Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garten Hotel Dellavalle 3 stars

Via Contra 45, 6645 Locarno, Switzerland

#32 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 173 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding views and lovely village centre nearby with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located well away from the centre and up a substantial hill - of course this contributes to its great views and the lovely village centre nearby. This does mean it is more effort to get to/from Locarno centre, but busses 312 and 2 operate that route (maybe 10-15 minutes from Locarno station) and the hotel has a van. If the short bus journey is not an issue for you it is well worth it to stay at the hotel.

    Outstanding views and lovely village centre nearby with restaurants and bars. The hotel's outdoor terrace is very nice (great for enjoying a meal or drink with the views) and the grotto restaurant downstairs is fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Awesome view an friendly owner
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hosts. They have been very friendly and helpful. They have a good evening menu with a nice choice of local specialities. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    The view is breathtaking and the pool too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of renewing urgently, our bathroon was dirty with some kind of black stains in the shower and in the reception when we complained, the girl working there said that the hotel would be renewed in 2 years and there was nothing they could do.The staff was not friendly, eccept from a very helpful sir in the reception and the woman in the Groto restaurant.

    The view and the pool are really great, the breakfast in the sunny terrace was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    When your guests (especially a family with small kids) get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When your guests (especially a family with small kids) get an all-day public transport ticket from your front desk, please let them know that the last bus from downtown is at 20:00 and that there is a special call-in cab-service after 20:00. Not knowing this, we missed the last bus and ended up pushing (and carrying up many many stairs) a stroller with two toddlers for 2km and up 200 meters. It was REALLY difficult. A simple warning to your future guests would save them the unnecessary trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Gorgeous views from the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    If i need to say anything, something to improve (if so) its to provide more variety on breakfast (But it had from cereals, to ham, bread, nutella, ...)

    Swimming pool... incredible views to the city. Room with views to Locarno its so gorgeous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    The view from the terrace at the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and staying in the annex rather than the main hotel.

    The view from the terrace at the main building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey. But ok compares to other hotel in Locarno.

    Sauna room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff, nice and good cold breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very, very small (tiny)toilet

    Great location and staff, nice and good cold breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, view and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation, the commute between buildings and size of the room

    I loved the garden, the view and the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    Due to the weather they gave me a "lake side" room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wanted to pay when I checked in so I could leave early in the morning without a hassle. It seemed that the man thought that was an inconvenience. The location was somewhat out of the way.

    Due to the weather they gave me a "lake side" room instead of a "mountain side" room. There was a thunderstorm across the lake so I had a great seat for the show!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is really beautiful with a wonderful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I like everything but If you dont have a car, its complicated to go to downtown. Its not far, but is it in the montains.

    The hotel is really beautiful with a wonderful view. Staff is friendly. I really like this hotel and I hope to come back.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is located in Brione sopra Minusio, a small (but beautiful!) village on hill over Locarno. Bus location from station is patchy (one per hour/two hours dependent on day until ~9pm, maybe one more bus at midnight) and walk can be strenuous (many many stairs). Either be organised, reasonably fit or pay for a cab to make it back in the evening. No wifi in some of the rooms in the back quad. None of this was a real problem for me -- Locarno is an expensive city and this hotel did deliver good if not very good quality for money.

    Excellent breakfast! Very friendly staff and proprietor (all fluent in several languages). Beautiful garden with stunning view over the lake. Quiet location.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: