Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Alpes

Via Stazione, 35, 6780 Airolo, Switzerland

#8 of 8 hotels in Airolo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice authentic hotel at the main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have a dictionary with you - the staff speaks fluently italian. Do you too?

    Lovely old hotel of the charming 80s. Very clean showers and restrooms! Placed at the mainstreet of Airolo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and needs urgent renovation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price 120 per 1 night for 2 people the quality of the place is horrible. It is soooooo outdated, we had our own shower but it was open to the bedroom literally no privacy. I could hear everything in the hall and neighbors. Pillows were thin a small book and everything looked like was in use for good 40 years.. it even smelled old. I mean in small village in the middle of nowhere you charge 120 for this than in center of Geneva you get a room for the same price and at least you are expected to have separate room for shower and nice designe.

    Location is good, but I mean it is 2 streets village

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow bit hard

    Just off motorway. Helpful and friendly staff. Very, very clean. Good value. Pizzas were good and affordable for Switzerland - from about 11 euros. Parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    We had the family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the family room. It was just what we had hoped for - spacious, lots of storage, decent bath room, very comfy bed. Very friendly staff at reception. Older building but clean and great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfy beds and beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coffee maker in the room would be nice

    We wanted a pretty place to stopover for the day in switzerland. This was the perfect place for that. It was snowing and the little town was beautiful. Theres a restaurant downstairs which is very convenient. The food was ok and the staff very polite and accomodating. Free parking on the premesis. The room was a decent size...very simple but the beds very comfortable and cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful scenery, inexpensive & charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very uncomfortable. The bed was fine. Another Swiss hotel I stayed in had pillows just as bad; I'm beginning to think this could be a "Swiss thing" or a "Swiss small town hotel thing"....

    Great staff, good value, easy to find and a gorgeous location. There is a tiny but functional elevator, so you don't have to carry your bags upstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive for the quality of the room.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and decadent hotel. Too expensive for the quality of the room. Very uncomfortable beds and pillows. Check out at 10AM.

    It's a good position just out of the Gothard tunnel. The receptionist was kind and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Good for exploring the Swiss Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine for the money, staff were friendly and helpful. We used the hotel as a base to explore the mountain passes in the Swiss Alps and it is centrally located for the highest pass and 4 other excelant passes such as the Fulk. Although not luxurious by any means, it was fine for a night. We travelled by Motorbike and they had parking, food good beer so no complaints. P

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice stop during my roadtrip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel need some modernisation, but is still nice to visit.

    Used it during a trip for only sleeping. The hotel has simple but nice rooms with for me no problem with WC & shower on the hallway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    It is a cheap, simple hotel, but fine for me as I just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much love or pride in the hotel. It is basically a restaurant with a few rooms. If that is what you want, it is fine. If you want to spend time at the hotel, consider going up-market

    It is a cheap, simple hotel, but fine for me as I just wanted a place to sleep. It is clean, the staff is pleasant and the breakfast was good. The wifi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect Pit stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was as expected for price & central location.

    Great pit stop after the Gotthard. Fine for 1 night and a 6 person room. Nothing grand, but we didn't need it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    6.3
    Room was cold due to poor isolation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night on Nov 30th, 2016 at CHF 59 in room 29 with common toilette/bath. The room was dark (not enough light) and very cold due to poor isolation. I think the wall was painted directly on structural stone. Small issue but it was very original to find room number (refer to attached picture).

    Access from Airolo railway station (in front of it). The quality of Italian ristorante in hotel was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    Ideal to fall off the train into.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shower on floor 2 - if none of the 8 rooms are en-suite that isn't enough! I did get lucky with my timing though :-)

    Ideal to fall off the train into. I'd read about their pizza and I wasn't disappointed, it was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.7
    Hotel is right next to the railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff doesn´t speak any english. It says "Delle Alpi" on the wall, not "Des Alpes".

    Hotel is right next to the railway station. It also has a restaurant and prices are moderate by Swiss standards. Nice old hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect for my stay. Close to station, great restaurant downstairs, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all. Breakfast was just above average for this style of hotel in terms of variety, but I'm not complaining about it.

    Friendly staff (not much English spoken in this part of the country but the hotel desk staff spoke good english). Nice restaurant downstairs. Really good gnocchi, and really, really, really enjoyable pizza. Location is across from the railway station, so very convenient, yet very low train noise (electric trains). I had a good sized room with washbasin plus shared facilities, which were very clean. I thought it good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They insisted on keeping my passport for the two days until checkout. I am sure it would be noisy for some people, not a problem for the way I sleep.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    Helpful staff, convenient location & restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expect the price went up when the tunnel opened; we were there to drive the 'old' highway (not the oldest road). They are starting to invest in the property but it felt a bit overpriced compared to other properties we'd stayed at in Switzerland.

    We traveled with a wheelchair & we were put on the 1st floor right by the lift, very easy with the chair. Entrances to hotel and restaurant were not easy for the wheelchair. Parking right in front was great. Dinner & breakfast there were convenient and very good. Right across from the train station but very quiet. A couple of people spoke English and everyone was friendly & helpful. Bathroom was not completely clean but clean enough; comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Close to the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the station. parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Perfect long weekend with my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved the mountains, town was very quiet 👍, two restaurants literally on each side of the hotel. Room was great, cleaned every day (thank you 👍).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Best pizza we ever had (wood oven), realy friendly people...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best pizza we ever had (wood oven), realy friendly people and nice breakfast. Everything was realy uncomplicated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Afternoon sun shone into our rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon sun shone into our rooms. Large room, comfortable bed. Close to town facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location for driving holiday, added bonus of pizzeria on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses on the bunk beds were shorter than the bed

    Pizzeria on site was great and staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    the bed was broken and couldn't be slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was broken and couldn't be slept in. Luckely there was a bunkbed from which we pulled the matrasses and slept on it on the floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but not much parking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel but not much parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    There was no shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower. The hand held sprayer was all that you have.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    An fair to good Italian style hotel and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel in this little town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed seeing Airolo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not inexpensive.

    The room was large and airy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.7
    Good location with a perfect public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unheated room, damaged wardrobe

    Quite room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Good breakfast and good bed in front of the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and good bed in front of the station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    The location, right across from the train station, is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there off-season, but it seemed a little bleak and loveless nevertheless.

    The location, right across from the train station, is very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for convenient layovers before proceeding into the Gotthard Massif
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Convenience! Literally across the street from the train station. Comfortable, Friendly, Economical. Restaurant is fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.5
    Central hotel offering good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good-sized room, garage for overnight bicycle storage, good breakfast, central but quiet location, would happily stay there again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.3
    great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    location & price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place and nice people. Very good breakfast. Good access and free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellente restauration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente restauration.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    staff were friendly although they were all multi-tasking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom carpet was not very clean

    staff were friendly although they were all multi-tasking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    Super location in Airolo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choices for breakfast , perfect location directly across from railway station spacious room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    6.3
    Convenient place to stay if you're travelling through...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the second time we've stayed and on both occasions we've had difficulty sleeping because the rooms only have thin white curtains and are too light. The hotel is just across the road from the railway station and there are street lights and a neon sign from the neighbouring hotel on all night.

    Convenient place to stay if you're travelling through Switzerland - Airolo isn't a tourist town. The price is good, the rooms are ok, but a little dated and they do excellent pizzas. There is a small car park. The staff a very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We picked the hotel for a night stop over without realising that you cannot drive to the hotel because it is in Zermatt. We had to park and use a train. This should have been made clearer in the hotel description on booking.com

    Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were well furnished and had good views of the mountains. Breakfast was good quality though needed more hot items.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Very convenient location, right across from the rail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was not great. The mattress was not very comfortable. Furniture was not in the best condition.

    Very convenient location, right across from the rail station Also near the shuttle bus to the ski area Good restaurant with brick oven pizzas

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    5.4
    Great place for a ski weekend, great pizza, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room unheated since ages (you open heaters at arival; room gets warm when you are leaving), shower in the bedroom corner - you actually sleep in the bath. You expect more for $150, even in CH.

    Great place for a ski weekend, great pizza, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Location for what I wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Whole hotel badly maintained. No plug in the bath, bedside lamp with nowhere to plug it in, unattached loo seat etc. etc.

    Location for what I wanted

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Very good location, close to the Gotthard pass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't work (not a big problem...).

    Very good location, close to the Gotthard pass. Good value for money!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: