Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Primestay Hotel 3 stars

Oststrasse 51, 8500 Frauenfeld, Switzerland

#6 of 6 hotels in Frauenfeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 478 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel if you book early with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for 2 extra breakfasts first morning 30chf, 2nd morning cost 50chf, was a better breakfast but the price was a bit of a shock. We were not told the cost before we ate we thought it would have been the same. Don’t get caught out. Our second meal we went to Konstanz in Germany bill 80 euros for a great meal with drinks included for 4 people and only 30mins away. I know were we will be eating next time. We booked through booking.com and the bill was not paid and we had to pay again to hotel nearly £200. Later we heard it was the hotels fault not booking.com.

    Bedroom large and comfortable and a nice bathroom. Quiet and good parking for motorbikes, towards the back of the town. Co-op 100yds up the hill for all your basic picnic food. Evening meal bit expensive but it was Switzerland 126 chf, about £100 for 4 people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed the sat nav to find it. Booking.com messed up we booked 2 rooms one was paid for by them as we paid up front and the other was not and we had to pay £178 to the hotel for the room. Rang booking.com next day and they emailed me 12 - 15 days to get our money back......disgraceful. They took it in seconds from my card and they should have put it back. Do not let it happen to you!

    Nice big room, very quiet neighbourhood. We felt very safe, the motorbike parking was safe and co-op supermarket was 100 yards away. Staff were extremely helpful, gave us an extra pillow and new batteries for the tv remote. Bed very comfortable lovely room. Really nice reasonable priced restaurant on site serving breakfast, pizza to full meals and bar. Would use this hotel again very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Good accessibility by car, plenty of parking spaces, self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody instructed us which parking space to use (they are numbered), when we called the designated phone number, somebody who was not able to speak English answered and was of no help. People meeting around the hotel (owners?) were very shady-looking.

    Good accessibility by car, plenty of parking spaces, self check-in easy and effective. Nice curtains which blocked sunshine very well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.0
    Stay for the room rate was o.k. more like youth hostel, but o.k. would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one on site; Restaurant was closed the whole time; Pictures from the Hotel room suggests coffee machine in the room, which was not the case. Common kitchen suggests that cups, dishes and cutlery is available which is not. All fridges were with padlocks. No explanation were we could get one. No fridge in the room. To get to the common kitchen you had to go through the Basement. A bit more Information how to get a fridge and more equipment in the kitchen would be good, especially as there was no one on site not even in the Restaurant. And reachable by phone from Monday to Friday from 8:00 - 17:00; Arrived on Saturday evening and stayed to Whit-Monday (Bank Holiday) only emergency number supplied.

    Room was clean, had enough space, bath room was clean and big. Lots of room in the bathroom to put your things on. Pin code for Key retrieval arrived per mail on time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Fair price. Big bedroom. But we were not lucky with the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a bedroom for couple, with a double bed, but then, when we came, it was two single beds. And there was no staff at the hotel to ask any information or to help.

    Fair price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Sorry I can't say many good things about the property.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the bus station and train.You need a car or be very fit as there are 2861 steps or 2500 m or 2.5 km .

    Good water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Highway is near , if the job in question, quickly arrives.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no possibility for breakfast, although there is a cafe but not on Saturdays and Sundays, you can not even drink coffee ;(

    Highway is near , if the job in question, quickly arrives...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    3.8
    Not a pleasant Experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    [Check-in] The check-in time was 3:00p.m. I arrived at the hotel at 3:15p.m., input the code, a mail box was opened, then there was no key inside!!! Luckily that I had a colleague with me who could make some phone calls for me help. And 20 min later, a cleaner came with a bunch of keys! He forgot to put the keys in time! Another guy was also waiting like me. The cleaner doesn't speak any English. If I wasn't be with my colleague, he could have given me a wrong key. The mail box corresponding to the code I received is not for the key I should have received! Anyway, quite a mess! This self-check-in system without a staff is really not convenient! And by the last day I received an email, saying if I pass the check-out time to drop the key, I would face a penalty of CHF 200! Ridiculous! Do I get any compensation by receiving the key late? [Noise and Smell] If I open the window, the noise of cars on the high way is quite loud. And the horse rack smells of horse shit! If i don't open the window, the bath room smells badly with ammonia smell. I asked the cleaner he said it's the smell of the cleaning liquid. That's really a disgusting smell. [Dirty] The trash bin from the last guest was not emptied. A pair of jeans was inside. There was human body hair,a lot of, quite visible on the bed-sheet, or attached to the duvet. I wonder if the bed-sheet had been changed. But the cleaner said he cleaned the room already. The service charge is 30CHF per check-in. I don't see any service. The room was never cleaned during the 7 nights of my staying and towels never was changed. If it's not close to our office, I certainly would to stay in this hotel any more.

    [Neighborhood] Outside the hotel there is a big farm land with a lot of lambs and cows, composing a nice view. Also close to a horse training field, so was able to see many beautiful horses during the weekend. When I was staying there, Oktoberfest Frauenfeld was held near by. Saw a lot of pretty girls and handsome boys dressed up in traditional Bavarian dress. Quite a view as well. It's close to a COOP supermarket, 5~10 min by walk. [Location] Close to highway. Easy by car. Close to my company building. [Room] Room is spacious. [WIFI] Wifi signal was quite OK. [Shower] Shower water is hot and powerful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    We changed room because first one was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We changed room because first one was not clean. Trash on the floor, on table... Good that manager's reaction was very fast and they changed room during 5 minutes. But it cost me additional 10 EUR because of roaming call :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great connection to the Autobahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some long term guests were loud in kitchen.

    Great connection to the Autobahn. Large room and good size bathroom and shower, it has cloth washing machine facilities downstairs for longer stay guests. Room is its price worth. Has an independent restaurant with great food below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Very different experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night the "reception" area to get to the lift for the room, was dark. Could have done with better lighting & could have done with a working coffee machine in the "lobby" or in the room itself.

    The room was of a good size, the bed was nice a comfy & the view was reasonable. Within walking driving distance of shops & restaurants. It was a very different experience coming to a hotel with no book in staff, but it was easy enough to get the room key & find the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Remote area if you'd prefer to avoid heavy traffic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no frigo as promised, no staff to help you out as we got no internet connection

    Remote area if you'd prefer to avoid heavy traffic, clean and comfortable room, besides a sheep farm so my daughter enjoyed the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    ADD $30 for CLEANING! No breakfast, fridge, coffee or people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most upsetting was the way the hotel advertised the price without the CLEANING SURCHARGE! It got your attention with $65, but the fine print then says ADD $30 for cleaning! That's 50% more than the room itself! I was suppose to have had a numbered parking space but the hotel simply reserved it for other guests. The toilet was obviously not cleaned. You can't adjust your room temperature and I had to open the window but then I woke up with bites on my feet and hands from bugs that came in. The pillows need replacing. There's no coffee or tea or refrigerator in the room.

    The staff-less check-in went well. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.5
    Happened to be close to our friends house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explanation for wi fi use was difficult to understand or incomplete. Restaurant doesn't open until 10:00 on weekend. No coffee available in morning anywhere in hotel nor anyplace to walk to. Big hole in screen that let bugs in.

    Happened to be close to our friends house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.8
    No personality to the hotel, helpful staff in the resturant and bar, wifi not user friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi kept asking you to re-sign in, the instructions to log in were not helpful and no staff to ask for help. This made doing work on our business trip very frustrating. Felt weird having no staff for reception.

    The restaurant was good but very little atmosphere. The food was fantastic. The staff in the restaurant and bar were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.8
    All self service hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no staff at the front desk Self check-in/check-out procedures confusing for foreigners No vending machines No maid service Restaurant is a separate company and doesn't open until 8 am for breakfast

    The room was warm, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    there is no
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very very poor

    Large room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with the windows open

    Huge room 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, clean and tidy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit close to the main road

    Great staff, clean and tidy rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great

    Wonderful bed, room was large

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location, excellent value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower must be fixed

    Good location, excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.5
    Horrible place. Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are dirty and old. Not as shown in the pictures. the personal are not helpful at All either. If i’d be you i’d go somewhere else.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    It's good but it's very far from Zurich HB main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's good but it's very far from Zurich HB main station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    No staff, Wifi Code is not working,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff, Wifi Code is not working,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Decent price. Spacious room. Decent size bathroom and shower. Double room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to contact anyone regarding returning after midnight from work

    Close to motorway. Easy to find. The price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.4
    close to highway exit/entry, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing key, took over 1hour of calling to get the key to the room, far off from everything except highway

    close to highway exit/entry, quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.9
    Okay for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. An egg would be nice.

    Good Wifi, no VPN block

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: