Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Alpes 3 stars

Furrengasse 3, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#26 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1672 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in an idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan rather than air conditioning, very hard to sleep with it on, too hot with it off.

    The hotel was beautiful the area was amazing, the staff were very polite and accommodating. A lovely visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in an amazing location, with friendly staff and amazing breakkie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff who went well out of their way to help. Excellent breakfast, and they even warmed some gluten free bread for me. My room was tiny and in the rafters, but with excellent bedding and a fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, Lucerne is beautiful - great staff, attentive, polite and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been a bonus.

    This Hotel is amazing, perfectly located and wonderful staff. A lovely room with a comfortable bed and the restaurant downstairs - where you get 10% off - if a guest is exceptional. Erique, a waiter - is exceptionally good at his job. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    My room had an incredible view; location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator broken one day; balcony closed for meals so went elsewhere to eat; no TV guide; room small; no room service; big complaint: next to noisy pub with Hugh crowds watching sport events!

    Location and view; especially room with balcony view! Small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Central location and nice view of the city from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated on the tourist spot with restaurants and bars along the front street. The noise could penetrate the room particularly when the football matches were on during the Would Cup.

    I had a room with a small balcony and a nice view of the river and the famous bridge. The location is a walking distance from the train station. Nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Despite the negatives, that are temporary, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (5th floor) was unbearably hot. There was a very weak fan that didn't do much, even with it pointed right at me. Issues with the elevator - not good when on the 5th floor!

    The efficiency of everything, Nice and helpful people at reception and in restaurant. The location is perfect! Very clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location in the middle of Lucerne with fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for the facilities that the hotel offered.

    Amazing location in the middle of Lucerne with fantastic balcony views over the river and the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no on-site parking. If you are driving, you will need to park somewhere else. I would recommend calling them beforehand before you arrive so that you are parked in the right place if you are driving. The hotel is located inside the pedestrian zone, meaning if you are driving, you probably will have to offload your luggages somewhere else and drag them across over to the hotel.

    Good location. Located at the heart of Luzern. Very helpful staff. Good view if you get a room with a balcony. Supermarkets are nearby and just 5 min walk away. Ceiling of the rooms are really high, if that's your thing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable bed, and nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views would be betting the river side of the hotel, obviously. Like many European bathrooms, the shower could be a little larger, so ones elbows don’t change the water temp... but that’s quibbling.

    Very comfortable bed with soft sheets. Also surprisingly quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    The location was awesome,overlooking the river & Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning,not even a lotion,for real! For a 350+ Euro dollars,the amenities were so bad

    The location was awesome,overlooking the river & Bridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Central location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Design Alpes is close to main rail station, Lake Lucerne, the famous Chapel bridge and other historical landmarks. A single room was not big but you don't go to Lucerne to spend time in a room! The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and provided in the downstairs restaurant where you could gaze at the river whilst consuming a delicious breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Tremendous view and caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got a little hot unless you opened the door to the balcony, then it was noisy, but what to expect with World Cup!

    Location and view were above expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, perfect view of the chapel bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, perfect view of the chapel bridge. Rooms were clean which is very important to me. No air conditioning though, but open the window and turn on the fan and you’re set. Room given to us was spacious and had one of the best views. Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Loved it. Would recommend this hotel and also the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Watching the snow covered mountain from our beautiful balcony. Watching the swans from the balcony. The convenience of the location. The breakfast were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    My trip to Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Stuff were helpful and friendly. Most important they were honest. I lost something they found it and send it to me. Many thanks!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A hotel in the best location in Lucern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Book the room with river view since there was basically no view if book city view. You will face close to an office building, no privacy.

    Great location, dinner menu, and service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightful stay in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is a very old building there is no air conditioning but it wasn’t a problem for us, but maybe in summer it could be a bit warm. There is a fan for hotter days.

    Lovely room on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the river , town and mountains (when the clouds lifted). Close to the station and right on the riverfront overlooking the Chapel Bridge it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good in the cosy restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall nice - especially staff at the hotel, but the noise.... :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall does not do much... I could hear the people in the next room talking, watching tv, even walking.... I had to have my headphones to sleep. Other than that, it is a nice hotel - I will come back again.

    Close to the luzern station and everything. Friendly staff, the view from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture can be renewed.

    Perfect view. Very nice building. Could not think of better location. Great breakfast. Very clean room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend the hotel = Lucerne is extremely crowded and have no plans to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find with no parking but we did get a discount for parking at RR station parking.

    Exceptional staff! Great location overlooking Chapel Bridge. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room with city view but all we could see was next buildings window. Bed wasnt comfortable. Very small room congested with chair.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Amazing views. Poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, we were given a 10% discount card for the restaurants in the hotel, presumably to encourage us to eat there. I didn't think about the card when we payed our $300 dinner bill. The next morning when I went to reception to ask if they could credit the 10% back to our credit card, the receptionist told me that they could not because it was a different day and they had closed the books the night before. The rooms are a dated. The showers are very small and have a diamond shaped configuration that did not work well, causing water to leak on the floor.

    The views at this hotel are truly amazing. We booked two triples. One had a small balcony where we sat in the early morning admiring the amazing views of the mountains and Lake Luzern. The restaurant is also very good. The waitress was excellent and the staff of the restaurant very accommodating to someone in the group who cannot have gluten.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff was amazing, the location couldn't be better -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very basic. Definitely nothing fancy. But for the location and views it was worth it.

    The staff was amazing, the location couldn't be better - right near everything I wanted to see. Walking distance from the train station. Traveled alone and felt 100% comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning did not affect us in late May but, during the summer, may be a problem.

    Loved the location overlooking Chapel Bridge. Be sure and get a room with a balcony. They gave us a really sweet anniversary card - thx!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    The view is spectacular with a balcony room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage is on the other side of the bridge so drop off your luggage at the hotel first and do the opposite when departing

    The view is spectacular with a balcony room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea making facilities in our room.

    Superbly located, very clean and comfortable, friendly staff. Our room with a balcony provided us with panoramic views of Lake Lucerne and Mt Pilatus, and overlooked Chapel Bridge and the River Reuss. Close to transport and dining options. Generous breakfast provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    The old city area was fun to stroll. Would not recommend a vehicle in Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed the Hotel but would have appreciated some information prior to arrival (by car) as to how to locate hotel and more importantly where to park and transfer luggage. This was extremely difficult, we may have incurred a fine for driving in restricted areas.

    Nice view. Enjoyed the restaurant with outdoor seating right on the water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location, not the best value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is decidedly friendly/unfriendly. Room was small and for the money, the expectation would be a lake view, not a view of the alley (street) behind the hotel. No tub. Shower only. Again, for the money, the room should have been much more “refined.” Plain but clean. That’s it.

    Perfect location for exploring Lucerne. Close to train station, walking distance to lots of interesting sites, attractions, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    We only stayed one night. Had we stayed longer we would have requested changing our room locationn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom was a little too small and we had room next to maid's quarters so it was very noisy from early in morning to late afternoon as they cleaned rooms.

    Location is fantastic. Right at the Chapel Bridge. Breakfast room was roomy and modern with views of the river. Staff very friendly and room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very good location, beautiful view of the lake and bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very far away but understandable.

    Very good location, beautiful view of the lake and bridge. Great food in the restaurant. Friendly staff. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was two singles put together. A double or queen size bed would have been a little more comfortable.

    Extraordinary balcony view overlooking Chapel Bridge out to the lake. Central location in the heart of the old town area. Hotel was clean,staff very friendly and breakfast was plentiful, typical European breakfast of cold cuts,cheese,bread plus cereals and fruit, yoghurts. Room was comfortable. Easy access to to towwn and hotel is only 200 metres from train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Lovely and helpful staff, good location, nicely remodeled rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit unassuming from the street side.

    Very nicely modernized hotel in an historic building. Great location in the historic core. Good breakfast. Really pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Very close to Chapel bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 4 rooms with the same price. But all of them have different room size. You have to be lucky to stay in a good view room with a large bedroom. (4th floor on the corner with river view is the best room that we stayed. The worst is the room with river view at the corner of the 2nd floor )

    Very close to Chapel bridge. Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel with excellent location and Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Atleast some omlette or scrambled egg options should be added.

    Excellent location right next to the famous Chapel Bridge, piers for boat rides. amazing place, very near to the station just a 5 min walk. Clean and tidy rooms, very warm reception staff. Comfortable beds clean bathrooms very well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was right on the water by the bridge in a beautiful scenic location. I would definitely stay there again but next time would get a room with a river view and balcony. It's a great location with the railway station and port just minutes walk away across the bridge. The staff were superb, willing to print out Viator tickets etc. and the accommodation had everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the dining room was at the front of the hotel looking out on the river with the Alps in the background. We really enjoyed our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with my choice from booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room

    we were felt very welcome on our arrival, staff great. The room was small however very comfortable! enjoyed the breakfast very well run and professional service from restaurant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent - directly at the river near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast did not have the biggest selection.

    The location was excellent - directly at the river near the famous bridge.When weather permits, you can have breakfast outside. Very helpful staff can give you a map with marked routes for walks - excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Best value for money in Luzern center, with great staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend’s room was at a slant and she had trouble sleeping.

    The staff were the best part, then the view from the room, then the food, then the room itself. The floor was squeaky and the bed was ok, but I understand the 3rd floor will be renovated next year. Prices will doubtless rise too, so what we had was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, walking distance from station and major attractions. We had a room with a balcony, which was worth the money. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant little hotel on the lake
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to get to from the station and in a nice scenic location, with easy access to the lake. There are restaurants everywhere, though I didn't try them out in my brief stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Lovely location right on the water front and close to Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location right on the water front and close to Old Town. A lot of the attractions were within easy walk such as the Lion Monument, Glacial Museum and the bridges.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    A Must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location is great, view is even better. Our room is large and clean. Breakfast is also the best among the rest of the hotel we visit (we stayed in Swit for 10 nights) Will definitely come back here. PS There is such a nice market every Sat morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be more preferable to have better view but we booked the room the same day of our accommodation.

    The location of the hotel was really perfect 👌

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    I can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the selection of local cheeses and the homemade muesli at breakfast. A bonus was the fresh cappuccinos! The staff was so helpful and friendly and the location could NOT be beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the TV channels could have some English channels.

    Super friendly reception staff from our daily encounters. Very courteous and extremely knowledgeable in providing first hand information for sightseeing including bus, boat and train services. They are the Swiss Ambassadors, I would say. Hotel room with the balcony has a million dollar view of the Chapel bridge, Mt Pilatus and the harbour. Room is well kept and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Very nice and clean hotel, excellent location, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and clean hotel, excellent location, very nice staff and excellent breakfast. There are cheaper parking options available apart from what the staff will offer you for 25 swiss francs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice breakfast, good view from the window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, we took the river view room and the window is very small.. the view is amazing when you peep outside the window.

    Great location, nice breakfast, good view from the window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again , particularly if attending one of the music festivals at theconcert hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small and bed slightly hard for our taste

    Excellent central location, efficient friendly helpful reception staff,good breakfast with wide choice .Restaurant also offers extensive choice and interesting wine promotions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    - The view from balcony is great, we got the unobstructed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that it is not as close to the train station as we thought it would. But, it's okay, we each only had medium size suitcase... It's 10 minutes walks from the train station.

    - The view from balcony is great, we got the unobstructed view of the lake & THE Chapel bridge, it was lovely. When the weather was clear, we could even see the mountains. - Well worth the money!! Stay here, no need to go the fancy ****stars hotel nearby as you'll get the same view. - The staff is nice & polite. - On Sunday, there's Sunday market right in front of the hotel where people are selling fruits, vegetables, cheese, etc, it was nice. - Behind the hotel there are plenty of small stores, convenient store & drugstore. Overall it was a great stay & lovely visit in Luzern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel in a super place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in room means you have to use supplied pods even for tea. No good for using herbal teas

    Excellent hotel next to the famous bridge. It’s a little difficult to find, but once there it’s really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room window was tiny and I did not appreciate them taking away one of the bed comforters and leaving me with twin sized one just because I was traveling alone me, ouch.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location with a friendly staff made for a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked two rooms for our party of four (2 couples). At checkout both rooms had been charged to my card (Not just pre-approved), which I was hoping to split at the time of checkout with the couple that joined us. It would have been nice to settle our separate bills at the hotel, and not once we returned home.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel des Alpes, and the location made getting from the train station to the hotel very easy. Our party took the train from Germany to Switzerland, and the walk from the station to the hotel may be all of 10 minutes. In fact you can see the hotel from the train station. We decided to walk the Chapel Bridge on our way to the hotel, and that may have added a minute or two to the walk. The staff at the hotel reception desk was very friendly, and were more than willing to assist us with all of our questions/requests during our stay at the hotel. Our room was nice and the bathroom had been redone recently which was clean. I loved the view from our room and one evening I just sat at the window to take it all in with Chapel Bridge, the river and lake, and the mountains being right there before me. Being on foot during our stay made location everything, and the Hotel des Alpes fit our needs perfectly. Their breakfast was nice with all of the basics, they have a full bar for an evening drink, and the restaurant looked good however we never actually had dinner in the hotel. All in all they took great care of us during our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff were excellent and very pleasant in helping with plans...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were excellent and very pleasant in helping with plans before we arrived and while there. Location was great for us. Very clean room and beautiful place to eat. The bed was not as comfortable as we would like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    perfect and most enjoyable :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my umpteenth stay in this (my favourite) hotel, so I like everything! :) The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect! Tip: bring your own kettle with you if you are (heavy) tea-drinker: there are no kettles in rooms (hotel policy).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend this hotel to tourists or business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mention was made to me on booking the stay that there would be a very noisy carnival event going on with no possibility of sleeping at all. There was a limited breakfast service on my second morning and the hotel wasn't very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    I was here for Carnival and the location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room I had on the 5th floor was very cute but it was directly across from the elevator and beside the supply room and another guest room. The walls were very thin so it was a bit noisy (and cold)

    I was here for Carnival and the location was perfect! The staff were friendly and helpful. Finally, I was very pleased with the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice staff and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the top floor was a bit cool in February

    I was unexpectedly there during Carnival and the woman at the front desk was kind enough to give me a quieter room on the top floor, with a great view of the bridge. I had a good sleep and the Carnival party was awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, excellent breakfast and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggle to find any negatives. It’s a small lift and if you time it badly when the cleaners are going up and down, it’s a bit of a wait.

    Went for a room overlooking the bridge and was pleasantly surprised how spacious the room was. The room also had a espresso style coffee maker and a small fridge with complimentary water. The location is 5 minutes from the train station and right in the heart of Luzern. Can recommend the breakfast Perfect for a relaxing city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.3
    The location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities, no toothbrush / paste, cotton puds, the place seems haunted at night many noises and i swear to god we saw 2 ghosts walking in our bedroom!

    The location only

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Luzern getaway
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms & bedroom a bit small, but the view makes up for it.

    Great views & location for lake & old town. Short stroll to railway station. Good breakfast & excellent dinner menu, local fresh food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Best view of chapel bridge, close to train station , buses and boats . Staff excellent. Highly recom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of the chapel bridge the best in fact ! So close to station . Verandah room was just perfect . Dinner down stairs was the best we have had in 3 weeks also . Highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoy the great view of the Lucerne lake from own balcony. Hotel staff are really helpful and nice who gave us many travel recommendation to explore this lovely place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    When we go again we will stay at this fabulous hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that we had to go home!!!!

    The location--walking distance for us senior citizens to everything we needed! The view from the balcony was amazing!! The staff was exceptional and even made reservations for us for dinner!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    A great location, price and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our double bed, whilst clean and comfortable was 2 singles pushed together. Not all rooms have views (ours didn't). Front facing ones have a wonderful view.

    5 minute walk from train station but great waterside location. Room was functional and very clean with nespresso machine, safe and small fridge. Breakfast selection very good, good restaurant. Exceptionally cheerful and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Good quality hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is offsite (railway station car park, fixed rate per day from reception). Can drop bags at the hotel but then 10 minutes walk back.

    Excellent location, directly on the waterfront and easy walking to all tourist and shopping locations. This is an old building but the rooms are fine - don't expect modern cutting edge decor but all good and clean. Breakfast is fine, simple.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is perfect as well as the friendly hotel staffZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old so it needs updating. There were no USB charges in the rooms, the internet was not as reliable.

    Location, Location,staff and restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The highlight of our month-long trip! Beautiful property, perfect location, and delightful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect, nothing could have been better!

    Staff was amazing—so kind and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and coffee was the best! Beautiful breakfast area with delightful views. Breakfast staff made our morning every day! And the view from our patio was truly a highlight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in a stunning location! Our room was dated but comfortable. The staff were all lovely and helpful. The breakfast is your basic cereals, toast, and ham and cheese- no hot food. The real winner for this hotel is its location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful city and Hotel Des Alpes helped enhance our visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of flies in the dining room when we went for breakfast on our final day

    The location of this hotel is great, very close to the train station, very easy to find, right in the heart of the restaurant area and the view from our room was exceptional!!!!! We had a small balcony which overlooked the lake, covered bridge, the water tower and the restaurants. It was expensive but all this made it worth it! The hotel was very old but that was was part of its charm. Loved the free apples at reception area, and the complementary coffee in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location easy access and comfortable room
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor was very creaky and pillows too soft.

    Breakfast was excellent, the view from the room to the river and bridge was lovely. Easy walk from the train station. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    The best stay in Europe so far and this is after 31 days in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wise it was awesome. The service was great. The breakfast was just healthy.

    The staff dealings were more than excellent. And we dealt with Nadine at the reception and she was a lovely person to talk to and she gave us a lot of information which helped us in a great manner. Thank u Nadine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good balance of location, comfort and cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average, we would go down around 9 and items were finished and not restocked. There was no lamp or lighting on the balcony if you were using it at night

    Easy to walk to from the station the hotel is well located and comfortable with a nice view of the wooden bridge. We had a large balcony room that overlooks the river and lake. The reception staff were very nice and helpful with unexpected touches like a free public transport voucher for the 2 of us during our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Loved Lucerne. The view from the balcony was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was outstanding. The ladies were able to speak with us in English. Always friendly and helpful. This included the restaurant staff as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was inconvenient and costly. We had to park at the train station and walk back after unloading our luggage in the room. Not much that could be changed as there is no auto traffic allowed in old town. Would have been nice if they provided a type of valet service. It’s a little hard to try to figure out where the parking is available when it’s your first time in the city.

    Can’t beat the location of the hotel. It costs a little more but get a room overlooking the river and the bridge. We had a small balcony as well and it was so nice looking out at the river. We could see Mt Pilatus from our balcony as well. We stayed 3 nights. Everything is within walking distance. Lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Breakfast was typical buffet meat, cheeses and breads and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Location at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our 5th visit to the hotel and once again a great experience. The location is of its best and the food in the restaurant very delicious and the staff giving great service. The breakfast buffet has a good and sufficient selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: