Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel dell'Angelo 3 stars

Piazza Grande, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#35 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2481 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Right in the city centre, rooms were comfy though quite dark...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to know where to park at first, and the navigation tried to send us around all the time. Maybe a navigation address would be nice? Also, an extra plug next to both sides of the bed for charging would be nice. We had to take out the plug of some lights to charge two phones.

    Right in the city centre, rooms were comfy though quite dark and somewhat outdated in style; for one night it was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Beware of high outside temperatures
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC (but an electrical fan) at about 33 C at the room makes you feel like the Pizzas in the ovens on the Piazza Grande downstairs. As in highest summerly heat, intense odeurs and noises from the lively Piazza. I recommend a triple Grappa before retiring for an average nights rest.

    Professional private hospitality - excellent female management, Swiss SHV trained hosts. Bravo! Secure parking at a rate of CHF 9.00 a day at short walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, could improve customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is wonderful if you are there for the locarno film festival The hall is nice while the rooms are quite old as many hotels in this are of Switzerland No air con and in august that is challenging, and bathroom is separate from the room, not specified in the booking form Unhappily some drunk must have managed to open the door to it and left the place in indescribable condition In spite of this I received no formal discount, which surprised me The day receptionist wasn’t very kind, while the night shift one was very very nice and gentle and personally took care of cleaning the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was great, staff were unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged us tourist tax twice. At the hotel restaurant we were just finished our meal when a waiter sat an older man down beside us which was fine except he was determined to keep is there for the night and the waiter wouldn't bring us the bill. We are two girls in our early twenties and this man was like 40 something so it was not appreciated. It was obvious that the waiters knew the man.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    Bas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rubbish the pillows had no stuffing the view was a brick wall the shower and bins were used and not cleaned the bathroom had no lock and the shower was leaking

    The fact that we had somewhere to sleep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    The location is just at Piazza Grande and all reachable at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the room and in summer it was quite difficult to sleep even with opened window.

    The location is just at Piazza Grande and all reachable at walking distance.Nice restaurant with tables outside and the waiters are so nice that they even brought me a table because it was already all occupied.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Time travel to the 70’
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No climate control when it was really hot and you would rather sleep with a closed window due to the noisy surroundings

    The overall interior aesthetic , looking like a soviet time sanatorium in USSR. Breakfast as well original one from the 70’

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a super visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I truly could not say anything. For the price it was super

    Location and staff just super. Also breakfast was very good I can highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Great fun. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, tiny room. It would have been nice to be told there was an enormous festival on so actually getting to the hotel would be difficult. I assume they assumed we were coming for the festival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn‘t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren‘t in the actual hotel but across the street in an apartment building. The building beside had these flapping tiles that made a horrible noise day/night. We didn‘t sleep at all :-( I tried to upload a video of the sound but that wasnt possible. The breakfast was not good. The receptionist at check in was not friendly. The rooms were so hot & there was no fan. Our friends were in the hotel part & had a fan. No lock for the bathroom door & the blinds couldn‘t be closed fully so it was not dark enough to sleep (not that we could sleep anyways with the noise)

    The rooms were big. I thought we were getting 1 room with 5 single beds but actually had 3 rooms with a double bed in each room. Location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Terrible, will never stay again and absolutely do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures advertising the hotel were not of the run down building that we were led to after checking in. We were accomodated actually across the road! No tea facilities, no mosquito screens therefore had to close minimal windows - hot, stuffy. Not even a single drink glass provided for water.

    Breakfast good standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    A CENTRALLY PLACED HOTEL WITH A FRIENDLY WELCOME
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I THOUGHT THE BREAKFAST ARRANGEMENTS WERE A LITTLE POOR. DESPITE THE OCCASIONAL EXPERIENCE OF A (CHEERY) WAITER, GUESTS WERE VERY MUCH LEFT TO FEND FOR THEMSELVES AND THE FOOD WAS SPREAD OUT OVER THREE COUNTERS IN A NOT-ALTOGETHER-LOGICAL WAY (BREAD IN ONE SECTION, BUTTER AND JAM IN ANOTHER).

    THE HOTEL IS VERY CENTRAL AND CHECK-IN CHECK-OUT WAS QUICK AND EASY, STAFF AT THE DESK WERE FRIENDLY

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great place to stay..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I liked the whole experience. Where the hotel is located is beautiful, granted would be a bit of a slog if you had lots of luggage as there is no parking there. The staff I dealt with were absolutely lovely. Will definitely be back...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not the most friendly. The beds were not the most confortable. We were by the street where there is a bar and it was loud until late during the night. It was hot in the room and we couldn't let the windows open because of the noise. It says free parking but it wasn't provided.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    only good thing about this place is the location. would not come here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfriendly personal, we got a room on the ground floor (despite booking on the upper floors) where the windows looked on an ugly wall from the neighbours. we booked the room because of the pictures, but the reality was completely different. no airconditioning, if you open the window you have to be okay with the noise what comes in from outside.. breakfast was disappointing. on the pictures they show fresh fruits, instead, we got some canned fruits, swimming in sugar...dried croissants.. the only good thing about this place is the location.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.5
    I don’t recommend this hotel. It is a liar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a payment at the property (the price for a room with this service was more expensive). BUT!!! The hotel charged money from my card in advance!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit far from the hotel so it is a little bit complicated with all the baggage. And this hotel owns two or even more facilities so pay attention to that because our rooms were in the building accross the street, not in the hotel itself.

    The breakfast was excellent. Personnel were very polite and helpful. The location is amazing, at the main square with a lot of things to see. Rooms are very clean and spacious, I even suggest if there is 4 or 5 of you to take a room for 5 people beacuse there is enough space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location with comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a tiny bit expensive for the options you had, but still nice

    Location was good Rooms were comfy and well equipped Private bathroom was well equipped Convenient restaurant below the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    great friendly stuff. hotel restaurant: Great value for money! Can be recommanded.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The colour of the curtains and bed cover are a little old fashion and a little bit sad, but it doesn't matter so much, as you go out during the day.

    Everything very ok. VALUE FOR MONEY.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    The location right in the centre of Locarno on Piazza Grande...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is noisy in the evening until the bar next door closes (01:00). Take ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise.

    The location right in the centre of Locarno on Piazza Grande is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, right on the plaza but parking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk staff were at times helpful and at times a bit curt and almost rude. Breakfast was a bit pricey.

    Location was great, right on the plaza but parking was remote and quite a walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    the location perfect, right in the old town centre, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the younger receptionist was a bit bitter, So please learn to welcome your guests coming from far far away, or find a job that doesn't require to interact with humans.

    the location perfect, right in the old town centre, the backside of the building has mountain view, I found the room furnishing handy and practical, warm and clean, not "outdated" as some comments said (probably from big fans of ikea charming), the music from the wooden radio gives nice retro feeling, ohhhh, the good old times!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Great stay in Locarno!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking could have been made more clear, as it is stressful finding a street parking spot in Locarno. Once the reception gives you the card, parking is easier. On Saturday nights, can be a bit noisy outside room.

    Bed was comfortable and clean. Car can be parked for 9 CHF/day in a parking garage close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    The beds were comfy and the staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Booking.com there was a green box saying breakfast was included which it wasn't. To buy it separately was expensive. No tea or coffe making facilities in the room.

    The beds were comfy and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    For Switzerland a very good prise and good facilities. Breakfast was abundant and good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a strange smell everywhere in the hotel :-(

    For that price a very nice room with a nice bathroom Hotel is located in a very beautiful square. There is also a restaurant in the hotel, where you can eat ( the restaurant was not excellent but ok)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    The room for 3 was in fact an apartment with two rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a stale smell, but it was easily solved with an open window. The apartment was not in the same building as the restaurant, I was lucky to have nice warm weather and it didn't bother me to go outside and then back inside, but if it were raining I would count this as a minus.

    The room for 3 was in fact an apartment with two rooms and two double beds, so enough space for everyone. Breakfast was good, not just butter and jam but also some ham cheese and eggs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a very good experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Good location in old city, friendly, clean, efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really suited for a romantic weekend: loud noises from the corridor, old style accomodation.

    Good location in old city, friendly, clean, efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Piazza Grande
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Three old buildings converted to hotel, Different stairs, corridors, sometime no view from the window. You have to understand, use it and accept

    Frequently coming back to Angelo, when in Locarno. I keep the same rating all the time. Location, personnel, facilities and the view from the roof terrace. The only restaurant in Locarno, where hot kitchen operate up to midnight / 1 am.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    The town and surrounding area were gorgeous but was very disappointed with the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I went to check in and find out about the car park I was escorted by the receptionist to our room. I was led out of the main hotel down a small road across from it to an apartment block, into a smelly lift and to an out of date apartment. I was a bit shocked but waited on my husbands opinion before we decided to complain. When we asked to be moved we were given a room at the top of hotel with five beds in it which was clearly for a family. The ceiling was very low and I banged my head a couple of times. It was never mentioned on Booking.Com that this hotel has three locations and that one was in an apartment block clearly occupied by local residents and is very dated. It was like a hostel style bedroom and this was not at all what we expected.

    The restaurant was the highlight of this hotel and the meal we had was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Just an OK stay - will not come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is far away and you are not able to park outside of the hotel to unload if you have a lot of luggage. The hotel is a bit old and the staff is quite uninterested to serve. The rooms are clean but they really need an update! The breakfast is fine but you have to pay extra - not worth the money! The noice from the pedestrian street outside of the hotel was extremely load during the night!

    The location of the hotel is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.6
    Reception staff were not very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not very welcoming. Hotel room was located across the road from the hotel and wasn't actually a room, it was a converted apartment. Felt strange and didn't match the price (150chf/night), a tad overpriced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Spacious 4 bed apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy in the evenings but it was right on the Grand Piazza. The reception staff were not very friendly and didn't inform us of the discount on ferry rides around the lake. We were unable to receive the discount. The waiting staff at breakfast were great though.

    Spacious 4 bed apartment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed that they gave us a voucher for breakfast and then the next day they charged us for it and didn't tell us that before hand felt like they ripped us off

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    The best location in Locarno for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only advice to the hotel: in the summer a small fridge in the room would be really useful.We missed it.:(

    The locattion is excellent, on the main square.Everything is within easy reach.(restaurants,shops,lake, station). The staff is helpful and kind, gave us all the information needed.The hotel is nicely furnished with some beautiful old furniture as well, but in the rooms the bed and other items are modern and comfortable. Everything is clean and tidy.The breakfast is buffet table with a wide range of food in a nice room on the first floor with a view onto the main square.There is a good reataurant downstairs where a wide variety of dishes is served. The parking lot is in a short walking distance. It is safe, monitored and a bit cheaper due to the contract between the lot and the hotel. The ticino card is included in the price (as paying tax is compulsory) so we left the car in the lot and took trains to Lugano,Bellinzona etc. It also provides discounts for visiting museums and going to the Lido.It was great.Surely it is not the cheapeast hotel in Locarno but it is really worth the price.:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    In summer, the place is extremely hot and people are in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In summer, the place is extremely hot and people are in balcony till late night. So if you cant sleep either due to heat or due to noise from balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Bare minimum room in close by apartment building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us in a room in a close by apartment building. Which was not at all mentioned in the reservation! It was steaming hot in there with only one little fan. Couldn't sleep. Not at all what I expected for CHF 300 a night!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Extremely noisy from the Piazza Grande (even with closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy from the Piazza Grande (even with closed windows). Hot. No air conditioning. On the top floor (4th floor) it was almost impossible to get asleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy during Moon & Stars Festival until 1.30 am. In addition there was a construction site right in front of the building - Workers started around 6.30 am. The apartment was okay. Unfortunately not air-conditioned. Thus, it got very hot, and since there was the construction site we couldn't even open the windows.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.5
    Bad conditions that don't match the offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was much worse than in the offer. They cheat guests by presenting pictures of different rooms with much higher standard. Also, the room is much smaller than the 34m2 from the offer of a family room. It was difficult to walk in the room due to the low roof. It was extremely hot in the room, with little chance to exchange air through only two small roof-windows.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    One female staff member was very helpful & accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is about 200 metres from the hotel which is long when transporting luggage to & fro. We travelled in summer & there is not air conditioning in the hotel, so nights I didn't sleep due to the heat.

    One female staff member was very helpful & accommodating when we raised some concerns. And the location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Nicolette at the front desk was lovely, helpful, and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quintuple room is not in the hotel. It is actually a rather bare "apartment" in a regular apartment building across the street. The "apartment" had two spacious rooms, but no kitchen . The table was dirty and sticky, the shower ran out of hot water, the room was too hot and when you opened the windows, mosquitos came in. The only thing we could see out our window was the building under construction across the narrow street from us. I felt like it was a bait-and-switch deal. The parking is not on-site, but in a garage that is a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

    Nicolette at the front desk was lovely, helpful, and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot, so had to open the windows as there was no air-conditioning. Noisey neighbours at no fault of the hotels, just frustrating when trying to sleep. Perhaps if they had better taste in music.

    Loved the antiques and old fashioned decor. Prime position in the Piazza, close to the Castle. Wonderful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.7
    Unexpected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't match to photos what we were shown when booked it. It was in the attic and ceiling was so low we bang your heads against the ceiling. As alternative receptionist offered a big room in apartments across the street. The apartments looked more like a hostel with 4 separate locked rooms so we chose attic.

    The hotel is located on the main square of the city. Socket adapter is available on reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Best value for money Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to stay longer.

    Ideal location for both old town & lake. Free travel pass issued at reception for public transport throughout the Canton, which made this an ideal base for exploring the region. Booked in initially for 1 night and stayed 3. This was possibly the best value for money hotel we have found in Switzerland.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.3
    we have never been to this hotel before, but we did like Locarno and the sorrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    our room unfortunately was the last one at the top of the balcony, other guest could have access by just walking in through the door. if left open.

    Food and drinks at the bar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay! Will recommend this hotel to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Excellent hotel and restaurant. The restaurant was full so they opened up the breakfast room for other guests. Very close to the lake and the city centre. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmh, no complimentary tea and coffee as well as no kettle in the rooms. We also did not see any vending machine for a late drink (but it does not mean there was no one, we just did not see any)

    We were 2 families of 4 and the family rooms were big and comfortable. The location just at the end of the Piazza Grande is excellent and we had a good rest. The restaurant of the hotel serves good and quite cheap food for Switzerland. We cannot rate the breakfast as we did not take it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows where very hard.Im sure if i had asked for other pillows they would have changed them but i didnt boder in the middel of the night.

    The hotel is in the center,parking was possible in a near by parking for a reasonable price.Hotel was very clean and had this pleasent smell in the corridor.Dinner was very good and prices where reasonable.Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Roof top terrace is well worth a look for a great view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roof top terrace is well worth a look for a great view of Locarno. Good pizza in the restaurant. Very helpful staff provided us with a shower after a long bike ride even though we had checked out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money right in the heart of Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really, for a 3-star hotel at a cheap price it offered all we expected

    Clean room, and much of the hotel seems to have been modernised or re-painted recently. The breakfast was excellent, a lot of choice of tasty food in a very nicely decorated breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great Family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The COOP hours in Locarno.

    Alice was extremely helpful in accommodating my family (parents and 2 year old son). They upgraded us from our current room to help my toddler have his own sleeping arrangements, didn't have to do. The location is perfect and near anything you would want/need in Locarno. Also, the hotel has regular hotel rooms or apartment rooms to rent for bigger families...Bonus!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.3
    horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the misfortunate of being on the 4th floor next to the terrace, where the partying went on to 2:30 AM. When we complained to the front desk, they just shrugged. A dog fight in the room next to ours at 5:00 AM meant a short night. The hallway was littered the next morning with empty bottles. Wait staff in the restaurant was sullen. When we checked out and told them the stay had been unsatisfactory, they said "sorry". Would recommend camping or sleeping in your car rather than here-the only bad stay we had in the country over three weeks.

    Location on piazza

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.2
    Booked a double room, given a dormitory room in the attic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. Booked a double room. Given a room in the attic with low ceilings and 5 dormitory beds!!!!! Suitable for 5 children or 5 short people but not for two normal-sized adults. Same goes for the shower. Judge for yourselves. Do the pictures of our room and bathroom look anything like those on the hotel's website? As for the location, while it is at the end of the Piazza Grande, it is in an awkward position and not the easiest to find, even with a GPS. The public parking is also quite a walk away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Really nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only shampoo in the bathroom.....i guess somebody forgot to put soap.

    Really nice location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Some of the stuff doesn’t speak English
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the stuff doesn’t speak English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.8
    Will not return there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no aircondition in the room! We found a shirt between the sheets which means they didnt change the sheets from the last customer!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Apart from the mattress of the bed, everything else was great. The hotel is clean in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress of the beds are not comfortable at all

    the location was great in the Piazza and the hotel was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Crappy Hotel with an attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk girl had an attitude

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot room right below the roof

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady is rude.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position in the center of the city, 15min walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent position in the center of the city, 15min walk to Lido Locarno, convenient night entrance, very clean. Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation and air circulation

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, it was way too hot and the stuff wasn’t really friendly...

    The location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.4
    Pauvre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    nice place for stay in Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    excellent location, clean facility and good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    A great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable room, great location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Location, very good breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location, very good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    enjoyable to say tne ,least.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Very happy with all the treatment a d facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Good in town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking

    Good in town center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel room basic but comfortable and exceeded what was expected. Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Cost was great and staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Good location, good bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    apartment confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was confortable and the space for 4 people was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The location and the restorant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brekfast was not that great.

    The location and the restorant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    Old hotel, it had a strange smell in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture, no free parking and really bad breakfast. I could hear my neighbors talking. Can't recommend this hotel.

    Nothing what i liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff not welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: