Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel des Balances 4 stars

Weinmarkt, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#3 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a balcony over-looking the canal at a pretty price. The room on the 5th floor was extremely small and had a noisy old air-conditioner.

    The location was over looking the canal and in the old town with shops and restaurants at the door-step. You can drive up to the entrance and check-in and a valet will park and bring the vehicle to the door at check-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    getting there through a pedestrian zone made us all nervous

    breakfast buffet was amazing. sitting along the river in the morning was a great way to start the day. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed including a great fan. good dinner recommendation too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because the building is historic, the room and the bathroom were quite small. Despite this impediment, the designers managed to fit beautiful things snuggly into the room, resulting in a cozy feel. Only thing we missed was a bathtub for post-hiking therapy...

    The restaurant and staff at this luxury hotel were definitely up to the high standards that one would expect to find for such a property, as was our unique room (complete with retractable awning on its well furnished balcony).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best. Nice amenities, upmarket area, you cannot go wrong if you get a room with the view of the lake. Slightly expensive but it was worth getting a room with a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea provided in the room not in tea bags, you have to put it in the coffee machine and it is really not a tea.

    A very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff located just in the right place. 5 -7 min walk from the train station. Everything is at a walkable distance. A beautiful building itself, just at the river side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first balcony room did not have air. Staff helped get us the top floor suite with air. Beautiful room, without balcony, but better view! But I’m sure if the weather had been a little cooler, either room would have been great! Worth paying extra for a suite.

    Staff, our top floor suite with air, and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful river view from our room and we had the most amazing dinner out on the terrace! The kiwi and pistachio dessert is the best dessert I have ever had. Do yourself a favor and have dinner there it is worth the money and staffare incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is quite small but I can understand.

    Fantastic location. Feel blended in the old town of Luzern. The hotel balcony has great view of Kapell bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The location was perfect. The accommodations were outstanding. The staff was so helpful and very personable. Highly recommended this hotel. Would stay there again. Dinner at the hotel was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so you need to sleep with the windows open and lights out otherwise the bugs end up in your room. If you're a light sleeper, suggest to keep windows closed.

    View from the balcony! Just beautiful!! Will stay here again despite no a/c but not in summertime. We stayed here in late April and it was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    City view very noisy all night! No air conditioning, and it was hot. Design not for seniors : too many steps, dangerous bathtub -- we were scared to use it! (no handholds, step up to get in. No English explanations for local devices. Most important - no dim lighting to illuminate step down to get to bathroom. We left bathroom light on all night. Dinner in hotel restaurant was exquisite.

    Staff was very agreeable to our requests ( eg, to pour our wine with visitors in common area). Great view from river front balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable but there was a gap between the two twins pushed together to form a king. I found the shower difficult to operate. Once I figured it out it was not a problem.

    The location! The upgrade for a river view was very worthwhile. We had a nice balcony with a settee. The staff was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool, River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - As a frequently traveller who always been to 4-5 stars hotels, I found out that some staff here are not deserved to be in this hotel at all, especially the two ladies at the front desk. They both are very unfriendly(no greeting, smiling and service-minded) and very unwilling to provide me any information. I would give the score for 10 without these two ladies. Disappointed! - It was my birthday when I checked-in but there are nothing special from them. It wasn't big deal but I normally got some little surprise from the hotel on my birthday especially from those 4-5 stars.

    - The view is absolutely amazing from the balcony. I have been to Lucerne many times, I can tell that this hotel got the best view!! - There are a whirlpool, sauna and great shower area with many functions. Oh I love it!!!! - The butlers, an old lady and a young man are very lovely and service-minded. - You have to try the dinner at the hotel's restaurant!! It's wonderful with the river's view. Incredibly dinner!! - We ordered breakfast to our room and we had at the balcony. Ummm good food and awesome view. Amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress are quite old, worn out and lost support it’s supposed to have. Absolutely needs replacing. Couldn’t sleep for the two nights we were there.

    Excellent location. Nice restaurant at the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very good location to observe from the balcony all town and lake panorama. Recommend definitely the river view. Hotel is old but good renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is s large wardrobe which obstructs the entryway a bit; strange as the rest of the room seems well arranged. The coffee machine wardrobe is too short so one must move the machine out to use it. Again a bit strange for and otherwise well thought out room.

    Lovely river view rooms Brisk competent and responsive staff Great locale Free glass of sparkling wine Our stay was excellent. I recommend this hotel without reservation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome location in the Old Town on the river; quiet room overlooking a little square, nice decor and fluffy duvets and pillows. Knowing that we would bring our 4-month-old son with us, they made us the surprise of giving towels and a little toiletries bag also for him. Small gesture but very much appreciated. We didn't go to the restaurant bc we had our son with us, but we got room service and the food was excellent. The front desk staff always super helpful. We would definitely go back to Hotel des Balances if we were back in Lucerne!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it was because we had just been at a super fancy modern hotel in a beautiful scenery (Burgenstock), but this hotel just seemed quite outdated and a bit boring to us.

    The view and location were nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lounge a bit spartan - no service for tea/coffee - had to go downstairs to restaurant to organise

    Very friendly and helpful service. We had Junior Suite - comfortable with great views to lake and mountains. Restaurant excellent - a real bonus. Location perfect in Old Town right on the river and short walk to station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had a terrible smell of sewer and all they could say was they were sorry when really after a night of awful smells I expected at least a discount or something else!

    The location was Amazing, the views from the restaurant overlooking the river are spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 entrances to hotel, the main one has no elevator, and you have to go down or up about 20 stairs. The second entrance is through the hotel’s restaurant, but it closed during winter, and they open it only if you ask them. We were traveling with a baby, and not once had to cary the stroller up the stairs, as no one opened the door. Another thing, is that the floor in the room was making so much squeaking noises. So after our baby was asleep, we had to walk really careful, not to wake her up.

    The hotel is really nice, and the location is very good! It’s just 5min walking from the train station, and a walking distance from the main attractions. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is good. The receptionist is very friendly and gives us warm welcome. The waitress all are very nice.....everything is nice and with the nice view..... The room is very nice and bed was comfortable....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was ideal for a short stay with restaurants, shopping and top attractions close by. This hotel is situated in the old town and we just loved the cobbled streets and courtyards adorned with magnificent buildings. The room was heavenly, so much so that we chose to spend more time in the room than we would normally do. Had the most spectacular view of mountains and lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their house wine was delicious. However pricing didn’t add up. I paid for a bottle in the bar and it was over 50€ when I checked out I got two bottles for 40€. That doesn’t make sense to me.

    Amazing locations and very helpful staff with regards to Carnivale going on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It was our honeymoon, and the hotel went above and beyond to decorate and welcome us. Location was great, view from room was awesome! The bar was great as well! Story short, if you're ever headed to Luzern, this is the hotel that you should be in!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed configuration needs improvement, if offered to couples, by maybe simply applying a single over mattress and duvet to cover the two bed frames. (Having two single beds joined together and two duvets seemed to be a business standard in Luzern, based on photos I saw from other properties' rooms, which is awkward and uncomfortable for couples sharing the same bed)

    The breakfast offer and flavours, the design of the rooms and in general of the hotel. The staff definitely stars over all other qualities of this property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely atmosphere, restaurant and bar great, room spacious and comfortable. Wonderful to be right on the river in the old part of town. Station is only a 6 minute walk away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and breakfast was expensive

    Perfect position, recommend room with view . Lots of little touches that really enhanced comfort like chocolates, charging doc for phones. Quiet location and comfy beds.Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & bathroom was a bit too small. We booked two rooms with riverview, one room is smaller than the other and not as size described at time of booking. The hotel staff said hotel's rooms are not all in same size and they can't do anything as hotel was fully booked.

    The location is very good next to the river, you can see nice view from room balcony. Friendly staffs. Prosecco for welcome drink at Hotel restaurant is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we paid extra fee for having a river view, we ended up in a room where there was no view to the river due to the facade of the building (5th floor decoration of the balcony).

    Location is perfect, decoration and overall style very nice as well. It is in need a very romantic place. The room quality is high. Wide choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two single duvets.

    Great Restaurant and nice Bar with good atmosphere. Nice touches like a voucher for a welcome drink at arrival (even we went for another drink). Had an extraordinary dinner at the hotel restaurant. Very charming staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were on the small side to we had to do some engineering to open our suitcases and walk around avoiding lamps and unnecessary furniture.

    Absolutely fabulous location, right in the city centre and wonderful terrace over the lake with spectacular views. Beautiful decoration and very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the welcome drink at their lively bar and the valet parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so saggy, so we had bad sleep.

    Everything was fantastic, newly renovated and very clean rooms, good food, friendly staff amazing view. Even the room with no balcony is great as the windows open!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the main entrance of the hotel there was a beautiful stair but with the pram it was impossible for us to go upstairs, we had to carry it by ourselves all the time, no lift from the entrance to the reception floor and no help from the staff.

    The hotel was beautiful, spacious room, lovely view, comfortable bed and lovely toiletries from L’Occitane. Complimentary chocolate and water. Nespresso machine in the room with comlimentary capsules

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was knowledgeable and extremely helpful, providing excellent day trip and local restaurant suggestions that one wouldn't find easily during a short stay. Room had a fabulous view, was very comfortable and provided a great respite/mini-holiday at the end of a work trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a most comfortable hotel. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant,and the facilities were admirable. The hotel is perfectly located in the town centre and overlooking the river and lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Word of advice: don't save those last 15% or so at the expense of the view. Get a river view room and order breakfast to your private little balcony. You won't regret it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch out: the basic breakfast (yet expensive) option gives you a very limited access to the buffet, and not the whole buffet. This is not very well indicated and is really misleading. We ended up paying about 30CHF each.

    Nice welcoming, very child friendly, free public transport voucher on arrival. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was fantastic

    Everything it was wonderful. This hotel is 10/10 - location is absolutely perfect in Luzern. The staff are so very helpful and personable. Customer service is fantastic. The cleaning standard is impeccable. Every little thing has been thought out how to make their guests comfortable and taken care of. The beds are so comfortable, the bathroom amenities are luxurious the star ceiling is gorgeous I want that in my house! (also I must comment on the decor. The rooms are simply beautiful and you must get a room with a balcony and view of the river and Mt Pilatus.. I watched the sun rise this morning around 7:00am it was spectacular on the balcony with a hot cup of tea. Also another thing I must add is I absolutely love the paint colour in the bathroom (the touch of glitter in the paint is fantastic I absolutely love it!) Restaurant downstairs is also very highly rated. I ordered the pumpkin soup and the ravioli both were delicious! Service in the restaurant is 10/10 with our every need attended too. They have a wonderful selection of foods to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the Junior suite with balcony view would have a queen or kind bed, but we had two single beds put together.

    very nice view of the city from our balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was in an excellent location. Our room was not ready on arrival but we were given a free drink in the bar terrace. The view over the river was beautiful. The staff was very helpful and our room was very comfortable except for being a bit warm on a cool night. I recommend opening he terrace door and using the portable fan available in the room. Excellent coffee from the nespresso coffee maker in the room(tea available). We bought croissants from a bakery right outside the hotel entrance that opens at 6AM. Yummy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was too small and was under the attic roof.

    Very nice hotel on the River Bank of Luzern. Inroom dining staff was extremely helpful when we needed warm milk for your little son. Barman was very friendly and did a great job serving all the guest well and keeping them entertained. Walking distance from the Train Station and close to everywhere. surrounded by nice restaurants and shops. River view is magnificent from the room and good comfortable bed. Good breakfast and was not included in the price though. Couldn't try the Hotel restaurant for dinner, I think it's worth trying as the menu was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Computer was a little challenging to get boarding pass. I speak English, but the keyboard, print pop-up box were a little different to accommodate another language.

    Location! Location! Location! Exquisite view of architecture, the canal and shops. Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Staff amazing. We left for the airport before the restaurant was open, inquired about coffee… the desk person brought us lattes on a beautiful tray. Restaurant was great, service was wonderful. I dream of returning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit tricky to find by car

    Excellent location facing river and city, in city centre but very quiet. The building is beautiful. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    I LOVE this hotel very very much with all white deco!!! Good location just neary by the bridge and only 8 minutes walking distance to train station. And in hotel bar you can enjoy a great afternoon tea with your family or friends. We booked the river side rooms with huge balcony , enjoy the night view of Lucern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the room layout which had a sliding door between the bed area and the couch/bathroom area. This worked out perfect because we could let sleep our baby in the bed area and still do stuff. The balcony and all windows had great views. We had ordered room service for breakfast and the bread was especially nice. FYI, with a stroller, use the restaurant entrance. The main entrance in the back has only stairs to get to the lobby area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side but this is to be expected in an historic property. Also, bringing the car in was a bit tricky; have to drive into area which is largely pedestrian.

    They have us a welcome drink which turned out to be a lovely St Germaine Gimlet! Also, the dining area has a terrace overlooking the river with amazing views of the historic footbridges and Mt Pilatus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing big deal.

    Perfect Location and Sightseeing.... it's enough to pay bill for staying! If you visit to Luchern first time with Lover, you should go.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was charming but small - overlooking the lake but with such a large balustrade that it was difficult to see out over it. One had to poke a head out between the huge pillars to catch a few. Also, although the bath had all the modern conveniences and little extras, it was difficult to use in that it had absolutely no convenient place to put things, like makeup or a hairbrush.

    The location is ideal, close to restaurants and shopping and overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful (except for just one waitress in the morning at breakfast - very unhelpful. However, the total experience didn't add up to the very high hotel rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fix the showe pls and AC location

    Pls fix the shower too small and it was not working properly and the Air C behind the curtains does not help that much. Beside that all super good excellent stuff and hotel thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    We reseved a room with a balcony overlooking the water and the views were spectacular. The accommodations were luxurious and complete down to every detail - I could have lived in the bathroom - so beautiful and warm. The staff was very pleasant and helpful - from bringing extra coffee pods minutes after we called, to delivering lost luggage to the room as soon as it showed up at 9:30 at night. The manager of the resturant/bar was so personable and helpful, we felt we had made a new friend by the time we left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving had to park miles away to understand how to get , car to hotel . Our room faced the front of building , very noisy , rubbish trucks ect .

    Historic hotel, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instructions on how to get to the property by car should be improved. We had 2 GPS-s, neither of them helped and the signs on the roads seemed to end at one point. And also as a tourist you don't tend to drive through a prohibiting sign. But this you had to do to get there. A few unhappy pedestrians due to that.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly, superb location, beautiful room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, tiny rooms. surly unhelpful staff and difficult to find. This is not a 4 star hotel, it is embarrassing for Swiss standards. Took ages to find, even with directions given by hotel staff. No air conditioning so slept with window open enjoying noisy late night revellers, bin collectors, cyclists. You will get no sleep here. Staffed by two people at reception, both went out of their way to ignore me and continue whatever they were doing. Room was tiny and made worse by the hotel dumping their excess furniture into it. For some reason I had three lounge chairs in my room that i had to leave outside in the corridor in order to get into the room.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were a bit too small. There was no AC in the room so we had to open the windows and it was a bit noisy at night. Parking is VERY pricey. Vallet parking service can and must be improved (we asked for our car to be returned to us and they parked it in the front of the hotel but did not let us know so we were kept waiting for no reason...)

    Stylish room and hotel, with very attentive staff. The restaurant/bar staff was very welcoming and super polite and helpful. Food was delicious and ambience very nice. Location is excellent and views are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luzern is a stop that we can really recommend. Hotel Des Balance is a really good hotel. Located in the old part of Luzern. The breakfast was really good and lots of choices for breakfast. It's a bit difficult to get to the hotel as you have to driving on streets just for pedestrians and not for cars. The hotel is located between the two wooden bridges and opposite Jesuit church. Nice to walk around in the old quarter. We had dinner at La Terrazza Restaurant overlooking the river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints

    Very comfortable room, large comfortable bed, wonderful view, balcony for enjoying the view. Staff were friendly and helpful speaking excellent English. Dining room with terrace and open views of lake. Location in the old part of Lucerne and walking distance from Concert hall, main railway station and bus terminus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, you have to carry your things and walk up and the main issue is the ac NoAc Poor breakfast

    Location is in the Centre of the old town and the staff are the best very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small things that should not have happened: scrap of paper from previous occupant left on table; used toilet roll not removed; I asked for freezer bags to be frozen but they were merely cold when I collected them on departure. More Garmin than hotel but access was through a pedestrian area and the satnave insisted I crossed a pedestrian bridge with steps - I had to walk to the hotel to get directions.

    Helpful staff, Super view. Delightfully comfortable room. Helpful when my partner suffered an alergic reaction and medical attention required. Sitting on the terrace having breakfast and looking at the ~Chapel bridge and ducks. The balcony had a similar view from where we watched the storm. Smashing relaxing bath. Motorbike safely garaged although unlike the Bentrleys that flanked me, I had to ride it there myself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only german recorded messages on the internal telephone, it would be a help to have some english as well. Sitting room very drab.

    Location, sadly it was raining and we could not eat on the lovely restaurant terrace on the river. Lively bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Access for stroller limited (huge stair case at entrance), not much help from staff, portier not responsive and looks at you carrying it. -Bathroom not fully isolated from rest of room (sliding panel)

    Location is excellent View amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is difficult to get to the hotel. It is located in the older cobblestone pedestrian plaza area. We could see the hotel but did not know how to get to it. My daughter and I finally left the car and walked to the hotel where we were told just to drive up the cobblestone. A valet parked our car for us. The hotel is pricey but the location was great. No air conditioning. It was warm and a fan in the room would have been welcome. Other places we stayed on our trip provided fans.

    Hotel is very nice with excellent staff help. We chose it for its location and were not disappointed. The view of the river is a special bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had coffee in the room - great. Did not partake of breakfast down in the dining room as it was very expensive.

    Great location on the river and a short easy walk from the main train station. Wonderful old building with very modern interior and rooms. We had a fifth floor room with terrace over looking the river and a great view up to Mt. Pilatus. Easy walk to old part of town and to all of the lake ships on Lake Lucerne. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was terrific.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How do you tell the churches not to ring their bells at night? There is no ac so our windows were open. May not have slept soundly, but place to pretty to care.

    Our view was spectacular and romantic at the same time. Had a wonderful dinner on their veranda dining next to the canal/river. A must stay place in a must visit city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices of "snacks" in the hotel restaurant were a little higher than expected. This made me very concerned about what the prices of meals would be elsewhere. Luckily excellent meals in excellent restaurants were more reasonably priced. I will say that the service in the hotel restaurant was excellent.

    The Hotel des Balances far exceeded my expectations! All three rooms I booked were upgraded to river views. The minute we walked into the hotel the staff immediately began handling everything we needed for a great stay in Lucerne- our rooms were ready, recommendations were made for activities in the city, restaurants were contacted and reserved, etc., etc. We all had great fun figuring out how to work the "techno showers" in our rooms. What a treat with one room even having its own sauna. I will definitely recommend the Hotel des Balances to friends and will stay here again when I return to Lucerne.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive and a little hard to understand. No air con, it was very hot and humid on the first two days after that it was ok.

    Perfect location, really luxurious rooms and lovely staff. Balcony overlooking the river was lovely to sit on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my bill did match what it stated on my reservation confirmation sheet. thats a drag. don't know if it can be fixed now

    the view over the river was the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I realize that this is a very old building. Our room was located on the fifth floor. The shower/tub set up was challenging to say the least. I was traveling with my daughter, but no man in my family would have been able to contort themselves enough to have a comfortable shower experience. Also, screens on the windows would be nice. We couldn't leave any doors or windows open at night because of all the bugs which came into the room. We were addressed by exactly two employees at the hotel...the check in receptionist, and the check out receptionist. We certainly saw other people but were never made to feel like welcomed guests. Continental breakfast was over the top pricey. I overheard another guest express dismay that breakfast wasn't included in the room rate...my thoughts exactly. We paid top dollar for this hotel experience...I guess it was all for location.

    Location of property is perfect. Historic bridges, shops, restaurants are all steps away from the front door. Views from the balcony were stunning during the hour after sunset. Welcome box of chocolates and water were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was too hot (but we were there during an unexpected heatwave). Fan in the room did help, but with windows open the room was quite noisy. However - i would definitly not let this put me off - and would book this room again.

    Romantic Suite was worth every pound spent. Beautiful room in a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. The jacuzzi bath in the room was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this hotel. Everything was a 10, would love to come back. The staff were so helpful, the room was small but fabulous. Loved the balcony and the view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C unit did completely cool the room; we used the fan with it, but still couldn't get the room as cool as we wanted.

    The location is excellent. Easy walking to all sights in Lucerne. The parking is also a plus; a valet service parks your car and retrieves it any time you need it. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air con - unacceptable for 4 star hotel. General condition of hotel in need of renovation. Nothing boutique about it at all. Basically a boring hotel designed primarily it would seem for business. Even the small foyer not used with any bar facility. In general not a good experience, unlike the Victoria Hotel in Montreux and the Wengenerhof in Wengen , both of which were first class.

    Comfortable bed and balcony with view excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warmer, calm night was less comfortable than ideal, still an excellent stay

    Helpful, friendly staff. Awesome view. Sampler diner menu was outstanding & well paired. A memorable stay. Fan provided

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning but it isn't a real problem. There is a need to top up body wash etc daily and provide bottled water daily.

    Location, location, location. An excellent location with exceptional friendly and helpful staff. Food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, I feel like the service could have been better.

    Cute hotel for Lucerne. Pricey but location is so great! Loved the balcony overlooking the river/town. The view of the Alps is amazing. Rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Loved the decor. The staff was efficient. The bar/restaurant was busy but amazing "homemade" drinks. Lucerne is a great escape from the hustle/bustle of European travel.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: