Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Switzerland hotel reviews
  3. Canton of Lucerne hotel reviews
  4. Lucerne hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Des Alpes

Reviews of Hotel Des Alpes This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Furrengasse 3, 6004 Lucerne, Switzerland

#24 of 68 hotels in Lucerne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1691 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    We arrived in the early hours of the morning because of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    We arrived in the early hours of the morning because of a delayed flight, but a very friendly man called Luis received us with the warmest welcome. All staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and well equipped. We had an amazing breakfast every morning. And the Hotel privided us with a travel pass around Lucern for our stay. Overall the hotel exceeded all our expectations.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    Location!!! Waking up in the morning, opening the curtains, stepping out to the balcony and enjoying the Kapellbrücke up close and personal, all to yourself!!! Nothing beats the hotel’s location!!! Wonderful hotel, and also very good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    It's a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV didn't work very well. There a re so many channels that are not available.

    It's a very nice hotel. The localization is very convenient, the breakfast is fantastic and the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.5
    Very good ,location excellent. Restaurant very pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Your fault the extra two taxes which I had to pay when I thought it was all paid to you weeks ago

    Excellent buffet breakfast but could have done with a second cup of coffee which wasn’t offered.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.2
    In the heart of Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Currently there is construction site in the neibourghood. So if you don't dare to pay for a room with River view, then better go there after year or so - when the works will be completed. But it is worth going :)

    You can enjoy breakfast overlooking the wooden bridge and tower. Just few steps - and you in Old Town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    5.0
    Don't just go by pics in booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Except the location, It was not so fascinating to stay there especially after paying 300 euros for two nights. Bathroom is like small cupboard,mattress is not comfortable at all, forget about drinks not even water was provided in the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, can’t wait to stay again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pet fee is really high.

    The staff was extremely kind and I would absolutely stay here again. Although the pet fee is very high, they adored my dog!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was really nice. The basic rooms are really small, but paying a little extra we got a nice size room with great view.

    Positioned at the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    9.2
    Location and staff, hats off to them both.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were too soft, woke up with an aching back. The room felt cold, yet the radiator was on no.5.

    Location and staff, hats off to them both. Staff were friendly, informative and more than happy to help.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent first trip to the beautiful Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the people in the room above stomped around a lot which caused a vibration of our light fitting.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, great location, comfortable bed. Room was lovely and warm which was much appreciated after a day out in the freezing cold.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    4.2
    Swiss excellence in Hospitality and Management a Myth . Manage little expectation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected top Swiss hotel Hospitality management . Please judge for yourselves whether they were up to par :- -Staff looked bored and greeted us with preoccupied silence . Staring at the computer was their main job and very little human interaction - No kettle for even having a hot drink ! What if you want tea ? There was instead a coffee maker . What if you need hot water for your hot water bottle because of the cold ? -Room was very small . For the rates charged you will buy three times the size in cities more beautiful than Lucerne . -hotel amenities like shower soap, shampoo were paltry and a disappointment . Toilet very small . - Cleanliness not evident ; instead the carpet, the patio and chairs all looked it could do with overhaul .

    Location and surroundings, all totally independent of the hotel's performance or credit were the selling features. Lucerne in itself is interesting but not stupendous .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    We love Luzern, nice beautiful city. And Hotel Des Alpes made it perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The power plugs in the room does not match euro standard. A bit hard to charge the laptop, iPad and mobile phone at once.

    The breakfast is excellent. Staffs are very friendly. We had to leave at 6.30 am, they set away our breakfast to take. We enjoyed, talked and so thankful along the way to our journey. Again, thank you for everything, we enjoyed our stay in Luzern so much.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Loved being in the middle of Lucern with access to the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved being in the middle of Lucern with access to the top spots. The view from our room was spectacular. Parking was a breeze at the train station. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't see anything to dislike

    Location location location. Best value for money (in Lucerne). The staff are very nice helpful and friendly. The room was bigger than I thought it would be. The bfast is good too. If we ever come back this will be our first choice and get the same room with balcony overlooking the chapel bridge.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is located very near to the main train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heater was not working properly although the staff tried her best to adjust the setting

    The hotel is located very near to the main train station and is in a prime location facing the river

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant stopover in our favourite Swiss city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Their restaurant staff were really helpful regarding my wife's gluten-free diet which is essential due to her coeliac condition. They were able to adjust most of the meals on the menu for her. The hotel location on the banks of the Reuss could not have been better.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    worth to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    near train station and boat cruises, a short walking distance to old city. Clean and confortable, breakfast buffet is fabulous. Good pricing for a confortable stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    All in all...reasonable value. Would book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space was tight in room and bathroom, but you're paying for location not space.

    Excellent location for touring and also for proximity to rail station. Pleasant and helpful staff. Nice balcony overlooking river.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid more for a room with river view. Perhaps it was my misunderstanding but I thought there would be a small balcony. I got this impression from photos of the hotel. We could see the river standing at the window but I had envisioned a romantic glass of wine sitting on a balcony and was a bit disappointed.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    This Hotel overlooks the Old Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    This Hotel overlooks the Old Bridge. We had a little balcony so we could sit outside and take in the beautiful views of Luzern. The hotel room was small but comfortable and just right for us. The breakfast was excellent. The area fantastic and the price reasonable for where we were. highly recommend this Hotel if you are staying in Luzern everything is walking distance. Just loved the place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.6
    Room with a view delivers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was updated but because of size restrictions, the shower is very small. There was an espresso maker in the room but not a hot pot. This meant that you could only have espresso in the morning. The coffee maker had to be moved to the bathroom to be able to plug it in. The machine was a bit difficult to operate. The hairdryer in our room only blew cool air and while we reported this, nothing was remedied. We finally had to ask for a portable hairdryer. We would have liked something other than hard-boiled eggs as our egg choice at breakfast. There need to be a new toaster purchased because the one they have does not toast well or fast.

    The location of this hotel is great. We had booked a room with a balcony and a view of the river and we were happy with our choice. There is a table and chairs on the balcony so you can relax and enjoy the view. The room was of adequate size and there was a refrigerator and adequate electrical outlets. Bed linens and towels were nice. The breakfast was simple with an array of cheeses, meats, cereals,fruits, juices and hard-boiled eggs. Coffee was ordered from a server and you could have a latte, espresso, cappuccino or anything else. The breakfast room has a view of the Chapel Bridge so that is nice. There are two entrances to the hotel---on the street side and on the river side...very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Hotel Des Alpes has an Excellent Location overlooking the Main Area of Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Location of the Hotel Des Alpes in Lucerne made it an excellent stay. We were about a 5 minute walk from the Lucerne train station and the hotel was central to all key attractions around the city. We got the room with the balcony and it was amazing to soak in the sun and people watch over a cold beer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation, beautiful city, friendly people and lots to do - especially boat trips on lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I lived every minute

    Fabulous location right opposite Cappelbrook with views of the Alps beyond- balcony a real asset - amazing at dawn and also at night with lights reflected in water of lake

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    The reception lady is very nice, and helped me to take the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is without any sightseeing.

    The reception lady is very nice, and helped me to take the luggage. It is very close to Chapel Bridge. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Don’t hesitate couples or single travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls, only thing. But it got quiet at 11pm.

    Right near the lake, excellent restaurant and charming decor and rooms. Surprised at the reasonable price. Great staff! Solo travelers will feel very safe here and at the center of things. Really cute rooms!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    All good breakfast could be better and the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were paper thin so if anyone walked in there room felt like they were right in our room. One of the rooms had 2 little kids screaming and jumping up and down from 5am

    All good breakfast could be better and the walls....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Close to train station and everything in Lucerne. The staff specially packed us a breakfast box and coffee for our early morning train excursion. Great breakfast bar and staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighbours were easily heard and noise isolation could be improved.

    Wonderful location, beautiful views. The room was very comfortable and the bed as well. Breakfast was very good and the staff all around were really polite and nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    I love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it was only my room (5th floor), but there's no airconditioner. Just a ventilator. So in summer it can be tough.

    I love this hotel. The most central location possible, 5 minutes from railway station. I always ask for a room with balcony (5th floor) - breathtaking view to the Chapel bridge and mountaines. Room was clean, everything needed is available. Visitors get 10% discount for a restaurant, which is good. Breakfast is nice. Just I personally prefer to have coffee machine available to the guests, not to ask for a cup everytime =) Staff is friendly, nice and helpful. I stayed in this hotel for 2 times already, next time in Lucerne definetely going back here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My single room has no view....facing opposite building n curtain had to close at all times.

    Location is convenient. Walking distance to station n Chapel bridge is at doorstep. Single room is small but cleaned. Staff was friendly n helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Check in was 3pm but the staff was very nice to allow early check in as soon as the room was ready.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    It was an amazing stay in a great city. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning would have been great...but there was a fan in the room!

    Lovely hotel. Close to everything. Exceptional staff. Excellent breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and safe hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room in the back thinking it would be quieter than being in the front above the restaurant. Turns out groups of people were taking for hours in the avenue behind this hotel for hours in the late night, early morning. We stayed many days and each night there was street chat/noise

    Rooms were basic but nice. Breakfast was good, staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location. Staff. Friendly ambience. As a frequent traveller this hotel was head and shoulders above any other hotel we have stayed in over the last few years. We had dinner in the hotel. The food was excellent and the waitress was superb. No hesitation in recommending Hotel Des Alpes!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect view for the Apls in the hotel balcony!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Near to the Interlaken West station. Perfect view to famous Alps mount at the balcony. Very traditional but clean. The garden was so beautiful. I believe this hotel is one of the best in this area. In addition, hotel staff was so kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.3
    The location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The NOISE!!!!! The walls are so thin we heard the person next door snoring as if he was in our room!! The construction noise outside began at 5AM! Miserable night...

    The location was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    Unbeatable location, hot rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have noted, the rooms are quite hot—even when it's not hot outside.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Lucerne. Perfect for our early train departure across the street. Views from the room were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, very close to the train station and on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, our room was closet sized, too warm with a sizable dip in the floor. It would have been nice to have been told about the fan I noticed in the morning.

    Great location, very close to the train station and on the river by the historic bridge. Lovely restaurant on the water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    3.3
    The view of facing the Chapel Bridge is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rent a double room with balcony, facing the Chapel Bridge and the River. However, the balcony of my room (Room 455) is not the same as the photo on the description which made me feel very disappointed. It's not worth to paying extra for a balcony like that. The bed linen is dirty - I felt itchy the whole night when I stayed there. I won't stay there again.

    The view of facing the Chapel Bridge is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Absolute awesome, the beautiful Altstadt, weather and the Steam Ship tour of Lake Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving the Hotel and Lucerne ♡♡♡

    Des Alpes Hotel is in the best location. Get any rooms facing Lake Lucerne, Chapelbridge and Mt. Pilatus. The views are breath taking you will not be disappointed. Breakfast or Dinner you have a great view you csn sit outside on the Promenade by the Reues River.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    4.6
    Moved out after 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beware the top floor - rooms in the attic small, stuffy, unbearable in summer. When booking insist on a room on the lower floors. Pedastal fan offered for 375 AUD per night - over rated for comfort. Asked to be moved to lower floor, told hotel was full. We checked out after 1 night and moved to Raddison Blu which was superb, and cheaper. Would not stay at this hotel again.

    Very little.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    Great Location, great view from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning which was unbearable during the recent heat wave They did provide a fan but it was not enough

    Great Location, great view from balcony Included breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.9
    Location of hotel is excellent, right in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of hotel is excellent, right in the center of shopping, etc - great view from the balcony, overlooking the lake. Room was extremely clean. However, no A/C (we traveled during the one-week in Switzerland when A/C is needed). Breakfast was hearty, and typically European. Perhaps a bit pricey, but there was nothing in this experience that let us down

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed the hotel mostly for the great staff,fine location and elegance of the premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and as Luzern was in the middle of a heat wave,it was extremely hot,especially the bathroom which had no fan or ventilation.

    Location is fantastic,we were able to see the river and famous covered bridge from our window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that I didn't like about this hotel

    Perfect location....the hotel's restaurant is right on the river. Loved the balcony on our room. As with most hotels in Europe, there was no air conditioning, but we were provided a fan. It had just rained, and was very humid and warm, so the fan was a blessing. Staff was very helpful and welcoming!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.6
    Lucerne was one of our favourite places on our 7 week holiday & the location of hotel was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 single continental quilts instead of a kingsize continental quilt on the bed.

    We had a room with a very small balcony but it was lovely, you can sit out there have a drink with a beautiful view. Its a great location, close to train station so you can walk with cases, right on the lake as well. The room is small but ok, no air cond so they provide fans but you can open your balcony doors. Reception staff lovely and friendly. Breakfast was nice too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning

    Location is perfect. Window overlooked the river and beautiful Chapal bridge. However, extremely hot and no air conditioning, gave us a fan for the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in an idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A fan rather than air conditioning, very hard to sleep with it on, too hot with it off.

    The hotel was beautiful the area was amazing, the staff were very polite and accommodating. A lovely visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in an amazing location, with friendly staff and amazing breakkie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic staff who went well out of their way to help. Excellent breakfast, and they even warmed some gluten free bread for me. My room was tiny and in the rafters, but with excellent bedding and a fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, Lucerne is beautiful - great staff, attentive, polite and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning would have been a bonus.

    This Hotel is amazing, perfectly located and wonderful staff. A lovely room with a comfortable bed and the restaurant downstairs - where you get 10% off - if a guest is exceptional. Erique, a waiter - is exceptionally good at his job. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    My room had an incredible view; location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator broken one day; balcony closed for meals so went elsewhere to eat; no TV guide; room small; no room service; big complaint: next to noisy pub with Hugh crowds watching sport events!

    Location and view; especially room with balcony view! Small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Central location and nice view of the city from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is situated on the tourist spot with restaurants and bars along the front street. The noise could penetrate the room particularly when the football matches were on during the Would Cup.

    I had a room with a small balcony and a nice view of the river and the famous bridge. The location is a walking distance from the train station. Nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Despite the negatives, that are temporary, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (5th floor) was unbearably hot. There was a very weak fan that didn't do much, even with it pointed right at me. Issues with the elevator - not good when on the 5th floor!

    The efficiency of everything, Nice and helpful people at reception and in restaurant. The location is perfect! Very clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location in the middle of Lucerne with fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was expensive for the facilities that the hotel offered.

    Amazing location in the middle of Lucerne with fantastic balcony views over the river and the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no on-site parking. If you are driving, you will need to park somewhere else. I would recommend calling them beforehand before you arrive so that you are parked in the right place if you are driving. The hotel is located inside the pedestrian zone, meaning if you are driving, you probably will have to offload your luggages somewhere else and drag them across over to the hotel.

    Good location. Located at the heart of Luzern. Very helpful staff. Good view if you get a room with a balcony. Supermarkets are nearby and just 5 min walk away. Ceiling of the rooms are really high, if that's your thing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable bed, and nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Views would be betting the river side of the hotel, obviously. Like many European bathrooms, the shower could be a little larger, so ones elbows don’t change the water temp... but that’s quibbling.

    Very comfortable bed with soft sheets. Also surprisingly quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    5.4
    The location was awesome,overlooking the river & Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning,not even a lotion,for real! For a 350+ Euro dollars,the amenities were so bad

    The location was awesome,overlooking the river & Bridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Central location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Design Alpes is close to main rail station, Lake Lucerne, the famous Chapel bridge and other historical landmarks. A single room was not big but you don't go to Lucerne to spend time in a room! The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and provided in the downstairs restaurant where you could gaze at the river whilst consuming a delicious breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.9
    Tremendous view and caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room got a little hot unless you opened the door to the balcony, then it was noisy, but what to expect with World Cup!

    Location and view were above expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, perfect view of the chapel bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, perfect view of the chapel bridge. Rooms were clean which is very important to me. No air conditioning though, but open the window and turn on the fan and you’re set. Room given to us was spacious and had one of the best views. Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Loved it. Would recommend this hotel and also the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving.

    Watching the snow covered mountain from our beautiful balcony. Watching the swans from the balcony. The convenience of the location. The breakfast were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    My trip to Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was excellent. Stuff were helpful and friendly. Most important they were honest. I lost something they found it and send it to me. Many thanks!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.8
    A hotel in the best location in Lucern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Book the room with river view since there was basically no view if book city view. You will face close to an office building, no privacy.

    Great location, dinner menu, and service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.8
    Delightful stay in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it is a very old building there is no air conditioning but it wasn’t a problem for us, but maybe in summer it could be a bit warm. There is a fan for hotter days.

    Lovely room on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the river , town and mountains (when the clouds lifted). Close to the station and right on the riverfront overlooking the Chapel Bridge it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good in the cosy restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.2
    Overall nice - especially staff at the hotel, but the noise.... :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wall does not do much... I could hear the people in the next room talking, watching tv, even walking.... I had to have my headphones to sleep. Other than that, it is a nice hotel - I will come back again.

    Close to the luzern station and everything. Friendly staff, the view from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture can be renewed.

    Perfect view. Very nice building. Could not think of better location. Great breakfast. Very clean room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend the hotel = Lucerne is extremely crowded and have no plans to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find with no parking but we did get a discount for parking at RR station parking.

    Exceptional staff! Great location overlooking Chapel Bridge. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.8
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked room with city view but all we could see was next buildings window. Bed wasnt comfortable. Very small room congested with chair.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.3
    Amazing views. Poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, we were given a 10% discount card for the restaurants in the hotel, presumably to encourage us to eat there. I didn't think about the card when we payed our $300 dinner bill. The next morning when I went to reception to ask if they could credit the 10% back to our credit card, the receptionist told me that they could not because it was a different day and they had closed the books the night before. The rooms are a dated. The showers are very small and have a diamond shaped configuration that did not work well, causing water to leak on the floor.

    The views at this hotel are truly amazing. We booked two triples. One had a small balcony where we sat in the early morning admiring the amazing views of the mountains and Lake Luzern. The restaurant is also very good. The waitress was excellent and the staff of the restaurant very accommodating to someone in the group who cannot have gluten.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was amazing, the location couldn't be better -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very basic. Definitely nothing fancy. But for the location and views it was worth it.

    The staff was amazing, the location couldn't be better - right near everything I wanted to see. Walking distance from the train station. Traveled alone and felt 100% comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Loved the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofabed, River View and Big Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning did not affect us in late May but, during the summer, may be a problem.

    Loved the location overlooking Chapel Bridge. Be sure and get a room with a balcony. They gave us a really sweet anniversary card - thx!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.5
    The view is spectacular with a balcony room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking garage is on the other side of the bridge so drop off your luggage at the hotel first and do the opposite when departing

    The view is spectacular with a balcony room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked tea making facilities in our room.

    Superbly located, very clean and comfortable, friendly staff. Our room with a balcony provided us with panoramic views of Lake Lucerne and Mt Pilatus, and overlooked Chapel Bridge and the River Reuss. Close to transport and dining options. Generous breakfast provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    The old city area was fun to stroll. Would not recommend a vehicle in Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed the Hotel but would have appreciated some information prior to arrival (by car) as to how to locate hotel and more importantly where to park and transfer luggage. This was extremely difficult, we may have incurred a fine for driving in restricted areas.

    Nice view. Enjoyed the restaurant with outdoor seating right on the water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location, not the best value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is decidedly friendly/unfriendly. Room was small and for the money, the expectation would be a lake view, not a view of the alley (street) behind the hotel. No tub. Shower only. Again, for the money, the room should have been much more “refined.” Plain but clean. That’s it.

    Perfect location for exploring Lucerne. Close to train station, walking distance to lots of interesting sites, attractions, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    We only stayed one night. Had we stayed longer we would have requested changing our room locationn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom was a little too small and we had room next to maid's quarters so it was very noisy from early in morning to late afternoon as they cleaned rooms.

    Location is fantastic. Right at the Chapel Bridge. Breakfast room was roomy and modern with views of the river. Staff very friendly and room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Des Alpes Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: