out on the balcony. However we did book a small double room so I guess this was to be expected & it certainly did not spoil our holiday.

    The cleanliness of the room & air conditioning. Small extras not expected e.g. large mirrors, soap, hairdryer, shelving in shower room, shower basket with attached handrail in shower stall (very handy for the older person), hanging rail on balcony, fridge. Breakfast had plenty of variety & was quality. The pool was great to cool down in & to spend a lazy afternoon relaxing. All staff were pleasant, helpful & courteous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very good the staff very friendly. Good location. Fine view of the lake from our balcony. The Ticino pass was really useful. We arrived by train, so used it all the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.3
    Quite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel prices on February (appx. 100 euros per day) do not the very least of things that schould be offered. The poorest breakfast I have ever seen. A big problem with their billing code (recreations company) and greek credit cards. They know but they pretend they don not. Pretending kindness. The attitude is that of someone who knows that clients will keep coming because of place, Lugano.

    Quite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely return to this hotel if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent all round! Staff were very helpful and friendly, and hotel was comfortable and quiet although near enough the centre to walk to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Would definetely go back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A kettle with coffee and tea facilities would have been very appreciated.

    Great access to public transport. Lovely Balcony with lake view. Very comfortable bed and even a mini-bar! Fantastic helpful and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    A quality hotel with high standards and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really missed not having facilities for making hot drinks in the room.

    Unusual architecture gave something of a lake view for all rooms, nice to have a balcony to sit out on. High standard of furnishing throughout the hotel. Nice to have a pool and sunbed area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Friendly, family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No consistency in the attitude of the staff - some seemed a little hapless; others were overfriendly whilst I also witnessed a couple of members of staff show their impatience with guests on more than one occasion. Service was generally quite slow. Pity because the front desk staff were lovely and very helpful. A little more professionalism of the restaurant staff probably wouldn't go amiss.

    Friendly, family run hotel. Very good for three star - rooms are not super modern, but they are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Pool area is nice - providing guests with pool towels was a nice detail. Very good breakfast. Pleasant 15 minute walk into Lugano town centre. For a short weekend break with two children it was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When i complained about the heat of the room i was told by a staff member at the desk to open the window. Not a great answer considering the water laying around near our room attracted all sorts of bugs which then came into the room. Toured India,Nepal & Tibet last year that had better room cooling/heating controls than this hotel

    The hotel was in a great location and easy to get to by local bus. The Hotel looked good but the room left a little to be desired. The view was a building being renovated and a cement slab where water just layed. The room was very small but that wasn't a real issue. Our room was hot and the shower doors didn't close properly so water went everywhere. For these reasons i would say the hotel is overpriced. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Forgetting all the negatives the hotel was an easy walk to to the lake where we found fabulous restaurants and tourist spots. I would say stay there but not in room 110 on the first floor. I am hopeful they would have some better rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location, Amazing view of the Lugano Lake, kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room view was amazing but at the same time the a/c was small for the room, the temperature was warm at this time.

    Good location, parking convenient, good breakfast with food for special needs ( vegan, lactose intolerance).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is clean and rooms comfortable- though old fashioned - very expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Relax Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in the hotel is very dated. The menu choice in the restaurant is very limited and very overpriced. The mixed salad cost 14chf and the small portion of ravioli 30chf. were half cooked. Breakfast was also disappointing - small selection and dry bread. I appreciate that this is off season - but this hotel is overpriced.

    Beds very good. Reception staff were helpful and charming. Location of hotel is very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.8
    a little too pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was deceptively small. and the air conditioner was not working since it was winter. we could not control the room temperature efficiently so we were constantly opening and closing the window

    the meal plan was good. the staff were polite and helpful. the hotel was close to bus station and as a result the city was easily accessible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Clean and beautiful view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the center and needs a renovation

    Clean and beautiful view from the balcony. The hotel is a bit old but the overall experience was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very centrally located, clean room with a view. Good continental breakfast was served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Very clean hotel, excellent position in walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel, excellent position in walking distance from center, nice stuff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the service and food

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location for a business convention.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough free time to enjoy it!

    Convenient location. Good breakfast. Just 5 minute walk from Paradiso station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast, ambiente, location, parking was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spendy parking,

    Breakfast, ambiente, location, parking was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, good value and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat kept falling down.

    The location and happy atmosphere. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Good stay with comfort price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relax Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken glass on doors spoils overall impression

    Looks more expensive that it is, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Very, very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect European hotel more spacious than usual with beautiful bathroom, balcony, window/door to balcony, lovely breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Quite vice break, be good to stay for some days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is slowly unfortunately, good for emails but not for video,

    Swimming Pool and family vacationers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Location and receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room size

    Location and receptionist

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Good location, great breakfast, nice staff and air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, great breakfast, nice staff and air conditioner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with all comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious clean comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    The staff , and my room view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff , and my room view .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    5.8
    Helpful and friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wi-fi in rooms, only in lobby and restaurant; no free parking, garage very expensive; far from city centre; small rooms, difficult to move around; be prepared that you have to pay surprise extra money in the end, something different than city tax (which is obvious) is added to final price, they were called 'hotel adjustments' and 'promotion tax' and they were on our bill, not professional!

    Helpful and friendly staff; tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very pleasant specially at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no ketle available in the room although we asked for it in advance. And we need to go down to the restaurant each time we need hot water to bring it Although there are many Arab tourist in Lugano there are no Arabic TV channel.

    Staff were very pleasant specially at breakfast. Hotle is clean and nice furniture. Nice balcony. Room is spacious and clean. If I will come again to Lugano I will not hesitate to book in Delfeno Hotel again

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    6.7
    walking distance to lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast Paying for parking GPS co-ordinates wrong

    walking distance to lake garage parking

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Front desk staff were great in giving directions;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff were great in giving directions; attending to our needs. Breakfast buffet offered variety.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    The staff were fantastic. The breakfast was excellent. We had a really great time!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old hotel and style is 60s and 70s

    Great staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: